High level APNU/PPP teams discuss LGE in AFC’s absence

October 21, 2014 9:59 am Category: Politics A+ / A-

President Donald Ramotar and Leader of the Opposition, David Granger.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – A high level team from A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) met yesterday, Monday October 20, with the aim of advancing talks on the long awaited Local Government Elections (LGE).

A press release from the APNU detailed the meeting; however, there was no mention of the minority political Party, the Alliance for Change (AFC) being present at the meeting.

The APNU’s team was led by Brigadier David Granger and included parliamentarians Dr Rupert Roopnaraine, Mr. Basil Williams, Mr. Carl Greenidge and Mr. Joseph Harmon.

The PPP/C team, led by President Donald Ramotar, comprised parliamentarians Dr Ashni Singh, Mr. Irfaan Ali, Ms. Gail Teixeira and Cabinet Secretary Dr Roger Luncheon.

According to the APNU, the meeting was held in the wake of the opposition’s year-long demand and public protests in support of early local government elections.

“APNU iterated its call for the President to name a date for the holding of local government elections. APNU also committed to collaborate on a process by which the President would assent to the Local Government Bill No. 12 of 2012; the Constitution (Amendment) Bill 2013; the Fiscal Management and Accountability Act Bill No. 24 of 2012 and Bill No. 5 of 2013 and the Former President (Benefits and other Facilities) Bill No. 29 of 2012,” the APNU release noted.

According to the main Opposition, the Attorney General is at present attending a Financial Action Task Force meeting in Paris and, therefore, was absent from the APNU-PPP/C meeting.

As such, the PPP/C team deferred making a decision on the Bills and on determining a date for local government elections.

excerpts from Inews

Excerpts from (Knews) by - Joe Acarai

It is selfish for the AFC to believe they can singularly win a national election, they just do not have the numbers. As a new and inexperienced political party without a strong voting-base, winning a national election is next-to-impossible. Such behavior is nothing more than a pipe-dream.           

Excerpts from (Knews) by - Joe Acarai

It is selfish for the AFC to believe they can singularly win a national election, they just do not have the numbers. As a new and inexperienced political party without a strong voting-base, winning a national election is next-to-impossible. Such behavior is nothing more than a pipe-dream.           

You embracing Granger and the PNC now?

Well no surprise there after all the PPP tek in all the PNC criminals. Whats new ***** cat whats new?

The AFC back are against the wall now, their no confidence motion from all appearances has been stalled as a result their congress in on hold, while their overseas financial backers are departing from them, the local support has dwindled.

Councie ...plain an simple....you speaketh shit.

From the horse's mouth, AFC Chairman, Nigel Hughes said at a recent meeting that if AFC and APNU merge, PPP will win a landslide victory. Cain, can you explain what he meant by that statement?

You speaketh shit too Cobra.

No, I am just the delivery man that bringeth shit form KNews. 

HEHEHE

Them only know who does talk shit, but when you question them, them batty and mouth shut tight with crazy glue. 

You speaketh shit too Cobra.

No, I am just the delivery man that bringeth shit form KNews. 

HEHEHE

Them only know who does talk shit, but when you question them, them batty and mouth shut tight with crazy glue. 

Oh Meh Mumma

Originally Posted by Conscience:

From all indications the "marriage" between the AFC and P.N.C aka A.P.N.U has grown sour...

that was a marriage consummated formalized and consummated by the PPP while think of the AFC. Sorry, the no confidence vote is coming. Hiding wont stop it.

The AFC back are against the wall now, their no confidence motion from all appearances has been stalled as a result their congress in on hold, while their overseas financial backers are departing from them, the local support has dwindled.

you are imagining all sorts of confusion on the AFC behalf when it it the PPP who are prevaricating on all fronts because they know their corrupt practices an the people's disgust is being forced to come to a head. It matters not what self deceptive practices you utilize to avoid the damning truth. You are being called out to be measured and you will be found wanting.

The AFC back are against the wall now, their no confidence motion from all appearances has been stalled as a result their congress in on hold...

You're forgetting that on June 27 the AFC issued a 10-point demand to President Ramotar if he wanted to avoid a no-confidence motion.

Point 5. Set a date and hold Local Government Elections in 2014.

If President Ramotar sets that date, the AFC will defer its no confidence motion.

The AFC national conference will be held this year. Postponement doesn't mean cancellation. That's not your problem.

There was no mention of the minority political Party, the Alliance for Change (AFC) being present at the meeting.

WHY?

and you have relevance? please - more serpent piss for free distribution tonight.

Councie ...plain an simple....you speaketh shit.

From the horse's mouth, AFC Chairman, Nigel Hughes said at a recent meeting that if AFC and APNU merge, PPP will win a landslide victory. Cain, can you explain what he meant by that statement?

Who cares? Not I. People can say anything they wish,until the time is right everything is talk.

The delayed/abandoned passage of the A.F.C no confidence motion, has really blown the wind out of their sails, they even postponed their congress...

AFC is a total failure. Postponement of their Congress is another failure of the AFC to rally any tangible support.

The AFC is dead.