Originally Posted by Django:

The elections are over. Time to tell the truth. And the truth is the sugar is no longer a financially viable industry in Guyana. It cannot be fixed. The new government must do the right thing and gradually phase out sugar. There will some hardships for sugar workers and their families. But they'll survive.

django: ethanol bhai,they should look in to the cost of

production.Brazil is big in this product.

baseman: With the oil discovery, ethanol will take a long shot back seat.

* If oil stays in the $40-60 range I'm not sure how much financial benefits Guyana will see.

* But let's say oil is found in commercial quantities---and then hydro is developed----that means Guyana will have a cheaper source of energy.

* And that also means that new industries like agri processing can be developed on a large scale.

RE: SUGAR

* The industry can be slowly phased out and replaced with viable alternatives.

* JUST A LITTLE VISION AND ACTION NEEDED.

Originally Posted by Django:

The elections are over. Time to tell the truth. And the truth is the sugar is no longer a financially viable industry in Guyana. It cannot be fixed. The new government must do the right thing and gradually phase out sugar. There will some hardships for sugar workers and their families. But they'll survive.

django: ethanol bhai,they should look in to the cost of

production.Brazil is big in this product.

baseman: With the oil discovery, ethanol will take a long shot back seat.

* If oil stays in the $40-60 range I'm not sure how much financial benefits Guyana will see.

* But let's say oil is found in commercial quantities---and then hydro is developed----that means Guyana will have a cheaper source of energy.

* And that also means that new industries like agri processing can be developed on a large scale.

* The industry can be slowly phased out and replaced with viable alternatives.

* JUST A LITTLE VISION AND ACTION NEEDED.

Correct!!

Oil at 40-50 is not sustainable and will not stay.  Even the Saudi's cannot hold this line forever.  Oil will reach stability between 80-90 dpb, the viable level for the US oil industry sustainability.

Correct!!

Oil at 40-50 is not sustainable and will not stay.  Even the Saudi's cannot hold this line forever.  Oil will reach stability between 80-90 dpb, the viable level for the US oil industry sustainability.

* I recall Oil trading at $147/barrel in 2008---then in 2009 it dropped to $33---a year later it was back up to $80 a barrel.

* Oil trading between 75 and 90 will be financially viable---if it's found in commercial quantities in Guyana.

* The PNC knows if they phase out sugar the PPP will uses that against them in the next election.

* The PPP knows sugar is not financially viable---but it's good for the party politically.

Originally Posted by Gupta:

$Millions have been unaccounted for. Raj Sigh and the entire GuySuCo Board must be fired immediately.

I don't dispute your assertion however, this must be proven through an independent forensic audit.  Based on the outcome, the Govt needs to act.

Originally Posted by VVP:
Why is Rajendra Singh still on the job under a new government?  Is he under a contract?  What do they pay him?

If you kill the dog you will never find out where he buried the bones.  Raj Singh will obviously go, but the new gov't need to get a handle on what is going on first.

Yet another day and more LIES told by the PPP have been discovered.  Where are all of those who last year screamed when APNU and the AFC demanded to know more about Guysuco's financial situation.  Where are all of those PPP frauds who screamed that Skeldon would solve all of Guysuco's problems? 

Why is Rajendra Singh still on the job under a new government?  Is he under a contract?  What do they pay him?

If you kill the dog you will never find out where he buried the bones.  Raj Singh will obviously go, but the new gov't need to get a handle on what is going on first.

Yet another day and more LIES told by the PPP have been discovered.  Where are all of those who last year screamed when APNU and the AFC demanded to know more about Guysuco's financial situation.  Where are all of those PPP frauds who screamed that Skeldon would solve all of Guysuco's problems? 

For goodness sake, you are like a broken record. Yuh need deliverance of some sort.  

While you're all haggling over the pros and cons of shutting down sugar vs diversification, lemme introduce two burning questions: How soon will the current GuySuCo Board of Directors be dissolved? Who is in favour of Tony Vieira being Chairman of the next GuySuCo Board?

Good grief-not Veira.

Why not? Tony Vieira's father owned two sugar estates, he is a trained agronomist and he has advocated diversification that could include aquaculture.

Vieira has more sugar industry credentials than Raj Singh and Donald Ramotar.

HE hate us East Indians-with a passion. We already have the PNC to worry about. Not the Putagees as well.

We need a good in-depth audit (of the past) and analysis (for the future) to decide the future of the sugar industry. If the industry was mismanaged, expenses were inflated for kickbacks and revenues were diverted to people’s pockets then we have a major problem that might not be truly sugar related.  Yes prices might be low, but you have to take a look on the overall effects on the economy as a whole before you decide how to proceed.   TK you have any stuff on this that you could email me?

Is the bauxite industry now profitable?  If yes, why?

This totally not ture.  That's why you have auditors.  In fact it is a blunder to still have him around.

Bai I was once the head of six departments of a major UK electrical/electronics company with a multi £million budget. My departments were audited every year by independent professionals. But they never could find anything wrong anywhere even though I knew that anything up to U$100K was being lost in the system every year. One director alone got a cheque for about U$8000 ever month, but it never appeared in any accounts or audit trail. So auditors aren't as smart as you give them credit for. They follow the money trail they see, but nothing else.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Bai I was once the head of six departments of a major UK electrical/electronics company with a multi £million budget. My departments were audited every year by independent professionals. But they never could find anything wrong anywhere even though I knew that anything up to U$100K was being lost in the system every year. One director alone got a cheque for about U$8000 ever month, but it never appeared in any accounts or audit trail. So auditors aren't as smart as you give them credit for. They follow the money trail they see, but nothing else.

What were you selling - vibrators?

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

You need one?

I was just wondering what was your specialty.  As you see I asked a question.  It is not proper to answer a question with a question star bwoy. Mr. T-back.

In my business we don't even look at US$100k.  It depends on the level of audit and time involved.

You need one?

I was just wondering what was your specialty.  As you see I asked a question.  It is not proper to answer a question with a question star bwoy. Mr. T-back.

I thought you might be inquiring just in case you wanted a fellow Guyanese to help you out for old time's sake .

We need a good in-depth audit (of the past) and analysis (for the future) to decide the future of the sugar industry. If the industry was mismanaged, expenses were inflated for kickbacks and revenues were diverted to people’s pockets then we have a major problem that might not be truly sugar related.  Yes prices might be low, but you have to take a look on the overall effects on the economy as a whole before you decide how to proceed.   TK you have any stuff on this that you could email me?

I will put together some stuff for you. The bauxite industry became profitable because of retrenchments and cutting costs. Aluminum price is also stagnating for various reasons and sugar price is at a very low rate today. When you are a primary commodity producer the masses ultimately will stay poor. Does not matter which political party is in power. The sugar industry is different in a fundamental way because Guysuco plays a very important role in draining the coastal plain. Region 10 is above sea level. Private investors are never going to be interested in solving a common resource problem. There is no easy option out. Right now the PPP needs to get on board and help to chart a new future for Guysuco.

Originally Posted by TK:

I will put together some stuff for you. The bauxite industry became profitable because of retrenchments and cutting costs. Aluminum price is also stagnating for various reasons and sugar price is at a very low rate today. When you are a primary commodity producer the masses ultimately will stay poor. Does not matter which political party is in power. The sugar industry is different in a fundamental way because Guysuco plays a very important role in draining the coastal plain. Region 10 is above sea level. Private investors are never going to be interested in solving a common resource problem. There is no easy option out. Right now the PPP needs to get on board and help to chart a new future for Guysuco.

All right thanks.  Send me what you could when you get the time.  Also if you have any information on Guyana's electric potential.  I heard about the "Brazilian Alternative" anybody has that?  TK you still have my email?

You jumping the gun and starting off on the wrong premise.  Firstly, you never audit [the future].  There need to be an audit of the financials, an examination of it operations with the aim of improving profitability and a careful review of the strategic alternatives.  There is no simple solution, and it will not be painless.

You jumping the gun and starting off on the wrong premise.  There need to be an audit of the financials, an examination of it operations with the aim of improving profitability and a careful review of the strategic alternatives.  There is no simple solution, and it will not be painless.

Guysuco is audited every year.  The 2013 audit was done.

You jumping the gun and starting off on the wrong premise.  There need to be an audit of the financials, an examination of it operations with the aim of improving profitability and a careful review of the strategic alternatives.  There is no simple solution, and it will not be painless.

Of course they need an audit. However, an audit report will tell you what is. It will not tell you what ought to be done or give much insights into the alternatives.

The 3-5 year plan was done by some consultants o.

This was the 2013-2018 Strategic Plan.

The ideas are already with Raj Singh, but clearly he is unable to implement.

The biggest problem with Guysuco is high cost, low revenue and a goadee factory at Skeldon and some unprofitable Demerara Estates.

The 3 factories at Albion, Rose Hall and Blairmont are profitable and can compete on the world market.

The Demerara Estate are producing at some 5 cents per pound above our best priced markets.  

Guyana does not need another report.  What Guyana need is managers with the mandate to DO, DELIVER and DRIVE progress.

You jumping the gun and starting off on the wrong premise.  Firstly, you never audit [the future].  There need to be an audit of the financials, an examination of it operations with the aim of improving profitability and a careful review of the strategic alternatives.  There is no simple solution, and it will not be painless.

Can you read?

Originally Posted by TK:

Of course they need an audit. However, an audit report will tell you what is. It will not tell you what ought to be done or give much insights into the alternatives.

Please read what I wrote, these are three separate and distinct actions with differing approaches and differing skill-sets to execute.

The biggest problem with Guysuco is high cost, low revenue and a goadee factory at Skeldon and some unprofitable Demerara Estates.

The 3 factories at Albion, Rose Hall and Blairmont are profitable and can compete on the world market.

The Demerara Estate are producing at some 5 cents per pound above our best priced markets.  

Guyana does not need another report.  What Guyana need is managers with the mandate to DO, DELIVER and DRIVE progress.

Any report/analysis/audit under the theiving PPP do not count.

Can you read?

Yes, was just wondering about the audit (of the past) as I never heard of an audit of the future.

Any report/analysis/audit under the theiving PPP do not count.

it was done by a professional external international company. Not by the PPP.

Can you read?

Yes, was just wondering about the audit (of the past) as I never heard of an audit of the future.

Not everybady brite like you.  That's why I spelled out what is for the past and what is for the future in my post.

Originally Posted by TK:

Please read what I wrote, these are three separate and distinct actions with differing approaches and differing skill-sets to execute.

Yes you did! Fair enough.

Can you read?

Not everybady brite like you.  That's why I spelled out what is for the past and what is for the future in my post.

Nah bai, was just mekking sure mi understand what you saying.  Now how about analyzing the past also?

Baseman, Yuh getting technical.  Yes you could/should analyze past decisions also.  Audit is more financial and analysis is more technical is what I wuz trying to get at in 2 minutes typing.

Fair enough, all I ask, keep an open mind as things are not always what they seem.

So it's the PPP that killed sugar and during the campaign they were telling people the Coalition will close sugar.

That's what PPP did to their supporters and they still voted for them.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

So it's the PPP that killed sugar and during the campaign they were telling people the Coalition will close sugar.

Nobody said that PPP supporters are intelligent. Just look at Rama and Nehru. 

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Nobody said that PPP supporters are intelligent. Just look at Rama and Nehru. 

I think you confused me with your mama...