Trump launches military strike against Syria

Story highlights

• Trump condemned the chemical attacks earlier this week
  • "I think what Assad did is terrible," he said earlier Thursday

(CNN)The United States launched a military strike on a Syrian government target in retaliation for their chemical weapons attack on civilians earlier in the week.

On President Donald Trump's orders, US warships launched between 50-60 Tomahawk cruise missiles at a Syrian government airbase where the warplanes that carried out the chemical attacks were based, US officials said.
"Assad choked out the helpless," the President said.
"There can be no dispute that Syria used banned chemical weapons ... and ignored the urging of the UN Security Council," he said during short remarks to reporters at Mar-a-Lago. "The refugee crisis continues to deepen and the region continues to destabilize.

Oh well. Now Putin is going to release fake news against Trump and reveal all the dutty story that he has on him, including how much he owes the Russian oligarchs.

I dont think so. Couple scenarios, if Assad did it, the Russians must be livid.  It makes them look bad and callous which they dont want.  Russia's intervention puts Assad on top, so why would he revert to Chemical weapons when the Russians guarantee he has none?  Furthermore, why would he initiate a strike from a base which had Russians?  The whole affair just don't make sense.

Trump's response was a pin-prick, slap on the wrist.  He ensured no Russians were in harms way and you can rest assure the Syrians knew a strike was coming.  This was all calculated by Trump to take pressure away from questions at home.  The Russian response was calibrated to aid in this.

I think the Syrians hit an ammo dump which housed chemical weapons!

ba$eman posted:

I dont think so. Couple scenarios, if Assad did it, the Russians must be livid.  It makes them look bad and callous which they dont want.  Russia's intervention puts Assad on top, so why would he revert to Chemical weapons when the Russians guarantee he has none?  Furthermore, why would he initiate a strike from a base which had Russians?  The whole affair just don't make sense......................................

If this was the case it shows Assad did have chemical weapons. He could have also hit the dump "accidentally" on purpose. So far I haven't heard him deny it's his doing.

Trump on the other hand, spoke out against Obama assisting the rebels, he thought Obama should stay out of their fight and concentrate on fixing broken USA. The idiot is now blaming Obama for the chemical attack. 

ba$eman posted:

I dont think so. Couple scenarios, if Assad did it, the Russians must be livid.  It makes them look bad and callous which they dont want.  Russia's intervention puts Assad on top, so why would he revert to Chemical weapons when the Russians guarantee he has none?  Furthermore, why would he initiate a strike from a base which had Russians?  The whole affair just don't make sense......................................

If this was the case it shows Assad did have chemical weapons. He could have also hit the dump "accidentally" on purpose. So far I haven't heard him deny it's his doing.

Trump on the other hand, spoke out against Obama assisting the rebels, he thought Obama should stay out of their fight and concentrate on fixing broken USA. The idiot is now blaming Obama for the chemical attack. 

The man is crazy. He is a compulsive liar and a retarded jackass. Just imagine he released his 2005 taxes and blamed someone else. What a joke.

While I have no problem with us punishing Syria for their allegedly chemical attack early this week, I don't think it would distract from the investigation against Trump. In the end, Trump and all his cohorts are going to end up evicted from the White House. It is more reasonable than not to think that there was illegal collusion between Trump and his campaign and Russia. The leaks may be illegal but thanks to them, we don't have a double agent as our National Security Advisor.

Back to the strike in Syria. I have come to the point that while I have a problem with the loss of lives, unfortunately, there has been half million lives lost with not positive result. In that context, I cannot belly ache on this strike. 

The suffering of the Syrians is far from over.  Thus far, for the past seven years, this has been a proxy war between the Saudis and Iran.  The Russians took the side of Assad as they have a vital base there and Syria is their proxy state.  The intervention by the US will guarantee this escalates to a US-Russia proxy war.

For the Syrians and the wider region, the worse is yet to come!  400,000 dead will pale in comparison if this escalates!  I believe Obama sensed this!