Bandits invade wake, rob guests at gunpoint

April 16, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

- Victims got no response to 911 calls

Hours after losing her husband, widow Ivy Khan found herself being held at gunpoint by three bandits who also robbed several guests that had gathered at her Shell Road, Kitty home on Monday night for her spouse’s wake. Within three minutes, the young, well-dressed bandits, who had one handgun, stripped at least nine of Mrs. Khan’s guests of money, jewellery and mobile phones. One victim, Sahab Ali, was relieved of $200,000, jewellery and his vehicle keys. Eyewitnesses said that the robbers, estimated to be in their early twenties, escaped in a white car that was parked at the western end of Shell Road.

Mrs. Ivy Khan [centre) her daughter, Ann Marie, and a neighbour that the bandits had attacked.

Mrs. Ivy Khan (centre) her daughter, Ann Marie, and a neighbour that the bandits had attacked.

Mrs. Khan claims that an-in-law, who lives in the flat above hers, repeatedly attempted to contact the Kitty Police Station while the robbers were still at the scene, but the number rang out. Mrs. Khan’s son, Raphael Khan, also said that he made several 911 calls, but got no response. Mrs. Khan lives at Lot 2 A, Shell Road Kitty. Her husband, Raymond Khan, who had been ailing for some time, passed away on Monday morning. The Khans held a wake that night and the guests were preparing to leave at around 23:40 hrs when three young men entered the yard.  The victim recalled that the men were in their early twenties, and were all dressed in white t-shirts and blue three-quarter pants. Mrs. Khan’s daughter, Ann Marie, realised that something was amiss when one of the men, whose hair was braided, drew a handgun, ‘cranked’ the weapon, and threatened to shoot. “I thought they were joking, then they say that it was a stick-up and cranked the gun,” the daughter recalled. She said that one of the robbers frisked her, but did not find her cell phone. She also took off her watch to give to the robber, but the man made no attempt to take it. Mrs. Khan, who was on her bridge when the bandits arrived, recalled that the robber with a ‘black gun’ pressed the weapon to her back and pushed her into her yard. According to her, the bandit then pushed her through the front door of her bottom flat but made no attempt to follow. She then ran into her bedroom, shut the door and tried to summon help. “I ran into the bedroom with the cordless phone and dialed my sister-in-law, who lives upstairs, and told her to call the (Kitty) police station.” However, she alleged that the number at the Kitty Station rang out. Mrs. Khan’s son, who was also in the house at the time, also said that he got no response when he dialed 911. The widow told Kaieteur News that about four other visitors sought refuge in her house. Those who remained outside were stripped of their valuables. The victims estimate that the robbers retreated after some three minutes and escaped in a waiting car. One of the guests then ran to the Kitty Police Station, located about two minutes away from the Khan’s home, and informed the ranks about the robbery. No arrests have been made. Mrs. Khan said that police visited their home yesterday and took statements. While the family remains traumatized by the ordeal, Mrs. Khan said that the ranks reassured them that they will patrol the area while the wake is in progress.

I can agree that the PPP is weak when it comes to fighting crime. Very weak.

Guyana is sour like lime when it comes to fighting crime. 

The Sweet Sweet heading needs to be address by Nehru Bhai.

We need to put some fire on the PPP's tail to tackle this serious problem.

Well yu gat foh mek sure de police weak wen yu want encourage yu frens foh push dope. Why yu tink Rohee refuse foh get de DEA and de British help. De man turn down de British help. It come back foh bite people and dem supporter.

Mrs. Khan claims that an-in-law, who lives in the flat above hers, repeatedly attempted to contact the Kitty Police Station while the robbers were still at the scene, but the number rang out. Mrs. Khan’s son, Raphael Khan, also said that he made several 911 calls, but got no response. Mrs. Khan lives at Lot 2 A, Shell Road Kitty.

The entire Police and Military need revamp , they operate by brutal force and ignorance. What do you expect, the forces still consist of PNC appointments that is loyal to the APNU and AFC. It"s a total racial uneven in the ranks, take a look and be honest. As for this case, fire the entire Kitty outpost .

Originally Posted by kp:

The entire Police and Military need revamp , they operate by brutal force and ignorance. What do you expect, the forces still consist of PNC appointments that is loyal to the APNU and AFC. It"s a total racial uneven in the ranks, take a look and be honest. As for this case, fire the entire Kitty outpost .

Be honest, the PPP had more than 2 decades to reform the GPF. Name the heads and you will see that they are PPP appoinments. Rohee should be fired first for his gross negligence and incompetence.

Last edited by Mitwah
Originally Posted by kp:

Be honest, the PPP had more than 2 decades to reform the GPC. Names the heads and you will se that they are PPP appoinments. Rohee should be fired first for his gross negligence and incompetence.

kp's rant is indeed dishonest and out of place

cheap tribal agenda in search of a 'platform' no matter how awkward

smh

nAH THIS CAN'T BE yUGI????

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

No respect, not even for the dead. And just a stone throw from the Kitty police station. A real sad state of affair.

Where is Nehru? Tell him to come and get his share of sweet Guyana sumutoo. Yall don't worry, Seelall will take care with these bandits. Give him time to settle in with his new promotion.

Originally Posted by kp:

Be honest, the PPP had more than 2 decades to reform the GPF. Name the heads and you will see that they are PPP appoinments. Rohee should be fired first for his gross negligence and incompetence.

wELL SAID mITWAH!!

lET HIM ANSER THAT QUESTION, WHO FROM THE POLICE FORCE WAS APPOINTED BY THE pnc? 

Hog wash from KP as usual!

No respect, not even for the dead. And just a stone throw from the Kitty police station. A real sad state of affair.

Where is Nehru? Tell him to come and get his share of sweet Guyana sumutoo. Yall don't worry, Seelall will take care with these bandits. Give him time to settle in with his new promotion.

Seelall, [the long-serving crime chief . . . hmmmmm] will make everything rite because he is a member of de Indo nation, eh?

more agenda-driven tribalism from the bt of the ignorant

Ramoutar said that he will continue Jagdeo's policies and that is EXACTLY what he has been doing to DATE!

Ramouthar's tenure is but an extension of Jagdeos'......the cabinet was not changed so we have the same old players, without any new ideas , and up to their old tricks....

Bannas, Dem gat to learn to read and understand. I have long given the PPP Govt a F Grade in Crime and SEcurity. 

Overall Guyana SWEET SWEET Laka Sumutooo.  When you have people like MOSES and others who are working Day and Night to destroy Guyana so that he can say " See I told you  so" these things will continue to happen. 

Having said that, the responsibility of Security and Crime is with the ruling Govt. They need to have the BALLS to go after MOSES and others!!!!!!!!!!

Bannas, Dem gat to learn to read and understand. I have long given the PPP Govt a F Grade in Crime and SEcurity. 

Overall Guyana SWEET SWEET Laka Sumutooo.  When you have people like MOSES and others who are working Day and Night to destroy Guyana so that he can say " See I told you  so" these things will continue to happen. 

Having said that, the responsibility of Security and Crime is with the ruling Govt. They need to have the BALLS to go after MOSES and others!!!!!!!!!!

Nehru at some time this century you have to stop this anti Moses mantra you have become accustomed to......

Nehru, what has Moses done to you or your family?

Originally Posted by Churchill:

Nehru at some time this century you have to stop this anti Moses mantra you have become accustomed to......

Uncle Churchill, He put himself there, I personally sent out a warning to him not be BETRAY the Guyanese People. Do you know how many he is HURTING??/  Because I have GREAT RESPECT for you I will take heed to your call and be more constructive with my comments towards Bhai Moses. He for one should know Politics is no Picnic. Like I said my personal respect for you, knowing you are NOT like the others Snakeoil Salesmen here is good enough reason to rethink my approach.

These youths in Guyana today need to chanel their energy and focus into more positive things. Robbery and a life of crime is not the way to go. But what are the alternatives? The brazeness of these crimes seems to be escalating without fear of law. Dead house, wedding house, where else?

Nehru I am glad that you will take my advice on toning down your venom towards Moses....Moses did not destroy Guyana in fact he tried to stop its destruction by the Jagdeo/Ramouthar cabal....just ask Ralph how they sought his assistance in sidelining Moses and others......and in the end he was sidelined himself after being used to go through the charade of the selection process for the presidential candidate....

In 1998 Moses polled the second highest number of votes at the PPP congress because the delegates saw him as the true successor to Cheddi....the majority of the folks who supported Moses at that congress are still supportive of him in spite of the fact that he is no longer with the PPP..... Some of us would be surprised to know that many PPP supporters would like to see Moses back in the party to straighten things out.....if Ramouthar is stupid enough to call a snap elections and Moses happens to be the AFC's presidential candidate then the Jagdeo/Ramouthar cabal would be up the creek without a paddle......

Nehru, what has Moses done to you or your family?

It is not my Family I am concerned with BUT the Thousands of Families that are suffering and will be suffering because of his Actions!!!

These youths in Guyana today need to chanel their energy and focus into more positive things. Robbery and a life of crime is not the way to go. But what are the alternatives? The brazeness of these crimes seems to be escalating without fear of law. Dead house, wedding house, where else?

I AGREE Bhai. The quality of humans in Guyana in certain level is certainly going to the dogs!!!

Nehru I am glad that you will take my advice on toning down your venom towards Moses....Moses did not destroy Guyana in fact he tried to stop its destruction by the Jagdeo/Ramouthar cabal....just ask Ralph how they sought his assistance in sidelining Moses and others......and in the end he was sidelined himself after being used to go through the charade of the selection process for the presidential candidate....

In 1998 Moses polled the second highest number of votes at the PPP congress because the delegates saw him as the true successor to Cheddi....the majority of the folks who supported Moses at that congress are still supportive of him in spite of the fact that he is no longer with the PPP..... Some of us would be surprised to know that many PPP supporters would like to see Moses back in the party to straighten things out.....if Ramouthar is stupid enough to call a snap elections and Moses happens to be the AFC's presidential candidate then the Jagdeo/Ramouthar cabal would be up the creek without a paddle......

I respect your opinion BUT I am not agreeing with all you stated. We all know now that Jagdeo sidelined Moses BUT that is no reason for anyone to not think about the general population/.

Chief,

If we truly love our country, we will point out things that are not good for the future. It is equally important to point out positive things.

Politics is a dirty game but we all love Guyana and have different visions of how to see Guyana prosper.

We must respect our differences.

Chief,

If we truly love our country, we will point out things that are not good for the future. It is equally important to point out positive things.

Politics is a dirty game but we all love Guyana and have different visions of how to see Guyana prosper.

We must respect our differences.

Chief hate the PPP with a passion. You and him will never see eye to eye until the PPP is history

I AGREE Bhai. The quality of humans in Guyana in certain level is certainly going to the dogs!!!

In your opinion, since you've been down this way before; was the National service a good thing?

National Service was a good concept. However Guyana's National Service was totally POLITICAL. Hence, a failure and FARCE. When Officers only concern was to molest young women and force Indians to eat Pork then obviously it was a Failure.

So, with some modifications, you think it can work?

SWEET SWEET GUYANA

A 20-year-old tractor operator of Black Bush Polder who narrowly escaped being executed when gunmen opened fire on him at around 8 pm on Thursday, is nursing pellet wounds at the New Amsterdam Hospital.

Rajkumar “Boy” Moonsammy of Johanna north suffered injuries to his head, face, right hand and his right ribcage area. He had just returned home from a drinking spree with friends when two gunshots rang out. Both shots reportedly came from the direction of the street.

The man’s mother, Padmawattie, told this newspaper yesterday that her son’s injuries could have been worse had the gunmen been closer. She also said that some clothing hanging on a line under the house helped to block some of the pellets.

Moonsammy told this newspaper that he was in the kitchen in the lower flat of the house and was removing his t-shirt when he heard an explosion and realized that he was hit on his hand. He attempted to close the door and was hit again.

Bleeding, Moonsammy said, he jumped through a window at the back of the house and escaped through his neighbour’s garden to get to the public road. He then ran to a friend’s house and related his ordeal. He borrowed his friend’s telephone and called his parents to inform them about the incident.

Padmawattie said she and her husband were in the upper flat watching television when her son returned home.

She said he called out to her, “‘Mommy look meh bring the food’ [he had promised to buy] and within two minutes me hear a load fire and me hear he scream.”

His father told him to close the door and turn off the lights. She said just then, “we hear another shot and we start shouting for him but he did not respond. We din hear anything else until we get the phone call.”

She said when they got to the friend’s house her son was grimacing in pain and the sheet and pillow that he used were blood-soaked. The woman said they rushed him to the Mibicuri Hospital after making a report at the Mibicuri Police Station. Moonsammy was immediately transferred to the NA Hospital.

Police sources told this newspaper they have ruled out robbery as the motive for the shooting.

Moonsammy said he did not have any problems with anyone and could not say who would want to shoot him.

SWEET SWEET GUYANA

Gunmen brutalize Canje family

A heavily pregnant woman fell into a trench as she fled from three gunmen who stormed her Number Two, Canje home and terrorized and robbed family members of $5M in cash and jewellery.

The pregnant woman, Vannie, who was still shaken when Stabroek News visited yesterday, had to be treated by a doctor after the incident. The gunmen had also dealt the owner of the house, Omawattie Samaroo, 28, a severe beating; gun butting her to her head and to other parts of her body while another occupant, Kamla, barely escaped being shot after she “ducked” when the bandits fired in her direction. A fourth occupant of the home, Jermaine Murray, was also beaten and “choked.”

In relating the incident Vannie said she was in the kitchen cooking roti around 8 pm when the bandits entered through the back door and passed without noticing her. She said she saw when they stuck up the other occupants and she started to “tremble” and decided to run through the back street and shout for help. “While I was running me feet get weak and ah fall two times on the dam and one time in the trench,” at the shallow end, she said. The woman said she asked a neighbour to allow her to make a telephone call but the woman said she did not have a phone. Vannie said she then ran a little farther and a woman allowed her to make a call but “If ah de get the phone call right away, the police woulda catch the bandits because dem reach fast.”

Samaroo said she and two other relatives, Ceon and Kamla, were watching television when Ceon said he heard a sound at the gate so she sent Murray to close the gate. Murray said as he was closing the gate he raised his head and came face-to-face with the gunmen. “One bandit pointed a gun to me head and choked me and tell me to lie on the floor. He tell me don’t holler or he gon kill me. But when he slack off from me neck me start fuh holler and he hit me in meh face with the gun,” Murray recounted.

The man said Ceon came to the front door, which was locked, and asked him what was the matter but he could not respond. Murray said the bandits then dragged him to the back of the house where they barged through the open kitchen door. He said they then held Samaroo at gunpoint and demanded cash and jewellery, while they ordered Ceon and Kamla to lie on the floor. The gunmen then ripped off 12 pairs of gold bangles, weighing 22 pennyweight each, from Samaroo’s hands.

They then demanded more cash and jewellery and broke open a wardrobe in the upper flat of the house, stealing a few diamond rings and other items. The bandits also found $45,000 but they were not satisfied and one of them pushed Samaroo’s head onto the bed and “stifle me with the pillow….”

The gunmen then put a gun to Kamla’s head and threatened “to shoot she if me don’t give them more money. They fire two shots at her but she ducked, Samaroo said. The woman said, “Me tell them me don’t have more money but me have a cheque [that was in Vannie's possession] ah could give them.” Samaroo said it was at this stage that she realized that Vannie had fled and she became worried. 

So, with some modifications, you think it can work?

Maybe, it depends on the modifications. Frankly, it can and should work if Politics is removed from the concept. This will be a GREAT way for High School dropouts to acquire a Skill and gain social skills also.

Mr Churchill, Feel free to sit and have a Beer with me anytime, I am still a student of yours. 

If you are still a student of mine please tell me what I did wrong ?.....

SWEET SWEET GUYANA

No.47 family robbed by gunmen

Bandits attacked a Corentyne home on Wednesday evening robbing a family of a quantity of cash and jewellery.

According to a police press release, the incident occurred at No. 47 Village, Corentyne during which Bhoopram Budhram, 51, and three members of his household were attacked and robbed by three armed men.

The police said that the bandits first attacked 29-year-old Balram Nandalall, who was under the house. Nandalall was reportedly struck across his face with a firearm and placed to lie on the ground.  Two men then entered the house through an open doorway and held up Budhram, his wife Nandranie and another occupant of the house Dewatie Ramnaran.

According to the police, the bandits demanded cash and jewellery, and Budhram handed over $ 20,500 and US $40. The men then took away personal jewellery and a cell phone from the victims and escaped.

Police are investigating the matter.

SWEET SWEET GUYANA

No.47 family robbed by gunmen

Bandits attacked a Corentyne home on Wednesday evening robbing a family of a quantity of cash and jewellery.

According to a police press release, the incident occurred at No. 47 Village, Corentyne during which Bhoopram Budhram, 51, and three members of his household were attacked and robbed by three armed men.

The police said that the bandits first attacked 29-year-old Balram Nandalall, who was under the house. Nandalall was reportedly struck across his face with a firearm and placed to lie on the ground.  Two men then entered the house through an open doorway and held up Budhram, his wife Nandranie and another occupant of the house Dewatie Ramnaran.

According to the police, the bandits demanded cash and jewellery, and Budhram handed over $ 20,500 and US $40. The men then took away personal jewellery and a cell phone from the victims and escaped.

Police are investigating the matter.

CRULLY under attack by PPP goons.

Mr Churchill, Feel free to sit and have a Beer with me anytime, I am still a student of yours. 

If you are still a student of mine please tell me what I did wrong ?.....

You did nothing wrong, it is totally my fault Sir. I did not do my homework.

Originally Posted by kp:

why you and your collie family dont join the arm force you racist ass 

I respect your opinion BUT I am not agreeing with all you stated. We all know now that Jagdeo sidelined Moses BUT that is no reason for anyone to not think about the general population/.

BuxonSpiceMan, you're an unmitigated disaster for a political being. What about what Churchill said about the following that you do not agree with?

• The results of the PPP Congress in 1998
  • That Moses did not destroy Guyana
  • That Ralph's help was sought to sideline Moses
  • That there are many in the PPP who would like to see Moses back.

Let's hear the parts you do not agree with Teacher Churchill about.