Breaking: Rupert Roopnaraine resigns; Granger yet to accept

FLASH BACK: President David Granger and Minister of Education, Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine greet each other at D’Urban Park during the 2016 Education Month Rally.

About one month after Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine was removed from the post of Minister of Education, he has resigned from ministerial office, but Presiodent David Granger said Wednesday he is yet to accept it. “I received a letter from Dr. Roopnaraine, the contents of which I will not disclose but he cannot resign until I have accepted a resignation and as far as I am concerned, I have not done so,” he told reporters.

The Guyanese leader said Roopnaraine remains a member of the Cabinet.

“I have to meet with Dr. Roopnaraine to discuss certain matters with him and when those discussions are ended if he wishes to speak with the media he speak with the media but right now Dr. Roopnaraine remains a member of the Cabinet,” Granger said.

A new ministerial post- Minister of Public Service- was created for the co-leader of the Working People’s Alliance (WPA), but his party said he had not been provided with any facilities or specific terms of reference up to two weeks ago.

Well-placed sources said the veteran politician decided to give up ministerial office, citing his poor health condition. That resignation was dispatched to President Granger on Sunday, but so far the Guyana government has not said anything.

Clerk of the National Assembly, Sherlock Isaacs said the Parliament Office has not received a resignation from Dr. Roopnaraine.

Within the last 18 months, the 74-year old Roopnaraine had been hospitalised on more than one occasion. He had also collapsed once at a reception held at the British High Commissioner’s residence.

Roopnaraine has been a leading figure in Guyana’s politics especially in the WPA when that party had vowed to remove the then People’s National Congress (PNC)-led administration of Forbes Burnham.

Over the last three decades, Roopnaraine has been instrumental in forging and promoting alliance politics. He was a leading light alongside Granger in the 2011 elections that had seen the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) losing its grip on  power for the first time since 1992. At the 2015 elections, Roopnaraine was also fierce campaigner that led to the PPPC’s defeat.

The WPA has maintained that it had not been properly consulted before Dr. Roopnaraine was removed from as Minister of Education. That party has since disputed claims of Roopnaraine’s poor performance are flawed especially considering the excellent results of the 2017 National Grade Six Assessment.

The executive of A Partnership for National Unity of which the WPA and the PNC-Reform are the more prominent political parties is expected to meet this month for the first time in almost two years. Topping the agenda is the WPA’s claim that there is an absence of consultation since the APNU’s leadership councils have not been meeting since the 2015 election victory.

And the dictator says,

“I received a letter from Dr. Roopnaraine, the contents of which I will not disclose but he cannot resign until I have accepted a resignation and as far as I am concerned, I have not done so,” he told reporters.

And the dictator says,

“I received a letter from Dr. Roopnaraine, the contents of which I will not disclose but he cannot resign until I have accepted a resignation and as far as I am concerned, I have not done so,” he told reporters.

"Within the last 18 months, the 74-year old Roopnaraine had been hospitalised on more than one occasion. He had also collapsed once at a reception held at the British High Commissioner’s residence."

Looks like Roopnaraine is sick and wants to quit.

And the dictator says,

"Within the last 18 months, the 74-year old Roopnaraine had been hospitalised on more than one occasion. He had also collapsed once at a reception held at the British High Commissioner’s residence."

Some always seem to have better fabricated inside information.

Also, some have belly wuk problems in their 40s, while people like Roopnarine must always be healthy at 74 and resign for political reasons.   

And the dictator says,

Why you don't shut your stink skont!

Who is a dictator?

And the dictator says,

Who is a dictator?

So the dictator has to approve the man's resignation?  If the man resign, he resign.  Meaning he doesn't want anything to do with you anymore.  End of Story!!

"Responding to queries shortly after swearing in an appellate judge and four High Court judges at State House, he said “Dr. Roopnaraine has resigned? I have approved a resignation?”

Asked if he did receive a resignation, Granger told reporters that he did receive a letter from  Roopnaraine but he would not disclose the contents."

Why does Jagdeo have to approve the man's resignation?

PERFECT TIMING!!

"Roopnaraine’s letter of resignation comes days before the members of governing coalition member APNU are scheduled to meet. The WPA is a member of APNU. At the meeting which will be held on Saturday, the WPA plans to raise a number of issues including the timing of  Roopnaraine’s reassignment and its feeling of being sidelined."

And the dictator says,

Who is a dictator?

What kind of gutter language coming from your mouth, are you not ashamed, does your family know your behaviour on this forum. Have some respect Bibi did not attack you personally.

So the dictator has to approve the man's resignation?  If the man resign, he resign.  Meaning he doesn't want anything to do with you anymore.  End of Story!!

"Responding to queries shortly after swearing in an appellate judge and four High Court judges at State House, he said “Dr. Roopnaraine has resigned? I have approved a resignation?”

Asked if he did receive a resignation, Granger told reporters that he did receive a letter from  Roopnaraine but he would not disclose the contents."

Why does Jagdeo have to approve the man's resignation?

Drunk again, thought you were off the booze, stay away from Rumjaat.

And the dictator says,

Who is a dictator?

Still embroiled in the deep murky sludge and hurling his usual expression.

And the dictator says,

Who is a dictator?

Chief, is this the same mouth you say "allah hu akbar" with? I am very disappointed with you cussing down a lady with your vulgar language and referring to her body part.

And the dictator says,

Who is a dictator?

A DUMB FOOL LIKE YOU WILL ALWAYS NEED AN EXPLANATION. BLOODY IDIOT. NEXT YOU WILL ASK THE MAN TO TELL YOU HOW MUCH IS 1 +1!!!

AND YOU ARE THE BIGGEST SKONT AND HYPOCRITE!!

Maybe the delay is so Granger can have the opportunity to have Roopnarine sign an NDA.

And that's politics. Who knows if he is resigning for health reasons? He has not been well recently.

Maybe the delay is so Granger can have the opportunity to have Roopnarine sign an NDA.

And that's politics. Who knows if he is resigning for health reasons? He has not been well recently.

Roopnarine sacrificed a lot to get where he is/was. We were at QC (CUNY) at the same time. I was vice president of the Guyanese Club and he asked if he could come in and address the club. That chap was passionately anti PNC. I was surprised he was part of the coalition. Must have really hated Jagdeo's PPP to get in bed with the enemy. Maybe it's all coming to a head now.

The PNC gang is getting nervous, one gone two to go. The Indians are fleeing, or being pushed out. Roopnarine vacancy will be filled by a Black person, any bets...

I could refer you. But you are not a WPA member and you are too old. I hope the position is given to a youth.

Roopnarine sacrificed a lot to get where he is/was. We were at QC (CUNY) at the same time. I was vice president of the Guyanese Club and he asked if he could come in and address the club. That chap was passionately anti PNC. I was surprised he was part of the coalition. Must have really hated Jagdeo's PPP to get in bed with the enemy. Maybe it's all coming to a head now.

Over the years of following politics, politicians may express dislikes of a party for obvious reasons, but their political ambition is first and foremost than their personal opinion or dislikes for a particular party. What he said then about the PNC is totally different today.

And the dictator says,

Who is a dictator?

Did Chief get banned, I don't see him making any other posts on this thread.  Like bossman checking in on posts.

alena06 posted:

And the dictator says,

Who is a dictator?

Did Chief get banned, I don't see him making any other posts on this thread.  Like bossman checking in on posts.

He is ashamed . Now in hiding.

alena06 posted:

And the dictator says,

Who is a dictator?

He is ashamed . Now in hiding.

From the smell. 

And the dictator says,

Roopnaraine has been sick for a while and the Min of Ed has been on auto pilot.  Given the dire situation of education in Guyana this couldn't continue.   This who wonder why he is not Minister anymore are just mischief makers or they don't know the facts.

Tola posted:

Some always seem to have better fabricated inside information.

Not fabricated. I have heard this many times and in fact his inability to function has frustrated many overseas based Guyanese who have wanted to implement projects in education. 

This has been an open secret for a while and in fact there are several reports of him canceling meetings because of illness. And that fainting incident wasn't the only one either.

The PNC gang is getting nervous, one gone two to go. 

Now one would think that the PPP would demand that the Minister of Education was fit for the job.

Since ethnic representation concerns you help Roger Luncheon out. When it was pointed out to him that blacks were mostly absent in leading state owned corporations, and commissions or heading overseas missions he admitted the truth of it but couldn't say why.

So why don't you tell us why the PPP packed the state corporations almost exclusively with Indians?

. That chap was passionately anti PNC.

Well it just goes to show how terrible he thought that Jagdeo was. In fact many of those older WPA leaders who sacrificed and suffered under Burnham became highly upset when Jagdeo turned out to be no better.  They wanted to know why did they struggle if the result of their battles was Jagdeo, AKA Baby Kong.

alena06 posted:

And the dictator says,

Who is a dictator?

Chief is the chief ! 

And the dictator says,

Who is a dictator?

Still embroiled in the deep murky sludge and hurling his usual expression.

Aye you old Jackass.

Ppp is history 

APNU running g things.

Now one would think that the PPP would demand that the Minister of Education was fit for the job.

Since ethnic representation concerns you help Roger Luncheon out. When it was pointed out to him that blacks were mostly absent in leading state owned corporations, and commissions or heading overseas missions he admitted the truth of it but couldn't say why.

So why don't you tell us why the PPP packed the state corporations almost exclusively with Indians?

Like KP gone and  hide. 

This thread is about Roopnarine's resignation.  If you want to talk about blacks and racism, please start your own thread.

. That chap was passionately anti PNC.

Well it just goes to show how terrible he thought that Jagdeo was. In fact many of those older WPA leaders who sacrificed and suffered under Burnham became highly upset when Jagdeo turned out to be no better.  They wanted to know why did they struggle if the result of their battles was Jagdeo, AKA Baby Kong.

This is all bullcrap.  Roopnarine was the PNC mole his whole life.  He was always the one who walked away alive from the scene of the crime.  Well now he has outlasted his usefulness to them. 

You are full of shyte. Chief was right. All you do is stinking up the place with your crap.