Should the State media only express positive views of a Government?

– veteran journalist weighs in

August 31, 2015 | By | Filed Under News, Source

Veteran journalist Bert Wilkinson believes that Government should appoint a Board of Directors to work along with editors at the State-owned Chronicle, to fix polices that the newspaper has been lacking for far too long.

Wilkinson, an international correspondent, was among several notable journalists who responded to a Kaieteur News query on the extent of control that the Government of the day should have on the State-owned entity.
The previous Opposition had condemned the tight grip that the PPP/C had on the State media, particularly during the recent General and Regional Elections, when only positive views of the Government were published, while the Opposition was portrayed in a negative light.

Concerns that this state of affairs is continuing under the new government arose after Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo allegedly expressed disappointment to a Chronicle reporter over a story about what transpired in the National Assembly.

The headline of the story was “Gov’t blunders on Budget Estimates…violates laws assented to by President Granger and was published on Tuesday, August 25.

Sections of the media then reported that as a result of the publication of that article, editors at the Chronicle were ordered to have all headlines vetted by Director of Public Information, Imran Khan before publication.

But Khan has refuted the reports, while Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo also debunked this report in a Facebook post.

An editorial in the Chronicle subsequently stated that “ a State newspaper, like all other newspapers, has vested interests, politically and ideologically. Ours arise from the government’s thrust; there is no running away from that.”

The editorial also stated that The Chronicle, “is owned by the State, and is, therefore, expected to editorially support the general thrust of the government of the day.”

Wilkinson agrees that the state-owned newspaper should be one that gives the government a chance to highlight all its programmes.

“But the government should not abuse its privileges… the paper should be allowed to have other content and be credible enough to be purchased.”

Kaieteur News Editor-In Chief, Adam Harris who served in that same position for several years at the Chronicle said that the paper “can” indeed “support” the general thrust of the State as reflected in the Editorial. But lending support should not be the mandate of the newspaper or at least not the only mandate, Harris contends.

“A State newspaper or State media generally should also offer criticism when it is deserved.  If it is found that the government is working against the interest of the State then the State media has a right to, and should most definitely address this; as at the end of the day it is State media not government media.”

Harris pointed out that BBC is “state owned but not pro government.”  Like Burt Wilkinson, he also advocated for the speedy appointment of a Board of Directors for the Chronicle.

Fredrick Kissoon, columnist at Kaieteur News said that he holistically disagrees with what the editorial describes the role of the newspaper to be.

He stated that a State institution is administrated by a government on behalf of the people.

“It just cannot, it simply cannot extrapolate itself and become an actor in its own right. It is a servant of the citizenry. This means that it must, at all times, serve the people.  The State doesn’t have its own interest; it looks after the interest of the people.”

Kissoon alluded to the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) saying that “it is not an entity onto itself it is a servant to society; I would think that the State media should be no different.”

Weighing in on the issue, Kaieteur News publisher Glenn Lall said that State media across the world have always been seen as a mouthpiece of the government of the day.

“Of course there are a few across the world that are left to run on its own, like the BBC,  but from time to time you will notice a slant  towards the bosses of the day.

The newspaper publisher said that it is somewhat of an expected norm in third world countries for this to happen and that is why it is imperative to have private media houses.  “You would often see private media houses prospering and usurping the lead role in the media fraternity.”

Most of the time, Lall said, Private media houses do not have an axe to grind and do not take a political stance. “All they wish to see is a better nation.”

Like his colleagues, Dennis Chabrol, Editor in Chief and owner of Demerarawaves.com, said that the State media is owned by State and not the government “and therefore ought to reflect the views of all segments of society. The news should not be tailored to suit the party in power or the government of the day.”

Kissoon, Wilkinson, Harris and Chabrol all agreed that in principle there is nothing wrong with a government having an opinion and airing it in the State-owned news paper. They also said that they will look to see if the same privilege is extended to others with opposing views.

Harris pointed out that “Freddy, (Kissoon) from time to time, writes about things that we at KN might not agree with, but he is allowed to express his opinion. It is the same thing.”

However, Chabrol said that when all is taken into consideration including the Prime Minister’s recent action; it amounts to a creeping misuse of the newspaper. Chabrol said that he fears a repeat of a “vicious cycle” of what occurred under the PNCR and the PPP/C “when these governments misused the media for its own interest.”

There are state owned news outlets which provide ...

1. exclusive news based on governments' perspective.

2. news in an independent manner where the news can be pro, neutral or against governments.

Currently, there is GINA a media specifically for the government to provide its information.

There are state owned news outlets which provide ...

1. exclusive news based on governments' perspective.

2. news in an independent manner where the news can be pro, neutral or against governments.

Currently, there is GINA a media specifically for the government to provide its information.

listen to this horing dribbling hypocrite with his newly reconstructed hymen lecturing on the responsibilities of state owned media scant 3 months after being comfortably blind to the decade+ rampage of racist, grotesque, demeaning, sick-minded 'journalism' from the Chronicle

your stench makes me wanna vomit

Hey Knucklehead...when do you guys stop the hate and become reasonable. If the coalition is about change and new standards and you are so obviously sickened by the PPP, why continue with your idiotic ramble by measuring everything the coalition did against the PPP???

Dont you get it? The PPP is not in office anymore...if the coalition is the new standard then we have a right to criticize if we want to make our democracy more institutionalized should your fear that the PPP may win in 2020....don't we?? 

So stop getting giddy and respond to the question so I can learn something from an intellectual debate...you are quite capable of doing so, no? You keep this kind of cussing down with another Guyanese, you are likely to increase your blood pressure......

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

Hey Knucklehead...when do you guys stop the hate and become reasonable. If the coalition is about change and new standards and you are so obviously sickened by the PPP, why continue with your idiotic ramble by measuring everything the coalition did against the PPP???

Dont you get it? The PPP is not in office anymore...if the coalition is the new standard then we have a right to criticize if we want to make our democracy more institutionalized should your fear that the PPP may win in 2020....don't we?? 

So stop getting giddy and respond to the question so I can learn something from an intellectual debate...you are quite capable of doing so, no? You keep this kind of cussing down with another Guyanese, you are likely to increase your blood pressure......

Ask Bobby to stop the plunder.  Ask the PPP to stop playing hollier than THOU.

Then the hate will stop.

So you want the coalition to have carte blanche with no opposition to question what they do. One of the many characteristics of democracy is to have a free press. Moses is already stifling the Chronicle. You there is already a plethora of press in support of the Government...only one newspaper seems to fall into the opposition category (GT). During the Burnham era, there was none. So stop with your nonsense. 

Then the hate will stop.

So you want the coalition to have carte blanche with no opposition to question what they do. One of the many characteristics of democracy is to have a free press. Moses is already stifling the Chronicle. You there is already a plethora of press in support of the Government...only one newspaper seems to fall into the opposition category (GT). During the Burnham era, there was none. So stop with your nonsense. 

where was your voice when Kawame on behalf of the PPP was running the place like a PPP harem?

Moses at least running it better.

First, I do not agree with state controlled media. And secondly, the PPP were obscene in their use of the State Media as their Party organ. Check the covers of the chronicle for the past four months prior to the election if you need reinforcement. And that was going on relentlessly for two decades.

And let me reiterate. I do not want any new standards that does not involve the PPP sitting down and agreeing implicitly and explicitly with it. IF there is to be a revamping of GINA for impartial rules the PPP has to sit down at the table and detail their plans for restructuring this state controlled outlet.

Meanwhile, let the government do as they please since that is how this entity is apparently organized to function. New methodology has to be from a new awareness that of all parties that we have to change. Every change should have the informed participation of both sides or the PPP, if ever they come back into office will continue their merry way being leeches on the state.

Change only those things that inconvenience citizens to highlight prudent rule. Do not let these bitches see the budget unless to vote on it. If they want to know something about a project being planned...let them wait ten years.

Meanwhile, let the government do as they please since that is how this entity is apparently organized to function. New methodol

BRILLANT INDEED!!! CASAVA BREAD IS GOOD TO IMPROVE YOUR BRAIN!!!!!!!!!

Meanwhile, let the government do as they please since that is how this entity is apparently organized to function. New methodol

BRILLANT INDEED!!! CASAVA BREAD IS GOOD TO IMPROVE YOUR BRAIN!!!!!!!!!

It is indeed brilliant. It is anticipatory that the PPP is a corrupt criminal organization and will not honor any changes if returned to power. Involving them in fabricating the changes increases the best use of our democracy and formally have all parties on record as to best practices.

If the do not chose to be involved explicitly then let these systems, onerous as they are, remain.

Berk Wilkinson has never been a fair reporter on the political issues. He biasedness towards to the PNC spans decades. Keeping us informed that you are employed by a prestigious news organization does not automatically make you a person of high journalistic ethics. You may have done some reporting fairly on other Caribbean states, but your take on Guyana has been so one-sided that never fails to draw criticism from the reading public.

What changes did this Government make?

They made a lot of promises which they don't know how to fulfill.

Fulfilling these promises will cost a lot of money which they don't have.

Where will they get the money from, if they don't raise taxes  all across the board.  Even TK and SASE will tell you this.  They key to fulfilling all the promises is to raise taxes.  Guyanese will have to make sacrifices in order to have a better life.  Blaming the PPP for the  Government's mistakes in uncharacteristic of some GNI members. You cannot say that it is OK for the PNC to steal because the PPP did it.  That is so stupid. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Chronicle must be privatized. If it stays with state it must be neutral. It has to keep govt accountable.

Unfortunately, to say it must remain neutral without explicit descriptors of this neutrality is a moot moot point. The PPP would never admit they used it as a propaganda machine and a cash cow for the party because that agency produced lots of campaign material for the PPP at states expense. The APNU will also not say they are using it likewise.

If the parties can be made to grasp how detrimental to one or the other this entity is without rules, then maybe they will seek to reform it. I have not heard the PPP say they want to reform it with the introduction of some quasi civilian administration.  They have to want it or it means nothing.

Hey Knucklehead...when do you guys stop the hate and become reasonable.

We will when folks like you stop endorsing those who spread the hate.

Indian institutional racism exists, yet folks like you perpetrate the myth that the only institutional racism was that perpetrated by Africans.

You had NO problem with Indian institutional racism. You are only now bothered now that Africans once again have the power to engage in this behavior, should they decided to do so.

Your sudden interest in this topic is one of self interest.  NOT one of fairness.  Should the PPP once again win, most assuredly you would not care how they abuse state apparatus, or what level of ethnic exclusion they practise.

Originally Posted by TK:

Chronicle must be privatized. If it stays with state it must be neutral. It has to keep govt accountable.

So it becomes another Guyana Times?  Privatization is no guarantee of fairness.

Chronicle needs to be folded into GINA and NCN.  The opposition needs to have free and unrestricted access to this media, as should other stake holders.  Because the state is NOT just the ruling party.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

First, I do not agree with state controlled media. And secondly, the PPP were obscene in their use of the State Media as their Party organ. Check the covers of the chronicle for the past four months prior to the election if you need reinforcement. And that was going on relentlessly for two decades.

And let me reiterate. I do not want any new standards that does not involve the PPP sitting down and agreeing implicitly and explicitly with it. IF there is to be a revamping of GINA for impartial rules the PPP has to sit down at the table and detail their plans for restructuring this state controlled outlet.

Meanwhile, let the government do as they please since that is how this entity is apparently organized to function. New methodology has to be from a new awareness that of all parties that we have to change. Every change should have the informed participation of both sides or the PPP, if ever they come back into office will continue their merry way being leeches on the state.

Change only those things that inconvenience citizens to highlight prudent rule. Do not let these bitches see the budget unless to vote on it. If they want to know something about a project being planned...let them wait ten years.

This is so stupid...your hatred not only runs deep, but you now seems to be overcome by foolishness:

.Change only those things that inconvenience citizens to highlight prudent rule. Do not let these bitches see the budget unless to vote on it. If they want to know something about a project being planned...let them wait ten years.

Originally Posted by TK:

So it becomes another Guyana Times?  Privatization is no guarantee of fairness.

Chronicle needs to be folded into GINA and NCN.  The opposition needs to have free and unrestricted access to this media, as should other stake holders.  Because the state is NOT just the ruling party.

How the heck do you promote free and unrestricted access? The government obviously will not relinquish control. Fusing GC with NCN and GINA?....this is Party Paramountcy! Burnhamism is alive and well!!

Tell you what.  In 1980 there was no other media.  We didnt have TV, all radio and newspaper outlets were owned by the gov't, and the private press were deprived newsprint.  In fact SN had to go to the expense of having their paper printed in Trinidad.

Now here is what we now have.  Oligarchs in the pocket of Jagdeo.  The Guyana Times daily screams out lies.

Please do not make yourself look stupid by claiming that Burnham time is coming unless you can also prove that Granger is shutting down all those PPP outlets.  You know the ones who got licenses, when others were DEPRIVED.

I just find it funny all of those Indo KKK (you are now added to the list) who scream all sorts of nonsense, just because "black man in power".

GINA will continue to exist, as no government will not have its own way of disseminating information.  Rather than  having three outlets doing the same thing, we can have one. 

We can also insist that this outlet provide avenues for the opposition and other stake holders FREE OF COST.

Now run along and scream "black man a kill ahbe".  Your sudden realization that life is unfair is amusing, because you didnt think so on May 10th!

What you anti-gov't. posters have to do is to point out clearly how different the PPP had it while the PNC was in power 1964-1992 vs. how the PNC had it from 1992-2015. Caribj would like us to believe that the PNC regime of those aforementioned years governed undemocratically but the PPP was no different during their time in office. We know it is big lie, but many too young to know are being misinformed. There are those non-Guyanese who read this blog and are misled into believing Caribj's glittering lies and Stormy's cerebral but boring proses.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

. Caribj would like us to believe that the PNC regime of those aforementioned years governed undemocratically but the PPP was no different during their time in office.

The PNC and the PPP were BOTH racist, incompetent, corrupt and undemocratic.  The PNC tried to muzzle the press through depriving them of newsprint.  The PPP by withdrawing ads from state owned entities, and from corporations friendly to the PPP. 

BOTH engaged in violence against those who they didnt like!  Ravi Dev spoke of this when in 2001 the PPP thought that he was a threat.  AFC Indos suffered the same prior to the election.

BOTH refused to allow the opposition, or civic society to get free and unrestricted access to state owned media.

Now run along and scream "black man a kill ahbe".  This is your new thesem song now that the rants of "ahbe pan tap, blackman time done" look quite silly at this point.

uh huh, more not-so-undercover bullshit about "hate" . . . annudah assembly line straw man alyuh scampman manufacturing in quantity to keep people diverted and bamboozled

lissen up klown, i am not here to educate unsophisticated phonies like u and the ole dribbler . . . i only point to alyuh abscess and pour ridicule like hot ile

anyways, thanks for the concern about my "blood pressure" . . . i can only report that it is fine, and always has been fine

i suggest u strap down check yours as soon as the foam wipe from yuh mouth . . . "giddy" as in "giddyap" i leave (appropriately) to donkeys like u and yuh fren

arite?