Shaik Baksh sent on leave, Collin Croal resigns

May 31, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 
 GWI’s head, Shaik Baksh

At least two officials including the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Guyana Water Inc. (GWI), Shaik Baksh, have been sent on leave in recent days by the new administration.
According to GWI sources yesterday, Baksh who was appointed as CEO in October 2012, was asked to proceed on leave effective tomorrow, June 1 by the Chairman, Ramesh Dookoo.
Baksh’s leave is for 72 days but his contract is due to expire before it is up.
Kaieteur News was told that the life of the GWI Board is expected to expire at the end of June at which time the David Granger government is widely expected to appoint new officials.
Baksh served as Minister of Housing and then as Minister of the Education before the 2011 General and Regional Elections under former President Bharrat Jagdeo.
He was recently in the news after his son reportedly crashed a GWI pickup, wrecking it and seriously injuring himself on the Soesdyke/Linden Highway.
Under regulations, his son was not supposed to be driving the vehicle. Baksh was reportedly out of the country at the time.
Also sitting on the GWI Board, according to the entity’s website are Dharamkumar Seeraj – Vice Chairman and members Seepaul Narine, Denise King-Tudor, Tarachand Balgobin, Donald Dyal and Emile Mc Garrell – the current Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Housing and Water.

Collin Croal

Resigned: Permanent Secretary, Collin Croal

Also sent on leave last week was Collin Croal, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Communities (previously Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development).
Croal reportedly received a letter asking him to proceed on leave but was later asked to tender his resignation.
Croal, the brother of former Natural Resources Minister, Robert Persaud, was a candidate for the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) in the recent elections.
He had tendered his resignation to campaign but reportedly attempted to pull it back after his party lost.
President David Granger, in a recent meeting with public servants, said public servants who resigned to campaign should stay resigned.
Reportedly, Nigel Dharamlall, the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Indigenous Affairs, who was also a candidate for the PPP/C, has also been sent on leave. He had openly campaigned in the hinterlands.
However, Kaieteur News could not verify that he was sent off.
Contacted, Dharamlall declined comment and referred questions to the Minister, Sydney Allicock.
Both GWI and Croal’s Ministry have been under scrutiny for a number of projects and contracts, which are said to be under review

Croal, the brother of former Natural Resources Minister, Robert Persaud, was a candidate for the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) in the recent elections.
He had tendered his resignation to campaign but reportedly attempted to pull it back after his party lost.

Pointblank
Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Why was Baksh sent on leave?  Any allegations of wrongdoing, or simply heads rolling?

the board properly showed his incompetent and corrupt ass the door

what's the problem?

You guys never listen, do you?  The PNC never changed their culture.  Heads will roll. They are doing it in a clever way.  Wait and see the Indians who caused the PPP to be cheated will get what they deserved.  They cannot be trust.  Moses nagamootoo is being given ceremonial positions. 

His mouth is shut by the food he eats to live. 

You guys never listen, do you?  The PNC never changed their culture.  Heads will roll. They are doing it in a clever way.  Wait and see the Indians who caused the PPP to be cheated will get what they deserved.  They cannot be trust.  Moses nagamootoo is being given ceremonial positions. 

The qualified Indians will be hired to do the job. However, unqualified and uneducated blacks will be their bosses. Just like the old PNC days.

Moses and AFC have several important portfolios, much better than being a powerless MP even if the PPP had won with 45%. May 11, 2015 was a step forward.

Originally Posted by TK:

Moses and AFC have several important portfolios, much better than being a powerless MP even if the PPP had won with 45%. May 11, 2015 was a step forward.

Moses is a figurehead, who has no power.  he AFC has 12 seats and on two are Indians. 

The qualified Indians will be hired to do the job. However, unqualified and uneducated blacks will be their bosses. Just like the old PNC days.

ah yes . . . another piece of GY 'wisdom' from skeldon_man, the PPP catamite who proudly and fondly refers to African Americans as "negras"

some among us are indeed nostalgic for the "old" days

ah yes . . . another piece of GY 'wisdom' from skeldon_man, the PPP catamite who proudly and fondly refers to African Americans as "negras"

Calm down your panties there Redux.

welll . . . did i lie, or did i speak the TRUTH?!

Cyar your silly behind da side. Qualified people exists on both sides. It is not as if there were geniuses on the PPP side. We would not be broke with all industries on life support had those fellows had any sense. If the APNU_AFC replaces personnel it will be with competent people.

Originally Posted by TK:

Moses is a figurehead, who has no power.  he AFC has 12 seats and on two are Indians

Agree that Guyana is about race.  But in all fairness, do you think the interest in Indians can only be served by another Indian.  Not sure about that!

I had found Baksh to be friendly and approachable when he was Minister of Ed. He met with me and wife.

We made many attempts to meet with the fat Min of Ed but she never met with us.   

These guys should have been fired the 1st day. Many more who were in high positions in the previous Govt, including those who tried to convert the Govt vehicles to personal property or their family gotta go.

Cyar your silly behind da side. Qualified people exists on both sides. It is not as if there were geniuses on the PPP side. We would not be broke with all industries on life support had those fellows had any sense. If the APNU_AFC replaces personnel it will be with competent people.

Listen to this A_HOLE jackass. Never experienced any meaningful life in Guyana and he thinks he is the authoritative voice of Guyana. Go play with your sakawinki parrot. What the hell an idiot like you know about Guyana? Cassava bread and piwari? The problem with you is that you read too much into other people's criticism of the people you dislike. Listen here Sewerboy, go visit Guyana for once. You left at the age of 16(with dry feces stuck to your anus)  and never went back. The boat has left you behind and you are trying to catch it.

Well done APNU AFC.

Baksh had his son used a State vehicle and crashed it at great loss to the state.

The President said - all who were on a party list must not be a HEAD of a Department or Permanent Secretary.

"He had tendered his resignation to campaign but reportedly attempted to pull it back after his party lost.
President David Granger, in a recent meeting with public servants, said public servants who resigned to campaign should stay resigned."

HAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!! Go for it Granga.