Showing Leadership....

"Enjoin what is Right.....

and forbid what is Wrong"

Roman Catholics to pray for peace

following Tuesday night's killings

• Thursday, 12 March 2015 17:29

Bishop Francis Alleyne

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Roman Catholic Bishop, Francis Alleyne
on Thursday asked the faithful across Guyana
to pray for peace,
in the wake of two “chilling” killings Tuesday night
that he said ........
must be condemned by political leaders and
thoroughly investigated by police.
“Many persons, in the absence of evidence,
are already drawing political inferences.
  At this time,
to draw specific conclusions as to where culpability rests,
I call on the Guyana Police Force to act swiftly
in its investigations to find and
bring these killers before our courts,”
he said in a statement.
Extending sympathies, his prayers and
the support of the Catholic Church
to the grieving relatives of the deceased,
the Bishop called on
“political leaders of all parties
to specifically condemn the barbaric killing of Mr. Crum-Ewing
and to actively promote messages of peace
on the campaign trail and
create an environment of security and
nationhood in which citizens can exercise
their democratic and constitutional right, and indeed duty,
to elect a government of their choice.”
President Donald Ramotar
condemned killing of Courtney Crum-Ewing  Tuesday night and
urged police to go after the assailants and intellectual authors.

The opposition coalition of  the
Alliance For Change and A Partnership for National Unity
as well as
Working People’s Alliance (WPA) executive member, Dr. David Hinds
have condemned the killing and
have stridently called on Guyanese not to retaliate.
Alleyne noted that the gunning down of
27-year old Randy Persaud in front of his home in Agricola and

the shooting to the head of 40-year old Crum-Ewing
while walking around Diamond urging residents to vote
was a “chilling” act by gunmen still at large.
Police said no one has been arrested and
ballistic tests on several .32 spent shells are yet to be conducted.
Surveillance video footage from residents on Third Street, Diamond
has not turned up any useful image.
The Roman Catholic Bishop observed
that the execution of Crum-Ewing was
 “dangerously timed in a climate of electoral campaigning
as we prepare for national elections on 11th May.”
Alleyne said the execution of Mr Crum-Ewing,
under those circumstances,
is a retrograde step for our nation and
deserves the highest condemnation from all quarters.

He added that the murder of Randy Persaud,
and so many others under similar circumstances,
“is no less important than the murder of Mr. Crum-Ewing
as it affects us all as a people
who value, or are expected to value,
the sanctity and dignity of life and
indeed the human person.”
He recalled that in his public statement
on November 11
following the prorogation of Parliament,
he stated that
Guyana is in uncharted territory and
reconciliation and trust
were crucial to the process of restoring
and building the nation.

“I also called on all Guyanese
and their leaders
to ensure that
we navigate these uncertain times
peacefully, honestly and respectfully.

I wish to repeat and reinforce this call,”
he added.

The Roman Catholic Bishop  said
the constant call of God's Spirit
“to us is to look at and register the stamp
of immense worth that is placed on the whole of creation and,
in a special way, on the human person. 

The psalmist prays in Ps 139 (138) 13-14 
  "For it was you who created my being,
knit me together in my mother's womb. 
I thank you for the wonder of my being,
for the wonders of all your creation." 

God's Spirit further calls us
to celebrate this worth and dignity
in ourselves and with one another, he said.
 “As a start,
I am requesting
that all Catholics offer prayers
for peace this Sunday.
I appeal to all citizens
to join in prayer with the Psalmist;
"O search me, God, and know my heart.
  O test me and know my thoughts. 
See that I (we) follow not the wrong path
and lead me (us) in the path of life eternal."
(Ps 139:23-24).”

ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH
SHOWING LEADERSHIP IN GUYANA....
While Goat Shit Posting Video
with Internal Problems in the Mandir
and Hindu Community.

This is not about supporting 

Indians or Blacks

Govt or Opposition...

This is about supporting

Right or Wrong...

Good or Evil...

Are you on the Right Side?

The Catholic Church in Guyana has always spoken out when that is necessary.

They and the Anglicans helped to break the backs of the Burnhamite PNC and restore democracy.

The Muslims and Hindus need to do better.

"Noncooperation with evil is a sacred duty."

Where is the Voice

of the Muslim Leaders?

Assassination of Anti-Gov’t protestor…

The ultimate violation

of human rights –

demonstrators

March 13, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

Scores of demonstrators from various political and human rights groups, as well as civil society, became one yesterday as they gathered in front of the Ministry of Legal Affairs to stand in solidarity with murdered political activist, Courtney Crum-Ewing.

Brandishing placards and chanting in memory of the fallen activist, those gathered condemned his killing, calling it “the ultimate violation of human rights”.

The lively crowd insisted that “Bullets cannot silence us!” and

“We are Courtney!”

much to the approval of persons in passing vehicles,

who tooted their horns in support.

CENTRE g

The protestors said that they will ensure that their voices are heard and nothing will deter them.

Crum-Ewing was gunned down last Tuesday night at Third Avenue, Diamond Housing Scheme, East Bank Demerara (EBD) while reportedly urging residents, by way of a bullhorn, to vote against the ruling party in the upcoming General and Regional Elections on May 11.

Crum-Ewing first started protesting and attracted media attention last year after an explosive phone conversation between a senior Kaieteur News reporter and Attorney General (AG), Anil Nandlall, surfaced.

The phone call, in which Nandlall warned the reporter to get out of Kaieteur News because of a possible attack, prompted Crum-Ewing to start several days of protests in front of the AG’s Carmichael Street office.

Crum–Ewing had said that his protests were because Nandlall’s actions as the chief legal officer were shameful. At the forefront of the protest line yesterday was Kaieteur News Publisher, Glenn Lall, who expressed outrage at the activist’s assassination. “It is heart wrenching! Courtney single-handedly stood up for a democratic and just society. He was a man who protested for fair play, spoke against immorality and indecency. Although I only met him a few months ago, I could have felt he was genuine, a man who wanted to see Guyana become a better place,” Lall said.

The businessman further remarked “The placards today (yesterday) speak a lot from my heart. Bullets cannot deter or stop us. Guyana has to continue Courtney’s struggle. He will forever live, not only in the hearts of those at Kaieteur News, but in the hearts of all Guyanese.”

City Mayor Hamilton Green, also on the protest line, roundly condemned the murder. He said it was imperative to remember the reason that Crum-Ewing had started to protest, and that the onus was now on the police to take those factors into account.

Also present was Mike McCormack, Head of the Guyana Human Rights Association, who described Crum-Ewing’s murder as outrageous. “The man was expressing himself freely and if freedom of expression is coming at this price, then everybody needs to be concerned about it. Courtney Crum-Ewing was threatening no one. But the message seems to have been threatening enough to assassinate him. We all need to let it be known that this is intolerable and we will not allow this country to be pulled in this direction during the election process.”

As the chants resounded, social activist Mark Benschop called on international bodies to take action. He criticised them for “treating the Guyana Government with very soft gloves” over the years.

“This Government has been associated with death squads… phantom squads, and hopefully, just like the United States revoked the visas of officials in Venezuela, the US, Canada and Britain can send a message to the Government of Guyana,” the Presidential hopeful told this publication.

Though he said “Guyanese will not be silent,” the politician remained positive that citizens will not take to the streets with any kind of violence.

Also on the protest line, Social Activist and Kaieteur News Columnist, Frederick Kissoon said that he believes that Crum-Ewing’s death was intended to “send a message to the Guyanese people”.

“I think the PPP feels that never before in their history have they been so vulnerable to losing power and the frightening thing about the loss of power is it will result in the loss of their freedom, because of the atrocities and the illegalities committed over the years.”

Kissoon said that the demonstrations were important “to stop the flow, because they are going to attack other people. They’ve reached a point where they don’t care.”

Working People’s Alliance representative, Tacuma Ogunseye also condemned the assassination, stating that under the current regime, the country has slid further into acts such as this on an unprecedented scale. He expressed hope that in the coming days, “ways and means” could be found to ensure that the orchestrators of Crum-Ewing’s murder do not get away with it. He also lashed out at the international community, questioning their silence on the state of affairs. “The international community, sadly, has its own standards. One death, in a third world country, means little to the international community. That is the sad reality of international politics. Foreign embassies here and various representatives of the international community should take note and use their influences with their home offices to bring pressure to bear on this regime. So, Guyanese need to make a profound response that captures the attention of the international community.”

Head of Society against Sexual Orientation Discrimination (SASOD), Joel Simpson called Crum-Ewing’s slaying “the ultimate violation of human rights”. This was a consensus view of those present. Simpson declared that this was not just a political issue, but was also a human rights issue. According to him, the right to assemble and air any opinion, even political, should be respected in any democracy and such an act must never happen again.

“There has to be an international investigative body involved to investigate this murder. Nobody has confidence that the Guyana Police Force will be able to investigate this fairly,” he opined.

And also joining in to condemn the act, Leader of Red Thread, Karen DeSouza said “I would like to see more people standing on the streets. To see people standing up against violence, whether it is in the form of violence against women, or violence in the form that killed Courtney.”

March 13, 2015 | By

. . . Also on the protest line, Social Activist and Kaieteur News Columnist, Frederick Kissoon said that he believes that Crum-Ewing’s death was intended to “send a message to the Guyanese people”.

“I think the PPP feels that never before in their history have they been so vulnerable to losing power and the frightening thing about the loss of power is it will result in the loss of their freedom, because of the atrocities and the illegalities committed over the years.”

Kissoon said that the demonstrations were important “to stop the flow, because they are going to attack other people. They’ve reached a point where they don’t care.”

Crum-Ewing was the perfect target . . . not important enough to plunge the country irretrievably into an abyss, but important enough to intimidate, to send a message

. . . with the potential benefit of retaliatory violence against random Indians to trigger a stampede back to the PPP plantation just in time for elections, of course

the calibration is exquisite

Indians or Blacks

Govt or Opposition...

This is about supporting

Right or Wrong...

Good or Evil...

Are you on the Right Side?

Why yall want to pull in religious orgs to come to allyou rescue? After reading Courtney history, his days were numbered. He is no angel. That is a PNC thug.
Bhai no one Deserve to Die like that....Even other Black PNC Thugs....Kwame, Lamumba, Pholarie Joe, Bynoe, Edgehill, Witicka, McClean & Nascimento......OR.... THAT IS HOW THEY WILL ALL MEET THEIR END.

ALL RELIGOUS LEADERS

MUST CONDEM THESE

MURDERS & KILLINGS.

I don't hate him. I didn't kill him. When you have enemies, you life will always be in danger. The PNC is using courtneys death to win election. thats all.

Cobra.....

Someone Blowup

the Man Brains.

So there is a Killer

on the Loose....

Catch him now...

and Jail Him.

If not ....

wha de police good for?

What type of Security & Protection

the PPP provide

after 23 Years in Govt?

The funny thing or is it the sign of ILLITERACY that someone who was calling for the exterminating of them are now praising that individual.

Where was the Roman Catholic Church when innocent children were being buggered at the muslim school? Guess they had to look in their own backyard first.

The funny thing or is it the sign of ILLITERACY that someone who was calling for the exterminating of them are now praising that individual.

Where was the Roman Catholic Church when innocent children were being buggered at the muslim school? Guess they had to look in their own backyard first.

You first has to ask if this was true.....

innocent children were being buggered

at the muslim school?

and I am not denying it...

these things were encouraged, promoted & Practiced

openly by the President, Kwame  & The PPP.....

The CIOG featured prominently

in Jagdeo’s circus at the National Stadium

in September 2011

titled Day of Appreciation,

a programme designed for election purposes.

The Roman Catholic Church was right to speak out against these nasty Practice...which resulted in the PPP losing their Parliament Majority....

and now on May 11th will force the PPP in Parliament 

into the Benches of Opposition.

Skeldon....

As you are correctly pointing out....

the Muslin Leaders who took the Political Stage

to shower Praises and Blessings on a Leader who

Practice, Love & Encourage Buggery,

Cuss Down, Crime and Corruption ......

are refusing to practice Islam......

which states ...

"WE MUST.....

ENJOIN WHAT IS RIGHT

AND

FORBID WHAT IS WRONG"

xxxxxxxxx

The politics of Guyanese Muslims

January 14, 2014 | By  

The role of religion in the cause of human rights is a well recorded one. It goes back to the Catholic Church in the fifties and its fight against the zealous communist aspirations of Cheddi Jagan.

Those who live in the present will never capture the essence of a past zeitgeist because psychologically it is impossible to do. The researcher can try as hard as he/she can to project his/her mind into the action of the main players of that era but the essential nuances will never be fully captured, thus misunderstanding is inevitable.

Historians after the fifties, sympathetic to Jagan’s anti-American radicalism, were hardly enamoured of the role of the Catholic Church. But can we today understand what was going through the mind of the Catholic Church at that time?

Mohan Ragbeer in his voluminous work, “the Indelible Red Stain,” reproduced an interview Cheddi Jagan gave to the Queen’s College magazine in the fifties in which he showered praise on one of the cruelest leaders in world history, Joseph Stalin. Why would business and church welcome such a person at the head of government?

Christianity as one of the main vehicles against the Jagan Government in the fifties became one of the chief bandwagon against the Burnham Government from the seventies onwards. This time the Catholic Church found an ally in the Anglican denomination. By this time, the Burnham Government had a formidable adversary in religion in general not only Christianity.

The Hindu and Muslim churches were essentially supporters of the PPP especially given the historical connections Jagan had with Yacoob Ally of the United Sadr Anjuman and Reepu Daman Persaud of the Maha Sabha.

When Burnham engineered coups in both organizations and took them over, this only led to deeper religious involvement of the Hindus and Muslims against Burnham.

When a group was formed named the Guyana Anti-Discrimination Movement spearheaded by Indian professionals, both Hindus and Muslim priests were involved. In fact, a Muslim priest became the chairman of the Guyana Human Rights Association during the PNC Government.

The 1992 general elections brought the PPP to power and religious preoccupation with the authoritarian abuse of power took on a completely different shape from the epoch of the seventies and eighties.

The Catholic Church withdrew from active involvement with human rights concerns; the Anglican Church under Bishop George developed a close relationship with the PPP Government.

Under the PPP leadership, the Hindu and Muslim churches continued their support for the PPP.

But it was with the Jagdeo tenure that the Hindu and Muslim churches began to display crass hypocrisy with racially and political support for the Government.

Gone were the days when these two denominations were involved in open anti-government behaviour under the Burnham and Hoyte presidencies.

The explanation of racial sympathy did not escape the pen of analysts.

President Jagdeo paid special attention to winning the support of the Muslim churches. By the time his tenure was up, the Central Islamic Organization of Guyana (CIOG), the main umbrella body of Muslims became shameless supporters of Mr. Jagdeo’s tyrannical regime, participating not only in state activities but also party functions.

The CIOG featured prominently in Jagdeo’s circus at the National Stadium in September 2011 titled Day of Appreciation, a programme designed for election purposes.

Under Mr. Jagdeo’s reign, prominent members of the CIOG were given sensitive state jobs. The love relation has continued under President Ramotar.A few months ago, the youth arm of the CIOG, the Muslim Youth Organization shamelessly went into race baiting overdrive when they accused the PNC of being involved in criminal robberies against East Indian.

As with Diwali and Hindus, today the Muslim constituencies will take to their churches to pray to God. What will be missing are the memories of the seventies and eighties when Muslims felt it was a religious obligation to oppose bad government, the abuse of power and racial discrimination.

The only conclusion one can come to is that the Muslims felt that in those days it was right for Indians to oppose the government of the day because they were East Indians and the Government consisted of Africans.

Today, Muslim priests and their constituencies no longer want to remember that age because Indians are now in charge of the government.

In other words,

it was never about religion but race.

Once the African PNC was out,

power abuse no longer became

an obligation to fight against.

One wonders what Allah and God

would make of this hypocrisy among both Hindus and Muslims.

As the worst forms of power abuse

continue in this religious land,

maybe hope lies in the resurrection

of Christian obligation to fight wrongdoing.

Give the PPP some credit.  They have worked better with the churches and tried to win them over, including having pastors in parliament.

Did they not propose a Religious broadcasting TV or radio station?  What is the status of that project?

What the PPP did wrong was that they withdrew duty free concessions for the churches.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Give the PPP some credit.  They have worked better with the churches and tried to win them over, including having pastors in parliament.

Did they not propose a Religious broadcasting TV or radio station?  What is the status of that project?

What the PPP did wrong was that they withdrew duty free concessions for the churches.

Skeldon say the right thing...

What the PPP do wrong...

is they Promote, Encourage & Practice

Buggery.....

and they fool the Churches

just like how they fool the Guyanese Voters.

Jagdeo made sure his Friends & Family

got TV Stations before he left Office....

And Ignore the Promises he made to the

Religious Groups and the People of Linden

about getting their own TV Station.

Skeldon Jalil says 

What the PPP do wrong...

is they Promote, Encourage & Practice

Buggery.....

Skeldon does not condone or encourage homosexuality. Who am I to tell a man or woman he or she has no right to choose?

Actually, Jagdeo vetoed a homo bill some years ago.

What I found strange, however, was that Ruel Johnson was complaining about the PPP govt writing some external group overseas not to have Johnson working for them since Johnson was rabid anti-homo.  But that's how politics works.

I know for a fact that president Ram is strongly "anti-antiman" as he calls them. He told a story of the US govt pressuring the Guyana govt to grant duty-free concessions to domestic partners of Embassy staff. He asked my opinion and I said, "Mr. President, never, never follow the ways of America when it comes to that."

I say it again, homoism is pure wickedness.  There are "human wrongs" not human rights associated with that vulgar movement.  People who live in North America have been brainwashed and socialized to "Heather has 2 mommies, " and Johnny has 2 daddies.  Third World countries need to keep such stupidness out of their borders.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Actually, Jagdeo vetoed a homo bill some years ago.

What I found strange, however, was that Ruel Johnson was complaining about the PPP govt writing some external group overseas not to have Johnson working for them since Johnson was rabid anti-homo.  But that's how politics works.

I know for a fact that president Ram is strongly "anti-antiman" as he calls them. He told a story of the US govt pressuring the Guyana govt to grant duty-free concessions to domestic partners of Embassy staff. He asked my opinion and I said, "Mr. President, never, never follow the ways of America when it comes to that."

I say it again, homoism is pure wickedness.  There are "human wrongs" not human rights associated with that vulgar movement.  People who live in North America have been brainwashed and socialized to "Heather has 2 mommies, " and Johnny has 2 daddies.  Third World countries need to keep such stupidness out of their borders.

oh gawd  . . . i sincerely hope the AFC has the good sense to have a 10 ft leper's pole at hand when u approach them with your weeping bigot's sores after your sessions advising Donald Ramotar

smfh