citizensreport.com

The Police Commissioner and Chief Immigration Officer, Seelall Persaud, will not be releasing the names of the 200 persons reportedly blacklisted by the Special Organised Crime Unit (SOCU) from leaving Guyana.

Persaud was written to directly by Opposition Parliamentarian, Juan Edghill, on May 9, 2017. Prior attempts to have Persaud respond to queries on the matter proved futile.

Now, weeks later, the Police Commissioner has finally responded to Edghill.

Persaud’s letter dated May 22, 2017, seen by Citizens’ Report, said: “The Guyana Police Force has been advised by the Police Legal Advisor that you should request such information through the Commissioner of Information under the Access to Information Act 2011.”

Edghill, in an invited comment on the matter, said, “It (moving to the Commissioner of Information) is an action that I have already taken. My action is publicly known. For the Police Commissioner to write me a letter, delivered on May 24, is tantamount to saying ‘you know what you have to do, do it.”

The Opposition Parliamentarian added that presently he is awaiting Persaud’s response to the Commissioner of Information. “I am disappointed. I don’t think it is a difficult thing for the high office of the Police Commissioner to disclose the names of the persons who have been blacklisted.”

Meanwhile, attempts to contact Persaud for a comment on the Commissioner of Information’s letter to him proved futile.

There is only way to find out if you are on the blacklist.  Buy a plane ticket and show up at the airport.  If the aaafficer tell you that you can't go on the plane, dat mean you deh pan de blacklist.

Something tell me though, that it's not really a black list.  Much more of a brown list!!!

There is only way to find out if you are on the blacklist.  Buy a plane ticket and show up at the airport.  If the aaafficer tell you that you can't go on the plane, dat mean you deh pan de blacklist.

Something tell me though, that it's not really a black list.  Much more of a brown list!!!

In all seriousness, the only people who should know if about the names on that list are the actual people on the list and the authorities enforcing. If any of you were on the list would you want the entire country to know?

The whole world doesn't need to know but the people on the list need to be notified.  I know three persons so far who showed up at the airport and were prevented from boarding their flight.

Nah dah meh jus seh?

They should inform those on the list but one reason could be they don't want the blacklisted persons sneaking out the back. When ready to pounce they would like to know these people can be easily located.

In all seriousness, the only people who should know if about the names on that list are the actual people on the list and the authorities enforcing. If any of you were on the list would you want the entire country to know?

If I am on that list, I want the whole world to know and WHY?

Ok, so who are you really? Seeing that you won't mind the whole world knowing, how about telling us here?

Stop being silly now. Imagine one (or more) of these people are guilty of an offense, do you really think they would want to see their name(s) being published for all to see? If this was done you crybabies would have complained bitterly about the govt exposing these poor poor people.

Those AHOLES in the Govt are nothing but SHAMELESS DICTATORS.. Guyanese  who voted for those JACKASSES should live in a friggin Cave with Jug Lamp!!!!!!!!

There must be a sale on rat poison somewhere close to you..do us all a favour and get some for your porridge.

Stop being silly now. Imagine one (or more) of these people are guilty of an offense, do you really think they would want to see their name(s) being published for all to see? If this was done you crybabies would have complained bitterly about the govt exposing these poor poor people.

What offense are they guilty of?

More than likely tiefin. I agree this govt is moving too slow those persons who they have info on should be already charged. Anil's name should be first on the list, underscored and hilited.

Peter pays for Paul and Paul pays for ALL. When the government had announced in 2015 that they were investigating Aeshwar Deonarine for the disappearance of >$27M from GPL, Deonarine flew away and cannot be located up to now. So, concerning the 200 SOCU suspects, precautions are in place to prevent a recurrence. Pending legal advice whom and when to apprehend and indict.

More than likely tiefin. I agree this govt is moving too slow those persons who they have info on should be already charged. Anil's name should be first on the list, underscored and hilited.

As expected, Granger and his goons are operating in an 'ass-backward' and vindictive manner ! In law, there is the cardinal principle of  'presumption of innocence until proven guilty' so, if the modus operandi of the dumb-asses in the government is to prevent citizens from leaving the country, it seems to me that they are violating the rights of the people ! Why should Nandalall's name be on any list or highlighted? Has he been convicted of anything that renders him a risk to the country ?

Keffer posted:

As expected, Granger and his goons are operating in an 'ass-backward' and vindictive manner ! In law, there is the cardinal principle of  'presumption of innocence until proven guilty' so, if the modus operandi of the dumb-asses in the government is to prevent citizens from leaving the country, it seems to me that they are violating the rights of the people ! Why should Nandalall's name be on any list or highlighted? Has he been convicted of anything that renders him a risk to the country ?

Nations have different reasons and motives.  The whole world need not know as it breeds inaccuracies misjudgement.  If you have an unresolved case, not yet proven innocent or guilty, they may stop you from leaving.  It's not a judgement one way or the other.  If you owe debt, obligations, student loans (scholarship) etc then can prevent you leaving unless you leave collateral.  In Guyana, unpaid taxes are one reason as tax laws are not enforceable outside.  Nations have different rules based on how they feel their ability to get to you if you are abroad!

For this reason, it should not be made public as the person is not guilty until proven.  And even then, it may not be as people perceive!

Those AHOLES in the Govt are nothing but SHAMELESS DICTATORS.. Guyanese  who voted for those JACKASSES should live in a friggin Cave with Jug Lamp!!!!!!!!

There must be a sale on rat poison somewhere close to you..do us all a favour and get some for your porridge.

Really man? I thought you might have thought this is in bad taste before you posted it. Come on Bro, don't wish anyone dead.

Dont worry much about DOPE HEAD, FILTH HEAD Cain, it is a deadly combination of Dope and SHIT. You should instead pray for the Bastard!!!

Many of the slop can carriers are speaking with forked tongue as though they are protecting the privacy of people. When the US embassy revoke visa for officials, is that not private information that is made public? How is that different than this blacklist? 

They cannot because it got GHOST on it.  Hammie Green, Shirley Frield Ridley, Vincent Teekhah, Gunraj Kumar, Balram Singh Rai, Malcolm Corricia and many more.

But it also have a jumbie on it - that PNC leader in West Berbice who is a drug addict, the friend of AFC man Abel Seetaram, what is her name again?

So when the list publish it will expose the jokers who constructed the list in the first place - Tacuma, Clive Thomas and the racist one, what is his name again, the short one who always talking about who owe him repatrication funds.  His SCRUNT never wuk one day in his life but he want free money.  The BRITS will give him LAAR and LANT, but I hear he like that.  Yeh, Yeh Phillips, yes Eric Phillips.

Peter pays for Paul and Paul pays for ALL. When the government had announced in 2015 that they were investigating Aeshwar Deonarine for the disappearance of >$27M from GPL, Deonarine flew away and cannot be located up to now. So, concerning the 200 SOCU suspects, precautions are in place to prevent a recurrence. Pending legal advice whom and when to apprehend and indict.

Gil, Is it that Deonarine cannot be located or that the required process has to be completed to allow his extradition? I thought that it was reported that he was in Canada. 

There is something in the constitution about freedom of movement and there is the presumption of innocence until proven guilty in a court of law. 

To me, it seems fair that if someone is being investigated for a crime and that they are not allowed to leave the country, that person  should be notified. 

Z

Cain, I think that your post about rat poison is in poor taste and below you.

also, why Nandlall. Has he been found guilty of any crime or have you tried him in some secret tribunal without our and his knowledge and ground him guiltys ?

Maybe, you want him out of the way because he continually shows Williams and the guyanese public how much of a dunce Williams is. Just a guess.

Z
Zed posted:
Gil, Is it that Deonarine cannot be located or that the required process has to be completed to allow his extradition? I thought that it was reported that he was in Canada. 

As you know, Canada is HUGE. The point I'm stressing is that the police are not taking chances with its suspects/ subjects under investigation, having regard to Deonarine's flight after he knew he was under investigation.

Mars has the nerve to compare a Racist PNC Jackass Cart country to America.

You Piss Pot Porters have no clue how things work in the real world yet you come here yapping a whole heap of nonsense. Can't really blame you since your 4th form LPSS education leaves you severely limited in your reasoning capacity.

Why don't you tell us 'how things work' ! Start with the electoral process and massive rigging of elections; let me know if you need help, eh !

Keffer posted:

Why don't you tell us 'how things work' ! Start with the electoral process and massive rigging of elections; let me know if you need help, eh !

Mars will plead the fifth.

Keffer posted:

What does the electoral process have to do with no fly lists Dummy? 

Lawd dese Porters real dumb. They probably think that the U.S. Government notifies you before they place you on their no fly list.

Lawd Mars, is in all fairness, you do know the No-Fly is a non-judicious process and involves many non US nationals, as such the standards will be different.  You are also aware that some US officials accidentally ended up on the list and had to be removed.

Given the mistrust in Guyana, the "blacklist" process should have some judicial oversight to prevent political misuse.  The "blacklist" consist of Guyanese or people living here.  I believe they should be informed as to the reason and should be given reason avenues to address the issue(s) and be removed from the list!

ba$eman posted:

Lawd dese Porters real dumb. They probably think that the U.S. Government notifies you before they place you on their no fly list.

Lawd Mars, is in all fairness, you do know the No-Fly is a non-judicious process and involves many non US nationals, as such the standards will be different.  You are also aware that some US officials accidentally ended up on the list and had to be removed.

Given the mistrust in Guyana, the "blacklist" process should have some judicial oversight to prevent political misuse.  The "blacklist" consist of Guyanese or people living here.  I believe they should be informed as to the reason and should be given reason avenues to address the issue(s) and be removed from the list!

The same thing is done with the FBI involving US citizens under investigation/surveillance who are deemed to be a flight risk. It is a common practice by Law Enforcement Departments all over the world. There is nothing illegal with doing this. I know of a case in the early 90's involving a Guyanese American who was trying to evade prosecution for fraud by running to Guyana. He was busted right at the airport because they had his name on a list of people restricted from flying. Many other people, including Dr. Blackman recently, are busted at the airports because their names are on a list of people who are restricted from flying. Try telling the FBI when you are stopped at the airport that what they are doing is illegal and they should allow you to escape to Guyana.

The PPP were doing the same thing during their tenure in Government and now the shoe is on the other foot, they are screaming. In any case, a request was made to the Commissioner of Information (appointed by the PPP) and he is working on providing a list for the PPP.

Soon as those names are given let us see who disappears out the back door (and that would be the guilty) the ones who have nothing to hide should fight it to have their names cleared. I am sure..or would hope, not everyone in the PPP were involved in under the table dealings.