State House pulses with peals of infectious laughter – as President, First Lady fete children for Christmas

December 21, 2014, Source - Guyana Chronicle

State House pulses with peals of infectious laughter –as President, First Lady fete children for Christmas
President Donald Ramotar and First Lady, Madame Deolatchmee Ramotar having a time of their lives, as they lead the children in the singing of traditional Christmas Carols (Photo by Adrian Narine)

STATE House came alive with peals of laughter and the sound of little voices singing carols as the First Lady Foundation feted some 600 children at the Main Street location on Saturday. President Donald Ramotar even interrupted his usually busy schedule to speak briefly with the children, wishing all gathered a Merry Christmas and a Prosperous New Year, while he encouraged the boys and girls to continue to be good children.

President Ramotar and the First Lady consulting briefly with Education Minister, Ms Priya Manickchand

He explained that like many others, this is also his favourite time of the year, and he is very happy to be able to share Christmas joy with the children.

The Head of State put his vocals to the test as he belted out numerous Christmas Carols with some assistance from the children present. He told them that although the season is apt for enjoyment, they should not neglect to make their education a priority.

President Ramotar also urged the parents present to keep their children in school, because education is key to a better future.

Entertained by elves from the First Lady Foundation, the children sang carols, played games, and danced with the elves. Santa was present to assist the First Lady with the distribution of gifts to the 600 boys and girls. The children were also given party bags with lots of goodies.

Speaking with the Guyana Chronicle during her visit to Black Bush Polder in Region Six, First Lady, Madame Deolatchmee Ramotar explained that this is her favourite time of the year as well, and she feels the best way to celebrate this festive season is to spend it with children.

“It’s a period when you share with children, and I always feel fulfilled when I do this,” she said.

The First Lady Foundation has started on a series of Christmas parties, distributing gifts to some 600 children in Black Bush Polder in Region 6, and continuing with Linden,where some 400 children were feted. The Foundation then took Christmas cheer to Bartica in Region 7, where more than 350 children were also entertained.

DSC_0737

President Donald Ramotar and First Lady Deolatchmee Ramotar pose with some of the smaller children who attended the party

President Donald Ramotar and First Lady Deolatchmee Ramotar mingle with the children

Some of the children playing musical chairs [Photos by Adrian Narine)

Some of the children playing musical chairs (Photos by Adrian Narine)

First Lady, Madame Deolatchmee Ramotar distributing some of the gifts to the children

A section of the crowd at the Christmas Party

Some little ones pose with Santa

(Rebecca Ganesh-Ally)

Source - http://guyanachronicle.com/sta...ldren-for-christmas/

Priya Manickchand

In time, the next President of Guyana.

I mean after Ramotar we could put any donkey up deh fuh President right?

Heck you could tek one of dem moisture laden pampers and put um up deh fuh president.

priya was the ideal person for santa 

Santa might be fat, but others are just struggling to maintain a good figure.

Beauty is in the eyes of how much you can handle.   

I saw her near Stabroek and told a friend that it looks like she might be putting on weight. The friend said, you did not tell her, did you.

I said no, others did.

Sure is a lot of photo-op, enjoy it while it last.

Last edited by Tola

I love when big men make extra effort to put a great woman down. Like, I will go the extra mile to tell Priya how she fat and ugly.  Only if words could penetrate that woman. 

Before some of these men put the woman down as fat, they should look in their own backyards. They might see a similar woman.