Originally posted by Dondadda:
Now that he is the newly elected speaker of the National Asembly, Trotman should resign as the leader of the AFC if neutrality in his position is to be of paramount importance. For the fisrt time in the history of Guyana and perhaps, the leader of a political party in Parliament is the speaker. Something is wrong here.
Your views anyone?
There are no laws being broken.

Like channa boy shouts out .... Next!
Now that he is the newly elected speaker of the National Asembly, Trotman should resign as the leader of the AFC if neutrality in his position is to be of paramount importance. For the fisrt time in the history of Guyana and perhaps, the leader of a political party in Parliament is the speaker. Something is wrong here.
Your views anyone?

AFC made history in 2006 then in 2011 and now in 2012 as the party with 10%, it will run the show and your PPP will be made obsolete by its so-called rejects. lol

AFC!!!! Big Grin cheers flag PPP don dada! Next!
Nagamotoo was good enough to bring them votes, but he is not good enough to be speaker of the national assembly. What an insult to the veteran politician who sought comfort and solace in an organization thinking that he would achieve what he couldn't with the PPP.
Naga accepted it all like a docile stray dog.
It's time he stand up for his dignity and don't allow himself to be used in this fashion.
Nuff, I did not suggest that any laws were broken. However, it is unethical and immoral for one to remain the leader of a political party and at the same time be in a neutral position as speaker. Partiality does not equal impartiality.
Mitwah, I am not a PNC/APNU, nor AFC nor PPP/C.

When was the speakerhip ever a neutral position? Dondadda you sound like Jerry B. Big Grin
Nuff, I did not suggest that any laws were broken. However, it is unethical and immoral for one to remain the leader of a political party and at the same time be in a neutral position as speaker. Partiality does not equal impartiality.

Ralph Ramkarran served as the previous speaker for the last ten years while being an executive member of the PPP. Was he neutral?

Nancy Pelosi and John Boehner are the last two speakers of the House in the US. Are they neutral?
Originally posted by AndrÃĐ:
Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
What is the definition of neutral? Ralph is neutral but a guy a refused to condemn ethnic violence while an excutive of a major party does not seem to be fit for a job like that.

Ralph is not neutral. He is an executive member of the PPP.
It takes a special kind of "neutrality" to preside over a house of pirates and pillagers. I guess his voice was to apportion the loot among his compatriots.
Originally posted by Kari:

I'm looking for some clarification here. AFC got 7 seats but Trotman is not a Parliamentarian.

If the Speaker has a deciding vote in legislative Bills by my reckoning that gives the AFC 7 + 1 votes (even though they have 7 + 0 seats).

What's up wid dat???

Only when there is a tie, the Speaker can cast the deciding vote if s/he is an elected member of parliament.

From the official list, Raphael Trotman is not an elected member of parliament.

In a similar manner, a Minister who is not an elected member of parliament can present issues in parliament but cannot cast a vote.

The current status is:

PPP/C -- 32 members
APNU --- 26 members
AFC ----- 07 members
Originally posted by cain:
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
Trotman is not a threat to the PPP. he never will be.

The PPP need no one to threaten them, they are a threat to themselves.

Bai, yuh rite deh. Dem tekking all dem coolie ting and build up Afros and gi Afros wuk while dem coolie leff foa kech fish and live off remittance. Dem PPP muss do mo foa dem Afro, tek mo from coolie and nex time dem mite geh lil mo Afro vote. Dem a wach we.
after 20 yrs of abusing the guyanese people now you ppp people is talking about moral,its like the devil calling for god help in hell
Nagamotoo was good enough to bring them votes, but he is not good enough to be speaker of the national assembly. What an insult to the veteran politician who sought comfort and solace in an organization thinking that he would achieve what he couldn't with the PPP.
Naga accepted it all like a docile stray dog.
It's time he stand up for his dignity and don't allow himself to be used in this fashion.
why don you shut you rass,this man give 50 yrs of his life to the ppp and they treat him like dog,after 6 weeks in the AFC he is a member of parlament and a hero to the guyanese people
Originally posted by Kari:
I'm looking for some clarification here. AFC got 7 seats but Trotman is not a Parliamentarian. If the Speaker has a deciding vote in legislative Bills by my reckoning that gives the AFC 7 + 1 votes (even though they have 7 + 0 seats).

What's up wid dat???

Any way if it means a bigger lash on the PPP I am all in favor of it.
Originally posted by caribj:
Nagamotoo was good enough to bring them votes, but he is not good enough to be speaker of the national assembly..

Why do you all care. When he left you all called him all sorts of nasty things. You dont like the man so let it be.

They are just pointing out the folly of his demise.. Moses proved himself to be a very stupif fellow despite all his acedemic qualifications.
You don't have to feel sorry for him. He has to go back to berbice and beg those same people whom he betrayed to vote for him again.
Your views anyone?

Read this:

TROTMAN UNDER PRESSURE TO QUIT AS AFC LEADER

Newly elected Speaker of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman is under pressure to give up the leadership of the Alliance For Change (AFC) as it seems to be a conflict of interest for him to hold both positions.

Meanwhile, contacted on the issue, a senior member of the APNU said they would expect Trotman to divorce himself from policy formulation of the AFC as this could influence his handling of matters in the House.

Link to article

Political opportunist and PNC man Trotman is obsessed with power---wont be surprised to see him hang on for dear life to his AFC leadership position.

It is a conflict of interest for Trotty to hold both positions (Speaker Of the National Assembly and Leader of the AFC).The Speaker, by convention, severs all ties with his or her political party, as it is considered essential that he/she be seen as an impartial presiding officer.The APNU position is unreasonable. Trotty must not only divorce himself from Policy decisions in the AFC, but he must sever all ties with the AFC while he occupies the Speaker's position.It is the decent thing to do.
APNU trapped him because they knew this and did not tell him. The next step is that if he does not give up the leadership the APNU will make him give up the speakership and then Deborah Backer becomes the Speaker. Ramjattan, cannot see this as a conflict of interest because he is embararassed to admit it. What a clever APNU political strategy. Granger took both Ramjattan and Trotty to the slaughterhouse. APNU will get what it wants Deborah Backer as the speaker, that is if Troyty does not give up the Leadership of the AFC.I am interested in the PPP/C position this new development.
Originally posted by D2:
Originally posted by AndrÃĐ:
What is the definition of neutral? Ralph is neutral but a guy a refused to condemn ethnic violence while an excutive of a major party does not seem to be fit for a job like that.

Ralph is not neutral. He is an executive member of the PPP.
It takes a special kind of "neutrality" to preside over a house of pirates and pillagers. I guess his voice was to apportion the loot among his compatriots.

I guess you are out of the equation. You too unscrupulous to be objective.
Originally posted by Nuff:
Your views anyone?
There are no laws being broken.

Like channa boy shouts out .... Next!

It was a matter of principle. They made a deal and he backtrack on it.