THE ARMY OF GUYANA, THE GUYANA DEFENSE FORCE SHOULD NOW GET RID OF THE PPP/C THAT HAS USURPED POWER AND HAS BEEN RULING ILLEGALLY.

THE PPP/C HAS NOW BECOME A DICTATOR GOVERNMENT AND SINCE THE DICTATOR RAMOTAR HAS DISSOLVED PARLIAMENT HE SHOULD HAVE ANNOUNCED THE DATE FOR GENERAL ELECTIONS, FAILING TO DO SO, HE HAS BREACHED THE GUYANA CONSTITUTION AND HAS INSTALLED HIMSELF AND HIS PACK OF ROGUES AS RULERS OF GUYANA

THE ARMY SHOULD NOW TAKE OVER AND INSTALL A CARE TAKER GOVT UNTIL ELECTIONS ARE CALLED:

GET RID OF THE PPP/C NOW

The PPP has no interest in local democracy

August 31, 2014 | By | Filed Under AFC Column, Features / Columnists 

By Michael Carrington
AFC National Executive Member

The Government has been using the Parliament to postpone local government elections so they can bypass the laws that fix the date for the holding of local government elections, that President Jagan, as opposition leader had fought for, for many years, and which were held in 1994.

Both Presidents Jagan and Hoyte had agreed that the date for local government elections be legislatively fixed. As a result, the date fixed by law is the first Monday of December every three years (Section 7 of Act 10 of 1990). The Guyana Elections Commission holds the authority to ensure that the elections are held on that date, however it seems that when President Jagan died local government elections died with him

The PPP-C Government for seventeen consecutive years has refused under one pretext or another to ensure that local government elections are held. This constituted another nail in the coffin for inclusionary democracy as dictated by Article 13 of the Constitution of the Republic of Guyana.

The Minister of Local Government has seemingly internalized the unethical PPP-C dirty politics. He does not seem to understand that inclusionary democracy cannot be implemented without local government elections. Inclusionary democracy means that Guyana has to be managed by elected authorities. The National Assembly is one such elected authority, which makes laws, approves budgets and policies. The President is another elected authority, whose duties include assenting to Bills passed in the National Assembly, formulating policies, appointing members of commissions, appointing Ministers and ensuring that they do not violate the laws and constitution of Guyana and performing various other constitutionally assigned duties.

The Regional Democratic Councils and the lower tier local government authorities such as Municipalities, Neighbourhood Democratic Councils and also Amerindian Village Councils are elected at separate elections. Their duties and responsibilities are in accordance with the Constitution of Guyana. Article 74 reads as follows:
1. It shall be the primary duty of local democratic organs to ensure, in accordance with the law, the efficient management and development of their areas and to provide leadership by example.
2. Local democratic organs shall organize popular co-operation in respect of the political, economic, cultural and social life of their areas and shall co-operate with the social organizations of the working People.
3. It shall be the duty of local democratic organs to maintain and protect public property, improve working and living conditions, promote the social and cultural life of the people, raise the level of civic consciousness, preserve law and order, consolidate the rule of law and safeguard the right of the citizens.

If any Minister reads the duties of Local Democratic Organs as identified above with a clean and just mind, they will understand that it is the local government authorities who hold the power to develop their local government area and not the Minister of Local Government.

The Minister can only be a provider and helper to the local government authorities as stated in section 5 of Act 12 of 1980 and not the director of local government authorities.

The PPP-C Ministers seem not to understand that the absence of local government elections and consequently the failure to have new councilors will result in, as it has, the crumbling of the foundation of the local administration. Any system, if it is to survive and be effective, has to have the infusion of new ideas and new personnel in order to sustain job creation and development.

The General Secretary of the PPP-C, Mr. Clement Rohee, also seems not to understand the importance of local government elections. His press release on Tuesday August 5, 2014 was laughable as he accused the Stabroek News of being unethical for their continuous statements condemning the non-holding of local government elections.

Mr. Rohee obviously does not understand how the word unethical should be used, and it definitely can be used to describe a government that deliberately refuses to hold local government elections and thus deprives the people of their right to elect representatives on their local government authorities. It definitely does not apply to a newspaper whose editor is calling on the Government to do what is right in accordance with the Law and the Constitution of Guyana.

The PPP-C Government continuously complains about the Mayor and City Council, not performing their duties, yet they do not want to remove the Mayor and City Council of Georgetown by holding elections. The Mayor has been in this position for 20 years, but this is not his fault. It is the fault of the Government for not holding local government elections.

In their comments about the city, the Government keeps knitting a web of deception. We all want our City to be clean, but the Government does not want to provide new laws or systems for generating revenue for the management of the City of Georgetown. Not even a 5% of the hundreds of millions of dollars they collected in Georgetown, from VAT and other taxes, is given to the City Council.

The Government also does not want to hold local government elections because they want to usurp the authorities of municipalities and neighbourhood democratic councils by appointing IMCs dominated by PPP-C members who they can control. They also budget for billions of dollars to be spent in local authority areas where they do not have the authority to carry out the duties of the council.

The PPP-C is fighting hard to get political mileage to stay in power, using state funds, through the Minister of Local Government, to do the council’s work. The Minister’s duty is to support local government authorities. While he may apply for a financial grant from the consolidated fund, as requested by a Regional Democratic Council for any Local council within the Region, he has no authority to spend the money by himself in local government areas. Sections 13 and 14 of 28:02 do not apply to municipalities or neighborhood democratic councils.

He is also usurping the powers of elected councils by appointing staff for local government authorities. The High Court has ruled that he has no such authority. He is also illegally moving staff in and out of regions, creating problems in the family life of persons in the regions.

The PPP-C is quite prepared to destroy whatever they cannot have full control over. Just look at City Hall, the Kitty Market, the Stabroek Market and the cemetery. All have deteriorated since the PPP-C gained power in 1992. I cannot forgive the PPP-C for the destruction they caused in the systems of local governance. They quite rightly condemned the PNC, but now they have done the same thing.

I know the leaders of the AFC would deliver us from the unjust humans that manage our country and I hereby call upon all of our citizens who believe in justice to join with us to make Guyana a better place for the next generation. Ethnicity can blind us in our search for betterment, but we need to deal with the issues that affect us and make decisions that are issue-based or Guyana would have no future.

Michael, your article with words usurping, deception, unethical, inclusionary democracy are well and good for you being the mouth piece for AFC. Please refresh your memory on the AFC slogan "Change", the Guyanese masses already figure out the meaning of the word "Change". C for corruption, H-hideous, A-angry, N-negativity, G-gangsters and E-envy. The AFC is the most corrupt party, embedded with nepotism, anti-democratic practices,  reckless and ruthless, they want power at all cost. Opposition duty as elected officials to act according to Constitutional norms; careful examination, discussions and support all measures presented in Parliament for the benefit of Guyana and Guyanese people. AFC you are not elected as the majority party, so behave properly and mannerly, clean up your own house before you throw stones at others. History speak for itself, Guyana is better off under the PPP/C A TRANSFORMATION, DEVELOPMENT IN ALL SPHERES OF ECONOMY. You are a businessman, a capitalist, money is what you care about, tell the Guyanese masses what have you done being a member of the AFC for the masses. Please reflect on your beliefs and analyse if you are on the right track. Sheik.

Originally Posted by Sheik Ally:

Michael, your article with words usurping, deception, unethical, inclusionary democracy are well and good for you being the mouth piece for AFC. Please refresh your memory on the AFC slogan "Change", the Guyanese masses already figure out the meaning of the word "Change". C for corruption, H-hideous, A-angry, N-negativity, G-gangsters and E-envy. The AFC is the most corrupt party, embedded with nepotism, anti-democratic practices,  reckless and ruthless, they want power at all cost. Opposition duty as elected officials to act according to Constitutional norms; careful examination, discussions and support all measures presented in Parliament for the benefit of Guyana and Guyanese people. AFC you are not elected as the majority party, so behave properly and mannerly, clean up your own house before you throw stones at others. History speak for itself, Guyana is better off under the PPP/C A TRANSFORMATION, DEVELOPMENT IN ALL SPHERES OF ECONOMY. You are a businessman, a capitalist, money is what you care about, tell the Guyanese masses what have you done being a member of the AFC for the masses. Please reflect on your beliefs and analyse if you are on the right track. Sheik.

Sheik you are full of it.

We notice the PPP transformed NBS into their private source of finance (at all cost), and they are avidly transferring US dollars out of Guyana on private jets to benefit a very very small percentage of the masses.

ATTENTION ASJ

I understand your frustration, bro. Many Guyanese would like to end PPP corrupt and undemocratic rule. At this juncture, however, army intervention is not the solution. It would be counter-productive and divisive.

There are still constitutional instruments available to the people and their political party representatives, two of which are local government elections and general elections.

There is a third option, constitutional reform, but the Ramotar administration is not interested in that, so that option will have to wait until after general elections.

The task facing the combined political opposition now is to close ranks and coordinate their strategy and tactics to ensure a PPP defeat next elections.

The task is to resist Brer Anancy smartness from the PPP cabal to divide the opposition.

The task is to register all available and eligible non-registered Guyanese in GECOM's forthcoming round of registration which begins Monday December 1, and to ensure maximum voter turn-out on elections day.

The task is to advise the masses that the cunning PPP cabal will go on a spending spree to win votes through generous salary increases, lavish bonuses and other perks, and to caution them not to be fooled that the PPP "cares."

When all peaceful and constitutional options have been exhausted, then and only then we can give a thought to army intervention or mass armed action. Hopefully, that time must not come.

Originally Posted by asj:

THE ARMY OF GUYANA, THE GUYANA DEFENSE FORCE SHOULD NOW GET RID OF THE PPP/C THAT HAS USURPED POWER AND HAS BEEN RULING ILLEGALLY.

THE PPP/C HAS NOW BECOME A DICTATOR GOVERNMENT AND SINCE THE DICTATOR RAMOTAR HAS DISSOLVED PARLIAMENT HE SHOULD HAVE ANNOUNCED THE DATE FOR GENERAL ELECTIONS, FAILING TO DO SO, HE HAS BREACHED THE GUYANA CONSTITUTION AND HAS INSTALLED HIMSELF AND HIS PACK OF ROGUES AS RULERS OF GUYANA

THE ARMY SHOULD NOW TAKE OVER AND INSTALL A CARE TAKER GOVT UNTIL ELECTIONS ARE CALLED:

GET RID OF THE PPP/C NOW

What a piece of hogwash commentary. You talking democracy and you preaching military coup? Think again Asj.

GET RID OF THE PPP/C NOW

Why dont you go and take over the Govt. Hiding under your bed and calling on the Discipline Forces of Guyana to be as illiterate as you are!!!  Typical Guyanese scum!!!!!!

GET RID OF THE PPP/C NOW

Why dont you go and take over the Govt. Hiding under your bed and calling on the Discipline Forces of Guyana to be as illiterate as you are!!!  Typical Guyanese scum!!!!!!

Nehru Bhai

AFC supporters in USA and Canada hide behind their computers and are shouting war cries.

Last time the AFC called for a protest, five people show up. Ha Ha.

GET RID OF THE PPP/C NOW

Nehru Bhai

AFC supporters in USA and Canada hide behind their computers and are shouting war cries.

I think you should go back to your communist studies to understand why only small amount of protestors show up at AFC protests etc.

That lack of the OSSD is causing some serious difficulties for you on the propaganda front aint it?

GET RID OF THE PPP/C NOW

Nehru Bhai

I think you should go back to your communist studies to understand why only small amount of protestors show up at AFC protests etc.

That lack of the OSSD is causing some serious difficulties for you on the propaganda front aint it?

Well look who is talking. Laad Ah Mercy. Meh neighba does seh some people nah gat shame, dem wuss dan dem gal ah Gaumont!!!

GET RID OF THE PPP/C NOW

HeHeHe. 

Michael, your article with words usurping, deception, unethical, inclusionary democracy are well and good for you being the mouth piece for AFC. Please refresh your memory on the AFC slogan "Change", the Guyanese masses already figure out the meaning of the word "Change". C for corruption, H-hideous, A-angry, N-negativity, G-gangsters and E-envy.

The AFC is the most corrupt party, embedded with nepotism, anti-democratic practices,  reckless and ruthless, they want power at all cost. Opposition duty as elected officials to act according to Constitutional norms; careful examination, discussions and support all measures presented in Parliament for the benefit of Guyana and Guyanese people. 

AFC you are not elected as the majority party, so behave properly and mannerly, clean up your own house before you throw stones at others. History speak for itself, Guyana is better off under the PPP/C A TRANSFORMATION, DEVELOPMENT IN ALL SPHERES OF ECONOMY. You are a businessman, a capitalist, money is what you care about, tell the

Guyanese masses what have you done being a member of the AFC for the masses. Please reflect on your beliefs and analyse if you are on the right track. Sheik.

I thought on some level given your pompos entry on the site as authoritative on issues affecting us you will be different, enlightening and detail driven. But you are just like the rest of classless PPP hacks who believe avoiding the issue and delving headlong into the muck of rants and harangue about the PPP sense of entitlement is a useful tack. Unfortunately for you it is the worse one and the easiest to refute since the option to ridicule it on grounds of it being hackneyed, trite and banal is ready and waiting.

Not one word to the crux of the article was addressed. Instead you stupidly reached for the slogan "change" to sink your teeth into. Unfortunately you missed the fact the PPP is on the ropes and forced to take the unusual step of suspending parliament rather than face the reality of their corruption an their incompetence that leads to asking for a no confidence vote.

The AFC may not be the majority but fool, democracy allows the majority to rule with the implicit understanding the minority voice is of equal importance. Democracy is not about electing kings or shutting out voices even of the least in the society. Swallow that so next time you do not make the same mistake and pretend the AFC 10% is irrelevant. In this case it is the straw that has the PPP on its knees!

If the Guyanese masses depend on you for clarity as to what they should do they would be in for a dumb and dumber re run. Fortunately, all indications are they are giving the PPP the boot as Change is what they want.

GET RID OF THE PPP/C NOW

Nehru Bhai

Well look who is talking. Laad Ah Mercy. Meh neighba does seh some people nah gat shame, dem wuss dan dem gal ah Gaumont!!!

De man lass he jab, he need fuh komplement he food stamp. Gyam kredit, he ah wuk haad..all day fuh de lill dallah he ah get hey. De man vex baad because he had to return the suit and tie.

I can see you lack understanding of Commonwealth Laws, prorogation is valid and legal and you should think before you rant, the opposition was given their rights to scrutinise Parliamentary business, not cut the budget- reject it as a whole. Be a man/woman and put your name to your lack of democracy. Read up on the PNC 28 years of corruption, rigged elections, murder, starvation, banned foodstuffs, nepotism and compare to the development in Guyana. The ordinary man knows that the difference between a soup drinker and a level minded person. Sheik.

We are all collectively well aware of the PNC's record. We are now dealing with the PPP's record which cannot seem to stand on it's own. 

Obviously you cannot identify with the ordinary man in Guyana or you would not be making these claims.

Are you saying the opposition has not right in parliament to cut the budget- reject it as a whole?

It is with crystal clear understanding that everyone knows the suspending of parliament was on account of the PPP taking a nuclear option to avoid getting the boot. The article was never created to avoid a no confidence vote. That much is clear. It was to be deployed in instances of national emergencies to maintain governance. It was not intended to create a dictator. That would be antithetical to the notion of democracy so it matters not that it was legal but that it was unethical and an obscene use of the law to avoid the inevitable.

It is clear that democracy is about dialog and consensus in all things. The  inane interpretation of the rule that a disagreement on a line item means the entire process is to be repeated can only be conceived by the kleptocratic autocrats in the PPP. Prudence and democratic imperative would inform the world it would be to delete that item or re negotiate it and so move the process along. You again beg the Rube Goldberg solution to the simple just to excuse those corrupt oligarchs in office.

The ordinary man would see the soup drinker by knowing who is getting fat. He knows everyone to a man and women of the PPP were hand to mouth before entering office. Now they all have exclusive dachas with sea side views, drink Moet and sport obscene spending habits as the new patricians.  These new sybarite not only drink the soup they have intravenous drips constantly feeding it directly to their veins!

GET RID OF THE PPP/C NOW

Go back and read the Guyana Constitution and see what is says........and then you can respond to what I write, until then you appears just as stupid like the rest, and not even just, you are a fool.

GET RID OF THE PPP/C NOW

Go back and read the Guyana Constitution and see what is says........and then you can respond to what I write, until then you appears just as stupid like the rest, and not even just, you are a fool.

hehehe i MUST GO READ THE cONSTITUTION, hehehe  yUH UNDER YUH BED STILL HIDING???

GET RID OF THE PPP/C NOW

You cyan't get minista wuk if you sthupid

GET RID OF THE PPP/C NOW

What a piece of hogwash commentary. You talking democracy and you preaching military coup? Think again Asj.

What Ramotar did was usurping the power, when he dismisses parliament, he immediately take on for himself the leadership as a Dictatator, had he announced a date for General Elections, then and only then he his party of rogues could have been considered an Interim Government.

With no dates for Election called, and he leeched on to Power, then that makes him a Dictator, and I stand by my word that the Constitution makes certain provision for that by involving the Armed Forces, to bring Responsibility to the Country.

By currently running the country now, the Corrupt PPP/C is in an illegal position, and the Army can arrest them and put them in prison.

GET RID OF THE PPP/C NOW

Bhai, Nah mek he feel shame, he does get Bazidee when he is shamed.

GET RID OF THE PPP/C NOW

Bhai, Nah mek he feel shame, he does get Bazidee when he is shamed.

Go read the Guyana Constitution and get some education, and then you can come back and lets discuss.

Wasting my time and your time.

GET RID OF THE PPP/C NOW

Go back and read theGuyana Constitution and see what is says........and then you can respond to what I write, until then you appears just as stupid like the rest, and not even just, you are a fool.

It is abundantly clear that the actions taken by President Donald Ramotar are well within the constitution and laws of Guyana.

Originally Posted by Wally:

There is no need for GDF coup in Guyana.  Guyana should remain the only South American country without a military coup.  With this new world order that we live in, any country in South America without free elections will experience the wrath of the United States in their back yard.  There is no need for coup. 

Wally, there are coups and there are coups. Yuh neva hear bout palace coup? No military involved there.

Donald says he will be the next PPP presidential candidate. Rohee didn't say he will not challenge Donald. The ambitious Young Turks are salivating for a chance too. Don't be surprised if there is a palace coup at Freedom House.

You and I know how things work there.

Originally Posted by Wally:

Well bookman you make a very important point there. I heard about the gang of eight sending the former rulers packing. I even heard recently of talk about a silent coup in North Korea that may have been pulled off by young Kim's younger sister.

HEHEHE  Bookman love a Nancy Story. Bottom House Journalism at its best.

Asj, your headline say the PPP Government of Guyana is illegal. Please educate us on what make them illegal and why the army should remove them?

Rass, why you could not have Asked the man to spell wan lil thing like mosquito instead of a big thing like wan cow.

You think the man would order the GDF to come and take down Cobra? Cobra has to look out. This man is exterme when he can't get his way.

Asj, your headline say the PPP Government of Guyana is illegal. Please educate us on what make them illegal and why the army should remove them?

Rass, why you could not have Asked the man to spell wan lil thing like mosquito instead of a big thing like wan cow.

You think the man would order the GDF to come and take down Cobra? Cobra has to look out. This man is exterme when he can't get his way.

Cobra will chew him for Dinner.

Like de man gaan in hidin.

GET RID OF THE PPP/C NOW

What can you expect from a Taliban admirer.

Like de man gaan in hidin.

Ow Bhai, yuh kno how he does get, leave him alone.