Commentary: Guyana: The critical Muslim vote: Race and democracy

Published on January 31, 2015

By Ray Chickrie and Shabnam Alli

The Muslim minority of Sri Lanka’s electoral power was instrumental in the removal of the autocratic government of President Mahinda Rajapaksa who was accused of human rights abuse, intimidation of the press and disregard for minority rights in that country. With the announcement of Guyana’s poll on May 11, Guyana’s strong Muslim minority should take a lesson from what happened in Sri Lanka and vote their conscience instead of race and take stock of their social, economic and political space in Guyana.

ray-chickrie.jpg
Born in Guyana, Raymond Chickrie was a teacher in the New York City public school system and has also taught in the Middle East

They should know that Guyana will not always be governed by the Hindu Indian dominated Peoples Progressive Party (PPP). The Indian electorate of Guyana is dwindling due to mass migration. As well, more and more young Guyanese are not yoked to the ethnic voting pattern, nor do they subscribe to the one sided narrative of the Burnham era. Further, Guyanese are assimilating more now. Two young Guyanese tourists I met in Suriname some weeks ago remarked, “We don’t recall Burnham’s rule; let’s talk about the PPP who has been running the country since 1992.”
In Guyana, politicians have been allowed to use mimbar (pulpit of the mosque) without being cautious of the characters that they allow to grace the religious space of Muslim Guyana. These politicians want to use Islamic institutions to garner the Muslim vote by offering little handouts to these groups. Often we hear complaints that Muslims groups are aligning themselves with the government, an accusation that they fiercely deny.
But this is not only true of Muslim groups. It would be unfair to say that this alignment happened since 1992. It has been an ongoing issue since the 1960s during the dark period of Muslim Guyana when the most powerful Islamic organisation, the United Sadr Islamic Anjuman, was penetrated by politics of the Cold War era. This led to the demise of that group.
Civil organisations in a weak democracy like Guyana are few, lack resources and find themselves aligned with the sitting government in office. If this is the case, it is not healthy for the well-being and negotiating power of the Muslim electorate of Guyana. This is why the PPP leadership once remarked, “With or without the support of the Muslim leadership, we will get the Muslim vote.” Naturally, the PPP was arrogantly confident that the Muslims, who are mostly Indo-Guyanese, will support their own race by voting PPP.
Muslims and Muslim groups should ask themselves how to avoid being pawns of any government -- PPP, PNC or AFC. How much tokenism should be accepted or should Muslim leadership institute offices that will advocate the interest and well people of the people they assert to represent by ushering in a new era of Muslim political swagger? The masjid and madrasas (Islamic schools) should be utilized to enlighten Guyanese Muslims on social, economic and political issues like it has always been in the Islamic tradition since the Hijra (start of the Islamic Calendar).
Anas reported that the Messenger of Allah said: “Search for knowledge is compulsory upon every Muslim male and Muslim female.” (Ibn Majah). Many young Muslims are interested in listening to different subjects when they attend the mosques. Some are surprise that local issues such as politics are not covered. Civic duties, such as elections and voting should be covered from the pulpit of the mosques. Young Muslims need guidance in this area as well.
Educating Muslims how to vote is not alien to the mosque, the Friday Khutba (sermon) and in the madrasas. However, as election approaches, hopefully politicians will not be allowed to use the mimbar to “preach” as to which party the congregation should support. However, the masjid should guide their followers objectively and void of the racial undertones.
Muslims globally are a collection of people of many different shades -- from Balkan-Europe, Asian Indonesia and Black Africa, the only Muslim dominated continent. The birth place of the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH), the Arabian Peninsula, was always populated by people of African origin. It’s not rare that most families from the Jazeera-ul-Arabiya (Arab Peninsula) have a black ancestor somewhere in their family and if one looks at the soccer teams from the Jazeera, they will get a fair idea of the makeup of the people of the Arabian Peninsula.
This colourless message of brotherhood should be taught and encouraged in Guyana. Hence, why in Guyana Muslims continue to vote race and not for the best platform offered by different political parties. Why have they not spoken out against the suspension of parliament, corruption, racism, freedom of press and inclusive governance? Some say suggest that Muslims are a minority and should sit on the fence and not be involved in politics. But are they truly non-political?
After facing stinging criticisms and threats of possible sanctions from the US, Britain and Canada, and the European Union (EU) for suspending parliament and not holding local government elections for more than two decades, President Ramotar has finally buckled and announced that national elections will be held on May 11, 2015. Strangely, no Islamic or Hindu groups have raised their voices against the suspension of Guyana’s parliament (only the Christian Church did).
It is worthwhile for Guyana’s Muslim minority to take note of Sri Lanka’s election and vote on issues rather than on race. They should be aware by now of the accusations leveled against the PPP, which has governed since 1992. From accessing the reports of corruption and nepotism tied to the PPP regime of Guyana, it can be perceived that they represent the interest of a small minority of the nation, which includes the PPP’s immediate families and friends, while they (the PPP) have no interest in improving the socio-economic wellbeing of the rest of the nation.
The PPP regime asserts that they “own” the Indian votes (including the Indian Muslims) and as such they expect Indians to vote for their own kind -- no questions asked. This is why the PPP lashed out at the AFC for stealing “their Indian votes.”
The opposition parties and the international community have accused the government of spending money without the approval of parliament and threats of violence against the media. Besides, the country it plagued by armed banditry, kidnapping and has become a global drug trafficking hub. In fact, the European Union has withheld development funds from Guyana because of the suspension of parliament.
Muslims in Guyana can’t deny that that they have not been embroiled in the race-based politics and ethnic conflicts that have dominated the history of Guyana. The Indian controlled government of the PPP has been in power since 1992 and, prior to that, the Afro-Guyanese dominated APNU was in power from 1966 to 1992. Afro-Guyanese, the second largest group in Guyana, and who are traditional supporters of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), have accused the PPP government of ethnic marginalization and the accusation has merit. The APNU and AFC are now in coalition talks.
The PPP lost its majority in the national assembly at the last election and its popularity with its East Indian based supporters is dwindling. A third party, the Alliance for Change (AFC), took seven seats from the PPP at the last poll and especially from its East Indian supporters. And now that elections are fast approaching again, Muslims in Guyana should heed the message of Islam -- “Knowledge is treasure, its keys are questions. Continue to ask about knowledge because by asking one question four persons are rewarded -- petitioner, learned, listener and who loves them” (Abu Naeem) because the Muslim vote can decide the fate of Guyana.

http://www.caribbeannewsnow.co...democracy-24634.html

Ah yes, let's try an injection of AIDS to cure our cancer.

So making the Muslims into a political bloc is gonna make Guyana better.

Thankfully, Mullah Chickrie is a voice in the wilderness on this.

Can anyone really say that what our politics needs is a heavy infusion of Islamism?

the PPP leadership once remarked, “With or without the support of the Muslim leadership, we will get the Muslim vote.” Naturally, the PPP was arrogantly confident that the Muslims, who are mostly Indo-Guyanese, will support their own race by voting PPP.

Originally Posted by TI:

The Muslims did vote for the PPP.

Muslim parties like GUMP got a few hundred votes. The story is told of a GUMP candidate who cast his vote for the PPP

Mullah Chickrie is the only idiot I know who lives in the West, travels to failed Islamic societies and comes back thinking "hmmmmm, we should be more like them"

Friggin moron!

Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:
wham tuh abee freno sNuffy?

I dunno. i peeped in a few days ago. Like he in rehab or something without internet connection.

We all wish you well sNuff on your road to recovery...AGAIN!

"Knowledge is treasure, its keys are questions. Continue to ask about knowledge because by asking one question four persons are rewarded -- petitioner, learned, listener and who loves them” (Abu Naeem)

I kinda like this. Hmmm, gotta read a bit more on this Muslim thing, hmmm!

"Knowledge is treasure, its keys are questions. Continue to ask about knowledge because by asking one question four persons are rewarded -- petitioner, learned, listener and who loves them” (Abu Naeem)

I kinda like this. Hmmm, gotta read a bit more on this Muslim thing, hmmm!

Nah worry how de man look. You betta worry how big knife de man carry..beheading fuh you rass. Keep quiet Mr. (H)erb.

why in Guyana Muslims continue to vote race and not for the best platform offered by different political parties. Why have they not spoken out against the suspension of parliament, corruption, racism, freedom of press and inclusive governance? Some say suggest that Muslims are a minority and should sit on the fence and not be involved in politics. But are they truly non-political?

Mitwah, do the political parties in Guyana want Muslim support/input of just Muslim vote?

QUOTE: "...Guyana will not always be governed by the Hindu Indian dominated Peoples Progressive Party (PPP). The Indian electorate of Guyana is dwindling due to mass migration. As well, more and more young Guyanese are not yoked to the ethnic voting pattern, nor do they subscribe to the one sided narrative of the Burnham era. Further, Guyanese are assimilating more now."

A few days ago I said virtually the same thing and gave a detailed explanation in answer to Alena.

The Indo voting bloc will not save the PPP from definite defeat on May 11.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Mitwah, do the political parties in Guyana want Muslim support/input of just Muslim vote?

The politics of Guyanese Muslims

January 14, 2014 | By | Filed Under Features / Columnists, Freddie Kissoon 

When a group was formed named the Guyana Anti-Discrimination Movement spearheaded by Indian professionals, both Hindus and Muslim priests were involved. In fact, a Muslim priest became the chairman of the Guyana Human Rights Association during the PNC Government.
The 1992 general elections brought the PPP to power and religious preoccupation with the authoritarian abuse of power took on a completely different shape from the epoch of the seventies and eighties. The Catholic Church withdrew from active involvement with human rights concerns; the Anglican Church under Bishop George developed a close relationship with the PPP Government.
Under the PPP leadership, the Hindu and Muslim churches continued their support for the PPP. But it was with the Jagdeo tenure that the Hindu and Muslim churches began to display crass hypocrisy with racially and political support for the Government.
Gone were the days when these two denominations were involved in open anti-government behaviour under the Burnham and Hoyte presidencies. The explanation of racial sympathy did not escape the pen of analysts.
President Jagdeo paid special attention to winning the support of the Muslim churches. By the time his tenure was up, the Central Islamic Organization of Guyana (CIOG), the main umbrella body of Muslims became shameless supporters of Mr. Jagdeo’s tyrannical regime, participating not only in state activities but also party functions. The CIOG featured prominently in Jagdeo’s circus at the National Stadium in September 2011 titled Day of Appreciation, a programme designed for election purposes.
Under Mr. Jagdeo’s reign, prominent members of the CIOG were given sensitive state jobs. The love relation has continued under President Ramotar. A few months ago, the youth arm of the CIOG, the Muslim Youth Organization shamelessly went into race baiting overdrive when they accused the PNC of being involved in criminal robberies against East Indian.
As with Diwali and Hindus, today the Muslim constituencies will take to their churches to pray to God. What will be missing are the memories of the seventies and eighties when Muslims felt it was a religious obligation to oppose bad government, the abuse of power and racial discrimination.
The only conclusion one can come to is that the Muslims felt that in those days it was right for Indians to oppose the government of the day because they were East Indians and the Government consisted of Africans. Today, Muslim priests and their constituencies no longer want to remember that age because Indians are now in charge of the government. In other words, it was never about religion but race. Once the African PNC was out, power abuse no longer became an obligation to fight against.
One wonders what Allah and God would make of this hypocrisy among both Hindus and Muslims. As the worst forms of power abuse continue in this religious land, maybe hope lies in the resurrection of Christian obligation to fight wrongdoing.

Originally Posted by TI:

So Freddie saying voting in Guyana is race based? The buffoon made a startling discovery. He deserves the Nobel prize

He also said:Today, Muslim priests and their constituencies no longer want to remember that age because Indians are now in charge of the government. In other words, it was never about religion but race. Once the African PNC was out, power abuse no longer became an obligation to fight against.

QUOTE: "...Guyana will not always be governed by the Hindu Indian dominated Peoples Progressive Party (PPP). The Indian electorate of Guyana is dwindling due to mass migration. As well, more and more young Guyanese are not yoked to the ethnic voting pattern, nor do they subscribe to the one sided narrative of the Burnham era. Further, Guyanese are assimilating more now."

A few days ago I said virtually the same thing and gave a detailed explanation in answer to Alena.

Hindus and Moslems must realize that Guyana will not always be governed by the Hindu Indian dominated Peoples Progressive Party (PPP/C). The PPP lost its majority in the national assembly at the last election and its popularity with its East Indian based supporters is dwindling.

winds how Aunty Bibi doin dese days

She posts to herself on da not so best caribbean site

She is sole Proprietor, Moderator, and Poster.

You guys are too much.  

Originally Posted by Observer:
winds how Aunty Bibi doin dese days

She posts to herself on da not so best caribbean site

She is sole Proprietor, Moderator, and Poster.

You guys are too much.  

You think Mullah Chickenry wants to form his own Muslim party or is he lobbying for a position with the PPP/C?

Someone posted a pic. a few years ago with him dining with Jagdeo and begging for a Mid-East Ambassador job.  He was turned down, so either he's still sour against the PPP or trying again for a position with them.  Maybe his relative Shaitaan knows.  

When a group was formed named the Guyana Anti-Discrimination Movement spearheaded by Indian professionals, both Hindus and Muslim priests were involved. In fact, a Muslim priest became the chairman of the Guyana Human Rights Association during the PNC Government.
The 1992 general elections brought the PPP to power and religious preoccupation with the authoritarian abuse of power took on a completely different shape from the epoch of the seventies and eighties. The Catholic Church withdrew from active involvement with human rights concerns; the Anglican Church under Bishop George developed a close relationship with the PPP Government.
Under the PPP leadership, the Hindu and Muslim churches continued their support for the PPP. But it was with the Jagdeo tenure that the Hindu and Muslim churches began to display crass hypocrisy with racially and political support for the Government.
Gone were the days when these two denominations were involved in open anti-government behaviour under the Burnham and Hoyte presidencies. The explanation of racial sympathy did not escape the pen of analysts.
President Jagdeo paid special attention to winning the support of the Muslim churches. By the time his tenure was up, the Central Islamic Organization of Guyana (CIOG), the main umbrella body of Muslims became shameless supporters of Mr. Jagdeo’s tyrannical regime, participating not only in state activities but also party functions. The CIOG featured prominently in Jagdeo’s circus at the National Stadium in September 2011 titled Day of Appreciation, a programme designed for election purposes.
Under Mr. Jagdeo’s reign, prominent members of the CIOG were given sensitive state jobs. The love relation has continued under President Ramotar. A few months ago, the youth arm of the CIOG, the Muslim Youth Organization shamelessly went into race baiting overdrive when they accused the PNC of being involved in criminal robberies against East Indian.
As with Diwali and Hindus, today the Muslim constituencies will take to their churches to pray to God. What will be missing are the memories of the seventies and eighties when Muslims felt it was a religious obligation to oppose bad government, the abuse of power and racial discrimination.
The only conclusion one can come to is that the Muslims felt that in those days it was right for Indians to oppose the government of the day because they were East Indians and the Government consisted of Africans. Today, Muslim priests and their constituencies no longer want to remember that age because Indians are now in charge of the government. In other words, it was never about religion but race. Once the African PNC was out, power abuse no longer became an obligation to fight against.
One wonders what Allah and God would make of this hypocrisy among both Hindus and Muslims. As the worst forms of power abuse continue in this religious land, maybe hope lies in the resurrection of Christian obligation to fight wrongdoing.

Nothing new in this article. After-all that is Guyana's history. However, I don't know how it answers my question. Please elaborate.

You are a muslim. What do you think?

About what? The article is on the critical vote of Muslims. I don't know if the parties want the vote or if they also think Muslims have other than the vote to offer them. You are better at elaborating on this than I am.

Most Muslims self identify as Indians and come with the same ethnic baggage as everybody else. The idea of Muslims being multicultural does not work there with respect to elections. The PPP does not even target them as a subgroup.

So their vote is only critical if it helps a party get over the top. After the elections are over, the attitude towards these Muslims will be "thanks for your vote, now go back to your cave until the next elections when will be the very next time we care for your participation".

Look cretin. Try and read and hundastand whah de man said. Not what you think he may have left unsaid in the recesses of his mind.

He said Muslims consider themselves coolies and are treated as coolies, for purposes of elections. It's that simple. He even left out his customary big words here.

But of course you moon heads have a victim narrative and a victim psychology inherited from your Arab masters so this behavior comes natural.

For the record, he's right.

You're all just a bunch of coolies who happen to have a liking for a particular arabian nights fairy tale. Other than that, you're all still the hindustanis you have been for millennia.

I thought you were a scholar. Please don't ask me to do your research. When any housing area is created by the PPP, do you know that muslims and PPP elites get their pick of all the best lots first then the rest goes to everyone else?  Do you remember, Ed Ahmad and Roger Khan?

Check out this list:

Shalimar Ali Hack - DPP
- Irfan Ali - Minister of housing
- Shaik Baksh, ex minister and now Chairman at GuySuCo.
- Kurshid Sattaur - Head of GRA - His entire family works at GRA.
- Odeen Ishmael - Ambassador for life now retired
- Fuzzy Sattaur - EX NCN head for a long time - Dismissed in disgrace

-  Minister within the Ministry Agriculture, Mr. Ali Baksh and his daughter     who heads the Registry.

Can your muslim brothers / sisters do any better under their own political party? Did you actually read the stuff that comes out the cow behind that Mullah Chickenieri posted?

Quite presumptuous thinking that your pronouncements are that important.  

My pronouncements are important insofar as they are guided by reason, facts, and considered analysis. They are not important when I "feel" things or believe things based on my personal conversations with invisible men who live in the sky or the Minutes of the conversation he had with a 7th century Pedophile.

I thought you were a scholar. Please don't ask me to do your research. When any housing area is created by the PPP, do you know that muslims and PPP elites get their pick of all the best lots first then the rest goes to everyone else?  Do you remember, Ed Ahmad and Roger Khan?

Check out this list:

Shalimar Ali Hack - DPP
- Irfan Ali - Minister of housing
- Shaik Baksh, ex minister and now Chairman at GuySuCo.
- Kurshid Sattaur - Head of GRA - His entire family works at GRA.
- Odeen Ishmael - Ambassador for life now retired
- Fuzzy Sattaur - EX NCN head for a long time - Dismissed in disgrace

-  Minister within the Ministry Agriculture, Mr. Ali Baksh and his daughter     who heads the Registry.

Can your muslim brothers / sisters do any better under their own political party? Did you actually read the stuff that comes out the cow behind that Mullah Chickenieri posted?

Bai, Jansher write too much for me to read on a bulletin board. I am not denying that there are Muslims in the PPP folds. Nothing is new there. There were Muslims in the PNC folds also. The overall shadow is that Guyana is still a fairly race based political society so people will be kidding themselves to think that the majority of Muslims who are Indians will lean to the PPP versus the PNC. That is politics. Now people want Muslims to mix politics with religion when they constantly proclaim that the two should be separate. Now emerges the AFC which promised to be a different party that has room for everyone and then came 2011. The trouble is that the AFC conducted themselves as a wing of the PNC instead of asserting their sovereignty. Now they are seen by the traditional supporters as part of the PNC rather than an independent party. So don't blame the Muslim Indians if they lean toward the PPP instead of getting traded to the PNC. Politics is who gets what, when and how. Those Muslim Indians may recognize that the PPP are scoundrels but they seem more comfortable with the PPP scoundrels than the PNC ones. The AFC task is to convince then that they (AFC) is a sovereign party and is the better representative for those Muslim Indians. If they only care for the vote count, they are no different from those they condemn. 

Quite presumptuous thinking that your pronouncements are that important.  

My pronouncements are important insofar as they are guided by reason, facts, and considered analysis. They are not important when I "feel" things or believe things based on my personal conversations with invisible men who live in the sky or the Minutes of the conversation he had with a 7th century Pedophile.

So why did your pronouncements failed to convince the voters in the last elections of your worth? Muhammad currently has over 1 billion people who he has already convinced and many more who are already passed on. How many did you need to convince? A few thousands? That is where your facts and guided analysis would serve you better. Unless you have already decided that you are not going to waste any more time trying to represent people who don't care for your service. 

It is going to be a Christian drive this time around-every race is in that block of voters. And I suspect,together they have much more to contribute to governance.

Can anyone really say that what our politics needs is a heavy infusion of Islamism?

It is like a few grains of salt in the Demerara River. As far back as the 50's, influential muslims are noted for stooping into the shadow of the current leader of the time. A good example is to pay close attention to Ifran Ali and Ramotar. Ali is the leader of the muslim block of voters, atleast that is how Ramotar views it. 

It is going to be a Christian drive this time around-every race is in that block of voters. And I suspect,together they have much more to contribute to governance.

As evidence by the past 50 years.  

It is like a few grains of salt in the Demerara River. As far back as the 50's, influential muslims are noted for stooping into the shadow of the current leader of the time. A good example is to pay close attention to Ifran Ali and Ramotar. Ali is the leader of the muslim block of voters, atleast that is how Ramotar views it. 

Irfan needs to work on his diet.  Maybe that is the least of Guyanese problems though.