Specialty Hospital Saga: Gov’t fires back at Teixeira

November 13, 2015 9:07 am Category: latest news A+ / A-
Gail Teixeira

[www.inewsguyana.com] – The saga over the re-emergence of the Specialty Hospital construction continues with the APNU+AFC government saying that the renegotiation of the deal with India cannot be credited to the People’s Progressive Party.

This is after PPP Chief Whip, Gail Teixeira said that the plans by the new government to proceed with the contract, fully vindicates the PPP of any alleged wrongdoings or corruption.

“The PPP/C has been vindicated in that we have now lost two years thanks to the behavior of the APNU+AFC in the Opposition,” she stated later adding “it was stymied deliberately, obstructed deliberately in the last Parliament and now they come back to the same point that we started with in 2012,” she stated at a press conference on Thursday, November 12.

But the Government in a statement noted that it was the PPP, despite the vehement protestations of the then Combined APNU and AFC opposition, which concluded and forced through a shady deal with Surendra Engineering Company Limited (SECL).

“This deal cost the Guyanese taxpayers over $900 million, which represents the amount that the dubious SECL drew down before disappearing. The renegotiation of the medical facility contract by this Coalition Government, with the Government of India has not vindicated the PPP but rather has been further indicted that reckless regime for signing off a major project with this highly questionable company against whom a high court judgment was given to the tune of $902,192,483,” the government release stated.

The site of the multi - million dollar Specialty Hospital

The site of the multi – million dollar Specialty Hospital

Government says that for Teixeira and the PPP to now suggest that they have been vindicated is an “absurdity of no ordinary kind.”

“The credit for this new extended package of the construction of a specialty hospital along with the upgrade of three major medical institutions – Suddie Hospital, Bartica Hospital and the West Demerara Regional Hospital – ought to be given specifically to the Minister of Public Health Dr. George Norton and his team and the Coalition Government in general.”

The Government also made a commitment that consistent with its policy, these newly negotiated projects will be executed with the highest level of transparency.

http://www.inewsguyana.com/spe...es-back-at-teixeira/

They cuss and buse down the PPP when the specialty hospital was proposed and went further to use their majority in parliament to block infrastructure funding. Now suddenly this government without vision embrace PPP projects as they struggle to find ideas to move the country forward. 

1.  The PPP itself closed down the project because the contractor that it selected was corrupted.

2.  The current govt understands that good healthcare rests in providing primary care, so it makes no sense to have regional hospitals in good shape, and then have people journeying to Gtown.

Originally Posted by Mars:

Specialty Hospital Saga: Gov’t fires back at Teixeira

November 13, 2015 9:07 am Category: latest news A+ / A-
Gail Teixeira

[www.inewsguyana.com] –

“This deal cost the Guyanese taxpayers over $900 million, which represents the amount that the dubious SECL drew down before disappearing.

http://www.inewsguyana.com/spe...es-back-at-teixeira/

Druggie and the rest of you racist, why dont you respond to the fact that the PPP its shut down the project, which the then oppposition told them was poorly conceived, because the contractor stole the money.

You indicate exactly what is wrong with the PPP idiots.  You whine that Granger is wasting money going to Saudi Arabia, until Odeen Ishmael tells you all that he is right.  Suddenly you all praise Ishmael to the skies and credit HIM, and not Granger, for this diplomatic initiative.

And here you do the same. APNU/AFC was against the specialty hospital, not because they didnt think it necessary.  They were against the project because of corruption, and were proven RIGHT, when the contractor stole funds, no doubt splitting some of this theft with certain PPP officials.

Druggie last time you ran away screaming that we were being too hard on you.  Like you havent learned you lesson and purchased a brain some where.  Again you post like age 10 was your last year in school.

1.  The PPP itself closed down the project because the contractor that it selected was corrupted.

2.  The current govt understands that good healthcare rests in providing primary care, so it makes no sense to have regional hospitals in good shape, and then have people journeying to Gtown.

Indeed there were blunders by the PPP, but there were rumblings that SECL were influenced by the afc/apnu to default on the contract as it sensed political division after the funding for infrastructure was blocked. 

In fact SECL is claiming that it is owed monies from the work done to the land so far. 

Indeed there were blunders by the PPP,

That is all you need to know. 

Why would a company risk not getting paid, and risk being thrown off a prject, and risk its reputation being damaged because of some opposition party whose victory at the polls wasnt guaranteed?

As usual your stupidity is on full display.

In fact SECL is claiming that it is owed monies from the work done to the land so far. 

Well they will have to do a proprr accounting, because the PPP shut down the project, and at the time, they disappeared.

Any thief can claim that he is owed.  That is part of his theft.

Now go rest your brain, which has quite fragile and limited, due to your drug addictions DRUGB!

HAHAHA Everything those DUNCES rejected, said no to, condemned are all now being approved.    Dem cant run a bloody cake shop so dont expect them to build Guyana up.    GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA!!!

Well they will have to do a proprr accounting, because the PPP shut down the project, and at the time, they disappeared.

Any thief can claim that he is owed.  That is part of his theft.

Now go rest your brain, which has quite fragile and limited, due to your drug addictions DRUGB!

Learn to read, it was the afc/apnu that shut down the project due to their vindictive nature.  The afc/apnu went behind the then govt back and influenced SECL to default on the contract.

HAHAHA Everything those DUNCES rejected, said no to, condemned are all now being approved.    Dem cant run a bloody cake shop so dont expect them to build Guyana up.    GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA!!!

Have you read any of the preceding comments? Or you woke up in a drunken stupor? As usual!!

Learn to read, it was the afc/apnu that shut down the project due to their vindictive nature.  The afc/apnu went behind the then govt back and influenced SECL to default on the contract.

The AFC.APNU blocked funds to the hospitality, and the PPP diverted finds from other sources, in fact, acting against what the parliament told them to do.

When it became obvious that there was impropriety in the behavior of the contractor, a shamed faced PPP had to shut the project down.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...-specialty-hospital/

Please note that occurred in 2014.

The AFC.APNU blocked funds to the hospitality, and the PPP diverted finds from other sources, in fact, acting against what the parliament told them to do.

When it became obvious that there was impropriety in the behavior of the contractor, a shamed faced PPP had to shut the project down.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...-specialty-hospital/

Please note that occurred in 2014.

As I mentioned, the default by Surenda only happened after years of blockage by afc/apnu as well as political undermining. It is not the PPP's fault if a company defaults as they had no way of knowing this.  However what is notable is that the apnu/afc are now in favor of building the specialty hospital,  a brainchild of the PPP.  This goes to show the lack of ideas and imagination by this new administration.  

Apparently you own Surendra.   The project was terminated BY the PPP because of evidence of FRAUD.

I don't recall APNU/AFC being against the specialty hospital.  I recall them being against the contracting process, and this was vindicated by the fact that an "embarrassed" PPP themselves found evidence of fraud.

You really ought to stop blindly supporting the PPP, as their corrupt practices are quite evident to all, even to THEIR supporters.

Apparently you own Surendra.   The project was terminated BY the PPP because of evidence of FRAUD.

I don't recall APNU/AFC being against the specialty hospital.  I recall them being against the contracting process, and this was vindicated by the fact that an "embarrassed" PPP themselves found evidence of fraud.

You really ought to stop blindly supporting the PPP, as their corrupt practices are quite evident to all, even to THEIR supporters.

You miss the point, it is not about me supporting the PPP but rather the afc/apnu suddenly finding PPP projects now attractive, which previously they vehemently opposed while in opposition. 

Stop speaking thru your rectum; you are smelling up the place.

You have no right to address me in this vulgar manner.

No one respects you on this forum. You stink.

supporters.

You miss the point.  APNU/AFC were NOT against the hospital.  They were against the contract awards, and in fact they were vindicated when even the PPP detected fraud and withdrew the contract.

If you are capable of reading I suggest that you read the link which I made on this very topic.