FORT WORTH, Texas (AP) — A 14-year-old physics major has become the youngest person ever to graduate from Texas Christian University.

Carson Huey-You was among more than 2,000 students getting degrees Saturday at the Fort Worth school founded in 1873. He started at TCU in 2013 when he was 11. He also has minors in Chinese and math.

Huey-You tells the Fort Worth Star-Telegram his favorite thing about college has been getting to learn things he never thought about, things he never knew existed and things he might not even think about thinking about. He also says he's learned how to deal with "some real hard classes" and get over the disappointment of a poor score on a test.

The self-described "normal dude" wants to work on getting graduate degrees in quantum mechanics.

FC posted:

Druggie, why do you have to interject your nonsense.  Acknowledge the kid is special and it is a great achievement. 

it is not nonsense but fact. Force fuh ripe does not mean success.  A lot of us push our kids as though it is a race when in the  greater scheme of the universe it all evens out. 

https://www.nytimes.com/roomfo...ow-into-adult-genius

You need to take a peek here

instead of rushing to post the article to justify your view.

FC posted:

Druggie, why do you have to interject your nonsense.  Acknowledge the kid is special and it is a great achievement. 

it is not nonsense but fact. Force fuh ripe does not mean success.  A lot of us push our kids as though it is a race when in the  greater scheme of the universe it all evens out. 

There are exceptions, however the studies show that these child prodigy don't statistically fare better in adult life than the children on a normal developmental track. I knew a few of them that ending up being mediocre after the initial curiosity of youth excelling is over.

FC posted:

Druggie simply "pooh-poohing" the kids achievement based on his ethnicity.

FC posted:
FC posted:

Druggie simply "pooh-poohing" the kids achievement based on his ethnicity.

Don`t you thing it would serve this child better to enjoy his childhood rather than rush out into the workforce and academia? Once childhood is gone it never returns and oftentimes these children turn out disconnected with society and they bypassed a normal childhood.