Originally Posted by ball:

Every man is a god in his own right, do the things that are godly and "voila" you are a god  

The Bible does say we are like gods. And God of Jews seys man is made in the image of HIM.

And you is know also there is some ugly rass man out in the world

God is for the good looking as well as the ugly.

Every man is a god in his own right, do the things that are godly and "voila" you are a god  

The Bible does say we are like gods. And God of Jews seys man is made in the image of HIM.

Me and bible thumpers always get into big fights. When you tell them you are areligious they have all sorts of scary tactics to guide you into the fear of hell complex.

I like the bible for its stories but I am also sitting on a couple of rocks for anyone who comes to me spewing the bilge that Yahweh will condemn me to hell because I do not swallow the swill whole cloth.

Originally Posted by chameli:

This thread has evolved!

sindoor was used to protect women/girls...shows she is no longer a virgin / used to hide her virginity from the rapists

Wouldn't work nowadays then. I saw a story on Dateline where a 72 years old woman and her husband went for a walk in the park. Along the way, they split up so he can take a shorter route (he was a heart patient). The next thing he learn, someone raped and killed her. Rapists don't care if a woman is married or not.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

This thread has evolved!

sindoor was used to protect women/girls...shows she is no longer a virgin / used to hide her virginity from the rapists

Wouldn't work nowadays then. I saw a story on Dateline where a 72 years old woman and her husband went for a walk in the park. Along the way, they split up so he can take a shorter route (he was a heart patient). The next thing he learn, someone raped and killed her. Rapists don't care if a woman is married or not.

I am not saying it is a desired strategy or effective strategy. I am highlighting the ridiculous excuse that it was to protect women. It was simply a mark for married and unmarried. Maybe it was convenient for matchmakers to engage parents of the unmarried girls for a match. That would make it socially worthy. However, as a rape deterrent it was a bust.

This thread has evolved!

With respect to India, the muslims were only interested in the Hindu virgins.

This thread has evolved!

I thought that sindoor existed prior to the Muslims existence in India. What was the purpose for its use for those first 4000 years?

This thread has evolved!

I thought that sindoor existed prior to the Muslims existence in India. What was the purpose for its use for those first 4000 years?

Next time try Google..

Anyway, I will repeat for you.

Traditionally, sindoor has been a part of Hindu culture for almost 5,000 years. Long-standing practice maintains that women adorn sindoor as long as she remains married and as long as her husband is living. A widow or spinster are not supposed to use sindoor per Hindu culture and mythology. The act of applying sindoor is said to be an expression of a woman’s desire that her husband live a long life. The use of sindoor by women has been well documented in Harappan excavation, Baluchistans, and epics, and even the Puranas and Soundarya Lahharis mention the use of sindoorby women in that era.

http://www.deshvidesh.com/Curr...ance-of-Sindoor.html

The heroin of Mala Kishoendajal’s first novel “Dame Blanche” mentions about the origin of the rite of applying sindoor during a Hindu marriage ceremony as follows:

In the Middle Ages Muslims kidnapped Hindu girls and raped them. As a mark of this rape they applied sindoor in the partition of hair of the victims.

Somewhere in the 13th century, a clever Brahmin got a bright idea to mislead the Muslims. From their birth the sindoor was applied at the partition of the hair of the girls. This way it was not possible for the Muslims to find out who was raped and who was not.

This thread has evolved!

And that has been the case since the beginning of time!!

Mits is one hundred percent correct.

Prabhupad commented on this matter and it is in line with what Mits posted.

A woman does not need "permission" from her dead husband to remarry. This is utter nonsense. 

Some Pandits need to educate themselves on this matter and stop the nonsense.

Where can a Pandit be educated?

This thread has evolved!

I am not saying it is a desired strategy or effective strategy. I am highlighting the ridiculous excuse that it was to protect women. It was simply a mark for married and unmarried. Maybe it was convenient for matchmakers to engage parents of the unmarried girls for a match. That would make it socially worthy. However, as a rape deterrent it was a bust.

Let us not forget child marriages, it was customary for girls to be married at the age of 7 years old. Ram Mohan Roy was definitely against such practices(even though, he himself married as children). So, this is not mature women who made choices, these are children following age old customs enfored by Brahmin priests. This custom was tied to the dowry system. And the preists recieved payments for performing the rite. Made dem wealthy.

Mits is one hundred percent correct.

Prabhupad commented on this matter and it is in line with what Mits posted.

A woman does not need "permission" from her dead husband to remarry. This is utter nonsense. 

Some Pandits need to educate themselves on this matter and stop the nonsense.

Where can a Pandit be educated?

At the collage of pandits COPNA COPIN

ball

This thread has evolved!

Next time try Google..

Traditionally, sindoor has been a part of Hindu culture for almost 5,000 years. Long-standing practice maintains that women adorn sindoor as long as she remains married and as long as her husband is living. A widow or spinster are not supposed to use sindoor per Hindu culture and mythology. The act of applying sindoor is said to be an expression of a woman’s desire that her husband live a long life. The use of sindoor by women has been well documented in Harappan excavation, Baluchistans, and epics, and even the Puranas and Soundarya Lahharis mention the use of sindoorby women in that era.

The heroin of Mala Kishoendajal’s first novel “Dame Blanche” mentions about the origin of the rite of applying sindoor during a Hindu marriage ceremony as follows:

In the Middle Ages Muslims kidnapped Hindu girls and raped them. As a mark of this rape they applied sindoor in the partition of hair of the victims.

Somewhere in the 13th century, a clever Brahmin got a bright idea to mislead the Muslims. From their birth the sindoor was applied at the partition of the hair of the girls. This way it was not possible for the Muslims to find out who was raped and who was not.

Pre-Isalmic Arabian men would sail to the Malabars by the monsoon winds.
They wait for months for the winds to change directions back to Arabia. Sometimes, they missed winds. They simply took a native for a wife until the winds changed in their favour and return to Arabia, leaving behind their temporary wives. The children of the union were called Moplahs-cherishing their Arab roots. With the dawn of Islam, the Moplahs willingly accepted the faith-claiming their Arabian rites of their fathers. 

This thread has evolved!

Next time try Google..

They wait for months for the winds to change directions back to Arabia. Sometimes, they missed winds. They simply took a native for a wife until the winds changed in their favour and return to Arabia, leaving behind their temporary wives. The children of the union were called Moplahs-cherishing their Arab roots. With the dawn of Islam, the Moplahs willingly accepted the faith-claiming their Arabian rites of their fathers. 

Are you saying that Islam  foists Arab culture or language and supports elimination of alien cultural influences?

Can Seignet be an Islamic name?

Khuda Hafiz!

This thread has evolved!

Next time try Google..

Just for clarification...

Are you saying that Islam  foists Arab culture or language and supports elimination of alien cultural influences?

This thread has evolved!

Next time try Google..

I don't follow the question. If I think I know what u r asking, then yes, Islam did not think much of Indian culture until of the time of Akbar. The early muslim had a fixation on idols and the temples that horded them. They destroyed as many as they could over and over as they were rebuilt. The gold and precious stones were taken as loot back to Arabia. On the hindu population, taxes were severe while converts had a relaxed taxation system. The Salt Tax that Gandhi challeged the British on was instituted by the Mughals-hindus paid about 5% more than their muslim counterparts.  

As it was pointed out, this is a Sindoor Thread. Perhaps, this exchange is forbidden. 

This thread has evolved!

Next time try Google..

I don't follow the question. If I think I know what u r asking, then yes, Islam did not think much of Indian culture until of the time of Akbar. The early muslim had a fixation on idols and the temples that horded them. They destroyed as many as they could over and over as they were rebuilt. The gold and precious stones were taken as loot back to Arabia. On the hindu population, taxes were severe while converts had a relaxed taxation system. The Salt Tax that Gandhi challeged the British on was instituted by the Mughals-hindus paid about 5% more than their muslim counterparts.  

As it was pointed out, this is a Sindoor Thread. Perhaps, this exchange is forbidden. 

Thanks for the clarification. I don't totally agree but like you say, this thread is about the Sindoor. BTW, I found out that the Arabs and Muslims in Pakistan, Bangladesh and other Islamic nations have incultrate not only the Sindoor, but the nose ring, toe ring, bindi, henna and ankle bracelet from the Hindu practices.

Originally Posted by IGH:

So hear this one nah:

Girl married in HINDU RITES , took the SINDOOR up; divorce the husband; married wan add man in HINDU RITES... neither of the two is HINDU... pandit mek dem tek up SINDOOR again... Happened last Thursday in FLORIDA.

AH Shaking meh head from side2side, meh get wan headache.

So hear this one nah:

Girl married in HINDU RITES , took the SINDOOR up; divorce the husband; married wan add man in HINDU RITES... neither of the two is HINDU... pandit mek dem tek up SINDOOR again... Happened last Thursday in FLORIDA.

AH Shaking meh head from side2side, meh get wan headache.

You should let the bride and groom know how you feel about this.

If the bride and groom are not Hindus, what are they?

What is the name of the Pandit and his contact info?

Is this type of marriage allowed under the Florida Marriage Act?

well look at Russel brand and katie perry...dem was married according to Hindu rites and dem nah hindu

My neighbour daughter is Hindu and her husband is German. He applied the sindur on her. Last year I attended a wedding where the bride was Muslim and the boy a Hindu. She chose to get married according to Hindu rites.

Black Bush Polder devotees say statue leaking sindoor

May 15, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

By Leon Suseran Devotees of the Narine Durgaa Devi Maha Kali Temple, Mibikuri, Black Bush Polder, as well as curious onlookers and residents, turned out in their numbers yesterday to view a life-sized statue that has been covered in sindoor.

One of the ladies shows the palm of her hand with the sindoor after rubbing it off the sari of the statue

Sindoor is a red powder that adorns the forehead of married women. The curious onlookers are claiming that the Hindu Goddess Kali has been leaking the symbolic powder since Saturday. This, they believe, is a sign from the spiritual world. The temple was established in 1999. Sindoor is seen as a visible expression of a woman that she desires her husband to live long. Unmarried women and widows are exempted from using vermillion on their forehead. Pujari Narine Seeram, priest at the church, stated that while his wife and two other relatives were dressing the statue on Saturday, in preparation for Mother’s Day, “they noticed the substance falling from the top of the head.” He then alerted the other devotees. On Sunday, “[the sindoor] started to fall more and more.” He stated that heaps of the substance started to accumulate on and around the statue. Much of the powder was collected by devotees and taken to their homes for worship. “This is a miracle, really—we asked for it a long time. We have been worshipping very long. We wanted to see a miracle.” He said the message being sent is that “it is a blessing—this is a power that she is there—we have many, many persons who say this is concrete that sit there.” One of the ladies who were dressing the statue on Saturday, Sharmila, stated that they decided to change the statue’s attire around 13:00 hrs that day. “The other girl saw the thing falling down, but we did not check, but when we started to wrap Mother’s sari, we saw the thing dropping on our hands, and then when we took a long look—all her sari full, full with the sindoor and it dropped to her lap on the ground. On Sunday people started to dip out the sindoor for a blessing.”

The sindoor atop the head of the Goddess

Originally Posted by Riya:

"Much of the powder was collected by devotees and taken to their homes for worship"

really??!!

this the very reason why others wouldn't take them seriously  

Did they even attempt to investigate who or how the red powder got on the deity?

People are so gullible and naÃŊve, they can be  easily deceived or tricked.