Suriname Leader's Son Pleads Guilty to US Charge

The son of the president of Suriname pleaded guilty on Friday to U.S. charges he sought to offer a home base in his South American country to the Lebanese militant group Hezbollah.

Dino Bouterse, once picked by his father to lead a counterterrorism unit in Suriname, told a judge in federal court in Manhattan that as part of the scheme he provided a false Surinamese passport to a person he believed was a Hezbollah operative. He also pleaded guilty to drug trafficking and firearms charges.

The guilty plea came a year after Bouterse's arrest in Panama on charges he conspired to smuggle cocaine into the United States. He had already been extradited to the United States and jailed when authorities added terrorism charges accusing him of agreeing to accept a multimillion-dollar payoff in exchange for allowing large numbers of Hezbollah fighters to use Suriname as a base for attacking American targets.

An indictment detailed an elaborate international sting in which Bouterse was recorded meeting in Greece and Panama with people posing as Hezbollah operatives and Mexican drug traffickers. The operatives were actually confidential sources and undercover agents with the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration, the indictment said.

At a meeting last year in Greece, the indictment said, Bouterse agreed to take a down payment of $2 million. In return, he said he would help Hezbollah fighters settle in Suriname, give them fake identities and arm them with surface-to-air missiles and other weapons for attacks on the U.S. and the Netherlands, Suriname's former colonial ruler.

Bouterse also told the American agents that he was interested in using Hezbollah "tough guys" for operations inside Suriname.

"We need a little fort that we can depend on. And we can call them at any time," he said, according to the indictment.

Bouterse's father, Desi Bouterse, led a military dictatorship in Suriname in the 1980s, then returned to power when he was elected president by the country's parliament in 2010. He has been accused of human rights violations, dating to the period when the country was under military rule, and he was convicted in absentia in the Netherlands on drug trafficking charges in 1999.

Desi Bouterse has previously said he was shocked by his son's arrest but added he was "responsible for his own actions." The son faces a prison term of 15 years to life at sentencing on Jan. 6.

http://abcnews.go.com/US/wireS...y-us-charge-25184350

Originally Posted by Mars:

Suriname Leader's Son Pleads Guilty to US Charge

The son of the president of Suriname pleaded guilty on Friday to U.S. charges he sought to offer a home base in his South American country to the Lebanese militant group Hezbollah.

Dino Bouterse, once picked by his father to lead a counterterrorism unit in Suriname, told a judge in federal court in Manhattan that as part of the scheme he provided a false Surinamese passport to a person he believed was a Hezbollah operative. He also pleaded guilty to drug trafficking and firearms charges.

The guilty plea came a year after Bouterse's arrest in Panama on charges he conspired to smuggle cocaine into the United States. He had already been extradited to the United States and jailed when authorities added terrorism charges accusing him of agreeing to accept a multimillion-dollar payoff in exchange for allowing large numbers of Hezbollah fighters to use Suriname as a base for attacking American targets.

An indictment detailed an elaborate international sting in which Bouterse was recorded meeting in Greece and Panama with people posing as Hezbollah operatives and Mexican drug traffickers. The operatives were actually confidential sources and undercover agents with the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration, the indictment said.

At a meeting last year in Greece, the indictment said, Bouterse agreed to take a down payment of $2 million. In return, he said he would help Hezbollah fighters settle in Suriname, give them fake identities and arm them with surface-to-air missiles and other weapons for attacks on the U.S. and the Netherlands, Suriname's former colonial ruler.

Bouterse also told the American agents that he was interested in using Hezbollah "tough guys" for operations inside Suriname.

"We need a little fort that we can depend on. And we can call them at any time," he said, according to the indictment.

Bouterse's father, Desi Bouterse, led a military dictatorship in Suriname in the 1980s, then returned to power when he was elected president by the country's parliament in 2010. He has been accused of human rights violations, dating to the period when the country was under military rule, and he was convicted in absentia in the Netherlands on drug trafficking charges in 1999.

Desi Bouterse has previously said he was shocked by his son's arrest but added he was "responsible for his own actions." The son faces a prison term of 15 years to life at sentencing on Jan. 6.

http://abcnews.go.com/US/wireS...y-us-charge-25184350

Blame the PPP! I smell a conspiracy.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Dino!

bharrat jagdeo refused to arrest desi bouterse

bouterse & jagdeo - man in middle is rachied doehkie who introduced roger khan to desi

VZCZCXYZ0032 RR RUEHWEB

DE RUEHGE #0640/01 1801822 ZNY SSSSS ZZH R 291822Z JUN 06 FM AMEMBASSY GEORGETOWN TO RUEHC/SECSTATE WASHDC 3729 INFO RUEHCV/AMEMBASSY CARACAS 0339 RUEHPO/AMEMBASSY PARAMARIBO 4287 RUEHSP/AMEMBASSY PORT OF SPAIN 3896

S E C R E T GEORGETOWN 000640

SIPDIS

NOFORN

https://www.google.ca/search?q...bia%252F%3B300%3B225

Jagdeo and Roger Khan were very tight with the Bouterse's, father and son drug running crooks. Khan was even plotting to kill two Suriname ministers in the same manner that he whacked Sash Sawh. They were trying to block his drug runnings like Sawh did.

The US is exposing them .....

one by one......

Why should Moses or DE AFC

throw a life line to Jagdeo or Ramotar?

Latest Freedom House Poll .....

PPP 35% and Dropping

Jagdeo and Roger Khan were very tight with the Bouterse's, father and son drug running crooks. Khan was even plotting to kill two Suriname ministers in the same manner that he whacked Sash Sawh. They were trying to block his drug runnings like Sawh did.

The US is exposing them .....

one by one......

Why should Moses or DE AFC

throw a life line to Jagdeo or Ramotar?

Latest Freedom House Poll .....

PPP 35% and Dropping

Dem boys look like they picking out their prison uniforms. Boutaman look like he sayin, "I like dat one deh, it got a nice sharp seam" Jags look like he sayin "Dat one deh would make my bamsie look nice an tight"

Is this hearsay or do you have any documented evidence? Just want to know. Not being sarcastic.

Skeldonman,

It was Bouter son who invaded Crab Wood Creek and shoot up Chinee son's house.

Skeldonman,

It was Bouter son who invaded Crab Wood Creek and shoot up Chinee son's house.

Thanks Chief. Didn't know that. I heard that the dutchmen shot up his house.

That being said, Chinee's son bought all the land by the waterside from the ice factory to the koker, near Rajee's house(going towards CWC). He bulldozed everything and the place looks like it's ready for planting rice. He is going to build a gated community, each house in the range of $100,000,000. Not sure who can afford them. I think it's going to be a hub for drugs.

What would happen if Bouterse's son catch wind of this? It might a border war.

Skelly

I heard the same thing that Chief is saying. He is correct.

Chinee's son has a lot of money and as you indicated in another thread, money is king in Guyana and if I may add,  anywhere else in the world.

Skelly, where is the ice factory located ?

Skeldonman,

It's a ticklish thing to discuss Chinee because I knew him from the days before his name was associated with drugs. He was always kind and generous but over the years more and more the word is on the street about his involvement with the underworld.

I was classmate at Line Path with his older sister and he also attended the same time too(at a lower form). When my father passed away in 2003, I went to CWC to purchase stone from Chinee. Chinee recognised me and we spoke for a while. I heard from some of my friends that he was dealing in drugs. People also told me that he was generous very towards unfortunate folks. I know his brother in law(fatboy) was into alot of illegal stuff. Fatboy lived in MN for while. 

Read the Wikileaks cables.

Anyway Iam happy that young Bouter will not see the sun in a very very long time.

Rot in jail.

Anyone convicted of dealing in drugs should be jailed for a very long time.

Guyana needs a Saudi type law for dealing with theft. Chop off their hands if convicted. This will reduce or eliminate crime. This applies to PPP,PNC or AFC.

It is nice when we can all have a civil conversation without jumping at each other's throat and getting personal.

Off to getting some things done.

Have a good day Chief.

Check Wikileaks or the Archives here for lengthy discussions on this very connection.