Singh’s Roti Shop and Bar

A community of Guyanese immigrants have settled in South Richmond Hill, Queens and established several restaurants, bars, and roti shops serving their cuisine, which represents a mixture of Indian, African, and Chinese elements, all wonderfully transformed from the originals.

A splendid example is Singh’s Roti Shop and Bar, a large, well-lit, and colorful café that offers the wrapped flatbread meals called rotis, with a longer list of main ingredient choices than anywhere else in town. These run to goat, chicken, tripe, saltfish, duck, and a dozen other possibilities. Roti fillings also incorporate a potato and garbanzo curry, tamarind and “pepper” (chile) sauces, and an optional extra vegetable such as pumpkin or pureed greens. Other menu highlights: the blood sausage called black pudding, “shark bake” beach sandwiches, and doubles — a pair of small pooris flopped over a chick pea curry. Chinese lo mein and fried rice also available, in addition to Latin style roast pork. 13118 Liberty Ave., between 132nd and 131 streets, South Richmond Hill, Queens

https://ny.eater.com/cheap-eat...nghs-roti-cheap-eats

This place is a 'cash cow'.  For some reason I thought it was owned by Trinis.  I have never had bad food from there whenever I pop in once in a while when visiting Queens; and the prices are great.

Was down in South Florida recently and we decided to go to Hibiscus. Was very disappointed as the food was not good at all especially for the price.  Hubby got a little sick after eating the food.

alena06 posted:

This place is a 'cash cow'.  For some reason I thought it was owned by Trinis.  I have never had bad food from there whenever I pop in once in a while when visiting Queens; and the prices are great.

Was down in South Florida recently and we decided to go to Hibiscus. Was very disappointed as the food was not good at all especially for the price.  Hubby got a little sick after eating the food.

You got that right..

" Harrygin Singh, the owner, moved to New York from Trinidad in 1980. His family came from India, as much of the island’s population had, to work the sugarcane plantations in the 19th century; his mother had a roti shop in Trinidad. After immigrating, Mr. Singh worked in a deli, then opened his own shop at 134th Street in 1990."

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/07...d-and-hot-sauce.html

alena06 posted:

I love that place.  Some Sunday morns Bibi and me would go and have a sumptuous coolie-bai breakfast!

The newest joint is Lallo’s Roti Shop near the Swap Shop. They also carry entertainment at nights. Will check it out soon after it warms up. Cold in Paradise today.

Where is the new place located?

On 441 just north of Sunrise. Even Joy’s moved out of that little hole in the wall to a bigger building in the same plaza. Joy’s may not be happy that Lallo’s opened up right up the street though.

The only thing I like Singh's for is the dhall. Excellent location and sitting on a goldmine, but food quality is poor. That is the only place you will find masala floating on water for gravy. I had a friend who embarrassed the owner for the same reason. Nehru can attest to that. If you like bandanya, that's your place to get gaumangala in you pumsy. No offense to those who are fans of Singh's food. It's just me and the food don't agree, because I am a top class chef myself. I recommend Shanta - 3 Sisters. If you going to buy fish curry, make sure you mention the curry fish and nothing else. It appears the generation have one thing in common with tilapia.  

I hardly ever buy Indian food. My wife’s cooking has spoilt me. She told me the other day that I am turning into my father in law because he only liked his wife’s cooking.

Singh's has a wide variety. I can only recommend the Doubles, Aloo Pie and roast Pork I think Trinis make Wata wata curries.

I suppose the dead animals still swim in the water?

Singh's has a wide variety. I can only recommend the Doubles, Aloo Pie and roast Pork I think Trinis make Wata wata curries.

You still chamming Singh gaumangala poke?  

True. I only buy Doubles, Aloo Pie and Pholourie from there. There are other places that make better Pholourie for me but my son prefers theirs.

Dat is right DG, ask the Prince, I mek he bite he finger

I hope you're not taking all the credit for wifey's work. Weren't you like your friend who couldn't boil water when he got married? 

Oi Nehru any idea how to make hard channa. Phoulrie is another item I should make, nowhere can I find this as good as I know it. These people make small round bakes with nuff flour and call it phoulrie. I remember it having a slight texture not just fluffy and tasteless.

I have a friend who is a friend of a guy who married one of Sings daughter, the mah say they full of dinero!

That is place acrt as dance hall on Saturday nights, pass there anytime around 11pm the joint is full, live Tassa and all kind of entertainment.

Trinis love to Party and Singh tapped into that big time.

Bar and good food+ nuff money!