Sithe Global in talks with Govt. on Amaila Falls Hydro Project - Dr. Singh

April 24, 2014, By Filed Under News, Source

As the Government continues to press for the 165MW Amaila Falls Hydro Electric Plant, all of the previous partners in the project remain engaged, including Sithe Global which had announced a pull out last August.

Finance Minister Dr Ashni Singh

Finance Minister
Dr Ashni Singh

The revelation was made on the final day for the consideration of the estimates in the 2014 Budget, when the Opposition slashed the more than $16B set aside as part of Guyana’s equity for the Project.

According to Finance Minister, Dr. Ashni Singh, Sithe Global has remained engaged and has shown enthusiasm for the project.

He did note that the company has publicly stated that publicly or otherwise that a signal of political support is critical for them to go ahead with the project.

The Finance Minister announced, too, that the Inter American Development Bank (IDB) as well as the China Development Bank has also still been engaged and are proceeding with their technical works.

According to Dr. Singh, “We expect the IDB due diligence by third quarter of this year.”

Dr. Singh made the revelations at a time when he was pleading for the opposition support regarding the project.

He argued at the time that it would be very hard to say to the IDB, the CDB or Sithe Global, to approve financing for the project “when we ourselves appear undecided.”

Dr. Singh suggested that Government has absolutely no difficulty in subjecting the project to scrutiny again and would be happy to establish a committee to that end.

He is committed to making all the documents available to the opposition publicly and those that are subject to confidentiality, “they can get it in camera.”

Last August, when Sithe Global announced that it had pulled out of the project, its President, Brian Kubeck, maintained that “a public-private partnership of this magnitude requires a national consensus in order for us to proceed further.”

Kubeck was referring to the fact that the political opposition was divided on the pieces of legislation it had to consider in relation to the venture.

Government’s point man on the project, Winston Brassington, last January, met with the Parliamentary Sectoral Committee on Natural Resources and had disclosed that Government had started looking at a number of options after Sithe Global’s pullout, recognizing that the parties involved had spent considerable time and monies in developing it.

The contractor, China Railway First Group, remains “keenly committed” to the project. So does China Development Bank, Brassington said.

Brassington, the current Chairman of GPL, made it clear that China is willing to step in and “fill the gap” with regards to financing.

Under the financing structure, in the original arrangement, Sithe Global would have been putting in US$152M; IDB US$175M, Guyana US$100M and CDB US$413M.

China Rail had already signed an Engineering, Procurement and Construction (EPC) agreement with Sithe for US$506M.

Some 70 per cent of the total funding would have been coming from the CDB and the IDB.

Brassington at the time stressed that talks are still ongoing with the partners with any negotiations still at a preliminary stage.

Before the end of this first quarter, Government would be in a better position to know the next step.

The official at the time did not rule out Sithe Global returning to the picture.

They've already spent the bribe money on mansions so they can't return it. Have to get this project going at all cost even though the working class will be paying US$1.5 billion for a plant which can be built by other countries for $500 million.

Originally Posted by Mars:

They've already spent the bribe money on mansions so they can't return it. Have to get this project going at all cost even though the working class will be paying US$1.5 billion for a plant which can be built by other countries for $500 million.

Thank God stupid pEOPLE LIKE YOU HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THE AFFAIRS OF gUYANA!!!!

said the Lagu Bagu U graduate who falsely pretends that he's a professor on GNI.

Don't you have any FAFSA forms to fill out today? Like things slow at Lagu Bagu university?

said the Lagu Bagu U graduate who falsely pretends that he's a professor on GNI.

Don't you have any FAFSA forms to fill out today? Like things slow at Lagu Bagu university?

I doubt you were able to finish Kindergarten. Afghanistan would refuse you.

Said the graduate of Gay Park High School and Lagu Bagu Univ. Unlike you I have a real education and a real job and it's not filling out FAFSA forms all day. 

Toilet cleaning is a honorable Job. Wish you all the best.

You got promoted to toilet cleaner? Since when? Congrats! Did you celebrate with Gay Pooran?

If the British didn't bring your ancestors to British Guiana, you would have been an expert sewer diver today in India. Seems like your career path was destined to be associated with shyte. 

You got promoted to toilet cleaner? Since when? Congrats! Did you celebrate with Gay Pooran?

If the British didn't bring your ancestors to British Guiana, you would have been an expert sewer diver today in India. Seems like your career path was destined to be associated with shyte. 

Shit Cleaners like you are a Jill per Dozen. You low life THIEF!!! Gwan Suh Yuh Dutty bDAAAG!!!!

I would never threaten your toilet cleaning career if that's your destiny. 

Does it pay more than filling out FAFSA forms? Are you cleaning toilets at Lagu Bagu U or at another facility?

If your ancestors had stayed in India, you would have maximized your full potential and became an expert sewer diver. Unfortunately, you ended up in BG and RH and now you have to settle for toilet cleaner at Lagu Bagu U. With a face like a turd, toilet cleaning suits your perfectly. 

A THIEF LIKE CYOU WILL ALWAYS BE A LEACH ON SOCIETY. YOU WERE BORN A THIEF AND NOTHING WILL STOP YOU FROM DYING A THIEF. YOU WERE EDUCATED WELL AS A THIEF.

Fortunately for me, I'm well paid for my skills and I've never had to resort to tiefin or cleaning toilets like you. You were dragged up as a gutter rat at Gaumont anyway, so cleaning shit is not alien to you.

eVERY thief ALWAYS SAY THEY ARE AN ACCOUNTANT OR ENGINEER.

As a toilet cleaner at Lagu Bagu U, you can relate to that since you were parading here for months telling people on GNI that you're a professor. hahaha 

THIEF LIKE YOU ALWAYS HAVE A SWEET STORY TO TELL BUT I AM NOT ONE YOU CAN STEAL FROM YOU LOW LIFE.

So what's your official title Professor? A Fecal Disposal Engineer in the Department of Human Scatology? 

mY tITLE IS oFFICER nEHRU, tHE aMAZING sHERIFF.

Guyana will realized all its potentials and development projects with or without the opposition backings. The opposition has been blocking every major development projects that would have benefited Guyanese across the country. I have to ask myself the tough question, what would they've done if they were in power. I could see Guyana at a stand still with a Granger or Ramjattan administration.

dT WE KNOW BUT THESE THIEVES HERE WILL CONTINUE TO PEDDLE THEIR SHAMELESSNESS. OFFICER NEHRU REPORTING FOR DUTY SIR!!!

Every time the opposition cut the budget, the PPP announced that they will proceed with expansion of CJIA. The PPP said they will proceed with the Specialty hospital. They cut the Hydro Project, the PPP said will build it with or without their money or support. They cry on the Marriott hotel project from day one and the building is near finish. Minister Ashni Singh said another International Hotel brand has interest in Guyana. That hotel will finish and still find them crying. The gravy train will come and pass them boys with white mouth. Build baby build. Drill baby drill.

FUNNY BUT SO SO TRUE!!   GUYANA SWEET LAKA SUMUTOO.

Is Mr Nehru really the admin clerk at Lagu Bagu U? 

Yes Darling and I WOULD LIKE TO PROCESS YOUR application

I don't need that. I will go to NYU Stern for my MBA in 3 year. Running my pappy/mamoo business. 

I gat a Business fuh yuh run.