Stephen Hawking, the brilliant British theoretical physicist who overcame a debilitating disease to publish wildly popular books probing the mysteries of the universe, has died, according to a family spokesman. He was 76.

Considered by many to be the world's greatest living scientist, Hawking was also a cosmologist, astronomer, mathematician and author of numerous books including the landmark "A Brief History of Time," which has sold more than 10 million copies.
With fellow physicist Roger Penrose, Hawking merged Einstein's theory of relativity with quantum theory to suggest that space and time would begin with the Big Bang and end in black holes. Hawking also discovered that black holes were not completely black but emit radiation and would likely eventually evaporate and disappear.
Tributes flood in for Stephen Hawking

"A star just went out in the cosmos," Lawrence Krauss, a theoretical physicist and cosmologist, wrote on Twitter. "We have lost an amazing human being."

Hawking suffered from ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis), a neurodegenerative disease commonly known as Lou Gehrig's Disease, which is usually fatal within a few years. He was diagnosed in 1963, when he was 21, and doctors initially only gave him a few years to live.
The disease left Hawking wheelchair-bound and paralyzed. He was able to move only a few fingers on one hand and was completely dependent on others or on technology for virtually everything -- bathing, dressing, eating, even speech.
Hawking used a speech synthesizer that allowed him to speak in a computerized voice with an American accent.
"I try to lead as normal a life as possible, and not think about my condition, or regret the things it prevents me from doing, which are not that many," he wrote on his website.
"I have been lucky that my condition has progressed more slowly than is often the case. But it shows that one need not lose hope."
Cosmologist Stephen Hawking on October 10, 1979 in Princeton, New Jersey.

Hawking was married twice. He and his first wife, Jane Wilde, wed when he was still a grad student and remained together for 30 years before divorcing in 1995. Hawking was later married for 11 years to Elaine Mason, one of his former nurses.
Hawking was born in Oxford, England, on what turned out to be an auspicious date: January 8, 1942 -- the 300th anniversary of the death of astronomer and physicist Galileo Galilei.
In an exclusive interview with CNN in October 2008, Hawking said that if humans can survive the next 200 years and learn to live in space, then our future will be bright.
The amount of people trying to see Stephen Hawking's thesis crashed Cambridge University's website

"I believe that the long-term future of the human race must be in space," Hawking told CNN's Becky Anderson.
"It will be difficult enough to avoid disaster on planet Earth in the next 100 years, let alone next thousand, or million. The human race shouldn't have all its eggs in one basket, or on one planet. Let's hope we can avoid dropping the basket until we have spread the load."
At Cambridge, he held the position of Lucasian Professor of Mathematics -- the prestigious post held from 1669 to 1702 by Sir Isaac Newton, widely considered one of the greatest scientists in modern history.
Yet Hawking once said if he had the chance to meet Newton or Marilyn Monroe, he would opt for the movie star.
Hawking became a hero to math and science geeks and pop culture figure, guest-starring as himself on "Star Trek: The Next Generation" and "The Simpsons." His life was dramatized in the 2014 movie, "The Theory of Everything."
He had at least 12 honorary degrees and was awarded the CBE in 1982. A CBE, or Commander in the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire, is considered a major honor for a British citizen and is one rank below knighthood.
Stephen Hawking: 'I may not be welcome' in Trump's America

Despite being a British citizen he was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the US's highest civilian honor, in 2009 by President Barack Obama.
In September 2016 Hawking joined 375 "concerned" scientists in penning an open letter criticizing then-presidential candidate Donald Trump, citing the threat of climate change and blasting his push for the US to leave the Paris Accord.
Fellow scientists hailed Hawking for his work and influence in the field.
"His passing has left an intellectual vacuum in his wake," tweeted Neil deGrasse Tyson. "But it's not empty. Think of it as a kind of vacuum energy permeating the fabric of spacetime that defies measure."

I am disgusted with politics. I don't care about it any more. That loud mouthed ignoramus who is speaking of a "Space Force" as an extension of the armed forces just makes me cringe at populist blindness that can doom humanity.  Fighting in space would be the end of us.  Exploding a few satellites up there would mean we are trapped on the planet for ever. I have not heard one mention from him about a permanent settlement on the moon, going to mars, creating a network to look for doomsday rocks....not a damn thing about satiating our seminal need...to explore. The stupid fellow instead speaks of armies in space.

According to Hawking there was nothing before the universe.

Nothing is something...vacuum potential...E equals half hv summed for all points means infinite energy...well know and acceptable physic fact.

Hawkins said black holes can evaporate ( albeit over eons!) The idea of vacuum fluctuations  or the creation of matter anti matter particle pairs on a black holes event horizon with one escaping means black hole can die. 

RIP. He a wan great man. Ow look how dis one white man set up de basic theory foh bring together quantum mechanics and gravity (meh buddy at CUNY explain dem dis big words foh me when meh go Queens NY). Me is one cane cutta who follow me sciece. And abie coolie man and blackman na know what unit cost mean suh dem ge Exxon nuff nuff loophole foh manipulate profit. Dem see education as wan commodity foh be prestige wh0res and tek kickback foh support 3 sweet homans. Dem coolie man and blackman in PPP/AFC/PNC na see am as something foh de great good. Dis one whiteman ge abie theory and dem hustlers, pushers and hucksters in abie govt down deh na know wah is de purpose foh think systematic wid theory. Dem say how dem gat street sense. Dat theory is book sense. Yes dem gat street sense but dem na know wah unit cost mean with all dem Harvard post attendance certificate and online dactorates and street sense. But bai dem street sense ge dem nuff gumpshun foh tek Pradoville house lot and sell am foh 1 mill USD. Me hope Clive Thomas jail some of dem. 

Dis Labba man ah write like Ronald. Some deep stuff dude.

Hey hey hey...

I am disgusted with politics. I don't care about it any more. That loud mouthed ignoramus who is speaking of a "Space Force" as an extension of the armed forces just makes me cringe at populist blindness that can doom humanity.  Fighting in space would be the end of us.  Exploding a few satellites up there would mean we are trapped on the planet for ever. I have not heard one mention from him about a permanent settlement on the moon, going to mars, creating a network to look for doomsday rocks....not a damn thing about satiating our seminal need...to explore. The stupid fellow instead speaks of armies in space.

Putin placed Russia's Air Force under Russian Aerospace Forces in 2015. Coincidence?