The PNC Needs to Apologize for Past Rigging if Coalition is to Win

As we enter into the election campaigns to unseat the PPP Jagdeoite with the likelihood of a President from the PNC side, it would be a brilliant strategy and mark of maturity and good intent, for Mr. Granger to apologize for the past sins of PNC rigging.  Those who would not be inclined to vote for a Granger coalition would remember the stealing of votes most, apart from the assault on people’s food and PNC soldiers trampling on bread made from banned flour.

If Granger comes out and renounce the PNC’s past, and assure the population that PNC Grangerite will not be like PNC Burnhamite, it will go a far way in allaying people’s fears.

However, I notice lately that some in the PNC want to engage in revisionism by painting Burnham as some sort of brilliant leader. They are even celebrating his death and birth anniversary.  This is bad strategy. Leave Burnham where he is, and do not resurrect his ghost if you want to win over people from the other side who remember the bitter taste of Burnhamism. Also, keep people like Alexander, Clarke, Green and the old Burnhamites at home; don’t involve them in the campaign.

Can we get the PNC Grangerite to renounce the PNC’s past in a clear direct way?

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

As we enter into the election campaigns to unseat the PPP Jagdeoite with the likelihood of a President from the PNC side, it would be a brilliant strategy and mark of maturity and good intent, for Mr. Granger to apologize for the past sins of PNC rigging.  Those who would not be inclined to vote for a Granger coalition would remember the stealing of votes most, apart from the assault on people’s food and PNC soldiers trampling on bread made from banned flour.

If Granger comes out and renounce the PNC’s past, and assure the population that PNC Grangerite will not be like PNC Burnhamite, it will go a far way in allaying people’s fears.

However, I notice lately that some in the PNC want to engage in revisionism by painting Burnham as some sort of brilliant leader. They are even celebrating his death and birth anniversary.  This is bad strategy. Leave Burnham where he is, and do not resurrect his ghost if you want to win over people from the other side who remember the bitter taste of Burnhamism. Also, keep people like Alexander, Clarke, Green and the old Burnhamites at home; don’t involve them in the campaign.

banna u need to mek up yuh mind where u stand . . . that boat has sailed

Get PPP to apologize for the lusignan slaughter by Roger Khan's employee Fineman and get the PPP to apologize for the death of Sash Sawh.

When you get that done I will ask the PNC to apologize for the PPP's stupidity.

Get PPP to apologize for the lusignan slaughter by Roger Khan's employee Fineman and get the PPP to apologize for the death of Sash Sawh.

The PPP will kindly ask you to keep your STUPIDITY to yourself.

PPP doan wanna hear the truth? why am I not surprised?

Happy Ostrich day to you........

It won't take much for Granger to do that.

If he does it, people will forgive, and vote for the Alliance.

At this point, the devil we want to defeat is the PPP Jagdeoite.  They have their own set of sins to apologize for but they would not do it. The new govt will have to go after them, not forgive the way the PPP forgave the PNC.

I am looking at what the PNC within the new alliance must do because of that old baggage it carries around, and which the PPP Jagdeoite will churn up.

It won't take much for Granger to do that.

If he does it, people will forgive, and vote for the Alliance.

At this point, the devil we want to defeat is the PPP Jagdeoite.  They have their own set of sins to apologize for but they would not do it. The new govt will have to go after them, not forgive the way the PPP forgave the PNC.

I am looking at what the PNC within the new alliance must do because of that old baggage it carries around, and which the PPP Jagdeoite will churn up.

"If he does it [apologize], people will forgive, and vote for the Alliance." . . . this is neither true nor supported by any sort of evidence

and dude, here's the bottom line

u cannot ask the weak to "apologize" while giving the strong a pass, if you are sincere, that is

over the years the PPP has clutched to its bosom many of those badmen ostracized, sidelined and jailed by Hoyte

indeed, Desmond Hoyte's tenure as president was apology enough for the Burnham years, IMHO

everything else is just distraction

many posers and role players on this BB . . . poison pill at the ready

If he does it, INDIAN people will forgive, and vote for the Alliance.

(statement modified by caribj)

And Africans will stay home demanding to know why Granger didn't make his apology conditional on Nagamootoo apologizing on behalf of acts conducted by the PPP WHEN HE WAS STILL A MEMBER.

The APNU/AFC coalition will only work if there is very heavy voter turn out by black/mixed voters, combined with significant cross over Indian voting, and a depressed Indian turn out.   And if APNU/AFC makes inroads into regions 1 and 9 that would help too.  Region 8 has few votes due to its small population, and very poor transportation which discourages voting.

What does an apology mean to you Bharrat? The PPP wants the PNC to apologize for what they have done in the past. The people who have watched their loved ones  slaughtered and raped do not need an apology from the butchers.

Mr. Redux said: "indeed, Desmond Hoyte's tenure as president was apology enough for the Burnham years, IMHO. "

In the history of rigging, the rigging was worst when Hoyte "won."

Corbin, campaign manager, gave them the biggest "win."

The apology is tactical and strategic because traditional PPP supporters who lived through the Burnham dictatorship will raise up the Burnham jumbie when the military trampled on bread in the streets, when eating a meal of roti, dhall and curry meant you were breaking 20 of Burnham bans on food, and people were hauled off to jail if found with flour and unaccustomed goods.

An apology and assurance that the PNC Grangerite is not the same as PNC Burnhamite, will defuse the PPP reminders of what the PNC Burnhamite used to be. That will be the PNC's main message against the Alliance.  The Alliance needs to do what it takes to win and an apology would go a far way to allay fears.  This is not time for ego.  We are trying to unify our people here.

Burnhamism. Also, keep people like Alexander, Clarke, Green and the old Burnhamites at home; don’t involve them in the campaign.

Do you thing we are going to blame any of the soldiers today for the PPP thievery? Soldiers are not supposed to question. They are supposed to obey. Note Ramotar specifically noted what he expects of the officers and that is to obey the authority of the government in charge. Granger cannot apologize for an administration.

Indians did not get it any harder than most black people. They may have like the current poor gleefully bask in the reflected glow of their kind in office but they suffer no less than black people under this corrupt regime. There is a different psychology at work here pretending that Indians alone were oppressed and they alone can claim the status of sacred victims of the regime.

Anyone appealing to that kind of argument reinforces the generalized racist structure that has been our politics. We need to divest ourselves of that baggage and not burden our reason with incidentals. We need to think clearly about the kinds of change we want and it will not come with the PPP. That is what Indians need to be looking at and if the look elsewhere then the miss the boat and are not persuadable by any rational messaging sent to them to beg them to come over.

An apology and assurance that the PNC Grangerite is not the same as PNC Burnhamite, will defuse the PPP reminders of what the PNC Burnhamite used to be. That will be the PNC's main message against the Alliance.  The Alliance needs to do what it takes to win and an apology would go a far way to allay fears.  This is not time for ego.  We are trying to unify our people here.

So the PNC MIGHT get some Indian support and WILL LOSE African support if it apologizes without a reciprocal apology by the PPP.

Dumb strategy and they have already taken enough risks as is.  Confusing the African vote with a unilateral apology, on top of confusing the Indian vote might well give the PPP 60% when blacks stay home.