The Linden electricity rate increase issue

JULY 15, 2012 | BY  | FILED UNDER AFC COLUMNFEATURES / COLUMNISTS 
By Gerhard Ramsaroop

Historically, the bauxite industry in Linden had to produce excess electricity in order to facilitate the periodic peak operation of the famous walking draglines.  The excess was then fed into the community and for many years too, also into the national grid supporting the rest of the country.

When the bauxite industry was allowed to decline by both the PNC and PPP, the power plant went with it.  Since 1992, the PPP Government invested more than G$48 billion in GPL that was targeted at most of Guyana except for Linden, where instead they opted for privatisation.  As a result, the power plant was run down further, including a turbine exploding.  The Government eventually obtained a settlement, but none of this money ever made it back into the plant.

In 2006, the plant was given to the Chinese company, BOSAI, as a write-off.  Since then, the people of Linden have been at their mercy, because the PPP gave BOSAI the power to do whatever it wants.  First, they allowed BOSAI to set electricity prices outside of the Public Utilities Commission (PUC) which is totally wrong, because the PUC is the national electricity regulator.  This cannot be allowed to continue, and electricity pricing in Linden must be placed within the remit of the PUC forthwith.

Second, BOSAI took advantage of the freedom from regulation and charged an exorbitant rate for surplus electricity.  To correct this situation, the Government agreed to a subsidy, but given their record on corruption, it is not inconceivable there is some impropriety here. 

This practice by BOSAI must stop.  They must say what they charge and the basis on which they have arrived at that charge.  Since the electricity is produced principally for BOSAI’s own use, the applicable pricing policy should be marginal pricing, meaning only for the cost of producing additional power, and not total cost pricing.  In order to prevent a heavy rate increase in electricity, the Government must renegotiate with BOSAI along these lines.  BOSAI must also be held to its commitment to install heavy fuel generators which will further lower costs. BOSAI also buys fuel duty-free, and given GPL’s massive losses of 32%, their cost of production has to be lower.  GPL produces at a cost of G$30 per kWH, while BOSAI charges Linden almost double that! Linden is not connected to the national grid either.  So it makes no sense to compare Linden’s rate with GPL.

In all of this, the fact must not escape that under the PPP, Linden has become an even more depressed town, with unemployment estimated at over 70%.  Moreover, despite a loss in jobs in the bauxite industry, from several thousand to only a few hundred today, with very little alternative job opportunities being created, Linden still suffers from severe dust pollution from the industry. Nowhere else in Guyana is there pollution of that magnitude, and it is international norm that there be some amelioration by the offending industry.  This must also be included in the renegotiations with BOSAI.It is obvious that the PPP is more interested in BOSAI that the people of Linden.

Development in Linden by the PPP, particularly under the Jagdeo administration, has been severely wanting.  Major contracts are issued to contractors friendly to the PPP, who are not from Linden, and who hire very little of the local labour force and procure very little in the town.  As such, the residents from Linden receive little benefits from the huge profits made by these outside contractors, whose work is often of the poorest quality. Had Lindeners been meaningfully involved in these works over the last two decades, Linden today would have had major contractors hiring more Lindeners, leading to economic growth and development in the town.

Further, Government initiatives such as the Linden Economic Advancement Programme (LEAP) only produced minor results.  For example, LEAP was intended as an incubator for small businesses such as computer assembly, but that never took off, because the Government chose to import computers from its favoured “barber shop dealers” for schools and Government agencies in the region.  So when the PPP boasts of how much they have spent in Linden, while true, it has resulted in little actual development.  Moreover, the PPP has denied Linden access to more than one TV station.

The PPP suddenly increasing the rate of electricity clearly resulted from their massive defeat in Region 10 (Linden) in the last elections. It was political retribution against Lindeners. We must be clear in saying that nothing about rate increases in electricity for Lindeners was mentioned by the PPP prior to the election.  The PPP ought to know that it was the same bauxite workers who had joined with the sugar workers and stood up against Forbes Burnham.

Predictably, the PPP put a racial spin on the issue, saying the opposition wants to remove the subsidy from the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) which employs mostly Indo-Guyanese, while demanding the subsidy remain for Linden, a primarily African-Guyanese community.  This of course, is a heinous lie as the AFC only called for the corrupt and inept management of GuySuCo to be changed.  The AFC voted for and fully supports the G$4 billion subsidy offered to GuySuCo to preserve the jobs of the working class in the sugar belt.

The reference to the higher rate of electricity outside of Linden has racial overtones as well.  The PPP has been blatantly spreading lies and hatred by telling Indo-Guyanese that their resources are being used to subsidise electricity for African-Guyanese who live in Linden. However, the fact is that the rest of Guyana, including African-Guyanese enclaves such as Hopetown, Buxton and Dem Amstel, is subsidising Linden, just like all of Guyana, including Linden, is subsidising GuySuCo and its failed US$200 million white elephant Skeldon Sugar Factory. Conveniently too, they leave out the fact that the high rate is because of GPL’s extraordinary losses and line transmitting inefficiencies which are costing the taxpayers in excess of $5 billion annually.

So the fact is not that Lindeners are paying too little, but that the rest of the country is paying too much for electricity, because business friends and relatives of the PPP cabal are exempted from paying electricity.

The AFC will not support the increased rates in electricity at Linden until the PPP regime provides jobs for its people and the region becomes developed. In our Action Plan, the AFC had plans to make Linden into one of the new Economic Frontier towns, and we urge the PPP to put these ideas into action by aggressively pursuing the following:
•    Foreign investment from a reputable company to develop an alumina plant;
•    Develop the 200,000 hectares of the intermediate savannahs for citrus, legumes, vegetables, cattle,  etc. As the country’s second frontier for agricultural developments;
•    Intensify block-making capability using lateritic bauxite soil to support the housing industry;
•    Promote furniture manufacturing and value added wood products;
•    Establish a University of Guyana campus in Linden, offering courses relevant to the developmental needs of Regions 7, 8, 9, and 10.
Finally, we urge the PPP immediately desist from engaging in divisive politics, including playing the race card, and get down to the business of governing our country, for all of our people, under this new dispensation.

First, they allowed BOSAI to set electricity prices outside of the Public Utilities Commission (PUC) which is totally wrong, because the PUC is the national electricity regulator.

Can you explain why the PUC has to set Rates for a Private Company which is NOT on the National Grid???

Finally, we urge the PPP immediately desist from engaging in divisive politics, including playing the race card, and get down to the business of governing our country, for all of our people, under this new dispensation

SHAME is what you live for, right. Prostuting yourself with LIES and more LIES is how you get your kicks. You have damaged the People of Linden, 820 students dont have a school to attend, I hope you, Moses and Ramjattan can sleep well at night. I am not going to call Al Yuh names but if there is a GOD and EVIL MEN should be punished then you , Moses and Ramjattan are in line for severe punishment.

The PPP suddenly increasing the rate of electricity clearly resulted from their massive defeat in Region 10 (Linden) in the last elections. It was political retribution against Lindeners. We must be clear in saying that nothing about rate increases in electricity for Lindeners was mentioned by the PPP prior to the election.  The PPP ought to know that it was the same bauxite workers who had joined with the sugar workers and stood up against Forbes Burnham

Bannas, You should have been born a woman and wuk ah Gaumont, you would have done bright Business!!!

First, they allowed BOSAI to set electricity prices outside of the Public Utilities Commission (PUC) which is totally wrong, because the PUC is the national electricity regulator.

Can you explain why the PUC has to set Rates for a Private Company which is NOT on the National Grid???

30% is still Gov't owned.

But I suppose you prefer our tax dollars to go to the Chinese rather than our own black people, right, Nehru?  That is what this is all about for you isn't it?  And this is why you jump up to defend the Chinese, and your PPP's deal with them?  Right?

And the irony is, it is not even that the black people in Linden are asking for a handout!  They only want a just pricing for the electricity from BOSAI and development for their town.  But you PPP people twist and taint the issue, particularly by introducing GPL as a strawman.  Now talk about shameless...

The PPP suddenly increasing the rate of electricity clearly resulted from their massive defeat in Region 10 (Linden) in the last elections. It was political retribution against Lindeners. We must be clear in saying that nothing about rate increases in electricity for Lindeners was mentioned by the PPP prior to the election.  The PPP ought to know that it was the same bauxite workers who had joined with the sugar workers and stood up against Forbes Burnham

Bannas, You should have been born a woman and wuk ah Gaumont, you would have done bright Business!!!

You rass shoulda been born an outhouse, you are filled with crap.

"So the fact is not that Lindeners are paying too little, but that the rest of the country is paying too much for electricity, because business friends and relatives of the PPP cabal are exempted from paying electricity."

This is what I wanted to hear all along.

You rass shoulda been born an outhouse, you are filled with crap.

He was'nt born...he came through a kakahole...

Originally Posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:

But I suppose you prefer our tax dollars to go to the Chinese rather than our own black people, right, Nehru?  That is what this is all about for you isn't it?  And this is why you jump up to defend the Chinese, and your PPP's deal with them?  Right?

And the irony is, it is not even that the black people in Linden are asking for a handout!  They only want a just pricing for the electricity from BOSAI and development for their town.  But you PPP people twist and taint the issue, particularly by introducing GPL as a strawman.  Now talk about shameless...

This is absolutely cheap political pandering.  The Chinese are there for economic reasons and they employ locals.  What do you want, let them go and you find the alternative?  Who stops you from investing in Linden, I'm sure, given your political love affair there, your investment will be safer than the schools.

Bannas, if your position truly represents anything the AFC now stands for, them it must be the most immature and childish political machinery ever visited Guyana.

I don't know where you draw your business acumen from, but clearly either shamelessly a political demagogue or hopelessly naive.

Is same thing dem say about the Chinese operations in Africa. But finally a few Africans are seeing the scam that the Chinese are running.

In Guyana the corrupt PPP is too blinded by the kickbacks they just go along.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Is same thing dem say about the Chinese operations in Africa. But finally a few Africans are seeing the scam that the Chinese are running.

In Guyana the corrupt PPP is too blinded by the kickbacks they just go along.

Negotiation to sweeten deal with multinational corps are an ongoing norm as long as you don't kill the goose.  The Chinese are known to build hospitals and laid infrastructure for their projects which has also helped the local citizen.

This is absolutely cheap political pandering.  The Chinese are there for economic reasons and they employ locals.  What do you want, let them go and you find the alternative?  Who stops you from investing in Linden, I'm sure, given your political love affair there, your investment will be safer than the schools.

Bannas, if your position truly represents anything the AFC now stands for, them it must be the most immature and childish political machinery ever visited Guyana.

I don't know where you draw your business acumen from, but clearly either shamelessly a political demagogue or hopelessly naive.

So the Govt should assist their "economics" instead of its citizens....

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

Cheap welfare in not good economics.  The 20 years of cheap subsidized energy costs was more than enough.  It should not continue indeffinitely.  Local businesses which use power as a major value-add should lobby for this concession.  However, the concession should not be for carte-blanche consumerism.

Are insane dude? just listen to yourself -  20 years is more than enough and now its time for the poor chinese to reap some benifits.....

Fella, do the PPP pay yuh that much to be vile like that on another citizen. The PPP gang are not citizens of Guyana. If Rwanda could occur in Guyana, all ah dem would be in America.

I have always been critical of Chinese investments in Guyana. Because those Chinese are not of the calibre of the ones who own businesses in China. These are individuals who lack vast amounts of capital for massive projects.

And that, Uncle seignet, is exactly the case of BOSAI.  But then there are those of us whose vision is clouded by the lens of "race".

Are insane dude? just listen to yourself -  20 years is more than enough and now its time for the poor chinese to reap some benifits.....

Good one, sachin_05!

Be a bit more substantive than just the usual poodle.

So how long you need, 100 years to kech lil sense?  You ain't insane, just plain retarded.

I am so HAPPY that Snakeoil, Money Grabbing, Robber Barrons like GR are exposing themselves for who they are. Now the Guyanese People can know who exactly they are. I have to read what he stated lately and wonder what would have happened if such SHAMELESS individuals were in the Govt. His statements are much to wonder about and it is quite evident that such an individual lacks MORAL, INTEGRITY, TRUTHFULNESS and basic DECENCY. I know the Guyanese People are smarter than he can ever be!!!

So how long you need, 100 years to kech lil sense?  You ain't insane, just plain retarded.

Oh yeah...dem poor chinese dem need to be subsidise, it dose'nt matter they employ just around 300 people and polute the air for 70,000, dosen't matter they enjoy duty free fuel and tax breaks...two bit racist

You AFC boys have to be very careful with the Linden situation because it may be a ploy to start some racial disturbances so that you boys can lose the indians who voted for you in the last election.  So be on the lookout.

Originally Posted by Prashad:

You AFC boys have to be very careful with the Linden situation because it may be a ploy to start some racial disturbances so that you boys can lose the indians who voted for you in the last election.  So be on the lookout.

We are aware.  Thanks.  And again, this why we are saying it is the PPP that stands to gain by a protracted, inflamed and violent situation...

Snakeoil sales in the decline. The Guyanese People know you, Benshit, Moses and Ramjhaaaaatan are responsible. 839 Children will have no school to go to compliments of Al Yuh. Remember, there is a GOD. AS we Guyanese say " Moon ah run till Day ketch am". I leave Al yuh heartless and Shameless CUNUMUNU in the hands of GOD.

Why don't you get a hold of the authorities and let them know who burnt the school nuh, go ahead, tell dem you us a know man.

Bannas, I thought you had a brain. Did Osama Bin Laden came to Manhattan and bombed the WTC??? Use your brains bhai, it is not that difficult!!

yujiiiiiiii, most of those in that same govt you rass calling on, will probably be seeing the inside of a jail. They are the crooks and traitors to Guyana. They are the ones the people of Guyana are looking to for leadership and so far all they've taught them to do is to steal without getting caught.

I call on the government to jail extremists who incite hate and destruction of private and public property. Time to play hardball with the crooks and traitors.

Damn, were you there you would be in their noose as well given your avowed racism. But then again, they are more like you so you are kindred!

The PPP can only push so hard before getting their knuckles rapped. They are tethered to western funding sources and  being brutish is the surest way to see one's cash dry up.

You are one of the architects of the violence with your inciting messages in coalition with the PNC. But it seems that you have forgotten that the PPP stand to gain every time the PNC/AFC supporters riot and burn. The nation is reminded of how violent afc/pnc can be and the cost to society. 

I call on the government to jail extremists who incite hate and destruction of private and public property. Time to play hardball with the crooks and traitors.

Well I see that you will soon be in jail for screaming all sorts of racial stereotypes about AfroGuyanese.  You and then your friend sugrim joined you.

I agree so what has the govt done to encourage the development of the type of industries which could provide decent job opportunities in Linden instead of selling cake and sweet drinks on the road, or selling baskets when no one has the money to buy them.

Those lying AFC/PNC creeps stated that Guyana grants subsidies to Bosai. Sam Hinds clearly stated that they don't.  This peddling of misinformation by d2 and others is clearly a strategy to cause deliberate unrest in the nation. These people stay in their armchair from abroad and support rioting in the nation while getting a good laugh at the Guyanese people's expense. 

Druggie here is the deal.  The PPP grants subsidies to BOSAI which then sells its surplus electricity to Lindeners via two companies which only distribute electricity.  GPL is not in Linden.

If BOSAI is not subsidized then neither are LIndeners.  The subsidy that BOSAI gets, not only covers what Lindeners use but also what BOSAI uses for itself.

Given that few Lindeners now work for BOSAI are you insisting that LIndeners subsidize BOSAi, which is currently poisoning them as it refuses to use moderntechnology to reduce the smoke emitted from its plants.

There was an electricity plant in Linden which was shut down by the govt.

What was most noteworthy is the fact that the $30,000 per capita that they govt claims to have spent on Lindeners is actually a mere US$ 150.  What is also noteworthy is that after 20 years of governance very few new jobs have bene created in Linden so I dont know why the govt is pretending that they hve done so much.  Lindeners have complained that most of the contracts have not been awarded to Lindeners, nor do they use Lindeners, except for the worst jobs.

What is also notable is after 20 years there was much babble about "Linden's future potential".  The Brazilians offered to build a highway and the govt has dragged its feet.  W/o that highway there is none of that potential that the govt boasts about.

No wonder, after almost abandoning the PNC in 2006 (they PNC only got 50% of the voytes that year that it got in 2001) Lindeners came out in their thousands to register disgust with the PPP for its idle boasts and lies.  There was a 25% increase in voter turn out.  Not only did all of this go to the PNC but so did 50% of those who voted for the PPP and AFC in 2006.  The PNC saw a 60% increase in votes in 2011, vs 2006.

Linden remains a depressed town with massive poverty being a feature.   Many have been forced to leave Linden to look for other opportunities in the interior and in the Caribbean, in addition to migration to North America.