The Charrandas Persaud letter; the tsunami is coming.

What a coincidence! My Friday column was on the wrong and unacceptable things people, businesses, the police and the government do because they know they can get away with it. In that same edition of Kaieteur News, prominent Berbice lawyer and APNU+AFC Member of Parliament , Charrandas Persaud, had a letter published that was very disturbing.
The connection between this letter and the theme of my Friday column is obvious – the police behaved this way to the MP because they know they can get away with it.
Let’s quote from the missive as contained in the Kaieteur News; “ A young policeman came out of the pickup and stood by the driver’s window and blurted out, ‘You drivin’ all over the road like you drunk’. I immediately said, ‘He was not driving like he is drunk and that is an old line.’
“This young policeman told me to shut the f—up. I responded by saying, ‘I am a Member of Parliament and this man is my driver and he will never drink when he is driving’. This arrogant young punk police said…’PPP ent running things now…he took us into the station where Panday did the necessaries and the result was 00 so we were sent away.
“As we were walking out of the BV Police Station, another young punk kid in uniform blurted out,’ he ain’t no f–ing Member of Parliament, he look like a sku—t. I looked at him and thought of a night in a lockups and said nothing.”
So why did these policemen behave like that? Because they know they can get away with it. Do you think these junior ranks will be investigated? Do you think any senior police rank reading Persaud’s letter is going to act? Persaud’s description is now a forgotten tale. It was read on Friday and it is now a dead issue. Those young policemen will strike again and again. This is the story of unchanging Guyana.
A few Saturdays ago, I came out very early to go on the seawall with my dog. It was about 6 AM. On the Railway Embankment, I saw a parked traffic car, with a senior officer in the vehicle and two junior ranks who had intercepted three lorries. This was near to my home. I passed and certain thoughts ran through my mind so I decided to turn back to observe. As I made the reversal, I saw the lorries leaving.
I stopped the last one and enquired. The driver said the ranks told him trucks aren’t allowed on the Railway Embankment in the morning hours and he said they pointed to a sign to that effect. Immediately I know a shakedown had taken place. That sign was there years ago. The Ministry of Public Works under the PPP and the Ministry of Public Infrastructure under the grand coalition (grand coalition is now a political terminology taken from the era of the American invasion of Iraq) did/do not remove warning signs after road works are completed.
Minister David Patterson instead of criticizing me on television should instruct his personnel to remove the anachronistic sign at the western junction of Young Street and Camp Road that is misleading drivers travelling west on Carifesta Avenue going into Young Street.
The road warning barring lorries from using the Railway Embankment was put up in 2014 when the Liliendaal bridge was being repaired. Please note; this was not as a result of the closure of Railway Embankment at the beginning of 2017 when there was a complete new bridge built at Liliendaal. This sign was put up to stop trucks while the repairs were going on. Since 2014 there are two yellow-painted signs on the Railway Embankment between UG Road and Conversation Tree Road with the words, “Road repairs ahead, no trucks allowed.”
That was three years ago. What those policemen were doing was deceiving truck drivers to get money from them. When I reversed, I saw the trucks being released and quickly the police car drove away. I drove behind them to get the license plate number but I wasn’t going to drive at that speed. So what happens now that I informed the public that those misleading yellow signs are still there?
You think they will be removed? You think the goodly David Patterson will act? Months ago, I pointed to that outdated warning at Young Street but it is still there. Those rogue cops that stop those truck drivers will continue their rotten ways using that very old sign to shake down drivers as they did that morning. They know Guyana is a failed state.

Guyana is not a failed state according to Charrandas Persaud. As a minister of parliament, a rookie cop doesn't have any respect for him knowing he is a bloody coolie who doesn't have power under Granger administration. He better get used to it. Juan Edghill is an Afro and look what happen to him since he's a PPPite. When them chap this will learn?

Funny how the policeman told him that PPP ain’t running things now.  That is the point when he should have corrected the officer by saying, “I izzz one coolie who is a dead PNC man.  I throw all dem coolies under the bus for the PNC to get power.”

That would have closed the case, gave him a free pass and they both live happily ever after.

Nothing will happen. Those rogue cops will continue their illegal shake downs. Guyana was a failed state under the PPP and will continue to be that way for decades. David Patterson is a square peg in a round hole.

Guyana was a failed state since 1964.

What does Patterson have to do with policing?  Isn’t that Ramjattan’s job? You searching in the wrong Ministry comrade!

Don't Vote Race!  Vote For Change.

Myth is giving up after waiting patiently for a little positive change. Don't give up Myth.  The PPP will return to office to bring about the change so many of you dreamt about.

What does Patterson have to do with policing?  Isn’t that Ramjattan’s job? You searching in the wrong Ministry comrade!

Bibi Girl,

I watched Mark Benschop verbally harassed Ramjattan when he was a member of the PPP. It was  rude and shameful how he treated Mr. Ramjattan.  

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

PPP nor the PNC is the solution for Guyana. Whichever one in power, Guyana will have the same racial conflicts. Someone needs to step in and change the status quo. We have many on GNI who are contributing to the racial conflicts. They are taking turns to fatten themselves and stuck their feet up the poor people asses. 

Exactly. Ramjattan is the square peg. Mitwah is protecting Ramjattan because of family relationship.

Idiot why the fluck you don't read the article. Why are you trolling me?

Exactly. Ramjattan is the square peg. Mitwah is protecting Ramjattan because of family relationship.

You are an ass hole. If you read the article, you would know what I am referring to.

PPP nor the PNC is the solution for Guyana. Whichever one in power, Guyana will have the same racial conflicts. Someone needs to step in and change the status quo. We have many on GNI who are contributing to the racial conflicts. They are taking turns to fatten themselves and stuck their feet up the poor people asses. 

Define and elaborate on what you mean by "status quo".

Everybody making noise to defend Charrandass, did anyone hear the police side of the story? Charrandass is a loud mouth  lawyer jumping at every opportunity to seek attention, his bulb on the chandelier is getting dimmer.

Idiot why the fluck you don't read the article. Why are you trolling me?

Eh eh Panditji.  Like you need wan lil jarrey or wha?  

Guyana suffers racial strife throughout its political history. If you vote PPP or PNC, you will get the same racial strife. We need someone serious who can bypass the racial barriers and unite the country. Until this doesn't happen, there will be no chance. It will be a rotation between the PPP and PNC, same shit different day. Guyana belongs to all the people with a government who understand that. 

And who you might thin has this qualification to run Guyana?

Well let's go back to the British Rule, there was more unity during that period. After slavery and the Colonial rule ,the damage done to the Guyanese mental being has passed on from generation to generation and we are still not prepared for Self Rule. The race game was started by the British, pitting one against the other. There was a time the banks and insurance companies only employed whites, fair skinned people and if you were black or brown you had to be well qualified.

So you turned to insurance selling. 

Little Boy, I never SOLD insurance, I am bigger than that.

I notice you got unhinged swearing at woman, sad day.

Little Boy, I never SOLD insurance, I am bigger than that.

I notice you got unhinged swearing at woman, sad day.

Thanks for reading my posts. I never said that you sold any insurance. 

You are an ass hole. If you read the article, you would know what I am referring to.

wooo...Mits why you lettin people get unda you skin banna?

Who getting under my skin? Did you read the article? That's what needs to be discussed; not me.

Until the day comes when East Indians of Guyana, Douglas of Guyana and their allies get their own independent Sovereign country to call their own koolie will always be koolie in Guyana no matter how much you dress him up with suit and tie.

Hey hey hey...if was Mr Hoyte or Mr Linden Forbes Samson Burnham dem dis junior police bin done get discipline. Me wonder what dem prado loving status seeking AFC people and lamata president doing bout dese serious allegation? 

Police bad behavior/shake down was always around but  got worse under the PPP and continue to this day.The PPP is the one introduce  road blocks, stop and search almost every 10 miles on roads. I guess it was Rohee solution to combat their out of control drugs/crime that trickle down from druglords that was 'above the law'. This continue with the PNC regime despite Granger promise 'stop and search away from police station is illegal'. The bribe income for the police is not easy to give up. Guyanese proverb says: there is no cure fuh daag wen dem laan fuh suck egg...

Last edited by sachin_05

how 2 ignar, racial, young Afro? police sh!t behavior

suddenly turn into wan hand wringing, existential referendum on Indian SURVIVAL

tells you more about the malign agenda of the PPP/ROAR race bacoos than anything else

I just heard that Charrandass  is in hospital at New Amsterdam, he has a low blood count thus low blood pressure. I hope these AFC bannas take care of themselves, first was Moses now him.

Wishing Charandass speedy recovery.