PSC to Politicians: Show maturity for elections

February 4, 2015 7:34 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

[www.inewsguyana.com] – The Private Sector Commission (PSC) is calling on all political parties and stakeholders to show a certain level of maturity in their endeavours as campaigning for May 11 polls intensify.

In a release to the media on Tuesday, February 03, the PSC said that it is important that politicians desist from “personal attacks on rival politicians.”

The Commission said that politicians have displayed a general increase in maturity in the last two elections and must ensure that this continues.

“All Guyanese must have the nation’s interest as their priority and must be prepared to accept the winner as determined by the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM). Regardless of which party wins, the leaders of all three political parties must work together to ensure the stability of the nation and its development,” the release noted.

The media is also being called upon by the Commission to report responsibly and accurately during and after the elections period in order to maintain “peace and stability” in Guyana.

“The Commission is also calling for the resuscitation of the Media Monitoring Unit and for all media houses to act in accordance with the Media Code of Conduct. The Commission would also like to point out that it is important for the Opposition to be given some access to state media which will address the complaints of unequal access.”

It was noted that the PSC will be applying for Observer Status for the May 11 elections having served in this capacity at previous elections.           

The Commission further noted that one of the key transformational projects that should be realized during the life of the next Parliament is the Amaila Falls Project and the Commission hopes that the next Government will make this a priority since electricity costs are of paramount importance to the private sector which creates jobs and pays the most taxes.

“This project has the potential to facilitate the expansion of the manufacturing sector in Guyana, allowing our local manufacturers to compete at the regional and global levels.The Commission believes that a measure of trust has to be developed between the parties in order to ensure greater inclusivity which is essential for good governance. It will also be necessary for the new political Opposition to act responsibly and for the new Government to embrace the spirit of compromise.”

I will not be one bit surprised if the PNC unleashes violence against Indo Guyanese and their businesses as they have done in past elections.

Granger has already threatened election violence.

One can never separate violence from the PNC. It is inherent in their political ideology. 

I will not be one bit surprised if the PNC unleashes violence against Indo Guyanese and their businesses as they have done in past elections.

One can never separate violence from the PNC. It is inherent in their political ideology. 

The PNC has nothing to gain by unleashing violence during the elections campaign. Stop your scare-mongering.

Once cannot ignore or hide the violence that the PNC unleashed at election time. It is a known fact and we must NEVER be afraid to speak the truth.

You rass wish they had start aready.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

PSC to Politicians: Show maturity for elections

February 4, 2015 7:34 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

[www.inewsguyana.com] – The Private Sector Commission (PSC) is calling on all political parties and stakeholders to show a certain level of maturity in their endeavours as campaigning for May 11 polls intensify.

In a release to the media on Tuesday, February 03, the PSC said that it is important that politicians desist from “personal attacks on rival politicians.”

The Commission said that politicians have displayed a general increase in maturity in the last two elections and must ensure that this continues.

“All Guyanese must have the nation’s interest as their priority and must be prepared to accept the winner as determined by the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM). Regardless of which party wins, the leaders of all three political parties must work together to ensure the stability of the nation and its development,” the release noted.

The media is also being called upon by the Commission to report responsibly and accurately during and after the elections period in order to maintain “peace and stability” in Guyana.

“The Commission is also calling for the resuscitation of the Media Monitoring Unit and for all media houses to act in accordance with the Media Code of Conduct. The Commission would also like to point out that it is important for the Opposition to be given some access to state media which will address the complaints of unequal access.”

It was noted that the PSC will be applying for Observer Status for the May 11 elections having served in this capacity at previous elections.           

The Commission further noted that one of the key transformational projects that should be realized during the life of the next Parliament is the Amaila Falls Project and the Commission hopes that the next Government will make this a priority since electricity costs are of paramount importance to the private sector which creates jobs and pays the most taxes.

“This project has the potential to facilitate the expansion of the manufacturing sector in Guyana, allowing our local manufacturers to compete at the regional and global levels.The Commission believes that a measure of trust has to be developed between the parties in order to ensure greater inclusivity which is essential for good governance. It will also be necessary for the new political Opposition to act responsibly and for the new Government to embrace the spirit of compromise.”

Who wants to hear anything from these kneebenders. They are soup slurpers who fear a cut off of connection to the nations teat if they PPP loses...everyone to a man and women in this lot!

Yes, those pathetic negro.es cannot help themselves from victimizing the gentle indos!

Dude, you are dog whistling again...plain and simple.

Yes, those pathetic negro.es cannot help themselves from victimizing the gentle indos!

These cretinous daags are salivating for black people to riot in Guyana.

Shaitaan, Who else yuh know does Riot in Guyana?? It is a serious question Bhai.

My Dear Coolie,

If you want me to say that historically the black-dominated Opposition would riot and target Indians as perceived supporters of the PPP, then I'm happy to acknowledge this fact.

However, we must go beyond this in analyzing the root causes of this political violence and take concrete measures to address it.

Smarter people than I have written whole papers and books on this subject. Read any one of them. They all seem to have the same themes.

Blacks are a substantial group in Guyana with legitimate grievances and the political order is inadequate to the task of giving redress.

When politics fail, people tend to resort to violence.

My thoughts also do not excuse or gloss over the PNC's historical habit of using violence solely as a means of gaining power.

My Dear Coolie,

If you want me to say that historically the black-dominated Opposition would riot and target Indians as perceived supporters of the PPP, then I'm happy to acknowledge this fact.

However, we must go beyond this in analyzing the root causes of this political violence and take concrete measures to address it.

Smarter people than I have written whole papers and books on this subject. Read any one of them. They all seem to have the same themes.

Blacks are a substantial group in Guyana with legitimate grievances and the political order is inadequate to the task of giving redress.

My thoughts also do not excuse or gloss over the PNC's historical habit of using violence solely as a means of gaining power.

Bhaiya, me respeck you hopinian. Wah happen wen de negro PNC party institute diktatahship and dem PPP coolie nah do no bun dung, kick dung door vialence? You tink palatiks fail den during PNC kine democracy?

My Dear Coolie,

It was a simple question and thank you for your answer. God Bless.

We should have confidence in all political parties and their leaders, and hold them to higher standards to be mature and and responsible for keeping the peace during election time. There is no room for fear and destruction in our young democracy. The people of Guyana should refused to be slaves to political leaders that would encouraged them to commit their lives to riots and destruction against their own people. We are a civilized nation.

My Dear Coolie,

Bhaiya, me respeck you hopinian. Wah happen wen de negro PNC party institute diktatahship and dem PPP coolie nah do no bun dung, kick dung door vialence? You tink palatiks fail den during PNC kine democracy?

It means the coolies we too p u s s y to defend their natural rights as men.

Indo violence against the PNC dictatorship was thoroughly warranted. The fact that Indos refuse to shed their blood to defend their natural rights is a black mark they should bear in everlasting ignominy and shame.

Let us not indict blacks for refusing to cowardly submit to oppression. Let us not ask why but why not us?

My Dear Coolie,

Indo violence against the PNC dictatorship was thoroughly warranted. The fact that Indos refuse to shed their blood to defend their natural rights is a black mark they should bear in everlasting ignominy and shame.

Let us not indict blacks for refusing to cowardly submit to oppression. Let us not ask why but why not us?

Well Coolie like you gat plenty Fat talk but does run and hide when the time comes!!!

Indo-Guyanese know how to use a cutlass, but they use it on the wrong people. It's more like a family business butchery. 

My Dear Sanguinary Relation,

The time for fighting the PNC is past. The period for that was 1964 to 1992.

History beckoned to Indians to fight their oppressors and you all chose to hide in your mandirs and masjids and pray to Cheddi and the Bue Eyed Bhowjie.

So now we cannot hold Guyana hostage to policies to restore Indian self-esteem. No amount of punishing black people in 2015 will make up for the decades of Indian cowardice.

My Dear Coolie,

Well Coolie like you gat plenty Fat talk but does run and hide when the time comes!!!

Ummmm....I'm pretty sure I didn't serve in the Salvation Army

The A.F.C/A.P.N.U should act maturely when the P.P.P/C is announced as the winner for the 2015 polls with a majority. Thus ensuring progress continues...

Same goes for the PPP when APNU-AFC is announced as the winner.

The PPP mustn't start burning down canefields and coerce rice farmers not to plant rice.

The A.F.C/A.P.N.U should act maturely when the P.P.P/C is announced as the winner for the 2015 polls with a majority. Thus ensuring progress continues...

Same goes for the PPP when APNU-AFC is announced as the winner.

The PPP mustn't start burning down canefields and coerce rice farmers not to plant rice.

Yuji:

The PNC and terror elements in the AFC will attempt to unleash terror on Indo Guyanese and their businesses when the PPP wins a 54 Percent Majority.

Article:

Home > TOP STORY > Agricola protest was ‘well planned, centrally directed’ : – President Ramotar

Agricola protest was ‘well planned, centrally directed’ : – President Ramotar

President Donald Ramotar has condemned Thursday’s protest action in Agricola, describing it as “well planned and centrally directed violence against many innocent people” and blaming it on the political opposition. The protest, which started at the Georgetown Magistrates’ Court when one of the police officers charged in connection with the killing of Agricola youth Shaquille Grant appeared in court, subsequently moved to the East Bank Demerara community where things turned ugly.
Media reports that utterances by Head of the Presidential Secretariat Dr. Roger Luncheon are what started the unrest were brushed off by President Ramotar, who in an address at the  Office of the President yesterday on the protest, alluded to comments made by opposition elements ahead of the protest.
“The opposition tried desperately to blame the government for the events. They blamed the events on Dr Luncheon’s remarks. However, it should be noted that their protest started days before and the ultimatum given by AFC’s (Alliance for Change’s) Nigel Hughes and Moses Nagamootoo had run out on Wednesday at midnight. Dr Luncheon’s statement was reported in the press long after,” President Ramotar said.
President Ramotar accused the opposition of descending to an unfortunate level at a time when the Commission of Inquiry into the Linden situation is ongoing.
“They are showing a great disrespect for procedures and for law and order. They are not waiting for the results of the work of the Commission … it is clear that they do not care about the damage their actions are doing to the image of our country,” President Ramotar said. 
The protest left commuters seeking travel to destinations beyond Agricola stalled for more than five hours. Reports are that many were robbed and beaten in the vicinity of Agricola and at the Stabroek stelling, where they waited for boats to ferry them across the Demerara River to Region 3.
It was also reported that one officer sustained injuries after protestors hurled Thunder flash squibs and other missiles at the lawmen.
“Thousands of people, including children, babies and the elderly were affected, having to spend more than five hours on the roadway while this well- orchestrated violence was unleashed. Vehicles were toppled and damaged and even burnt,” President Ramotar said.
The Agricola unrest, which President Ramotar said was executed by “criminals”, bore semblances to the recent protest in Linden that ended in a violent standoff between police and protestors.
On this occasion however, there were no fatalities and in this regard President Ramotar lauded the police for their “professionalism”, “great restraint”, “firmness and resolve” even in the face of “vicious attacks.”
In his address President Ramotar issued an appeal for the nation to condemn such acts and behaviour of the political opposition. (GINA)