The actions of this police commander are dishonest

July 26, 2015 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor, I have worked 26 years in the policing community groups, with at least 10 different divisional commanders and a number of police commissioners.  I am Chairman of the Station Management Committee of the Providence Police Station and Advisor of the Herstelling Policing Group. I have given not only my time but resources because I remain concerned about the safety of our citizens. I have never been afraid to voice my opinions or call a spade a spade. Recently, an incident occurred and it is causing me to a rethink about some of the people we have in charge. Recently, Guyana hosted the CPL games in Providence. Guyanese came from all walks of life. So did many of our Caribbean brothers and sisters. Police were hard pressed. It was after one of the games in which Guyana won last weekend that I received a call. A senior public servant had been arrested and accused of accosting a police officer who was directing traffic from the stadium. The public servant reportedly came out of his vehicle and approached the policeman, telling him that congestion was becoming unbearable. During a short exchange of words, the public servant reportedly asked for the police rank’s name. He was wearing one of the reflector jackets and the name tag was hidden. The public servant apparently attempted to see the name tag and touched the policeman. The public servant said he wanted to report the police rank’s behaviour. The ‘A’ Division Commander, Mr. Clifton Hicken, reportedly drove up at the moment and heard a complaint of the rank. He ordered the arrest of the public servant who was handled and thrown into a police vehicle, in full view and disbelief of his friends and family. He was taken to the Providence Station where he was charged. His superiors were later told that public servant had slapped the police rank. The police rank’s statement never reflected any slapping. The matter was settled. The embarrassment could have caused the public servant his job. This is clearly an abuse of power by Mr. Hicken, a man people should look up to and respect. It is dishonest to convey an impression that the police rank was slapped and then to boot, charge the public servant. How many more persons have been victims to such dishonesty and abuse by this commander or others like him?  Guyana should not tolerate such disrespect to our citizens.

There must be an even handed show of justice. We demand an explanation from Mr. Hicken.

Cobeer Persaud

Originally Posted by VVP:

The senior public servant regardless of his race should have spent the night in jail for obstructing a police officer from doing his job.

In the first place the Policeman was going about his duty in the wrong way, he was not supposed to hid his name tag, his name tag was supposed to be shown for all to see, by hiding his name tag, shows clearly that he was afraid that his ass would have been reported.

Originally Posted by asj:

And so the Indo Guyanese Population is feeling the brunt of Police Brutality.

Have we come to expect this from and APNU/AFC Government? After begging us for our votes?

ah yes . . . commander Clifton Hicken, Rohee bai of Linden martyrs fame

plenty of y'all were silent when blackman were calling for this arrogant SOB's head in the wake of the shootdown of dem protesters at the bridge . . . shit, some of y'all were ready to place mala pan he neck after he clap am pun dem Linden people

but now, the shoe is on the other foot . . . you and Cobeer Persaud dem moving hell on earth, demanding action regarding this purely administrative matter

chickens coming home to roost bai . . . there is no 1st and 2nd class race in Guyana

u must have bhai Seelall pan speed dial . . . give him a call

hypocrite

The senior public servant regardless of his race should have spent the night in jail for obstructing a police officer from doing his job.

In the first place the Policeman was going about his duty in the wrong way, he was not supposed to hid his name tag, his name tag was supposed to be shown for all to see, by hiding his name tag, shows clearly that he was afraid that his ass would have been reported.

What part of this did you miss?

A senior public servant had been arrested and accused of accosting a police officer who was directing traffic from the stadium. The public servant reportedly came out of his vehicle and approached the policeman, telling him that congestion was becoming unbearable. During a short exchange of words, the public servant reportedly asked for the police rank’s name. He was wearing one of the reflector jackets and the name tag was hidden.

The public servant should have slept his ass in the can that night.  Got to be one of those "You know who I am" asses.

And so the Indo Guyanese Population is feeling the brunt of Police Brutality.

Have we come to expect this from and APNU/AFC Government? After begging us for our votes?

ASJ

It is time to speak out. These chaps are scaring many, many Indo Guyanese.

Moses and Ramjattan are not as powerful in APNU as many think they are. They appear powerless.

They are propping up APNU right now but pressure does mek pipe burst. 

What part of this did you miss?

A senior public servant had been arrested and accused of accosting a police officer who was directing traffic from the stadium. The public servant reportedly came out of his vehicle and approached the policeman, telling him that congestion was becoming unbearable. During a short exchange of words, the public servant reportedly asked for the police rank’s name. He was wearing one of the reflector jackets and the name tag was hidden.

The public servant should have slept his ass in the can that night.  Got to be one of those "You know who I am" asses.

Why the ass did you think that they were given tags to wear? Is it to hid behind a reflector jacket? Take the friggin tags and throw it away, and then there would not be any issue of tags.

I guess that you are too blunt to know what those tags were issued for.

The actions of this police commander are dishonest

July 26, 2015 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor, I have worked 26 years in the policing community groups, with at least 10 different divisional commanders and a number of police commissioners.  I am Chairman of the Station Management Committee of the Providence Police Station and Advisor of the Herstelling Policing Group. I have given not only my time but resources because I remain concerned about the safety of our citizens. I have never been afraid to voice my opinions or call a spade a spade. Recently, an incident occurred and it is causing me to a rethink about some of the people we have in charge. Recently, Guyana hosted the CPL games in Providence. Guyanese came from all walks of life. So did many of our Caribbean brothers and sisters. Police were hard pressed. It was after one of the games in which Guyana won last weekend that I received a call. A senior public servant had been arrested and accused of accosting a police officer who was directing traffic from the stadium. The public servant reportedly came out of his vehicle and approached the policeman, telling him that congestion was becoming unbearable. During a short exchange of words, the public servant reportedly asked for the police rank’s name. He was wearing one of the reflector jackets and the name tag was hidden. The public servant apparently attempted to see the name tag and touched the policeman. The public servant said he wanted to report the police rank’s behaviour. The ‘A’ Division Commander, Mr. Clifton Hicken, reportedly drove up at the moment and heard a complaint of the rank. He ordered the arrest of the public servant who was handled and thrown into a police vehicle, in full view and disbelief of his friends and family. He was taken to the Providence Station where he was charged. His superiors were later told that public servant had slapped the police rank. The police rank’s statement never reflected any slapping. The matter was settled. The embarrassment could have caused the public servant his job. This is clearly an abuse of power by Mr. Hicken, a man people should look up to and respect. It is dishonest to convey an impression that the police rank was slapped and then to boot, charge the public servant. How many more persons have been victims to such dishonesty and abuse by this commander or others like him?  Guyana should not tolerate such disrespect to our citizens.

There must be an even handed show of justice. We demand an explanation from Mr. Hicken.

Cobeer Persaud

The Citizen should not have gotten our of his car and approached the cop. He is lucky he was not shot. Every officer need to know they must have their name tags appropriately displayed. Fake cops abound so one must take heed.

I admit, Hicken is a liar and an ignoramus. He lied about not knowing what happened at linden and is an ignoramus on account of his insisting women are raped on account of how they are dressed an not account on a pervert participating on an act of violence. I hope he gets the boot soon.