Leonora gyal, that is only because he didn't dare say why he like them. But rose wouldn't have been my choice of word.

Another thing, it may be dangerous for a man to say his woman is valuable because she is a cook or a maid.

Sadly, he died shortly after that conversation. He loved to drink, and one day did so forgetting he had taken medication, then had a massive heart attack. Young guy, gone too soon, but he enjoyed life. He was a land surveyor from West Coast Demerara.

ba$eman posted:
Tola posted:

Among six friends who grew up together in Guyana and moved decades ago to different countries, the ones who moved to the US developed the most selfish attitude, with less compassion for others.

It must be the selfish atmosphere of the place that change people.

Nah joker.  You have a personal dislike for the US and, as such, you see what you want to see in the country and the people.  In your demented thinking, you backed in to a logic on US people to fit your foregone conclusion by judging some attribute in a friend!

America has all types, the selfish, the altruistic, the giving and the taking!

Your simplistic conclusion reflects the shallowness in your thinking.  This usually is synonymous with a lowered IQ, other words dunce!!

Specifically Baseboard, I was speaking about  you and your selfish attitude, as described by your neighbours.  

Like your lame-brain hero in Guyana and another in the U.S.  Anyone who has a different opinion  by your standard is wrong. I can see why the US warped your mind, which is very different from one of the best country we live in, call Canada.  

The US  kick-out people in need and we take them in. That alone tells  a lot about the selfish  mind of Trump and the US administration. The US is country of war and disharmony, while Canada, who initiated  the UN Peace Corps, is a country of peace and harmony.  You might want to research how many Americans moved  to Canada, after Trump got elected. So stop speaking from your ass and learn some history.   .

Your problem is, you worship two of the worse leaders, Jagdeo and Trump. Based on what Jagdeo and his gang did to a lot of  people in Guyana,  he might never  win another election and his rich friends are in jail, waiting for him.  Regarding  Trump, well, the federal grand jury will decide, if his ass is grass like Nixon. Trump tells too many little lies, by a big white liar.

Bhai, get off your intellectual  pedestal, before you fall down and break your ass. Also, stop the late night drinking, because its difficult to understand your writing.  

Last edited by Tola
Photo

Stephen A. Schwarzman, chief executive of the Blackstone Group, meeting with President Trump in April.CreditPool photo by Olivier Douliery

President Trump’s main council of top corporate leaders disbanded on Wednesday following the president’s controversial remarks in which he equated white nationalist hate groups with the protesters opposing them. Soon after, the president announced on Twitter that he would end his executive councils, β€œrather than put pressure” on executives.

The quick sequence began late Wednesday morning when Stephen A. Schwarzman, the chief executive of the Blackstone Group and one of Mr. Trump’s closest confidants in the business community, organized a conference call for members of the president’s Strategic and Policy Forum.

On the call, the chief executives of some of the largest companies in the country debated how to proceed.

After a discussion among a dozen prominent C.E.O.s, the decision was made to abandon the group altogether, said people with knowledge of details of the call.

The council included Laurence D. Fink of BlackRock, Ginni Rometty of IBM, Rich Lesser of the Boston Consulting Group and Toby Cosgrove of the Cleveland Clinic, among others.

Continue reading the main story

β€œIntolerance, racism and violence have absolutely no place in this country and are an affront to core American values,” said a statement released by the council. β€œWe believe the debate over forum participation has become a distraction from our well-intentioned and sincere desire to aid vital policy discussions on how to improve the lives of everyday Americans. As such, the president and we are disbanding the forum.”

Before the president’s announcement, executives from his manufacturing council were expected to have a similar call Wednesday afternoon. The manufacturing panel has seen a wave of defections since Monday, as business chiefs who had agreed to advise the president determined that his remarks left them with no choice but to walk away.

But the president’s equivocating in the wake of the outburst of white nationalist violence in Charlottesville was too much for the C.E.O.s to bear.

β€œHe had put them in a very difficult position,” said Anat R. Admati, a professor of finance and economics at the Stanford Graduate School of Business. β€œThis has ruined his relationships with some of them.”

On Monday, after Mr. Trump’s initial response to the violence, Kenneth C. Frazier, the chief executive of drugmaker Merck, resigned from the manufacturing council. For much of the day Mr. Frazier was alone in his opposition, but that night, two more C.E.O.s, from Under Armour and Intel, left the same group.

Then on Tuesday, three leaders of labor and nonprofit business groups left the council. And in a rebuke to the president, the chief executive of Walmart made public a letter to employees in which is explicitly criticized Mr. Trump’s leadership.

Presidential advisory councils are largely ceremonial, meant to give the business community a line in with the White House. But in the Trump administration, the councils have become politically charged entities, as the executives in the groups have routinely been asked to defend the president’s unpopular opinions and policies.

<button class="button comments-button theme-speech-bubble-large" data-skip-to-para-id="">480COMMENTS</button>

Moreover, the panels have not been seen to be particularly effective. After a few high profile events for the groups early in the Mr. Trump’s presidency, there have been few meetings since, and none more are planned.

β€œSo far they haven’t done much,” Ms. Admati said. β€œThey had a few meetings with a bunch of fanfare, but it was more symbolic than anything else.”

Continue reading the main story

Now Trump's White House chaos is rocking the world

Washington (CNN)The chaos and bombast that have driven President Donald Trump's White House into its deepest crisis yet just burst America's borders.

Trump's sudden announcement Thursday of punishing tariffs on steel and aluminum imports, after a typically disorganized and opaque rollout, left much of the world feeling the whiplash that has rocked Washington all week.
GOP senators blast Trump&#39;s tariffs announcement

"What's been allowed to go on for decades is disgraceful. It's disgraceful," Trump told reporters, delivering a sudden shock to the global economy by saying he would unveil tariffs next week of 25% on steel and 10% on aluminum. He further stoked fears of world turmoil Friday morning, tweeting that "trade wars are good" when the US is losing billions in overseas deals.
World powers now know what it's been like for Trump's fellow Republicans and staff in a week of turmoil and neck-jerking policy pivots that have left them groping for clarity and trying to work out exactly where the President stands.

At home, stocks crashed on the President's offhanded announcement, while GOP leaders, stung by a second straight day of Trump trampling party orthodoxy after his surreal meeting Wednesday on guns, registered dissent and frustration.
close dialog
<form action="https://api.bounceexchange.com/capture/submit" id="bx-form-622357-step-1" method="post">
Receive Fareed Zakaria's Global Analysis
including insights and must-reads of world news
<input class="bx-el bx-input" id="bx-element-622357-sqLogHZ-input" name="email" placeholder="Email address" type="email" />
<button class="bx-button" data-click="submit" data-submit-force="0" data-submit-jump="0" type="submit">Activate Fareed's Briefing</button>
By subscribing you agree to our
privacy policy.
<input autocomplete="carb-trap" class="bx-input bx-carb-trap" name="carb-trap" tabindex="-1" type="input" /></form>
"We were told at the beginning of all this that Donald Trump was comfortable with chaos -- that's how he is accustomed to operate," David Axelrod, a former Obama administration top strategist, said on CNN's "The Situation Room."
"That may be OK if you are running a small family branding business, but when you are in the most important office on the planet it can have grave consequences," Axelrod said.
Given the on-again-off-again nature of Thursday's announcement and subsequent lack of details, there was more than a suspicion that the trade move had been fast-tracked to distract from a disastrous week.
A feud between Trump and Attorney General Jeff Sessions, the resignation of his confidante Hope Hicks, successive political blows to his son-in-law, Jared Kushner, and signs of multiple lines of inquiry by special counsel Robert Mueller leading deep into the President's inner circle mean Trump has plenty of incentive to try to change the subject.
In another blow to a West Wing under siege, CNN reported Thursday that FBI counterintelligence was probing a deal sealed by the President's daughter Ivanka in Canada to see whether it left her vulnerable to foreign agents.
White House spokeswoman Sarah Sanders denied the President was trying to divert attention from all that with his trade announcement, saying it was hardly news that Trump thinks global commerce, particularly as practiced by nations like China, cheats American workers.
"The President is concerned about the men and women of this country who have been forgotten about, the industries that our country was founded and built on. And this shouldn't come as a surprise to anybody," she said.
Even so, Thursday's move, which is likely to spark follow-on turmoil in Asian and European markets, offered a glimpse of how an erratic President looking for diversions amid deepening crises could act in ways that jolt global stability.
Given that the turmoil surrounding Trump seems to spin more out of control by the day, the world could be in for a rough ride in the coming months.
Still, while much of the Washington and global establishment will be bracing for more, Trump supporters are unlikely to be fazed, since his unpredictability and disdain for long-held conventions and behavioral codes are exactly why they voted for him as they looked for someone willing to shake things up.
But anyone who is not in his famously loyal voting base may beg to differ.
white house chaotic week kushner tariff brown dnt _00020720

<button class="theo-primary-color vjs-big-play-button" title="Play Video" type="button">Play Video</button>

WH struggles with one crisis after another 02:18

The downside of instinctive leadership

Thursday was not the first time that Trump's determination to honor his populist, nationalist campaign rhetoric had sent shock waves around the globe. It helped drive his decision to pull out of the Paris climate accord and repeated efforts to sink the Iran nuclear deal brokered by President Barack Obama, both of which caused panic and consternation abroad.
The drama was also typical of the unpredictable, often unspecific style of leadership that appears often to skirt over the possible consequences of Trump's tendency to trust 

• blobid0

And to think that he spent so much time gotaying that Clinton and Obama were guilty of pay for play. Usually wise people don’t bring up their own kind of sins. 

His nonsense yesterday is courtesy of information that Mueller is looking into Ivanka’s business dealings.

Now it looks like he wants back the TPP agreement he tore up earlier.

The biggest a$$ ever lived in the White House. Nixon was crooked but still smart. Trump is crooked and also a jacka$$.

Do you remember how surprised he was on election night?

He knew then that he was not ready for this responsibility, he went along for kicks, fame and money.  The Russians installed him , now his sorry ass will end up losing more than what he will gain.

Decent people were watching his antics all along, they gave him  all the rope he wanted.  

America is not designed for royal family but somehow Trump and his family seemed to believe that they can get away with it. Trump fears no one. He insults and fights with everyone. Even the Pope was not off limit for his rant. But he steers far away from messing with Putin. The question is why.

Don't mess with the Russians. Putin has all the goods on Trump.

Siggy, yuh think world domination is good bai?

Putin is effectively Russia’s president for life. Xi is putting methods in place to be China’s president for life. Trump can’t worry about being America’s president for life because he is too taken up with wondering how much sh!t he, his family and their business have gotten into.