WISHING ALL YOU BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE ON GNI A

* Well! My stomach is happy this Sunday morning. I went out early this morning and bought some Bake and Smoke Herring---with tamarind sauce.

* Me and the wife washed that down with some freshly squeezed orange juice, which the Rev made himself---You see that Rev's not all that useless. The wife made the coffee.

* Lovely West Indian breakfast---I'm belching smoke herring---Now spinning some bhajans.

WISHING ALL YOU BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE ON GNI A

* Well! My stomach is happy this Sunday morning. I went out early this morning and bought some Bake and Smoke Herring---with tamarind sauce.

* Me and the wife washed that down with some freshly squeezed orange juice, which the Rev made himself---You see that Rev's not all that useless. The wife made the coffee.

* Lovely West Indian breakfast---I'm belching smoke herring---Now spinning some bhajans.

Rev, I'm under the impression that you live in Manhattan. Do you get West Indian breakfast in the city? I haven't eaten smoke herring in years. It bothers my stomach.

I had my usual Sunday morning breakfast: Bagel and coffee from Dunkin Donuts.

Originally Posted by alena06:

I love breadfruit chips, observer hope you overate ...Made some Boulanger choka and got some 'store bought' roti for brekkie...yummy...

Have a great Sunday, beautiful day to be outdoors.

My, oh my! Breadfruit chips sound soooo good. Observer must have a happy tummy Alena, baigan choka and roti is good any time of the day. I might make some this week.

Originally Posted by Miraver:

Rev, I'm under the impression that you live in Manhattan. Do you get West Indian breakfast in the city? I haven't eaten smoke herring in years. It bothers my stomach.

I had my usual Sunday morning breakfast: Bagel and coffee from Dunkin Donuts.

Mira:

* Yesterday I drove out to Queens to get Bunjal duck---it was pleasurably appetizing---thoroughly enjoyed it--- and early this morning I drove out to Queens again to get West Indian breakfast(Bake & Smoke herring).

* Anyway, hope you enjoyed that boring Dunkin Donut breakfast. Actually I like their coffee.

Mira:

* Yesterday I drove out to Queens to get Bunjal duck---it was pleasurably appetizing---thoroughly enjoyed it--- and early this morning I drove out to Queens again to get West Indian breakfast(Bake & Smoke herring).

* Anyway, hope you enjoyed that boring Dunkin Donut breakfast. Actually I like their coffee.

A lot of driving for food there, Rev!

Boring DD? Not at all I'm a DD coffee gyaal, even though it's a bit strong for me.

Originally Posted by Villagebelle:

Cooking late lunch/early dinner.......just like we always did on Sundays in Guyana

some of this will be leftovers for during the week:

bigan/aloo/chicken curry with sada roti

dhall and bhagee with rice.

the bhagee is a mixture of: kale/bokchoy/spinach.....cooked with a dash of coconut milk.

VB, I had some delicious bhaggie yesterday. Chowrai mixed with a pack of frozen store bought spinach. Gyaal, I must admit, I didn't cook it. Some might refer to me as, "she prappa spile" 

Note: someone please explain this fond Guyanese expression to those who may not know it 

I plan on cooking some dhall today.

Just got in from a nice long drive out in the countryside, yessss, the smell of cowshit, yesss....sheep shit...yessss.

So I stopped in a spot on Eglinton East/Bermondsey, South east corner. A portuguese restaurant called "Bla bla bla Portugril" short term memory screwed up, don't remember the first part of the name.

I got some Rice, Parisienne potatoes,vegetables and fish. Dam stuff bad (as in good) for days. Those potatoes are the bomb. They also make the salt fisk cakes which I had....niceee, jus like I remember fishcake.

Desert was quite nice, I doan remember the name but it was mmmm good. Dont even remember the colour, it jus disappeared. Oh yeh, was some kinda a custard cream pastry.

The hilight of the night was the girl behind the counter who was the proud owner of quite a hugh bamsy, I was really quite taken with the way she carried it with her.

I expected to see it stay "behind" while the rest of her went that-a-way, but alas, she kept it together, yesss!!!

..an yall rant thought was only dem black gurls who got big booty nuh?

I walked away after paying a fifty six dollar bill. I got carried away so now I got enough for the rest of the week, no groceries shopping for a lil while. hehe...is nuff nuff putagee style rice an potatoe an ting.

They were at Birchmount and Danforth when I first learned of them. One day the ex and I walked over to get some dinner and found they had moved to the location they are now in.

Originally Posted by Observer:

Alena, am impressed you can make polorie. Mine never come out round, what's the secret?  

Neither mine.   I can't master the art of using my hands to throw it in the oil, believe it or not I use a teaspoon (know you will laugh)..it is semi round...hubby fried it for me, team effort.  Sour was provided by dad all the way from Canada.