http://nypost.com/2017/07/20/c...in-corruption-trial/

Councilman found guilty of five counts in corruption trial

Queens City Councilman Ruben Wills is guilty of five of the six counts against him in his corruption trial, a jury found Thursday night — including the top two felony counts of grand larceny.

Those convictions, for pocketing $30,000 in public funds, carries a maximum prison term of seven years.

“Ruben Wills’ crimes were a shameful violation of the public trust,” said Attorney General Eric Schneiderman, whose office prosecuted the case

“Now, after a conviction by a jury of his peers, Ruben Wills will face the consequences.”

The Democrat from Jamaica had laughed and jeered from the defense table when his trial started two weeks ago, as assistant state attorney general Travis Hill laid out the prosecution case in opening statements.

Wills used the stolen loot on himself and his family members, jurors were told — including the purchase of a $750 Louis Vuitton bag, a Wii console and a three-pack of underwear.

But as the verdict was read, Wills wasn’t smiling.

He struck his fist against the top of the defense table, and turned to his lawyer with an expression of apparent disbelief.

He was found not guilty of a single misdemeanor count of falsifying business records.

His smile returned as he left court, allowed to remain free by Justice Ira Margulis pending his August 10 sentencing.

“They withheld numerous amounts of things that they know would have proven my case, and they shouldn’t even have brought the case,” he complained to reporters.

Wills pocketed the loot from his 2009 council campaign matching funds and from a state-funded charity he set up, New York 4-Life.

The charity, a nonprofit, was set up to aid single parents, among other good deeds.

The councilman’s lawyer, Kevin O’Donnell, had blamed any fiscal missteps on “poor bookkeeping” by a rookie politician.

But prosecutors told jurors that Wills simply liked to go on shopping sprees, including at Nordstrom, Century 21 and Macy’s — and showed the receipts to prove it.
His City Council colleagues promptly turned on him.

“Ruben Wills betrayed the trust of all New Yorkers,” said Speaker Melissa Mark-Viverito, calling him “unfit to be a member of the City Council.”

Additional reporting by Michael Gartland and Laura Italiano

Vish M posted:

Wishful thinking

He needs to be honest and above board

I noticed you made a monetary donation to his campaign. it is public record.

Why are you co tribute g to someone who you say is not honest?

Vish M posted:

Wishful thinking

He needs to be honest and above board

I noticed you made a monetary donation to his campaign. it is public record.

Why are you co tribute g to someone who you say is not honest?

Friday July 21st, 2017

Dear friends,

As you may have heard by now, a jury convicted our Council Member yesterday after a longstanding trial leading to his instant removal from the position. It is a sad day for our community when faith in our elected officials is shaken.

I first met Council Member Ruben Wills in 2010, and he has always been respectful, caring, and highly personable with a great sense of humor. I have worked with his staff and Mr. Wills himself since then.  Mr. Wills was driven by his desire to transform our district in the way he transformed his own life. Mr. Wills was brought up in South Jamaica Houses and rose from humble beginnings, to becoming a leader in our district. His story is one of hope and hard work. Yesterday’s verdict can never take this inspiration away, or hinder the dreams of other young people with aspirations to better our community.

His legacy should not be remembered simply by yesterday’s verdict, but by his humble beginnings and all that he sought to do for the community. My prayers are with Mr. Wills, his family, and his staff. We must now work together, harder than ever, to unify our community and move forward.

In solidarity,

Richard David

Vish M

This is the sort of Hypocrite in our community.

Wills was always a THUG

He did not fund any development in Richmond Hill

Richard David's statement is froth with misinformation and is pandering to the other folks across the Van Wyck 

Vish M
Vish M posted:

This is the sort of Hypocrite in our community.

Wills was always a THUG

He did not fund any development in Richmond Hill

Richard David's statement is froth with misinformation and is pandering to the other folks across the Van Wyck 

Poor statement!

Point taken that he cannot win without the votes across the Van Wyck but gosh he is running for this seat , why the ass he has to say he is in solidarity  with a convict?

Hope he does not loose guana  and cutlass.

Oi Chief ask the question again nuh...the one about donating to someone who is supposedly dishonest.

Vishnu did not see the question?

Ah Doan know...but Iman sure as hell hasn't seen the answer.

Any idea what the moron above your post is trying to say?

It's Friday night and the moron Nehru went and suck free piss.

HE drunk no ass

A thief and Hypocrite and ass  kisser like you will not able to buy a beer for Uncle Nehru!

HE drunk no ass

A thief and Hypocrite and ass  kisser like you will not able to buy a beer for Uncle Nehru!

Cobra will buy beers for you anytime. Just halla.  Lol

HE drunk no ass

More freeness you want?

Cobra posted:

HE drunk no ass

Oh my! Mouth open story jump out!

That's what he do to get free beers?

You actually doing that to Nehru?

And you asking him to holler whilst you are doing it.

I su spect for a long time that Nehru does tek the thing for free liquor.

Cobra posted:

HE drunk no ass

Dem boys doin a remake of Deliverance.."come on me laddie, squeal like pig"

Cobra posted:

HE drunk no ass

One good day, Vishu, Nehru, Bibi, Imran, Leonora, and a couple more Guyanese coolie gun run you rass down Liberty Avenue with a belt and whip you ass so bad. If that ever happens, I hope someone takes a video of it and post it on GNI. It would be a sight to see two women whipping a grown man's ass with a belt. 

HEHEHE Two Bugga Batty IDIOTs Chief and scrawly Putagee Cain exposing their way of life on GNI. Not that anything is wrong with their life style, just surprise they will come out on GNI!!!

Chief et al

yesterday  I was at the Tulsi Mandir

i was asked to introduce a most divine soul to Our community

it was a prestigious honor for me

i broadcast a portion of the sermon life on FB with many 100s of viewers

Richard David eventually showed up and somehow convinced a devotee to give him an opportunity to speak

instead if he relate to the event and the enlightened soul he spent 5 minutes talking about himself

he was NYCEDC

he was with ACS

little or no conversation Of what he has done sic little or nothing

He was self centered and conceited

as a result, he will not be allowed to speak during this event

Vish M

Good riddance, Ruben Wills 

Bye-bye

Bye-bye

(GO NAKAMURA/NEW YORK DAILY NEWS)
Editorials
NEW YORK DAILY NEWS
Sunday, July 23, 2017, 4:00 AM

Backed to the end by the Queens Democratic machine that created him, Councilman Ruben Wills was found guilty as charged of being a common thief.

Actually, a pretty big-time one: he went on personal shopping sprees with state grants for obesity prevention and single parents, stealing more than $30,000 in public funds.

He will now, in short order, be removed from office. And stripped from the voter rolls. And tossed off the ballot for his reelection campaign, ejected at last after the party let him slide.

He will also be sentenced to time in state prison, which, unlike his worst-in-the-chamber Council attendance record, he will required to serve.

A bum to the core, Wills will not be missed.

Vish M posted:

Chief et al

Richard David eventually showed up and somehow convinced a devotee to give him an opportunity to speak

instead if he relate to the event and the enlightened soul he spent 5 minutes talking about himself

he was NYCEDC

he was with ACS

Vish,

What are you saying here?

I am little confused.

1.A devotee running things at this Yagna,  not the Pandit nor the organizers? Any devotee can take the mike and hand it to anyone who comes to the Yagna to address the audience?

2. You said Mr. David spoke and then you are saying that he will not be allowed to speak at the event.

WHat are you really saying?

Vish M posted:

Chief et al

he was NYCEDC

he was with ACS

Vish,

What are you saying here?

I am little confused.

1.A devotee running things at this Yagna,  not the Pandit nor the organizers? Any devotee can take the mike and hand it to anyone who comes to the Yagna to address the audience?

2. You said Mr. David spoke and then you are saying that he will not be allowed to speak at the event.

WHat are you really saying?

You need to know a liittle more of the Hindu society

A devotee can be anyone who is devoted to the Hindu values

With regards to the con-artist, he conned the devotee and was allowed to speak about the Swami as I was also allowed earlier.

Instead he used the opportunity to talk just about himself.

His ego makes up for his stumpiness.

After his "speech", it was decided that he will no longer be given this opportunity

He conned himself

Vish M

"His legacy should not be remembered simply by yesterday’s verdict, but by his humble beginnings and all that he sought to do for the community. My prayers are with Mr. Wills"

Only a hypocrit will will be so low.

Who did Wills help in our community

Ask Bhola and Kawal who were his earlier supporters?

This clown wants to represent my community.

I will stand up against him

Vish M
Vish M posted:

You will admit that he cannot win just based on the Indo vote in RH. He better "pander" to the black vote across the way as there are more of them.