Opposition coalition plans to end racially divisive politics, improve living standards

Wednesday, 04 March 2015 14:16 – Written by   β€“ CND

The opposition coalition on Wednesday March 4th officially launched its campaign for the May 11, 2015 general elections, pledging to end racially divisive politics for the first time since the 1950s and root out corruption, crime and bad governance.

The AFC-APNU Prime Ministerial and Presidential Candidates with their wives.

Adressing a packed audience at the Pegasus Hotel, Prime Ministerial candidate Moses Nagamootoo said that after the 60 years Guyana was making another giant step towards national reconciliation, multi-ethnic and multi-party rule.

β€œIt will be, as it has been, a bumpy road to the Promised Land. But we will not be daunted. We will not be intimidated.  We shall defeat the monster of racism.

Nagamootoo, who resigned from the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) after more than 40 years and joined the Alliance For Change (AFC) as its Vice Chairman, said the restoration of electoral democracy in 1992 started a hopeful process but did not bring healing.  He hopes that the coalition between the AFC and David Granger’s A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) will bring an end to the new cycle of autocratic, one-party rule, corruption and complicity in criminal enterprises.  

β€œSince 1955, a single occurrence called β€œthe split” had wounded our Guyanese civilization. It occasioned political and ethnic division. But today, today – after 60 years – we are taking a conscious step to put the healing balm to the scars of that division. Today, we hold out a new promise of addressing the legacy of ethnic insecurity in Guyana,” he said in his address.

Guyana entered into period of race-based politics after the PPP split into two into the Afro-Guyanese dominated People’s National Congress (PNC), which is today the largest partner in APNU, and the largely East Indian-based PPP.

Referring to the coalition’s merged symbols of AFC’s key and APNU’s hand, the veteran politician quipped β€œin our hand is the key to unity.”

That Jerry Jailall article is very powerful on national unity and healing.

While the PPP spends time digging up Burnham's jumbie, the Coalition is inspiring people by pointing to a future of working together and building together. When 2 leaders can put aside old feelings and embrace each other, Guyana wins, the people win.

A New day is coming for Guyana.  The PPP's tyranny will end.  The scamps will be gone.

Me go tell Bheri or Jagdeo fo slap yuh.

Bherri Ramsarran and Bharrat Jagdeo are both misogynists(women haters). Those two scoundrels will never walk on the same enlightened path as the adventurous Rev.

Yuh know something, padna? Yuh got some redeeming quality, after all.

Have yuh bellyfull of fun hey. Only 19 days more.

Guyana does not need NATIONAL HEALING.

* yuji needs to be disciplined for suggesting that.

* Guyana is a peaceful country. And for the most part the races get along well.

* It's only election time the people are divided.

* That's understandable.

You are one hundred percent correct.

Not one single member from the opposition side raised their hand up and recognize the fact that we need National Healing after the election.

They will be first ones whining and crying about fairness and the less fortunate...Based on the comments, it is also about winner takes all. Scre* the losers.

Yuji

There you go, yuji22. You've kicked your "national healing" overboard, onto the sewage outfall near the Bharriott.

* That's understandable.

Not one single member from the opposition side raised their hand up and recognize the fact that we need National Healing after the election.

They will be first ones whining and crying about fairness and the less fortunate...Based on the comments, it is also about winner takes all. Scre* the losers.

Yuji

There you go, yuji22. You've kicked your "national healing" overboard, onto the sewage outfall near the Bharriott.

Gil

I put forward a very honest proposal and many including yourself killed the idea before it was even considered.

I can now safely conclude that Guyanese want the same old political trend.

The PPP will win a landslide and we will have the same old whiners and complainers from the opposition benches.

Oh well..........

Adressing a packed audience at the Pegasus Hotel, Prime Ministerial candidate Moses Nagamootoo said that after the 60 years Guyana was making another giant step towards national reconciliation, multi-ethnic and multi-party rule.

β€œIt will be, as it has been, a bumpy road to the Promised Land. But we will not be daunted. We will not be intimidated.  We shall defeat the monster of racism.

Nagamootoo, who resigned from the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) after more than 40 years and joined the Alliance For Change (AFC) as its Vice Chairman, said the restoration of electoral democracy in 1992 started a hopeful process but did not bring healing.  He hopes that the coalition between the AFC and David Granger’s A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) will bring an end to the new cycle of autocratic, one-party rule, corruption and complicity in criminal enterprises.  

* That's understandable.

Yuji

Yugi22 is not the sharpest knife in the drawer. He loves to play his majeera and prance around.

* That's understandable.

Yuji

Yugi22 is not the sharpest knife in the drawer. He loves to play his majeera and prance around.

Mits,cut dah boy some slack.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Granger has said clearly, he wants to include the new Opposition (PPP).

PPP has made no such promise or stated any intention to unite.

The PPP only wants to unite with its parasitic Friends and Family.

No democracy can remain healthy unless there is an affective and assertive opposition.  If the PPP, PNC, and AFc all get together they will all be stealing and there will be no one to stop them.

APNU and AFC shall be the gov't.  Once the PPP learns its lesson, and Jagdeo flees to Dubai, they will evolve into an effective opposition, and maybe they might win one day, with a cross ethnic alliance.