Originally Posted by Chameli:

Yall rale rale lucky you know, Iman probably gonna have a frozen pizza.

I actually have a couple nice swordfish steaks in the freezer I should cook up one of them. This is the best fish I've had but I usually BBQ it, now I live in an apartment, no dam BBQ I gotta bake it.

Cain, my kids love the frozen pizza...they make it at least once per wk.

i have never eaten swordfish...never even seen it

i had king fish, and salmon cakes  yesterday with some nice dumplings n fry plantain...today i have some bbq chkn, n chowmein i brought home from my friends 

I got the fish out of Loblaws at Bayview and Moore, stores carry it only on occasion. My guess is they don't catch enough of them.

cainstah, i don't open emails from anyone who i am not in regular contact with...even got a few from some dudes on political...just deleted and blocked.

p.s...cain, i asked u a que/ comment on political on the thread Alena posted a few days...no offence to anyone, just curious.

whn all this political hulabaloo is all done, all of us will still be in NA ...i don't think anyone will be there with the GY ppl...i know i have no plans to live there again

You reading about all them cussouts I get on Political for speaking the truth. 

Saturday brekkie - bake and saltfish.

Have a great relaxing weekend all.  Mine started off great. My 12 year old took the initiative to enroll in a fundraiser for her school.  They had their dance performance last night at the school and raised $2,000 for a great cause - child trafficking.  I am so proud of her.

These are the little things in life that make us parents so thankful and proud!! 

Last edited by alena06

Have a great days folks...

my girls and I are doing the 10K walk for MS this morn...

gonna have my morning carbs at the meet n greet

Yesterday I did over 3 hrs of gardening...forking, and hauling up weeds...and all i got done was about a 1/4 of the garden...not sure if i will be able to do this gardening alone

That's a great cause to support, good to get the girls involved too.  Have a great Sunday.

I am sure he is there watching over you in the garden.

Yesterday I did over 3 hrs of gardening...forking, and hauling up weeds...and all i got done was about a 1/4 of the garden...not sure if i will be able to do this gardening alone

have you considered putting an add in the classified? You could put something like:

Wanted: He-man. Should be able fork and haul up weed. Might need to do some gardening as well from time to time. Guyanese need not apply.

Originally Posted by alena06:

That's a great cause to support, good to get the girls involved too.  Have a great Sunday.

I am sure he is there watching over you in the garden.

Thank you Alena...that last comment was an upper...it made me smile and rethink my alone comment ...stay well and have a great week 

Happy Sunday all!  Beautiful and relaxing day...hubby is grilling today while I put my feet up and chillax

It's been a long work week for us both, thankful for weekends to spend time together.

oh rant cham, i luv custard...i even luv ah lef lef.

I'm gonna do a tuna steak in some jerk spice on a bed of delicious Kasha with some veggies. While it cooking Iman gotta spark up a pipe and enjoy the day.

Oi cham I gotta go to that funeral tomorrow maybe if in the area I stop by and chek out leff leff from two days ago typea thing.

I'm supposed to go to the get together after the funeral  but it's a bikers thing and the cops will be there.

All I need is the cops to take down my pimp car plates and I'd never have rest, they'd be pulling my butt over when they feel like it.

Funeral is a good place to meet up friends and relatives. I went to a viewing yesterday and on the way, I received a phone call with a stern warning: do not laugh up too much at the viewing. Needless to say, I did not heed that warning; as soon as I saw meh famlee and school frens dem, I run out the "viewing" line and hug up and kiss up, and yes, laff up

Originally Posted by Miraver:

Funeral is a good place to meet up friends and relatives. []

LOL...saw some of my relatives at Pandit Lekram's funeral too...some whom you know

you know this whole thing about laff and thing at viewin is why me does try to go fo meet n greet...i saw folks there whom i did not see from when i left GY....somehow they recognized me

oh shit you guys should open a funeral parlor 

Funeral is a good place to meet up friends and relatives. []

LOL...saw some of my relatives at Pandit Lekram's funeral too...some whom you know

you know this whole thing about laff and thing at viewin is why me does try to go fo meet n greet...i saw folks there whom i did not see from when i left GY....somehow they recognized me

No mention in my household about this funeral. 

Introduction

A one pot, complete, nutritious meal. So easy and quick to make and easy to dress up with a salad, fresh yogurt, chutney... very filling, balanced, and delicious.

Number of Servings: 6

Ingredients

1 cup split mung beans (check your natural foods grocery)
1 cup basmati rice
3 cups mixed frozen vegetables (or fresh)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon curry powder
1 teaspoon salt
8 cups water

Directions

This is best cooked in a pressure cooker.
Mix oil, curry powder, split mung beans and rice over medium flame until coated, add vegetables, salt and water.
Turn burner to high and bring the cooker to pressure, Lower flame and keep cooking for 8-9 minutes. 
Open the cooker and serve with yogurt, chutney or salad.

Gotta try this one day...what color are the mung beans?

What? You haven't eaten this dish in decades? Kitri is a definite reminder of the simplicity of life.

Mira:

* I fondly remembered my late grandmother when I saw KITRI mentioned by you and chams. Ma loved KITRI.

* Oh well! Simple foods are the best and so is a simple life.

Rev, i posted a pic of kitri for you and instead of you commenting here, u had ot go direct your post at a hypocrite....u know what i mean? someone who gives  a long ass nasty  post about saying nice things etc oh well...go kiss and make up 

chams:

* Is now I'm seeing the KITRI you cooked on Sunday and posted. Very nice!

* Wow! That is the real deal---realKITRI Nicely laid out.

* I even spotted some achar on that plate---that goes good with kitri.

* No way you got those tomatoes and vegetables from your garden---it's too early.

* Anyway thanks for the photo of your Sunday lunch Chams---nice tablecloth---it seems even like your dog was quite happy with lunch.

RE: THE OTHER CHARACTER

* Weird.

very weird!!!! 

lol

not a table cloth...just a tea towel on my TV table which i take outdoors 

dog did not taste my kitri...mom n dad did, my aunty did and my cuz/brother did...yes to achar...bhounjal shrimps with ochro and saijan...i was looking for ochro in the freezer and did not find it but found 2 small packages of saijan peeled and cut up...so right away i got a craving for saijan and shrimps

....but i had seasoned chkn for my son to bbq...so i thought nah to shrimps...after about an hr, i said what the heck....if i feel to eat it and i even found the saijan (which had to have been cleaned and packaged so nicely for me by someone who did not like it but knew i loved saijan)...then it must be a sign...so i went back to the freezer and this time i found few ochro / and you are right about the veg...i have not even planted the garden as yet...lol

chams:

* After I read aboutKITRI from you and Mira yesterday I asked my wife if she remembered  KITRI and she laughed and said, "of course".

* Then she asked who told me about kitri---I told her I was browsing the net and saw a mention of it---I didn't mention GNI. A man's gotta have some secrets, yuh know.hahaha

* Anyway, we are travelling to Guyana in July and my wife says her sister will make KITRI for us---along with other Guyanese goodies.

----------------------

Rev, what happened to the post u made in the morn?

* Well chams, after reading chief's post, I commented that his wife surely trained him well. I then said that any wife whose husband helps out in the kitchen is a happy wife And concluded that A HAPPY WIFE = A HAPPY LIFE.

* I took the post down because I wasn't sure if chief would appreciate my telling him that he was well trained by the wifey.

Originally Posted by Observer:

Someone gave me 2 breadfruits and I don't know what to do with them. Can you all please tell me some ways to cook them. Thanks.

* I love the accent on this Jamaican lady. She shows you how to roast the breadfruit in the video. After roasting you can choose to fry. 

* Eat the Fried breadfruit with saltfish. I must add that to my very long list of foods to eat when I visit the old country.

----------------------

Rev, what happened to the post u made in the morn?

* Well chams, after reading chief's post, I commented that his wife surely trained him well. I then said that any wife whose husband helps out in the kitchen is a happy wife And concluded that A HAPPY WIFE = A HAPPY LIFE.

* I took the post down because I wasn't sure if chief would appreciate my telling him that he was well trained by the wifey.

Rev, Chiefy doesn't get offended so easily. I'm confident he would have taken your comment the way it was intended...lightheartedly

Rev, what happen to your post and response on the other thread

my mumma used to tell me that me aze haad and dem who aze haad dem does feel....easy lesson good fo dunce

* Oh rassssss chams! Yuh mumma prapa wise. 

* Listen! The Rev treats all women on GNI like sisters--big sisters, little sisters---but sisters nevertheless.

* Anyway, Being the classy gentleman the Rev is---I decided to be courteous and wish that "specimen" all the best in the so-called search.

* Well what do you know---VERBAL ABUSE!hahahahaha

* Next thing I see the specimen post a photo of the specimen on a motorbike---with the words---"Mr Rev this is for you"

* Listen chams---Rev run like rass.hahahahaha