-PPP/C condemns vandalism

Written by Chevon Singh
Friday, 07 October 2011 03:20

SUPPORTERS of the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) are being urged not to engage in any confrontation and to ignore provocations by the Opposition.

Minister of Agriculture and Executive member of the PPP, Robert Persaud (right) condemns the recent acts of vandalism yesterday, in the presence of the Party’s Public Relations Officer, Mr. Romel Roopnarine at Freedom House

PPP/C Executive Member and Minister of Agriculture, Mr. Robert Persaud issued the exhortation yesterday, during a media briefing at the Party’s Headquarters, Freedom House, where he condemned the recent acts of vandalism, in which billboards, posters and scrolls, relating to their 2011 election campaign, were defaced.
He said: “The party has received reports of a gang of about three to four persons who were in the Kitty area yesterday defacing billboards, removing posters and scrolls between the hours of 18:30 hrs and 19:00 hrs. They further proceeded to a certain part of the East Bank of Demerara, where similar acts were conducted.
“The group seems very organised, limited in number but centrally directed in terms of targeting PPP/C campaign materials.”
Persaud noted that their billboards and other materials have all been conveying positive messages and have also been emphasiing and portraying, to the Guyanese public, the qualities of the Party’s Presidential Candidate, Mr. Donald Ramotar.
In condemnation of these acts, Persaud said: “The party considers these acts of hooliganism not befitting the standards that Guyanese deserve and want during this elections period.”
He said, too, that, of concern is the fact that one incident which took place, particularly in Kitty, was perpetrated a short distance from the Kitty Police Station.
Persaud informed that, in the wake of the recent incidents, the party will be dispatching a formal letter to the Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), Dr. Steve Surujbally, informing of this development, after which a copy will be sent to the Commissioner of Police, Mr. Henry Greene.
The PPP/C will continue to bring this type of behaviour to the attention of GECOM, the Elections Observers and all others concerned, he emphasised.
Persaud pointed out that the PPP/C was the first party to indicate, to GECOM, its willingness to sign the Elections Code of Conduct and expressed disappointment that Opposition parties, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and Alliance For Change (AFC) are hesitant to endorse the document.
This, he said, suggests a lack of commitment, on their part, in helping to foster an environment of peaceful, free and fair elections.
As to the PPP/C’s continued efforts in this regard, Persaud said: “The PPP/C reaffirms that it will not condone or tolerate any of our supporters engaging in such behaviour…The party, at all times, has indicated that it intends to instill a level of discipline, civility and respect for other parties, especially during this period and we expect other parties will do the same. We urge our supporters not to react and to remain calm and to ignore these provocations by the opposition who, having failed to garner public support, is now resorting to dirty and uncivil electoral conduct.”

Other PPP/C campaign posters in Kitty that were defaced

Testimony to this, he claimed, is that, despite the fact that there were known opposition executives who were present at the Albion rally, last Sunday, no one in the crowd sought to intimidate them as they went about distributing their anti PPP/C propaganda.
The Agriculture Minister informed that hundreds of new volunteers have been turning up at PPP offices countrywide to render support to the campaign and to ensure a climate of peace, civility and proper conduct is maintained and some have already begun restoring the damaged billboards.
He called on the Guyana Police Force to “step up” its vigilance to prevent these acts, which appeared to have been well organised and to act upon the evidence provided.
“It is very organised, persons were moved in vehicles and were told how to proceed. In addition, they were monitored by our supporters and we told our supporters not to confront because that is the job of law enforcement. We do not want to provoke any situation in this regard. The tPPP/C is very much committed to peaceful elections.”
Persaud reported that three billboards in the Kitty area (the venue of the next PPP/C rally) and more than a dozen scrolls in other parts of the town were damaged, resulting in a loss of close to $2M.

Originally posted by The Judge:
Gerhard's presence at all PPP meetings is also aimed at provoking PPP supporters. The funny thing is that he has never visited a single APNU meeting

Would you say the Peanut butter crew showing up at AFC meetings is aimed at provoking the AFC?
J
Originally posted by Noel:
Them boys seh that "Ramotar face look better now than before the defacing..is them boys in Gt seh su na me
they should put this man face at the georgetown hospital he will scare little children to drink medicne
W
Originally posted by warrior:
Them boys seh that "Ramotar face look better now than before the defacing..is them boys in Gt seh su na me
they should put this man face at the georgetown hospital he will scare little children to drink medicne

Ramotar and Jagdeo have lost the respect of the nation, we are no longer going to tolerate their farce.

All Berbice voting AFC.
J
these people ban sharma and have the nerve to cry when some body nice up the duck face well as they say when you have glass house you dont trow stone

Sharma infringed on the terms and conditions of his license for the 4th time. Even he and his wife admitted. The opposition aren't contesting the legality of his ban but rather the timing. At least familiarize yourself with the issue properly before commenting

And im sure dem same boys wud demonize PPP supporters were they to react in the same vein

Well said, it would be more effective than the stick. Big Grin

And im sure dem same boys wud demonize PPP supporters were they to react in the same vein

We cannot have our cake and eat it allow the AFC boys and their teams on NCN so that we the people can hear their points of view.

Are we this daft in the PPP not to recognize that there is a time for leadership and it is better for us to do this now not later?

Who is advising us on these matters pinky and the brain?
J
these people ban sharma and have the nerve to cry when some body nice up the duck face well as they say when you have glass house you dont trow stone

Sharma infringed on the terms and conditions of his license for the 4th time. Even he and his wife admitted. The opposition aren't contesting the legality of his ban but rather the timing. At least familiarize yourself with the issue properly before commenting
if the jag want to play fair he can suspend the ban until after the election then the ppp could go on their platform and say you see we are not scare we are a party of all the people it would have be a big plus for them but as they say when you is a bully you dont think you see the wall but insteat of going around the wall you try to run through the wall well this wall have lots of nail
W
The supporters of the P.P.P/C will ignore the provocations the opponents of state are making...its a clear sign that those opponents are running scared and wanna disrupt our democracy...the the Guyanese populace are wise...they will endorse the P.P.P/C... and not only put the opponents of state to shame...but also ensure progress continues...

I don't condone defacing PPP posters however, the PPP has deprived the opposition of media access, they have limited the licence for expanded coverage of independent media and virtually control info flow. The PPP is using state resources to conduct electioneering thus gaining an advantage. People, in frustration, will act out in such ways. They have not harmed anyone nor have they damaged state or private economic assets. If this is all they have done, be thankful, though they should refrain.
The supporters of the P.P.P/C will not be intimidated by the cowardly acts of the opponents of state...they will be steadfast in their work..and ensure our country remains free..and democracy prevails....the electorate will be voting P.P.P/C thus ensuring progress continues
Originally posted by albert:
The kitty market square rally will be huge....the people of region four will turn out in their thousands to mark their mark..and show support for the P.P.P/C

Like Albion, they will be trucked and bused from every corner of Guyana.
The kitty market square rally will be huge....the people of region four will turn out in their thousands to mark their mark..and show support for the P.P.P/C

albert make sure you bus in some black people this time. Kitty and all Indo crowd wouldnt look good.

Come on Prem black people can use some money for showing up plus free food. Entertainment will be much appreciated too.
Transportation to public meetings are immaterial to the actual votes to be recorded at the proposed 2011 elections.

Parties would have less, equal or more support at certain locations for their meetings.

Currently, there are no proven indication that the PPP/C support has declined.
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:

Dont worry this will be obvious come elections. Remember to compare who many voted PPP in 2001, 2006 and in 2011. If vote counts are low and the PPP wins it it still shows the people dont like the PPP.
Originally posted by caribj:
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:

Dont worry this will be obvious come elections.

Of course. Smile
The supporters of the P.P.P/C will ignore the provocations the opponents of state are making...its a clear sign that those opponents are running scared and wanna disrupt our democracy...the the Guyanese populace are wise...they will endorse the P.P.P/C... and not only put the opponents of state to shame...but also ensure progress continues...

It is easy for the PPP to stop the provocations...all they have to do is stop defacing the signs and placing the blame on others.
Originally posted by Tola:

It is easy for the PPP to stop the provocations...all they have to do is stop defacing the signs and placing the blame on others.
i think ramotar look cute with his make over
W