Seelal’s appointment as Top Cop is unconstitutional – Granger

March 14, 2015 | By | Filed Under News

-    Signals intention to take legal action

It appears as if all the constitutionally stipulated criteria needed for the substantial appointment of a Commissioner

Opposition leader, David Granger

of Police were not met in the process of appointing the new Top Cop. As a result, incumbent Leader of the Opposition, David Granger has decided not to acknowledge Seelal Persaud as the substantive Commissioner of the Guyana Police Force. Also, the Presidential hopeful has signalled A Partnership for National Unity’s (APNU) intention to challenge the appointment in the court of law. Ever since the retirement of former Top Cop, Leroy Brumell, in early 2014, Persaud was appointed to act as Commissioner. On Tuesday, roughly a year after, President Ramotar substantively appointed Persaud to serve Guyana in this capacity. However, according to Granger, the appointment was flawed. It is constitutionally mandated that the Opposition Leader be consulted on the appointment of the Police Commissioner, but Granger said that this simple requirement was not met. Article 211 of the Constitution states that the Commissioner of Police and every Deputy Commissioner of Police shall be appointed by the President acting after “meaningful consultations” with the Leader of the Opposition and Chairperson of the Police Service Commission after the Chairperson has consulted with the other members of the Commission. Yesterday, Granger told media operatives that President Ramotar “went off and purported to swear in the Acting Commissioner in the capacity of Substantive Commissioner. I don’t know how that could be done in defiance of

Incumbent President Donald Ramotar

Article 211 of the Constitution.” Granger said that as far as he is concerned, Persaud is still the acting Police Commissioner. “I did not have consultation with the President within the meaning of meaningful consultation

under Article 211,” said Granger. Also, Granger alluded to the fact that the President, on Thursday, issued a plan intended to solve the woes of the police force. In this regard, he said that before Ramotar jumps to the stage of setting out “guidelines to which he referring to as a plan” he should look at the simple things that he is doing wrong like the unconstitutional appointment of the Head of the Force. “I think the problem starts there; so he (Seelal) is still acting as far as I am concerned…and the force will not move further forward unless ranks and officers are paid better and provided with the necessary resources to do their work,” said Granger. When asked what action was planned to address the appointment he deems unconstitutional, Granger told the media that the matter is being handled by Attorneys at Law closely associated with APNU. Since Granger became Opposition Leader and Ramotar, President, they have had to discuss the substantive appointment of two Commissioners of Police—Brumell and Persaud. From all indications, discussions on the substantive appointment

Commissioner of Police, Seelall Persaud

of Brumell went smoothly but Granger did not speak yesterday directly as to what the stumbling block was hampering meaningful discussion on the appointment of Seelal Persaud.

Quote "David Granger has decided not to acknowledge Seelal Persaud as the substantive Commissioner of the Guyana Police Force. Also, the Presidential hopeful has signalled A Partnership for National Unity’s (APNU) intention to challenge the appointment in the court of law."unquote

Constitution says Opposition Leader must be consulted, Ramoutar as blunt as he is, decides to bypass the constitution.

President Ramotar substantively appointed Persaud to serve Guyana in this capacity

There was no functioning government and opposition. Maybe he took executive action as the President.

President Ramotar substantively appointed Persaud to serve Guyana in this capacity

There was no functioning government and opposition. Maybe he took executive action as the President.

Given the period we are in there should be no permanent appointment. We may not like the constitution but we have to abide by it.  He has no authority for executive appointments.

Skellybai, it is still disrespect for the Constitution, as the President was supposed to consult with the Opposition Leader.

In this election season, I think it's bad tactics for Granger to make an issue of this -  it will come over that he is doing so for racial reasons. He should know better.  The Police seems to operate on a seniority system, and from what I remember, it's Seelall's term.

Granger also held up the appointment of Chang as CJ and Carl Singh as Chancellor.  The PPP needs to be opposed when it's doing wrong, but I don't think you should gridlock everything. We can honestly say Chang and Singh are quite independent Judges and are not puppets of the govt, the way the PNC flag use to fly over the Court buildings.

Originally Posted by asj:

Skellybai, it is still disrespect for the Constitution, as the President was supposed to consult with the Opposition Leader.

Grainger would not have agreed unless the person was a PNC man. It's like the Republicans and President Obama. The party of "no".

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

In this election season, I think it's bad tactics for Granger to make an issue of this -  it will come over that he is doing so for racial reasons. He should know better.  The Police seems to operate on a seniority system, and from what I remember, it's Seelall's term.

Granger also held up the appointment of Chang as CJ and Carl Singh as Chancellor.  The PPP needs to be opposed when it's doing wrong, but I don't think you should gridlock everything. We can honestly say Chang and Singh are quite independent Judges and are not puppets of the govt, the way the PNC flag use to fly over the Court buildings.

It is protocol. Was it disrespectful not to bring this up in a sitting parliament? He had ample time so this out of session appointment is not legal. No one got to vet his gentleman. The matter of  torture and his approval of the advancement of officers responsible  brought us to international disrepute so this  is serious.

Quote "David Granger has decided not to acknowledge Seelal Persaud as the substantive Commissioner of the Guyana Police Force. Also, the Presidential hopeful has signalled A Partnership for National Unity’s (APNU) intention to challenge the appointment in the court of law."unquote

Constitution says Opposition Leader must be consulted, Ramoutar as blunt as he is, decides to bypass the constitution.

Let Granger say it loud and clear, the appointment of Seelall as Commissioner of Police is a diversion from the PNC political TREND, where historically it has always been a BLACK man as a Police Chief.It is time to buck the trend.

Originally Posted by kp:

Let Granger say it loud and clear, the appointment of Seelall as Commissioner of Police is a diversion from the PNC political TREND, where historically it has always been a BLACK man as a Police Chief.It is time to buck the trend.

It matters not who held the post. The discussion here is who was elevated to the post and how. This fellow is unfit for the office. Any creep who dismisses torture of a young boy by burning his genitals is unfit for office. Then there are the rumors of his wife beating. I do not know that is true but I would like to hear him say it is not

Did Granger protest when Seelall was acting commissioner, and parliament was in session?

What will granger do when the PPP accuses him and tells their supporters that Granger don't want an Indian to be Commissioner?

Bad tactics from Granger at election time.  You have to know when to pick your battles. Don't let stupidity cloud your judgment.

Did Granger protest when Seelall was acting commissioner, and parliament was in session?

What will granger do when the PPP accuses him and tells their supporters that Granger don't want an Indian to be Commissioner?

Bad tactics from Granger at election time.  You have to know when to pick your battles. Don't let stupidity cloud your judgment.

idiot! on what constitutional grounds would Granger have protested the acting appointment?

further, are you so dotish, so blinded by tribal loyality that u see the appointment of a man who enables he torture of prisoners as desirable simply because he is Indian?

I don't remember, but did Granger protest the promotion of the Man in charge of the Police forces in Linden shootings during the terrorist riots there?

So you are saying Granger can't say the man you have acting as Commissioner, I have a problem with that?

Mr. Redux, I notice every time you seem to be losing the argument, you resort to ad hominem attacks and verbal brawling.  i can assure you of no such reciprocity, so the temptation is not necessary.

I don't remember, but did Granger protest the promotion of the Man in charge of the Police forces in Linden shootings during the terrorist riots there?

So you are saying Granger can't say the man you have acting as Commissioner, I have a problem with that?

Mr. Redux, I notice every time you seem to be losing the argument, you resort to ad hominem attacks and verbal brawling.  i can assure you of no such reciprocity, so the temptation is not necessary.

dunce race man, in response to your first nonsense about Hicken and Granger, and "terrorist riots" in your sick bigot's brain, i suggest u read here and STFU!!

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....-division-commander/

second, your 2nd paragraph is illiterate . . .please translate to English so that i can respond properly

finally klown, how in gawd's name can i be "losing the argument" when that was my 1st post on the thread?

dude, your shyte's not even approaching 'clever'

smfh

"Granger was also asked about whether he would support the appointment of the Acting Police Commissioner, Seelall Persaud. According to the Opposition Leader he has had correspondence with President Donald Ramotar.
Granger said that he pointed out to the President that the Police Service Commission has to be properly constituted.
Granger said that it would be very prejudicial for him to participate in consultation with an improperly constituted commission, adding that when the time comes he will further examine it."

1. Thank you Sir for posting the news report. So, is the Police Commission now constituted and making these appointments?

2. From the report it appears as if there was correspondence with Mr. Granger about Seelall.  That will justify the President's confirmation of Seelall.

3. Several of the Commissions that were non-functional was because the PNC was not working with the govt (not that the govt has clean hands either). The non-confirmation of Chang and Carl Singh is unacceptable and those were held up because of the PNC.  I hope the President would go ahead and confirm those too.

4. So is Granger going to try to overturn Hicken's appointment too?

I hope someone take executive action against these PPP thives and murderers.

Acting and permanent are different issues. The latter requires a sitting parliament. It is almost parallel to the illegality of the appointment of Sooba. Then there is the matter of  his off hand comment that "life goes on" when the torture issue was brought up. Nowhere else would he be confirmed on that alone. If it is wrong it is wrong. 

1. Thank you Sir for posting the news report.
You're welcome. Next time pause and think before rushing to post nonsense . . . Google is free  

So, is the Police Commission now constituted and making these
appointments?

Dunno. What's your point?

2. From the report it appears as if there was correspondence with Mr. Granger about Seelall.  That will justify the President's confirmation of Seelall.

infant, how do you figure? . . . do i have to read the Constitution S L O W L Y for you too?

3. Several of the Commissions that were non-functional was because the PNC was not working with the govt (not that the govt has clean hands either). The non-confirmation of Chang and Carl Singh is unacceptable and those were held up because of the PNC.  I hope the President would go ahead and confirm those too.

What's the relevance of all this dust u throwing up here?

4. So is Granger going to try to overturn Hicken's appointment too?
Granger has no power to overturn Hicken's appointment. He has made his feelings known! It is a Rohee/PSC matter.

all the above [in bold] as my contribution to your education 'sir'

As a result, incumbent Leader of the Opposition, David Granger has decided not to acknowledge Seelal Persaud as the substantive Commissioner of the Guyana Police Force.
Also, the Presidential hopeful has signalled A Partnership for National Unity’s (APNU) intention to challenge the appointment in the court of law.

So whom will he send any letter of protest or enquiries to?  Whom will he want to provide details on Ewing's investigation.  It's bad political strategy to stir this up now, if you want to win over the other side.

As a result, incumbent Leader of the Opposition, David Granger has decided not to acknowledge Seelal Persaud as the substantive Commissioner of the Guyana Police Force.

Also, the Presidential hopeful has signalled A Partnership for National Unity’s (APNU) intention to challenge the appointment in the court of law.

So whom will he send any letter of protest or enquiries to?  Whom will he want to provide details on Ewing's investigation.  It's bad political strategy to stir this up now, if you want to win over the other side.

the referenced Court challenge is based on the "meaningful consultations" provisions of Article 211 not being met  . . . what's so freakin difficult to understand about that!?

the rest of your post is illiterate, mealy-mouthed shit, diversion and nonsense

jay bharrat's insinuation that David Granger's constitutional challenge to the substantive appointment of Acting Commissioner Seelall Persaud must be racial is evidenced by this GNI rat's lang-mouth injection of a surmised Granger non-objection [proven to be simply UNTRUE!] to elevation of the notorious Clifton Hicken of Linden bridge killings infamy

frankly, given GY tribal politics, i doubt that Granger would have objected in any meaningful way even with the Acting Commissioner's torture baggage, if constitutional prescriptions were followed

Donald Ramotar, doing what he is doing, is sending all the wrong messages regarding his respect, or lack therof, for even the light restraining hand of the Constitution on unchecked Executive power