AFC kick starts election campaign in Region Nine

AUGUST 28, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

- Receives mixed views about possible coalition with APNU 

By Abena Rockcliffe
“Constitutional reform is an extreme necessity to Guyana, if former President Jagdeo taught us nothing else, he taught us that all that power should never be given to one human being”- Nigel Hughes  

AFC Chairman Nigel Hughes as he addressed the residents in Baitoon

The Alliance For Change (AFC) has turned on its power switch and is now in election campaign mode. The Party, which holds the minority in parliament, has launched its campaign in Region Nine, Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo.
Campaign activities commenced in the Region on Friday last and the final meeting was held on Tuesday.
The first to hear about the Party’s plans for Region Nine was Lethem.
On Friday, Chairman of the AFC, Nigel Hughes, held a public meeting at Airport Road, Lethem where scores turned out to listen and “gain hope.”
That session was quite interactive as after Hughes delivered his speech, the questions came pouring in.
In his remarks, Hughes highlighted the Region’s failure at CSEC, the pending No-Confidence Motion against the government, the need for constitutional change and the flaws of the Amerindian Act.
A young man questioned whether it was true that the AFC is about to join with A Partnership for National Unity (APNU). He opined, “if so be the case it will secure a landslide victory for the PPP (People’s Progressive Party).
The youth went on, “Young people don’t want that, we feel like both the PPP and the PNC had their chances and screwed it up; we want change, and we want betterment.”
With that argument, the man told Hughes that the worst thing the AFC can do is to come together.
In response, Hughes stated that the AFC has no immediate plans to do so.
But immediately after that answer, another man, this one more mature looking, took the microphone and suggested that the AFC should indeed coalesce with APNU.
His argument was that “Guyana is crying and the only people laughing are those at the top. We all got to fight and we can’t cuff with one hand, we need both hands to cuff. Guyana is very much in need of change”.
He asked Hughes, if not a coalition, what his party intends to do to “change the way we are living.”
Hughes then explained that while a coalition may or may not defeat the government, “what we need is change, constitutional change.”
He said that the actions of former president Bharrat Jagdeo showed clearly that never again can Guyana afford to place so much power in the hands of one human being.
According to Hughes, to see constitutional change is the only reason he entered politics. He said therefore, that the AFC is committed to ensuring constitutional change which, in his belief, will reflect a greater change for Guyana.
The attorney-at-law said, that it must be understood that the AFC holds the balance of power and boasted that the AFC is the only third party in the Region that has been able to attract more votes the second time around as compared to the first time it competed in general elections.
Still answering the question as to why not coalesce, Hughes told the Lethem crowd that it must also be noted that the population still votes through racial lines, as people are seemingly not willing to move away from that unproductive method of electing leaders of the country.
He noted that in 2006 when the AFC placed Afro-Guyanese Raphael Trotman as presidential candidate, it gained more votes in areas populated by Afro Guyanese. But at the last elections when Indo-Guyanese Khemraj Ramjattan was placed as the party’s presidential candidate, the party attracted more votes from the Indo-Guyanese communities.

A section of the gathering

“So while our strategy is still to be realized, the AFC is committed to securing constitutional change that is what we are sure of.”
Hughes also told Lethem that Region Nine needs a technical school for students who may not want to pursue academics.
In addition to Lethem, the campaign extended to several other villages in the South Rupununi including Maruranau, Shulinab and Baitoon
In the other villages Hughes focused more on letting the residents know what exactly is in the Amerindian Act that is supposed to be “protecting them.” He pointed out the section that says that the Minister of Amerindian Affairs (Pauline Sukhai) can give away traditional lands to investors even if the Toshaos disagree.
The Act stipulates that the first step is to seek permission from the community to have investors utilize but if the Amerindians do not grant permission, the Minister can then sign on their behalf approving which ever activity, be it logging or mining.
The reaction to this varied, but some residents were furious.
Hughes told the communities about the low pass rate in Region Nine and attributed it to the shortage of qualified teachers in the Region. He told them too about the Amerindian Development Fund and explained that the AFC asked the government to account for the money it spent on the Amerindians before more could have been approved.
“If they showed our members of parliament what they did, we would have surely approved the money.”
The main concern in Maruranau was education and the “disturbing” section of the Amerindian Act while Baitoon had a wide range of issues. Residents of the latter community complained about their living conditions, the education offered, “all this talk about budget cut” and their lands.
“We don’t know what the government did with all the money you said parliament gave them, look how we living, but they keep telling us about budget cuts,” one resident lamented
Residents said that all the government has given to the community in recent times is an all-terrain vehicle.
“We had enough, we are ready to stand up and claim our change,” said another resident.
In all the villages visited, Hughes gave out copies of the Constitution and of the Amerindian Act and made other donations.

We don’t know what the government did with all the money you said parliament gave them, look how we living, but they keep telling us about budget cuts,” one resident lamented
Residents said that all the government has given to the community in recent times is an all-terrain vehicle.

Lights out for the AFC:

10653833_726330334080963_972688464639409518_n

Stupid man,  the AFC needs to maintain their base in the county. If they gain any thing they would have destroyed the PPP. 

Multi-million dollar Lethem Hospital lacks medical professionals

August 28, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 
An ailing Peter Nash waiting to board a plane from Lethem to Georgetown to seek medical attention
Peter Nash

Residents of Region Nine, Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo, who depend primarily on the Lethem Hospital for medical attention, are complaining of the shortage of medical professionals at the facility. Some residents also related that the hospital is often out of drugs.
One case in point is Peter Nash who, after spending one week at the health facility, was forced to take a self discharge and make his way to Georgetown for medical attention.
Nash, 30, said he was experiencing excruciating pain on the right side of his lower back.
According to him, a doctor attached to the Lethem facility told him that he was probably suffering from kidney stones.
However, this could not have been confirmed, not because the health facility is not equipped with an ultrasound machine; but because the hospital has no one with the capacity to operate the piece of equipment.
The ailing man said he was told by the Regional Health Officer to wait until October 14, when it is expected that someone who can operate the machine will be in the Region.
Kaieteur News understands that during the seven days Nash spent at the hospital, he was only given pain injections and saline.
Wincing in pain as he sat on a bench waiting to board a plane to Georgetown, Nash told Kaieteur News “all they did was sore my back with injections…I can’t tell how much (injections) I got, all I know is that it was nuff.”
Nash said he told the Regional Health Officer that he could not possibly wait until October to know what was happening to him because of the excruciating pain he was in.
“I feel really terrible and I told this woman (the Regional Health Officer) that I can’t possibly wait until October; she told me that it is not an emergency,” said Nash.
Mark Rodrigues, another resident of Lethem told Kaieteur News of similar experiences that he had with the Regional Health Officer.  He told Kaieteur News, “They don’t even have adequate drugs here. We usually have to rely on the drug stores… I am telling you the drug stores got more medication than the hospital they (government) spend all that money on.”
Rodrigues said that the inefficiency of the hospital, coupled with the unfriendly behaviour of the Regional Health Officer is a real disadvantage for the people of Lethem.
He recalled a popular incident where an ailing woman was reportedly told “prepare to die”…” Now how insensitive can one person be to tell a dying woman to prepare to die?” the man questioned.
Nash travelled to Georgetown on Tuesday. When contacted yesterday the ailing man told Kaieteur News that an Ultrasound done at a private hospital in the city, disclosed that both of his kidneys are swollen and “I have some kind of infection in my kidney as well.”
Asked why he didn’t access treatment from the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC), Nash said, that is because he was told by the Regional Health Officer that the process at GPHC would be very long. “She had told me that when she said it ain’t really mek sense to come to Georgetown. So with all the pain I was in, I just decided to take the easy way out.”
Nash admitted that he is low on funds but said, “I simply could not have bear this pain any longer.”

PPP doesn't have time for this sort of thing more money has to be funneled to Jagdeo via new GPC contracts while the people continue to bleed.

99% win for the PPP on the way.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Removal of the PPP gov't. will result in greater corruption. Don't be fooled!

That is highly unlikely. The current PPP officials are more corrupt than any others in the history of Guyana. 

Why would that be so, because black people would have the helm? With the PPP there is no option to change. Prudence suggests one hope the new administration would have learnt from the PPP how to rule better and not worse. In any event, it is better to be hopeful than forced to suffer the corrupt practices of the PPP. With the new administration it means we get a completely different conception of environmental practices and an understanding that Guyanese come first.

Bannas, You really gat short term memory.  But you are FREE to want the PNC.

Under the PPP we have democracy, economic growth, and some corruption.

Under the PNC we had no democracy, Economic decline, and rampant corruption.

The PNC and their new attack dog, the AFC, are bunch of rotten scoundrels whose abhorrence for democracy, the rule of law, and decency will reverse economic progress and send the nation in a downward spiral reminiscent of the period 1964 to 1992.

Don't let this happen again.

The PNC and their new attack dog, the AFC, are bunch of rotten scoundrels whose abhorrence for democracy, the rule of law, and decency will reverse economic progress and send the nation in a downward spiral reminiscent of the period 1964 to 1992.

Liar, Liar, pants on fire.

Current PPP corruption is ten times worse than anything Guyana has ever experienced.

Originally Posted by Mars:

Current PPP corruption is ten times worse than anything Guyana has ever experienced.

Gross exxaggeration of corruption coming from the mouth of someone who supports a party that has a rotten history. Tell Congress House to pay their property tax bills due to the City of Georgetwon and all of the millions the New Nation owes the State-owned Chronicle since the 1980s then come and talk about corruption.

Everyone of those cretins to a man inclusive of your esteemed previous and president president were dirt poor before entering office. All of them now possess wealth that exceeds there earning power. I guess in office they they all like Rumpelstiltskins found their own weaver of straw into gold. Explain for us the rise of pradoville?

When the PNC was being wicked, I spoke out against it too. Today, the PPP is ten times worse so why should I be silent?

Dimwit, PPP cronies do not pay property taxes in Guyana either. Buddy's was even operating for years without paying his light bill. GPL sued him and the court made him pay half of the bill. Tell me which business should be allowed to operate with paying electricity bills and when sued only ended up paying part of the bill. Talk about the arrangement between Dr. Bobby and Bharat where they are given exclusive rights to supply the government with drugs and charge poor sick people exhorbitant prices for the drugs they need. The same Bobby and Bharat team own most of the Berbice Bridge that is ripping off consumers who have no other choice but to use the bridge. Bai Shan Lin given the rights to rape Guyana's forests in return for kickbacks. I could go on and on but I haven't got all day. Nothing lasts forever, one day these scum will pay.