marketwatch.com February 22, 2017

The Dow on Wednesday eked out a gain to log its best record-setting streak in three decades, but the broader equity benchmarks struggled as Federal Reserve minutes implied that the central bank is comfortable with raising interest rates “fairly soon.”

The Dow Jones Industrial Average DJIA, +0.20%  added 32.60 points, or 0.2%, to end at 20,775.60—the ninth record close in a row, its longest run since 1987, according to the Dow Jones data.

“Make no mistake, lowering taxes is truly pro-growth and will keep the strong undertone of growth moving ahead. This will, however, mean a tighter monetary policy. Although we recognize that rates are below normal, the fact is that when the tightening process begins, the ‘full speed ahead’ of climbing stocks will run into a brick wall,” said Peter Cardillo, chief market economist at First Standard Financial, in emailed notes.

Yahoofinance, February 23, 2017

US Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin.

This does not come as a total surprise as we’ve seen in recent weeks, both Donald Trump and other White House officials have cheered stock market records.

On Wednesday, the Dow hit a new record high for the 9th straight day. Since Trump’s election, the Dow is up about 14% and the benchmark S&P 500 is up about 11%.

And, of course, celebrating a higher stock market is an easy line for the administration to take right now given that markets have basically gone straight up since bottoming out on election night.

But Quick asked Mnuchin how the administration would view a decline in markets, particularly given the speed at which markets have risen.

“I’ve always been focused in the markets not on day-trading…so whether the market goes up or down on any given day, I’ve given up figuring out why that is,” Mnuchin said.

Mnuchin added that, “we’re in an environment where there’s very attractive investment opportunities in the US, and I think that’s reflective of the administration’s goals and what the market thinks of it.”

As for tax reform, which has been perhaps the most anticipated part of potential reforms from the Trump administration, Mnuchin said he hopes to have a tax reform plan passed by Congress’ August recess.

Mnuchin added that any economic impacts from new tax plans aren’t likely to be felt until next year.

Can we say bubble as yet?  Remember what goes up on speculation will invariably come down when reality kicks in as the institutional traders are the ones pushing up the market. They will begin taking their profits and there will be buying opportunity. This has been the pattern over the years. The market is due for a major correction. 

I have a feeling that we are on the edge of a storm. This market is not driven by fundamental economic sense but by brut emotions. This is dangerous territory that we are heading into. Prashad has issued his warning.

Bubble or not but there is investors confidence and that is driving the markets. That is the nature of the markets.

Will there be a correction ? Yes but the experts are not sounding the warning bells as yet. Let it soar for now, it is good for all investors.

I've been waiting for a correction since 2013 while dollar-cost averaging at the same time.  It has not happened and I've lost all those gains since then. To jump in the market now by investing a chunk is very risky. Nobody knows for sure when the market will dip. It could be this month or next two years. Waiting on the market to tank or timing is a risk we take without even realizing it. Just think about the gains you've missed out by waiting for it to tank. 

Have you noticed which stocks have been increasing since Trump threatened to remove regulatory oversight that have been put in place after the 2008 crash?

All the daily gains will be taken away in one day crash which is likely to happen if the regulatory oversight are stripped away.

All the stocks in the Dow have been advancing especially healthcare and telecoms.  The market has been due for a correction and it will happen at some point.  However, with Steve Mnuchin as Treasury Secy, I have faith.  His boss Hank Paulson taught him well.  There are few people who understands monetary policy better than Steve. 

why do you sound like Baseman?

RiffRaff posted:

Maybe base jumbie tek ova bibi. 

I've been waiting for a correction since 2013 while dollar-cost averaging at the same time.  It has not happened and I've lost all those gains since then. To jump in the market now by investing a chunk is very risky. Nobody knows for sure when the market will dip. It could be this month or next two years. Waiting on the market to tank or timing is a risk we take without even realizing it. Just think about the gains you've missed out by waiting for it to tank. 

That is too long to wait, but if you jump in now with this run up, could be a risky move.  2002 and 2009 were the last major corrections, 2002 by dot com bust and 2009 housing crash.  If this patterns holds true, then a crash is due. However nothing major like housing or tech bust is in the horizon. 

RiffRaff posted:

No such luck.  I am a million miles ahead of Baseman in the field of Finance and Banking.  To begin with, I know both of those men I mentioned in my comment.

That is too long to wait, but if you jump in now with this run up, could be a risky move.  2002 and 2009 were the last major corrections, 2002 by dot com bust and 2009 housing crash.  If this patterns holds true, then a crash is due. However nothing major like housing or tech bust is in the horizon. 

I believe healthcare and energy offer some opportunities right now.  Healthcare stocks went down because people expected Hillary Clinton to win the elections. A victory for Hillary would have meant more pressure on pharmaceutical companies to lower their prices for drugs. The market began factoring this in.  This  did not happen and now we are watching an upswing in the stock prices of drug companies.  Vanguard Healthcare has already increased by almost 6% in the last three weeks. Oil price is hovering around 50 to 54 dollars a barrel. An increase to around $60 will increase energy funds returns by at least 10%. If you believe oil will go to 65-70 dollars per barrel then invest in an energy fund.  You will gain at least 20% in the next year.

What do you think about South Florida real estate?  It has been on the rise since 2014.  Do you think the momentum will continue?

RiffRaff posted:

No such luck.  I am a million miles ahead of Baseman in the field of Finance and Banking.  To begin with, I know both of those men I mentioned in my comment.

Yeah and I know the Orangutan, Obama, Hillary, Billy 

You can say anything hiding behind an alias.

BTW did you have faith in the God himself Chairman Alan Greenspan 

RiffRaff posted:

Noticably Baseman is missing,the two are sharing the same handle,I can point out the post made by Baseman.There are three in one of Pointblank Thread.

There is another poster here who multi task with two handles.

VVP posted:

Yeah and I know the Orangutan, Obama, Hillary, Billy 

You can say anything hiding behind an alias.

BTW did you have faith in the God himself Chairman Alan Greenspan 

VVP,I noticed one of your letter in SN about Constitution,will PM you later  to overcome the difficulty of copy and print.

RiffRaff posted:

Noticably Baseman is missing,the two are sharing the same handle,I can point out the post made by Baseman.There are three in one of Pointblank Thread.

Django - you are one sick puppy.  Delusional to say the least.

RiffRaff posted:

Good mannin gyal. Django is just irritating you. Where is our newbie RAMBO? How long did he last? I know the man has posted here before. He still posts here under a couple of aliases.

I believe healthcare and energy offer some opportunities right now.  Healthcare stocks went down because people expected Hillary Clinton to win the elections. A victory for Hillary would have meant more pressure on pharmaceutical companies to lower their prices for drugs. The market began factoring this in.  This  did not happen and now we are watching an upswing in the stock prices of drug companies.  Vanguard Healthcare has already increased by almost 6% in the last three weeks. Oil price is hovering around 50 to 54 dollars a barrel. An increase to around $60 will increase energy funds returns by at least 10%. If you believe oil will go to 65-70 dollars per barrel then invest in an energy fund.  You will gain at least 20% in the next year.

What do you think about South Florida real estate?  It has been on the rise since 2014.  Do you think the momentum will continue?

I hold a few pharma's for several years, but Merck has been the better bet so far. Pfizer and JNJ have not been the high flyers I envisioned, but I live for the dividends.  I have my eyes on oil, xom, chevron and philiphs 66, I missed the boat back in 2015 when they all had significant drops, but I didn't pull the trigger as I was bottom fishing and you what what they say about that. I think I can do better with the individual stocks than the vanguard breadbasket.  Last year I bought  a couple of canadian banks for their  dividends, td and bom, both have since gone up and div has been good.

As for RE in Florida, I don't follow the patterns as I don't like to own property a plane ride away. But recently some of my family began purchasing new development for rental income via management company with the view that appreciation in prop value will pay off.  If appreciation is ignored, as a business venture it is only break even and worse if property taxes go up.  With appreciation, you can make a killing but you must have income coming in and at least break even as you wait for the price to rise. 

Seriously!!

Quite interesting you share the same writing style as Baseman,no one need a magnifying glass to detect your handle is loaned or hacked.

Seriously!!

Quite interesting you share the same writing style as Baseman,no one need a magnifying glass to detect your handle is loaned or hacked.

Django, Bibi is not Base. Not because she supports Trump like Base, means she is Base. No condemnation by association. Some of us, except Warria(unique), have similar writing styles.

Seriously!!

Django, Bibi is not Base. Not because she supports Trump like Base, means she is Base. No condemnation by association. Some of us, except Warria(unique), have similar writing styles.

That handle is loaned or it's hacked,I rest my case.

I have no problem who anyone supports that's their right to choose.

Admin can trace that unless they are using Private Internet Access then there will be some difficulty.

Oil price is hovering around 50 to 54 dollars a barrel. An increase to around $60 will increase energy funds returns by at least 10%. If you believe oil will go to 65-70 dollars per barrel then invest in an energy fund.  You will gain at least 20% in the next year.

The electric industry is a major consumer of oil.  The new Natural Gas "explosion" through fracking has caused many generators to turn to gas causing much less demand for oil.  Even the nuclear plants that were initially "too cheap to meter" are finding it hard to compete with gas.

But don't worry Trump will start another war and that will definitely drive the need for oil  

Seriously!!

That handle is loaned or it's hacked,I rest my case.

I have no problem who anyone supports that's their right to choose.

Admin can trace that unless they are using Private Internet Access then there will be some difficulty.

There are some disturbed  people on this site.  Never understood why they use multiple nicks to talk to themselves to demonstrate support for their position.  They psychiatric help.

VVP posted:
Oil price is hovering around 50 to 54 dollars a barrel. An increase to around $60 will increase energy funds returns by at least 10%. If you believe oil will go to 65-70 dollars per barrel then invest in an energy fund.  You will gain at least 20% in the next year.

The electric industry is a major consumer of oil.  The new Natural Gas "explosion" through fracking has caused many generators to turn to gas causing much less demand for oil.  Even the nuclear plants that were initially "too cheap to meter" are finding it hard to compete with gas.

But don't worry Trump will start another war and that will definitely drive the need for oil  

He's looking at putting ground troops in Syria. Look out for Iran's mischief in the Straits of Hormuz.

RiffRaff posted:

Baseman and Bibi are two diff ppl..  GNI make some folks go crazy, take a break.

marketwatch.com February 22, 2017

The Dow on Wednesday eked out a gain to log its best record-setting streak in three decades, but the broader equity benchmarks struggled as Federal Reserve minutes implied that the central bank is comfortable with raising interest rates “fairly soon.”

The Dow Jones Industrial Average DJIA, +0.20%  added 32.60 points, or 0.2%, to end at 20,775.60—the ninth record close in a row, its longest run since 1987, according to the Dow Jones data.

“Make no mistake, lowering taxes is truly pro-growth and will keep the strong undertone of growth moving ahead. This will, however, mean a tighter monetary policy. Although we recognize that rates are below normal, the fact is that when the tightening process begins, the ‘full speed ahead’ of climbing stocks will run into a brick wall,” said Peter Cardillo, chief market economist at First Standard Financial, in emailed notes.

The market is doing extremely well..  People ought to be smart and focus on what they can benefit from with the new Presidency.  The job market is extremely good as well, as some Companies are focusing now to hire American citizens instead of foreigners with HIB who were taking away American jobs.

Alena knows what she is talking about.  Many jobs opened up to American citizens and green card holders.  And missy miss took advantage of the situation and landed a new job at another big corporation.  I am so proud of you girl.  Keep on blazing that corporate trail and go where no Guyanese woman has ever gone before.  CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!

alena06 posted:
some Companies are focusing now to hire American citizens instead of foreigners with HIB who were taking away American jobs.

Why the sudden change of mind?  They suddenly became patriotic?

VVP posted:
alena06 posted:
some Companies are focusing now to hire American citizens instead of foreigners with HIB who were taking away American jobs.

Yes.

VVP posted:
alena06 posted:

There is talk of Trump implementing major changes to H1B visa requirements.  Lots of these visas may not be renewed so companies may prefer employees who can stay permanently in their jobs.

Folks, let's not forget the outsourcing of customer service jobs. These people pay taxes too. Let Donald do something about the off shoring of these jobs too. The semi skilled person need a job too.

alena06 posted:
VVP posted:
alena06 posted:

There is talk of Trump implementing major changes to H1B visa requirements.  Lots of these visas may not be renewed so companies may prefer employees who can stay permanently in their jobs.

This is the USA, Trump is not God.  Major companies that rely on these H1B recipients will not just roll over and give Trump.  Major tech companies have already files immigration suits against the Trump administration.