The Mace at Parliament.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Confusion surrounding the whereabouts of Parliament’s Mace was put to rest by Clerk of the National Assembly, Sherlock Isaacs, who told iNews that he took it for cleaning.

This is the case, even as Speaker of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman issued a press statement, claiming that the Mace was stolen and that he filed a report with the Commissioner of Police.

“Today, on entering the Speaker’s Office I discovered that the Mace, the symbol of authority of the office of Speaker of the National Assembly, was removed from its usual place without my permission, knowledge or consent. The entire protective case in which the Mace is kept is also missing in its entirety.

“From time immemorial, the Mace is kept in the Speaker’s office and is only removed by the Sergeant-at-Arms for use during sittings or for temporary viewing by guests on tour of the National Assembly.

Speaker of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman. [iNews' Photo]

“Upon making enquiries no one could furnish a reasonable response or explanation as to its whereabouts. Staff members appeared afraid to give provide and explanation,” the Speaker’s statement noted.

However, when contacted to verify if indeed the Mace was stolen, the Clerk said that he took the Mace for “safe keeping and for cleaning” and that the Speaker never enquired from him.

“The Mace is here. He [Speaker] didn’t speak with me. I was around,” Isaacs told iNews.

The Clerk and the Speaker are at odds over the Clerk’s refusal of Trotman’s request to set November 06 as the date for the National Assembly to reconvene after its recess.

The Clerk once handed in his resignation due to the opposition harassment that the speaker went along with. This is nothing new. We have a clueless speaker that is being steered by Ramjattan, a waste for an opposition leader.

We have a clueless speaker that is being steered by Ramjattan, a waste for an opposition leader.

Perhaps clueless without the Clerk of the National Assembly's support and advice.

The clerk is a jerk.

“From time immemorial, the Mace is kept in the Speaker’s office and is only removed by the Sergeant-at-Arms for use during sittings or for temporary viewing by guests on tour of the National Assembly.

AND YET

However, when contacted to verify if indeed the Mace was stolen, the Clerk said that he took the Mace for “safe keeping and for cleaning” and that the Speaker never enquired from him.

The clerk should have brought this to the attention of the speaker, the clerk was being the usual...an ass. "Safe keeping" yehhhhh right.

Trotty better check and make sure is not a ole piecea palin stave they handing him.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Its clear to see that the Speaker is trying to tarnish the image of the clerk to the national assembly.

How do you tarnish that which has already been rotted out?

The clerk to the national assembly needs to be strong, and not fall prey to the speaker's devious games.

I heard dat dam clerk been thinkin of tiefin the dam stick to go play sex games with, dats what I heard...dat true Councie?

The clerk to the national assembly needs to be strong, and not fall prey to the speaker's devious games.

I heard dat dam clerk been thinkin of tiefin the dam stick to go play sex games with, dats what I heard...dat true Councie?

Apparently the speaker is into some freaky shit Cain.

De man does be sexin up de parliament.

Apparently the speaker is into some freaky shit Cain.

De man does be sexin up de parliament.

the man say he does look down pon dem....what dat mean?

Oi Counciue what dat mean? He look down pon dem guys.