Rohee, private sector clash at fiery Chambers meeting

July 12, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

…chambers say forum was a failure
“Members did not turn up to the meeting, because they anticipated what was going to happen and it was not the first meeting we had with Mr Rohee– One we had two years ago in Number 64 Village– and his behaviour was the same, if not worse.

“This will only turn businessmen away from him, so I think we need to take our issues to higher authority” said  President of the CCCC, Mr Lakeram Rambrich.

L to R: Pres of CCCC, Mr Rambrich, Mr Rohee and MP Jaffarally at the heated meeting

Rambrich was very upset at the outcome of the meeting and called it a “failure”. “I think it’s been a failure, because he [Clement Rohee] failed to address any issue”.
The Berbice Chambers of Commerce had a meeting with Clement Rohee, the Minister of Home Affairs. The three Chambers (New Amsterdam, Central and Upper Corentyne) had asked Mr Clement Rohee to meet with them to discuss “burning issues” relating to security.

He did last Saturday at Nand Persaud Rice Complex at Number 36 Village, Corentyne. But there were more disagreements than agreements during the fiery meeting with the Minister and several members of the business community.

The Minister clashed with the private sector on various issues, including a specific one which dealt with the slow response of the police to a recent robbery at Bengal Farm on the Corentyne, whereby it was alleged that several Corentyne police stations’ phones were engaged for very long periods and then they kept forwarding the robbery complaint to other stations, and the police took some 45 minutes to arrive.

Speaking about the slow response to crime, Member of Parliament, Faizal M. Jaffarally complained to the Minister that a specific case occurred a few days ago. It was a robbery on the Corentyne that saw a long response time by the police.

“Shortly after the robbery, the police at # 51 Police Station, their phones were engaged for 15 minutes, the people subsequently called the #62 Toll Station who referred them to Springlands Police station; Springlands referred them to Whim; Whim referred them to New Amsterdam and then some time after, they had a response– 45 minutes after– that is not good enough in my opinion”.

Deputy Commander of ‘B’ Division, Eric Bassant, defended the police. “The time it takes for the police to receive proper information may take some time so the general populace will view the police at responding in a very slow manner”.

He noted that the police usually take somewhere between five and 20 minutes to respond from the time they would have received the report.

Bassant said, too, that all of the officers and Station Sergeants have been briefed on the Standard Operational Procedures. He said that should a particular station not have the capability to respond to the crime, that station is supposed to get on to the Operations Room in New Amsterdam who will “channel the information and we will take the information to the nearest patrol who will respond immediately”.

Rohee said that people should not get too frustrated about that issue and asked, “Does that happen all the time? There was one situation that was mentioned. Why do we want to take that one bad experience to make it look as though this is what is happening all the time? We have to be very surgical in our thinking”.

Rohee said those are exceptions to the rule “and this matter was an exception”. He noted that what should have happened in such a situation, was that a note be taken by the senior rank to have it investigated.

“But if we take the position that this one incident means that it happens all the time, then we will condemn the whole police force and throw (the police) into the Corentyne River”.

But the President of the CCCC differed. “If we are going to head that way, then there is not going to be a way forward…We are from a business sector and if we have to go through the circles of getting things done…If we are complaining to the highest authority that these things are happening and you are telling us that we must keep writing, then we are going to head nowhere”.

An argument then ensued. “What is your solution?” asked Rohee.

Rambrich said that nobody would want to sit down and write, “because we already told you about the complaint”.

The joint Chambers will soon issue a statement, he said, and this will be sent to President Donald Ramotar for further action.

Rohee, private sector clash at fiery Chambers meeting

July 12, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

…chambers say forum was a failure
......He said that should a particular station not have the capability to respond to the crime, that station is supposed to get on to the Operations Room in New Amsterdam who will “channel the information and we will take the information to the nearest patrol who will respond immediately”.

Rohee said that people should not get too frustrated about that issue and asked, “Does that happen all the time? There was one situation that was mentioned. Why do we want to take that one bad experience to make it look as though this is what is happening all the time? We have to be very surgical in our thinking”.

This is a typical mediocre non-response response.  You do take exceptions, investigate, find the root cause and mitigate.  This is the concept of continuous improvement.  Action is not only needed when the house is about to fall down.  These are the instances which exposes critical flaws, human or otherwise and should be used to polish up and keep people on their toes.  It also gives the people a sense of relief that their concern is being look into.

Mr Rohee, every plane crash is an exceptional event, but each time the hardware, software and procedures are dissected and modified to prevent that exception from recurring.  That cannot be so difficult for you to understand, can it?

Rohee needs to understand that with each incident of non performance by the GPF he has reason to investigate not condone nor excuse the GPF. Many members of the civil service use civil as a job with benefits ( rampant theft ). Now with Ramoutar as President expect poorer performance by civil service. Go slow is the word !

Ramotar should fire this clown Rohee immediately. He is no damn good and seems to be condoning crime. This clown should know that if it is one crime, then it is one crime to many. Crime needs to be dealt with one by one. What would he say about the Lusginan massacre - was it isolated too.  Is that why the criminals have not been found. Where the hell did the PPP find this incompetent piece of dead wood from. May they should tie his rass with timber and throw him  in the Corentyne River. 

I AGREE. This is something Guyanese Politicians need to learn. Public Speaking, Leadership and PR are quite lacking.

Also execution.....I meant getting it done, not just talking....like our own Obama.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

Ramotar should fire this clown Rohee immediately. He is no damn good and seems to be condoning crime. This clown should know that if it is one crime, then it is one crime to many. Crime needs to be dealt with one by one. What would he say about the Lusginan massacre - was it isolated too.  Is that why the criminals have not been found. Where the hell did the PPP find this incompetent piece of dead wood from. May they should tie his rass with timber and throw him  in the Corentyne River

Mind what you saying, someone will cut yuh rass.

Rohee has a less than distinguished record with meetings with businessmen. Seems like nothing has changed with him.

Correct, he should just be a community organizer.

Ramotar should fire this clown Rohee immediately. He is no damn good and seems to be condoning crime. This clown should know that if it is one crime, then it is one crime to many. Crime needs to be dealt with one by one. What would he say about the Lusginan massacre - was it isolated too.  Is that why the criminals have not been found. Where the hell did the PPP find this incompetent piece of dead wood from. May they should tie his rass with timber and throw him  in the Corentyne River. 

Ramoutar aint gat dat power to hire and fire ..he gat fuh check with de real power behind de prez Mr. BJ ,

Rohee has a less than distinguished record with meetings with businessmen. Seems like nothing has changed with him.

Useless sarcasm noted shitface......now run along and play with your litteee

No need to get personal.  Like some shit just got you in the face.  Are you now taking Rohee's side?

You real bazadee. The sarcasm refers to your comment about Rohee better become a community organizer. I know you're using racial coded reference to Barack Obama as a community organizer and equating Obama with ohee. You're a real shit head....and that ain't being personal....that's just saying it.....shit head!

Oh, so that's how you handle the indefensible, you refer to the pitiful race bait argument.  It ain't gon wuk you lil crya-baby, now go run off and suck your pacifier and tickle yourself.

cmon Kari, you're a smart dude.  The thread has nothing to do with Obama.  Chill out.  If Baseman is not an Obama supporter then that is his choice.

Ramotar should fire this clown Rohee immediately. He is no damn good and seems to be condoning crime. This clown should know that if it is one crime, then it is one crime to many. Crime needs to be dealt with one by one. What would he say about the Lusginan massacre - was it isolated too.  Is that why the criminals have not been found. Where the hell did the PPP find this incompetent piece of dead wood from. May they should tie his rass with timber and throw him  in the Corentyne River

Mind what you saying, someone will cut yuh rass.

Why? Ramoutar should fire himself for putting him in the wrong assignment..

Originally Posted by alena06:

cmon Kari, you're a smart dude.  The thread has nothing to do with Obama.  Chill out.  If Baseman is not an Obama supporter then that is his choice.

What part of racially coded language do you not understand? Let me educate you. When Americans speak of Community Organizer in these days they mean this - a Black person in power who doesn't know how to create wealth, is anti-business, and uses rich people (read white) money to redistribute to poor (you guessed it....Black and Hispanic) people.

So stop giving me crap about chilling out and this ain't got nothing to do with Obama. You are either naive or wutless like BaseBoard Continue this and it would be accurate to characterize you as a racist. Baseboard can dislike Obama - that's okay. But to use baseless, stupid, Appalachia, uneducated coded references stink up this Board. Guh clean yusself up pickney!

What part of racially coded language do you not understand? Let me educate you. When Americans speak of Community Organizer in these days they mean this - a Black person in power who doesn't know how to create wealth, is anti-business, and uses rich people (read white) money to redistribute to poor (you guessed it....Black and Hispanic) people.

So stop giving me crap about chilling out and this ain't got nothing to do with Obama. You are either naive or wutless like BaseBoard Continue this and it would be accurate to characterize you as a racist. Baseboard can dislike Obama - that's okay. But to use baseless, stupid, Appalachia, uneducated coded references stink up this Board. Guh clean yusself up pickney!

Your interpretation of the whole thread is different.  Some may see this as ignorant.  Ciao.

Alena06, there is an old Guyana proverb, "pelt wan stone a sty, de pig wah halla, a he get am".  Boy do we have a big pig on the board.

Kari is a tax and spend liberal who cannot face the fact that his tax and spend liberal president cannot move the needle....on anything.

Ciao me behind......

Read this and see if you're intelligent enough to see where BaseBoard Chip equates Obama with that low-life Cement Roti.....to wit...."Correct, he (Roti) should be a community organizer (which he's been calling Obama). And do you know what the phrase "Community Organizer" is used for today? Stop being a 6-yr old. That "caio" is a lame response and an admission of acquiescence to BaseLevel's overt racism.

Baseman caught with his pants down AGAIN . . .

Sunlight continues to devastate these creatures

Ciao me behind......

Read this and see if you're intelligent enough to see where BaseBoard Chip equates Obama with that low-life Cement Roti.....to wit...."Correct, he (Roti) should be a community organizer (which he's been calling Obama). And do you know what the phrase "Community Organizer" is used for today? Stop being a 6-yr old. That "caio" is a lame response and an admission of acquiescence to BaseLevel's overt racism.

Maybe you should try for one of those "community Organizer" things, you might actually find your calling.  Hey, it's a start, we might even one day see "Kari for President".

Actually, I like Obama, just he has failed in about every promise and dimension, but he is a likable guy....and pull a good tune note and make a good speech.

BaseLevel....I'm an Information Technologist working next to the mecca of Capitalism (the NY Stock Exchange). I'm also a graduate Economist (From London) and a free-market proponent. I'm also someone with a sense of social conscience with a nuanced view of human progress; and a consensus builder with an appreciation for people who use principled position even though such principles need adapting - like my views on religion, which I see as a living, dynamic phenomenon and not a static, rigid, human exercise. If you know me you will know that I would be lousy at Community Organizing or Politics.

.I'm an Information Technologist working next to the mecca of Capitalism (the NY Stock Exchange). I'm also a graduate Economist (From London) and a free-market proponent

.........................................................................................................

When you can't win an argument you resort to boasting about your credentials..  I am sure GNI does have more accomplished folks who keep a low profile.