Sheila Veerasammy tipped to be new PPP MP

February 25, 2016 7:02 am Category: Politics A+ /A-

Sheila Veerasammy has been tipped to replace Dr Clive Jagan as the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Opposition Member of Parliament (MP).

On February 11, the National Assembly was informed that Dr Clive Jagan resigned from his post, following his absence from the House since the beginning of the year.
sheila

Veerasammy currently holds the position of  General Secretary of the Women Progressive Organisation (WPO), an arm of the PPP/C which was formed in 1953 by the late Janet Jagan, with the aim of protecting the rights of women.

In 1979, Veerasammy joined the Progressive Youth Organisation (PYO), the Party’s youth arm where she was encouraged to empower herself. She attended the Accrabre College and then in 1984, she studied political science in Russia on a scholarship.

Upon her return to Guyana, rather than being allowed to continue on her path of self-elevation, Veerasammy was forced into an arranged marriage at age 20 and settled into being a housewife; albeit she was still active in party work, which was all done on a voluntary basis.

She was employed at the Transport and Harbours Department as a Personal Assistant to the Commonwealth Adviser; but was subsequently retrenched when it was reportedly discovered that she was a member of the WPO/PPP.

asj posted:

Sheila Veerasammy has been tipped to replace Dr Clive Jagan as the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Opposition Member of Parliament (MP).

On February 11, the National Assembly was informed that Dr Clive Jagan resigned from his post, following his absence from the House since the beginning of the year.
sheila

Veerasammy currently holds the position of  General Secretary of the Women Progressive Organisation (WPO), an arm of the PPP/C which was formed in 1953 by the late Janet Jagan, with the aim of protecting the rights of women.

In 1979, Veerasammy joined the Progressive Youth Organisation (PYO), the Party’s youth arm where she was encouraged to empower herself. She attended the Accrabre College and then in 1984, she studied political science in Russia on a scholarship.

Upon her return to Guyana, rather than being allowed to continue on her path of self-elevation, Veerasammy was forced into an arranged marriage at age 20 and settled into being a housewife; albeit she was still active in party work, which was all done on a voluntary basis.

She was employed at the Transport and Harbours Department as a Personal Assistant to the Commonwealth Adviser; but was subsequently retrenched when it was reportedly discovered that she was a member of the WPO/PPP.

Force into arranged marriage where the hell u come up with these shit ,people that is force into house wife do not get a career 

warrior posted:
asj posted:

sheila

Force into arranged marriage where the hell u come up with these shit ,people that is force into house wife do not get a career 

Warria, dem peeple write so you cyan andastan. Nobody said she was FORCED. She settled for this. Some women take family seriously. Dem nah go tief cows.

Poorly written article...."forced into arranged marriage"

Is she another trained commie?

"studied political science in Russia on a scholarship."

That's what the article said.

That was a short-term scholarship, usually about 9 to 10 months. She couldn't have completed a degree program which in the Soviet Union took 5 years and then return to Guyana at age 20 to be forced into an arranged marriage.

Every year up to around 1991 the PPP and its youth and women's arms were offered short-term scholarships in the Soviet Union and Cuba.

That was a short-term scholarship, usually about 9 to 10 months. She couldn't have completed a degree program which in the Soviet Union took 5 years and then return to Guyana at age 20 to be forced into an arranged marriage.

Every year up to around 1991 the PPP and its youth and women's arms were offered short-term scholarships in the Soviet Union and Cuba.

Gill,is the PPP still socialist ???

Django posted: Gill,is the PPP still socialist ???

As far as I know, the PPP Constitution still states that it is a Marxist-Leninist Party. Khemraj Ramjattan had submitted a motion at a PPP congress that that clause be deleted but his motion was rejected.

I suspect that the Old Guard in the party are retaining Marxism-Leninism but copying the actions of the Chinese Communist Party which has been encouraging capitalist enterprises for over two decades.

Is there anything wrong with being a socialist? Bernie Sanders, the jewish guy from New York is a socialist and he is running for president of these United States.

As far as I know, the PPP Constitution still states that it is a Marxist-Leninist Party. Khemraj Ramjattan had submitted a motion at a PPP congress that that clause be deleted but his motion was rejected.

I suspect that the Old Guard in the party are retaining Marxism-Leninism but copying the actions of the Chinese Communist Party which has been encouraging capitalist enterprises for over two decades.

Thanks,i thought they would have dropped that ideology,Burnham had embraced cooperative socialism,any info if the PNC still embrace that idea.

Is there anything wrong with being a socialist? Bernie Sanders, the jewish guy from New York is a socialist and he is running for president of these United States.

I never liked socialism,that my take.

Thanks,i thought they would have dropped that ideology,Burnham had embraced cooperative socialism,any info if the PNC still embrace that idea.

We are all socialist because that's in the Guyana Constitution if I remember correctly.  Now everybody will say they ain't Guyanese.

VVP posted:

We are all socialist because that's in the Guyana Constitution if I remember correctly.  Now everybody will say they ain't Guyanese.

Bhai VVP we had no choice,Burnham force the constitution on the people,remember the referendum.I am Guyanese to the bone can't change.

Yuh rass want fo trap me, nuh? Yuh really want fo know if me does go inside Cangress Place, nuh? Yuh tink me go tell yuh?

VVP posted:

Bhai VVP we had no choice,Burnham force the constitution on the people,remember the referendum.I am Guyanese to the bone can't change.

Django, to be fair here, The AFC/PNC were hollering about changing the constitution. Now that they are in office, the constitution is perfect and does not need changing.