Home > TOP STORY > US ChargÉ d’Affaires… Guyana seen dramatic transformation ‘since days of the dictatorship’  – from no democracy prior to 1992, to free and fair elections
Mr. Bryan Hunt, Chargé d'Affaires of the U.S. Embassy in Georgetown
Mr. Bryan Hunt, ChargÉ d'Affaires of the U.S. Embassy in Georgetown

US ChargÉ d’Affaires… Guyana seen dramatic transformation ‘since days of the dictatorship’  – from no democracy prior to 1992, to free and fair elections

“GUYANA has made what I would call a dramatic transformation since 1992…Guyana has gone from having effectively no democracy prior to the 1992 free and fair elections, to a system where you’ve had several electoral cycles that have been deemed free and fair by international and domestic observers.”This is the conviction held by the United State (U.S.) ChargÉ d’ Affaires to Guyana, Bryan Hunt, who, during an exclusive interview with the Guyana Chronicle yesterday, said he welcomed President Donald Ramotar’s May 11 announcement as the day for holding General and Regional Elections.

Hunt was at the time weighing in on the current state of affairs in Guyana, taking into account the imminence of elections as announced by the Guyanese Head of State.

PNC DICTATORSHIP

He said that while there is yet work to be done, the Guyanese political leadership and public at large “must be congratulated for the tremendous transformation that I believe has happened from the days of the dictatorship to what is a democratic system.” The foregoing comment was in obvious reference to the Peoples National Congress (PNC) administration, which was at the helm of political power in Guyana for 28 consecutive years prior to 1992. According to the U.S. diplomat, Guyana has, since 1992, managed to move “from a state of effectively what was single-Party rule to a system in which you have a vigorous multi-Party debate.”

He also touched on the remarkable transition the nation has undergone over the years, “from a time where the system left the Parliament with very little say over policy, to one since 1992 to which there is vigorous Parliamentary debate.” And while on the subject of transition, Hunt was asked to weigh in on recent criticisms levelled against the President since the prorogation of Parliament, to the effect that Guyana has been under the rule of a dictator since November last.

His reaction was to dismiss the notion in its entirety, saying rather than a return to dictatorship, the political climate here since post-elections 1992 has always been regarded as a multi-party democracy. “The view from the U.S. government would be that Guyana has had, since 1992, a multi-party democracy,” Hunt said. As he went on to explain, under Guyana’s legislative construct, there are constitutional parameters under which the country and its leadership operate; and this is bolstered, he said, by the judicial system which has, in the past, ruled in favour of government and against it.

CAUTION Hunt did caution, however, that while there has been a dramatic turnaround for Guyana, in terms of its state of democracy, that transition was not complete; and that there are areas that the next administration will need to deal with, such as the holding of Local Government Elections. Commenting on the 10th Parliament, Hunt lamented what he termed the ‘gridlock’ between the major political parties on important national issues. This state of affairs, he said, has to move to a position where, while differences are made known, “ when Guyana is confronted with significant challenges, whether that is the need to pass anti-money laundering legislation; the need to move forward with hydroelectric development; parties can set aside those political differences and act in the national interest to move things forward.”

VISA REVOCATIONS Asked to weigh in on recent protests outside the U.S. Embassy here in Georgetown, whereby Alliance For Change (AFC) members have been demanding the revocation of the visas of Government Ministers, Hunt responded as follows: “The reality is [that] we are not considering, within the U.S. government, doing what the AFC has requested, which is the revocation of visas for senior Guyanese officials.” He went on to say that every political party has the right to make their views known; but the request is not under consideration. Noting that there are protocols dictating the issuance and revocations of visas, Hunt said: “That’s simply not how we conduct our visa policy; we have very clear immigration laws.” He said it is based on the set legislation that a determination is made on whether one is eligible for a visa or not.

(By Gary Eleazar)

http://guyanachronicle.com/us-...-and-fair-elections/

Originally Posted by Spontaneous emission:
“The view from the U.S. government would be that Guyana has had, since 1992, a multi-party democracy,” Hunt said.

That's what Hunt said. All that other stuff is pure fabrication by the PPP controlled Chronicle, designed to embarrass the ambassador.

It is no secret to anyone that the PNC/PPP partnership up to 1992 was an attempt by the PNC and PPP to keep Guyanese enslaved. But the current communist regime is not really promoting a multi party democracy. Opponents have been murdered or had to flee Guyana out of fear of their lives and that of their family. With all its imperfection, Guyanese were still far saver in their house and on the street prior to the PPP taking office.

The Good old USA has confidence in the PPP to deliver free and fair elections. The PNC thus and dictators will never rule Guyana again.

“from a state of effectively what was single-Party rule to a system in which you have a vigorous multi-Party debate.”

He also touched on the remarkable transition the nation has undergone over the years, from a time where the system left the Parliament with very little say over policy, to one since 1992 to which there is vigorous Parliamentary debate.” And while on the subject of transition, Hunt was asked to weigh in on recent criticisms levelled against the President since the prorogation of Parliament, to the effect that Guyana has been under the rule of a dictator since November last.

His reaction was to dismiss the notion in its entirety, saying rather than a return to dictatorship, the political climate here since post-elections 1992 has always been regarded as a multi-party democracy. “The view from the U.S. government would be that Guyana has had, since 1992, a multi-party democracy,” Hunt said. As he went on to explain, under Guyana’s legislative

There is nothing extraordinary here. We are aware Guyana moved from dictatorship party paramountcy (ended in 1985 under PNC) to semi-democracy and kleptocracy/race based elected oligarchy after 1992. There was an intermediate period of reforms from 1985 to 1996. Some would say these reforms ended in 1993 or on the Good Friday murder of Monica Reece. Elections are free and unfair. There have been no local govt elections and the constitution is a terrible drag on the people. Only the PPP has access to the state media and they twin public work contracts with funding of their political campaigns. Friends and families of the PPP were awarded TV and radio rights. The private Guyana Times was engineered by an advertising blockade on SN and KN. As they say in political science, democracy never consolidated after a hopeful few years during the Hotye period.

The Good old USA has confidence in the PPP to deliver free and fair elections. The PNC thus and dictators will never rule Guyana again.

“from a state of effectively what was single-Party rule to a system in which you have a vigorous multi-Party debate.”

He also touched on the remarkable transition the nation has undergone over the years, from a time where the system left the Parliament with very little say over policy, to one since 1992 to which there is vigorous Parliamentary debate.” And while on the subject of transition, Hunt was asked to weigh in on recent criticisms levelled against the President since the prorogation of Parliament, to the effect that Guyana has been under the rule of a dictator since November last.

His reaction was to dismiss the notion in its entirety, saying rather than a return to dictatorship, the political climate here since post-elections 1992 has always been regarded as a multi-party democracy. “The view from the U.S. government would be that Guyana has had, since 1992, a multi-party democracy,” Hunt said. As he went on to explain, under Guyana’s legislative

Hehehe...Skelly meh dem bais gat NCN pun lack down. Doh is democracy na. Hey hey hey...

Uncle sam aint must have confidence, they got ramotar and these criminals by the balls. You think they will disobey? no.

You see how fast ramotar run to call elections when it was revealed no EU money was coming to Ashni? Aid and loans are the life line of the PPP. Don't worry wid all the hissin and pissin that is all theater...

Originally Posted by TK:

There is nothing extraordinary here. We are aware Guyana moved from dictatorship party paramountcy (ended in 1985 under PNC) to semi-democracy and kleptocracy/race based elected oligarchy after 1992. There was an intermediate period of reforms from 1985 to 1996. Some would say these reforms ended in 1993 or on the Good Friday murder of Monica Reece. Elections are free and unfair. There have been no local govt elections and the constitution is a terrible drag on the people. Only the PPP has access to the state media and they twin public work contracts with funding of their political campaigns. Friends and families of the PPP were awarded TV and radio rights. The private Guyana Times was engineered by an advertising blockade on SN and KN. As they say in political science, democracy never consolidated after a hopeful few years during the Hotye period.

In your EMPTY head many things and EVERYTHING ended a long, long time ago!!!

Originally Posted by TK:

In your EMPTY head many things and EVERYTHING ended a long, long time ago!!!

Ehehehehhe...Pavi like dem bais gettin yuh vex. Hey hey hey...

Elections are being held and it will fair and free.

It is up to the people to decide what they want.

It appears.....

Rama has now distance himself

from Openly supporting Kwame & Buggery.

Our good friend Nehru will also....

not touch that Nastiness & Lifestyle

with a 10 foot pole.

Not Everyone enjoy themselves

Like Kwame & Yuji

There are still a few who

are not attracted to Nastiness

paint brush

So we cannot Paint 

Rama & Nehru 

with Kwame Brush

Originally Posted by Mr.T:
“The view from the U.S. government would be that Guyana has had, since 1992, a multi-party democracy,” Hunt said.

That's what Hunt said. All that other stuff is pure fabrication by the PPP controlled Chronicle, designed to embarrass the ambassador.

It is no secret to anyone that the PNC/PPP partnership up to 1992 was an attempt by the PNC and PPP to keep Guyanese enslaved. But the current communist regime is not really promoting a multi party democracy. Opponents have been murdered or had to flee Guyana out of fear of their lives and that of their family. With all its imperfection, Guyanese were still far saver in their house and on the street prior to the PPP taking office.

What Hunt didn't say was that his US government pushed out the communists in 1964 and installed the PNC "dictatorship" as the lesser of two evils. But Hunt might not have been born then, or he might not have read enough Guyanese history, so he is forgiven.

Home > TOP STORY > US Chargé d’Affaires… Guyana seen dramatic transformation ‘since days of the dictatorship’  – from no democracy prior to 1992, to free and fair elections

US Chargé d’Affaires… Guyana seen dramatic transformation ‘since days of the dictatorship’  – from no democracy prior to 1992, to free and fair elections

“GUYANA has made what I would call a dramatic transformation since 1992…Guyana has gone from having effectively no democracy prior to the 1992 free and fair elections, to a system where you’ve had several electoral cycles that have been deemed free and fair by international and domestic observers.”This is the conviction held by the United State (U.S.) Chargé d’ Affaires to Guyana, Bryan Hunt, who, during an exclusive interview with the Guyana Chronicle yesterday, said he welcomed President Donald Ramotar’s May 11 announcement as the day for holding General and Regional Elections.

Hunt was at the time weighing in on the current state of affairs in Guyana, taking into account the imminence of elections as announced by the Guyanese Head of State.

PNC DICTATORSHIP

He said that while there is yet work to be done, the Guyanese political leadership and public at large “must be congratulated for the tremendous transformation that I believe has happened from the days of the dictatorship to what is a democratic system.” The foregoing comment was in obvious reference to the Peoples National Congress (PNC) administration, which was at the helm of political power in Guyana for 28 consecutive years prior to 1992. According to the U.S. diplomat, Guyana has, since 1992, managed to move “from a state of effectively what was single-Party rule to a system in which you have a vigorous multi-Party debate.”

He also touched on the remarkable transition the nation has undergone over the years, “from a time where the system left the Parliament with very little say over policy, to one since 1992 to which there is vigorous Parliamentary debate.” And while on the subject of transition, Hunt was asked to weigh in on recent criticisms levelled against the President since the prorogation of Parliament, to the effect that Guyana has been under the rule of a dictator since November last.

His reaction was to dismiss the notion in its entirety, saying rather than a return to dictatorship, the political climate here since post-elections 1992 has always been regarded as a multi-party democracy. “The view from the U.S. government would be that Guyana has had, since 1992, a multi-party democracy,” Hunt said. As he went on to explain, under Guyana’s legislative construct, there are constitutional parameters under which the country and its leadership operate; and this is bolstered, he said, by the judicial system which has, in the past, ruled in favour of government and against it.

CAUTION Hunt did caution, however, that while there has been a dramatic turnaround for Guyana, in terms of its state of democracy, that transition was not complete; and that there are areas that the next administration will need to deal with, such as the holding of Local Government Elections. Commenting on the 10th Parliament, Hunt lamented what he termed the ‘gridlock’ between the major political parties on important national issues. This state of affairs, he said, has to move to a position where, while differences are made known, “ when Guyana is confronted with significant challenges, whether that is the need to pass anti-money laundering legislation; the need to move forward with hydroelectric development; parties can set aside those political differences and act in the national interest to move things forward.”

VISA REVOCATIONS Asked to weigh in on recent protests outside the U.S. Embassy here in Georgetown, whereby Alliance For Change (AFC) members have been demanding the revocation of the visas of Government Ministers, Hunt responded as follows: “The reality is [that] we are not considering, within the U.S. government, doing what the AFC has requested, which is the revocation of visas for senior Guyanese officials.” He went on to say that every political party has the right to make their views known; but the request is not under consideration. Noting that there are protocols dictating the issuance and revocations of visas, Hunt said: “That’s simply not how we conduct our visa policy; we have very clear immigration laws.” He said it is based on the set legislation that a determination is made on whether one is eligible for a visa or not.

(By Gary Eleazar)

with that being said can he say why they take away rohee visa

What the ambassador says represents the position of the US government and he is clearly saying that Guyana is democratic under the PPP.

The ambassador made it very clear. Only a dunce will not be able to comprehend what the ambassador said.

Home > TOP STORY > US Chargé d’Affaires… Guyana seen dramatic transformation ‘since days of the dictatorship’  – from no democracy prior to 1992, to free and fair elections

US Chargé d’Affaires… Guyana seen dramatic transformation ‘since days of the dictatorship’  – from no democracy prior to 1992, to free and fair elections

“GUYANA has made what I would call a dramatic transformation since 1992…Guyana has gone from having effectively no democracy prior to the 1992 free and fair elections, to a system where you’ve had several electoral cycles that have been deemed free and fair by international and domestic observers.”This is the conviction held by the United State (U.S.) Chargé d’ Affaires to Guyana, Bryan Hunt, who, during an exclusive interview with the Guyana Chronicle yesterday, said he welcomed President Donald Ramotar’s May 11 announcement as the day for holding General and Regional Elections.

PNC DICTATORSHIP

(By Gary Eleazar)

“GUYANA has made what I would call a dramatic transformation since 1992 … Guyana has gone from having effectively no democracy prior to the 1992 free and fair elections, to a system where you’ve had several electoral cycles that have been deemed free and fair by international and domestic observers.

This is the conviction held by the United State (U.S.) Chargé d’ Affaires to Guyana, Bryan Hunt, who, during an exclusive interview with the Guyana Chronicle yesterday, said he welcomed President Donald Ramotar’s May 11 announcement as the day for holding General and Regional Elections.

PNC DICTATORSHIP

He said that while there is yet work to be done, the Guyanese political leadership and public at large “must be congratulated for the tremendous transformation that I believe has happened from the days of the dictatorship to what is a democratic system.” The foregoing comment was in obvious reference to the Peoples National Congress (PNC)

US Chargé d’Affaires… Guyana seen dramatic transformation ‘since days of the dictatorship’  – from no democracy prior to 1992, to free and fair elections, January 23, 2015.

Correct views of the situation by Mr. Bryan Hunt, Chargé d'Affaires, U.S. Embassy.

“GUYANA has made what I would call a dramatic transformation since 1992 … Guyana has gone from having effectively no democracy prior to the 1992 free and fair elections, to a system where you’ve had several electoral cycles that have been deemed free and fair by international and domestic observers.

This is the conviction held by the United State (U.S.) Chargé d’ Affaires to Guyana, Bryan Hunt, who, during an exclusive interview with the Guyana Chronicle yesterday, said he welcomed President Donald Ramotar’s May 11 announcement as the day for holding General and Regional Elections.

PNC DICTATORSHIP

He said that while there is yet work to be done, the Guyanese political leadership and public at large “must be congratulated for the tremendous transformation that I believe has happened from the days of the dictatorship to what is a democratic system.” The foregoing comment was in obvious reference to the Peoples National Congress (PNC)

US Chargé d’Affaires… Guyana seen dramatic transformation ‘since days of the dictatorship’  – from no democracy prior to 1992, to free and fair elections, January 23, 2015.

Correct views of the situation by Mr. Bryan Hunt, Chargé d'Affaires, U.S. Embassy.

Aya go read again....

“GUYANA has made what I would call a dramatic transformation since 1992…Guyana has gone from having effectively no democracy prior to the 1992 free and fair elections, to a system where you’ve had several electoral cycles that have been deemed free and fair by international and domestic observers.”

Do you trust Chronicle? .....

Do you believe

Chronicle will report Everything

the United States Chargé d’ Affaires to Guyana, Bryan Hunt

said or told them?

No No

Do you Believe everything

you heard & Saw the United States

Chargé d’ Affaires to Guyana, Bryan Hunt

saying on this Recording?

Do you believe Chronicle is Lieing?

Yes!

Can you trust Chronicle as a Messenger?

no one likes to hear a no

Can you Trust Chronicle Message?

Is Chronicle Lieing & Dishonest?

Do you Trust Stabroek News Reporting?

This is Stabroek News Report.

January 16, 2015 9:13 AM

Move to elections quickly –US Chargé

Posted By Gaulbert Sutherland On January 16, 2015 @ 5:28 am In Local News | No Comments

With no indication as to when the suspension of the National Assembly will be lifted, the top American diplomat here yesterday said that the primary focus at this stage needs to be on moving towards general elections ensuring a return to parliamentary democracy.

“…I look forward to the announcement from President (Donald) Ramotar as to when the electoral campaign will begin and as I (said) we’re already discussing very actively with the government, with the Guyana Elections Commission, with other stakeholders as to how the United States can play a constructive role in making sure that process moves forward and we see a return to a parliamentary democracy, a parliament that is elected by the Guyanese people to move the country forward,” Chargé d’Affaires at the US embassy here, Bryan Hunt said in an exclusive interview with Stabroek News yesterday.

Bryan Hunt

Bryan Hunt6

“I think the primary focus needs to be at this stage on moving towards free and fair elections. President Ramotar has stated that he will shortly be announcing a date for those elections and our efforts really are focused on trying to work with the government, with the Guyana Elections Commission, with civil society to ensure that those elections are going to be free, fair credible and representative of the will of the Guyanese people so…I think its most important that’s where the energy and the focus remains on trying to move…towards an electoral process that will allow the Guyanese people to debate the big issues that are facing the country as they should and to make choices between the various alternative scenarios that the political parties put forward,” he said.

Suspended

Ramotar on November 10 last year, suspended the National Assembly to avoid a motion of no-confidence against him and despite saying he would do so early this year, the president has not named a date for elections. Ramotar’s government has found little support for prorogation which critics have argued has shut down the legislative branch of government and the forum through which the people’s representatives are heard.

The president is coming under increasing pressure to name a date for general elections and the United Kingdom on Monday warned that Guyana is on a “dangerous path” and the country could be referred to a Commonwealth body which deals with serious violators of democracy principles. In the UK’s strongest statements on the matter yet, British High Commissioner to Guyana Andrew Ayre urged the Ramotar administration to “get on with it” and called on the government to resume Parliament without further delay or lay out a timeline for the resumption of Parliamentary democracy.

Yesterday, Hunt urged that the focus be on the holding of general elections and disclosed that government has approached the US for assistance. He noted that Ramotar’s stated reason for proroguing the parliament – to have dialogue with the opposition- did not happen.

“…Our emphasis is on trying to work to make sure that that electoral cycle begins, that it happens, that it is free and fair as possible and I think that that’s really where the emphasis needs to be placed because we now have a clear direction in which the government intends to move the country, towards elections, that’s clearly the logical outcome of what is a lack of agreement between the parties in parliament as to how to move the country forward, they’re going to throw it back to the electorate and that’s in our view as it should be,” he said.

The US chargé d’Affaires said that he looks forward to the announcement as to when the electoral campaign will being and a return to parliamentary democracy.

Assistance

Hunt noted that the Guyana government has indicated that it will be seeking assistance from all of the international donors while GECOM has already indicated to donors, some of the areas that it would like to see assistance in as it moves forward in organizing the polls. As far as the United States is concerned, officials have talked through various scenarios with the government and with GECOM as to what sort of assistance they might wish to see from the United States and the Americans are discussing within their own government as to how they might be able to meet those requests.

The US diplomat said that the Guyana government and GECOM have made specific requests in terms of assistance but declined to elaborate on these while noting that it was nothing out of the ordinary. He said that the requests are still being considered and it would not be appropriate to say what the requests were or what the American response would be.

“The government has…initiated a dialogue with us, GECOM has initiated a dialogue with us about how we can assist in the upcoming free and fair electoral process,” he said.

Asked whether the US State Department had any discussions with members of the US Congress on the suspension of Parliament here, Hunt said that there are ongoing briefings all the time on a variety of topics. He said that the US Congress has not scheduled any special committee hearings or sub-committee hearings on Guyana but they certainly call and receive briefings from the desk officer who covers Guyana in the State Department, frequently.

The diplomat said that when he was in the US in November, he spoke with several staff members of one of the congressional committees that covers foreign affairs and who were interested in the situation in Guyana.

“But that’s not unusual…that’s something that goes on continuously with our Congress, they take their role in oversight and understanding of our foreign policy very seriously,” he said.

Great shame

The US diplomat said that there is still tremendous work that remains to be done in terms of cooperation within the political sphere within Guyana. “I think it’s a great shame and I’m not placing blame on anyone but I think it’s a great shame that we did not see the three parties coming together to collaborate on issues of national importance during the last parliament. I think that’s a lost opportunity,” he declared.

He said that given the results of the 2011 elections, the opportunity was there. “There was no question, there was a tremendous opportunity for all of the political parties to come together to work in the national interest of Guyana, to move the country forward, to develop new relationships across the aisle. It’s unfortunate that for reasons the Guyanese politicians can probably explain far better than I can, that opportunity never fully materialized,” Hunt said.

“I can’t predict what these elections will yield whether it’s going to be another parliament in which no party has an outright majority or whether one or more will capture it but I think the sentiment still holds true that for Guyana to move forward, the more that the three parties can work together in the national interest, the better off the country will be,” Hunt asserted.

The diplomat noted that initiatives such as the Amaila Falls Hydropower Project, the anti-money laundering bill and local government elections required collaboration but this did not happen. He said that while the US is no model in terms of inter-party collaboration, on certain core issues where the parties see a national interest at stake such as combating terrorists, they have found ways to come together, pass legislation and make the process work and this is going to be tremendously important going forward in Guyana.

“It’s not tenable to continue to have absolute and complete gridlock on every possible issue that comes before the National Assembly here,” he declared.

“However the results of the upcoming elections come out, my hope is that the three major parties or whichever fourth party emerges during the electoral process will find ways to vigorously defend their political turf without preventing progress on issues where the national interest is really at stake,” Hunt added.

“I think it’s a great shame and I’m not placing blame on anyone but I think it’s a great shame that we did not see the three parties coming together to collaborate on issues of national importance during the last parliament. I think that’s a lost opportunity,” he declared.

....................................................................................................

This is probably one of the best points he made in the Stabroek News interview.  He's quite a politician himself, I like how she chooses his words to please the Newspaper that interview him.

I think BOTH of these articles were published accurately from Chronicle and Stabroek.

The PPP has made a very big mistake in using the Chronicle to fabricate words attributed to the US ambassador, in an attempt to spread misinformation about the opposition, and the PNC in particular. I can't see the US forgiving the current PPP regime for this.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

These AFC suckers are a bunch of losers. Losers if the PPP wins or greater losers if the PNC wins. The bottom line is they are a bunch of losers who will never know anything about truly winning. 

The little party that has PPP guys constantly talking brainless crap.

PNC DICTATORSHIP

(By Gary Eleazar)

Interesting?

PNC DICTATORSHIP

He said that while there is yet work to be done, the Guyanese political leadership and public at large “must be congratulated for the tremendous transformation that I believe has happened from the days of the dictatorship to what is a democratic system.” The foregoing comment was in obvious reference to the Peoples National Congress (PNC).

PNC DICTATORSHIP

(By Gary Eleazar)

Interesting?

The AFC is now part of the dictatorship. They should call themselves the "Dictatorship Alliance"

PNC DICTATORSHIP

(By Gary Eleazar)

Interesting?

The AFC is now part of the dictatorship. They should call themselves the "Dictatorship Alliance"

Just like the PPP should be called the thiefing party of Guyana, on the backs of the needy. .