Originally Posted by raymond:

what a whiney song! the girl sound like a screeching cat. I spent much of my childhood in Rose Hall and the girls there were not as you would think. They have an independent streak to them.

Big Shout out to Rosanna in boney England and Fazie in Toronto who jump started me into adult hood. Rosanna practically raised herself. Her brother was barely 18 when her parents left and he had to look after that gangly long legged bundle of independent minded womanhood that would jump start any kid's testosterone engine with one look. She still is hot at 56, still has that gleam in her eye that promises a thousand delights under a sheet.

Then there was Fazie...brainy, serene, deliberative, with a bad assed bod sculpted by the gods. Sorry you are not too well dear sister but you have my heart in your heart...so much for Rose Hall girls!

I grew up with the fellow who made this song and only this afternoon I was telling my wife about him after listening to the songs you posted on GNI.

Mokam was his callname and he was a home grown artiste, meaning started with spoon and bottle. Not too many knew he was Afro Guyanese because he was fluent with some of his hindi and urdu  words although this song is in English. He made many anti PNC   songs and used to sing them publicly in and around Georgetown, His life was cut short by the Burnham PNC police force at Grove EBD IN 1979.

RIP my brother.

Last edited by Chief

I grew up with the fellow who made this song and only this afternoon I was telling my wife about him after listening to the songs you posted on GNI.

Mokam was his callname and he was a home grown artiste, meaning started with spoon and bottle. Not too many knew he was Afro Guyanese because he was fluent with some of his hindi and urdu  words although this song is in English. He made many anti PNC   songs and used to sing them publicly in and around Georgetown, His life was cut short by the Burnham PNC police force at Grove EBD IN 1979.

RIP my brother.

I know Mokam. He has/had a brother name Barrow. Mokam, Tunku and Barrow were buddy friends. Even though they were thought of as "bad", they never stood up and watched someone being taken advantaged of.

what a whiney song! the girl sound like a screeching cat. I spent much of my childhood in Rose Hall and the girls there were not as you would think. They have an independent streak to them.

Big Shout out to Rosanna in boney England and Fazie in Toronto who jump started me into adult hood. Rosanna practically raised herself. Her brother was barely 18 when her parents left and he had to look after that gangly long legged bundle of independent minded womanhood that would jump start any kid's testosterone engine with one look. She still is hot at 56, still has that gleam in her eye that promises a thousand delights under a sheet.

Then there was Fazie...brainy, serene, deliberative, with a bad assed bod sculpted by the gods. Sorry you are not too well dear sister but you have my heart in your heart...so much for Rose Hall girls!

boy, ah hope yuh aint making stuff up

RIP my brother.

I know Mokam. He has/had a brother name Barrow. Mokam, Tunku and Barrow were buddy friends. Even though they were thought of as "bad", they never stood up and watched someone being taken advantaged of.

Very true Skeldonman.

When I was around 18 years old I was liming at No 78 Road one night. All of a suddent there was a commotion and I saw police chasing a someone and the person jumped from one verandah to another verandah, From Leslie Bisoondial over to Pandit Ramlall's.  The police said halt and he had his weapon drawn, all of a sudden the supposed thief jumped off the verandah and ran away without the police firing a shot.

A few days later I catch up with the police for a drink, , his name was Bapo . I questioned him as to why he did not shoot and informed him that many of the spectators were disappointed that he allowed the bandit to escape.  He confessed that he recognized the person and could not have fired his gun, guess who it was, Mokam.

D2, the Rev can't accuse you of not writing a coherent post!

"She still has that gleam in her eye that promises a thousand delights under a sheet". How poetic!