Organisations silent on crime wave

Dear Editor,

The sudden rise of crime all across Guyana has been a great concern of all Guyanese citizens fearing for their lives from the hands of criminal elements and bandits. I was flabbergasted when I saw the news report that the Police Force said the crime rate has fallen significantly while many are begging for their lives from criminal elements that stalks our beloved country like a sudden night mare on elm streets now in the streets and homes in Guyana.

I was amazed when I saw about a thousand citizens in the hot sun and the rains queuing up for their passports. One can say that all these people are fed up to live here just running out or the news mentioned that the long lines at the passport office is just because of a false gossip that the passport fees will be raised from $4000 to $15,000. I really don’t think that is the case for the past year the lines at the passport office gets longer my wife and I passports are expired until now over a year my wife cannot renew her passport nor myself because of the lines and we work. I read the Minister of Citizenship mentioned that they will decentralized the passport and birth certificate process. I am still wondering how soon will that be. Birth, death and marriage certificates takes longer than expected these are basic things in life; I still wonder why the entire nation has to travel to Eve Leary at CID head Quarters to apply for a police clearance and most times you are ‘turned down’ Can the Commissioner of Police tell this nation why? With this new wave of crime where just a few days ago Princess Hotel Casino was robbed, many families in Berbice and Essequibo are robbed and killed. But this doesn’t seem to bother our erudite Home Affairs Minister and Obscure Commissioner of Police. It seems as if our complicated political ideologies tied the tongues and hands of our security people in authority. What plans does our new administration have to tackle this crime situation in Guyana? Our President needs to address the nation on crime and blackouts, and not the Minister of State. We have quite a number of Vice Presidents I am unable to count but yet they are very silent on the crime situation but very vocal on the 50th Anniversary Jubilee celebrations. I still wonder what is there to celebrate when our people are crying and hurting for police protection.

If this administration cannot protect our own citizens then how will they protect the foreigners coming in to celebrate our 50th Birthday Anniversary Celebration?
I am yet to hear the voices of the religious organizations about this crime situation. Why are they silent? Why can’t they advise our President and send for troops from their country to keep the peace in Guyana. I remembered two profound quotations from George Orwell’s book Animal Farm:
“All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others.”
“Man is the only creature that consumes without producing. He does not give milk, he does not lay eggs, he is too weak to pull the plough, he cannot run fast enough to catch rabbits. Yet he is lord of all the animals. He sets them to work, he gives back to them the bare minimum that will prevent them from starving, and the rest he keeps for himself.”

These elegant truths from Orwell’s magnificent book fit’s our political scenario here in Guyana.Our leaders crave political power and recognition but cares less for the citizens of this nation. That’s what Orwell meant when he said ‘’but some animals are more equal than some’’ depicting man with a greedy and unscrupulous mentality.

It’s about time our soldiers be placed to guard government buildings and banks, and patrol the nation around the clock like Suriname. We must accept one fact: that after 50 years of independence we have become a failed nation, failing to protect the rights and dignity of our citizens.  What have we really achieved after 50 years of bad administration? It’s time we rise up and take back this nation all of us from every religion, creed, culture and race must fight for justice to protect this nation.  I end this discourse with this inspiring quote from Dante Alighieri: ‘’Consider your origin you were not born to live like brutes, but to follow virtue and knowledge.’’

Yours faithfully,
Rev Gideon Cecil

But all Rats are.... Devil, Crooks, Scamps and Thieves.

So make up your mind ..... is either ... you Hunt with the Cat ...or... You Run with the Rats.

Another PPP soup licker flapping.  I guess he cannot get APNU soup.

Crime has been high for a long time now, and yet I bet this comedian had nothing to say before May 2015.

He is not the type of person who would have been protected by the PPP/Phantom crime reduction plans.

Crime has been high for a long time now, and yet I bet this comedian had nothing to say before May 2015.

He is not the type of person who would have been protected by the PPP/Phantom crime reduction plans.

If my friend CaribJ say he is a Rat..... he is a...... Devil, Crook, Scamp and Thief.

The police already reported a 19% drop in crime.  No need to further improve the crime situation as this will put the PPP to further embarrassment.  Meanwhile we must be mindful that the PNC supporters need to also eat, we can't eliminate their line of work without a suitable replacement. 

alena06 posted:

Bibi girl soon we will see a nice, fancy chart showing the decline in crime in Guyana posted here.

No ....Soon we will hear Bibi & Rat are Special Persons.

I didn't know Carib is your friend.  I thought you hate black people.  Anyway,  this article is not about race.  So stay off my thread if you have nothing of value to say.

I don't think I need your permission to answer any of the Garbage you posting here.

I am not the one who went to Babo John and tell them coolie yuh must vote fuh abee.... because if Moses & Granger  win ..... Blackman gon wake up early morning and Beat Drum and sing "We gon kill Coolie".

The police already reported a 19% drop in crime.  No need to further improve the crime situation as this will put the PPP to further embarrassment.  Meanwhile we must be mindful that the PNC supporters need to also eat, we can't eliminate their line of work without a suitable replacement. 

Well another poster, on learning some crooks were of Indian descent who attacked their own, said the same after removing the "PNC."  Dem people gaffa feed dem pickney and do whatever de rass dem need fo do fo survive."

Is only when they get beat up by other races we does hear they gettin ethnic cleanse...hehehehehehe

Caribj, sometimes you talk like an air head, but we know you are not, you are just barefaced.

The soup drinking thing you used when the PPP was in power.  Now they out, why would anyone not a traditional PPP, especially an Afro, want to go  hang their mouths with the PPP?  You make no sense!!

Guyana was virtual failed state in 1992.  The PPP brought it back from the brink.  The PNC took over and it rapidly degenerating into a failed state scenario again!!

alena06 posted:

Bibi girl soon we will see a nice, fancy chart showing the decline in crime in Guyana posted here.

I am waiting for the chart that shows the upswing in the economy.  It should be available any day now!!!!

Jalil posted:

I am not the one who went to Babo John and tell them coolie yuh must vote fuh abee.... because if Moses & Granger  win ..... Blackman gon wake up early morning and Beat Drum and sing "We gon kill Coolie".

Don't you read the papers and see the victims of the daily crime spree.  It is all mostly Indians and many business people or spectacular events to drive fear in Indians and to initiate a self imposed cleansing program!  This crime wave is being coordinated from Brooklyn!

ba$eman posted:
..  Now they out, why would anyone not a traditional PPP, especially an Afro, want to go  hang their mouths with the PPP?  You make no sense!!

The PNC doesn't like black PPP soup lickers, so they have to stay with the PPP.

BTW recall the names that you all called the Indians who remained with the PNC after 1992.

BTW the economy began to grow under Hoyte, due to reforms which he implemented.  These reforms forced the Cheddis to not implement their Marxist Leninist dogma.

You do recall that Cheddi agreed with Burnham's main thrust, and wanted to join his gov't in a role akin to that of Nagamootoo.

Do you really think that a Marxist Leninist PPP regime would have been more successful than Burnham?  Take a look at the tragedy of Cuba!

Here, Carib is playing on old politics to deflect attention away from the crises we're having with crime, incompetency, corruption, deterioration of economy, and callous disregard for people's right to freedom of expression. 

ba$eman posted:
..  Now they out, why would anyone not a traditional PPP, especially an Afro, want to go  hang their mouths with the PPP?  You make no sense!!

BTW recall the names that you all called the Indians who remained with the PNC after 1992.

BTW the economy began to grow under Hoyte, due to reforms which he implemented.  These reforms forced the Cheddis to not implement their Marxist Leninist dogma.

You do recall that Cheddi agreed with Burnham's main thrust, and wanted to join his gov't in a role akin to that of Nagamootoo.

Do you really think that a Marxist Leninist PPP regime would have been more successful than Burnham?  Take a look at the tragedy of Cuba!

Carib, you of all people know that the ONLY reason why Cuba became a tragedy is because of the economic embargo imposed by the United States.  Prior to that Cuba had one of the most thriving economies in the world, as they were specialized in medicine, arts, music, and agriculture.

You have a very bad habit of picking out one sentence from peoples comments and drag it in a direction that has nothing to do with the discussion at hand.

Here, Carib is playing on old politics to deflect attention away from the crises we're having with crime, incompetency, corruption, deterioration of economy, and callous disregard for people's right to freedom of expression. 

All APNU AFC are doing is carrying on the fine Jagdeo/Ramotar position.

Everything that you whine about is very applicable to the Devil and his fat puppet.

ba$eman posted:

BTW the economy began to grow under Hoyte, due to reforms which he implemented.  These reforms forced the Cheddis to not implement their

Carib, you of all people know that the ONLY reason why Cuba became a tragedy is because of the economic embargo imposed by the United States.  Prior to that Cuba had one of the most thriving economies in the world, as they were specialized in medicine, arts, music, and agriculture.

You have a very bad habit of picking out one sentence from peoples comments and drag it in a direction that has nothing to do with the discussion at hand.

Castro screamed that the USA was evil and ranted that Cuba should free itself from its tentacles.  So the USA obliged by an embargo on Cuba.  Castro had no problem with this, until the Soviet Union collapsed, and Russia stopped subsidizing his inefficiency.

So unlike the rest of the Americas, Cuba didn't have to deal with the "evil Yankee Imperialists".

You hate Burnham, yet love Castro.  Why? 

EVERY SINGLE nation, aside from the USA, maintains trade, and investment ties with Cuba.  The USA is no longer an industrial nation, so please describe what exactly that Cuba needs that they cannot get from elsewhere?

Given that in 1964 Guyana was much poorer, and less developed than Cuba, imagine what a PPP Marxist regime would have done, when Guyana too was "freed from Yankee Imperialism".  

Maybe the GDF might have become majority Indian, and many would have died in Africa, fighting as proxies for the Soviet Union.  Aside from that the PPPs Marxist Leninism, would have landed Guyana in the same gutter that Burnham's "Cooperative Socialism" landed the country in.

They want to remove the numeric advantage of the Indians. . 

In 1991 Indians were 50% of the population.  By 2012 they were only 40%, with the population unchanged.  The Corentyne, the most Indian region, saw its population collapse by almost 30% in that period.

It appears to me as if Indians voted PPP, and then ran, many to majority black islands, where they function as maids, gardeners, and sexually trafficked females.

ba$eman posted:
Jalil posted:

Don't you read the papers and see the victims of the daily crime spree.

Yes.  Its no longer news as we have been reading it since Jagdeo assumed office.  We all remember what made KN famous, and that was pictures of decapitated bodies.  In that period the PNC had already resigned itself to never winning an election again.

alena06 posted:

I am waiting for the chart that shows the upswing in the economy.  It should be available any day now!!!!

Well the PPP used to show their fiction, so why cannot APNU AFC?

The PPP boasted how well it was doing, even as its supporters were fleeing into slavery in Trinidad. 

On at least 2 occasions a Trini employee murdered a Guyanese who was bod faced enough to demand payment. 

Others, a bit more kind, just reported the Guyanese to the authorities, who promptly bundled them on the first BW flight back to GEO.

Why did PPP supporters endure this, at the hands of their fellow ethnics in T&T?  Even their black Bajan employers weren't so bad!

It appears to me as if Indians voted PPP, and then ran, many to majority black islands, where they function as maids, gardeners, and sexually trafficked females.

YOU ARE A RACIST PIG. YOU WANT TO GIVE THE IMPRESSION THAT BLACKS USED INDIANS AS MAIDS, GARDENERS,AND SEXUALLY TRAFFICKED FEMALES, AND THAT'S ALL THE INDIANS WERE GOOD FOR.

Hmmmm.  You wish to deny that Guyana under Jagdeo, was a living hell, so even many PPP supporters had no choice other than those avenues.

Continue to fool yourself.  In T&T and Barbados when a middle class person told another that he was going to hire "a Guyanese" he meant a maid, or a gardener.  THAT is what Jagdeo accomplished, as this was a post 2000 phenomena. 

Prior to that the majority of Guyanese migrating to those islands were blacks, many returning to where the grandparents came from.

Guyanese replaced Grenadians, and Vincentians, in both T&T and Barbados, as the bottom rung labor.