When the runner in suit was up on the podium speaking, there were kids who came in with him, carrying kites in the shapes of what appeared to be birds. The one girl standing behind him was startin fo grate pon my nerves. Not that I believe in hitting to get a point across but is like if ever there was a reason for a slight backhan, that was it.

I was hoping fo see more of that Brazilian shaved p,...oops...,ammmm, Brazilian girls in their or (out their) real skimpy costumes. Iman not a prayin man but I found myself sayin something about if the main man could only bounce in an help in some ..ahem...costume malfunction.

Those costumes didn't do it for me. In my opinion, the ones they usually wear at carnival time is more desirable.

Amral posted:

Keep the politics off this topic please

How can we when the IOC President recognized the refugees who are participating in this year Olympic.

Politics created the refugees!

Islamic Dictators created the Refugees!!!

Enjoy your Saturday Uncle Nehru.

I am happy that you keep remembering the word Islam which means peace.

Insha Allah you will be reverted back to Islam one day.

Amral posted:

How can we when the IOC President recognized the refugees who are participating in this year Olympic.

The whole world will soon convert to Islam, the greatest ideals in the world!!!

Kari posted:

The US has a female athlete who's wearing a hijab

Salute!!!

She is Afro American I hope you dont get a heart attack now!!!

Afor, Indo, Chinesse, no matter the color of the skin, we are one!

Repeat Allah O Akbar!

Holy crap!  I hope she doesn't turn out to be a suicide bomber.  They can really get some casualties in a crowded arena.  

Go wash your salt fish and cook.

Amral posted:

Oh yes yuh know how I am eager to ride a camel and build a sand house.

(CNN)The Olympics for French gymnast Samir Ait Said ended in brutal fashion Saturday when he suffered a broken left leg while vaulting during the men's team qualifications.

It was the kind of injury that made spectators hurriedly look away and caused teammates to bury their heads.
French gymnastics officials tweeted that he fractured his tibia and fibula and would have surgery as soon as possible.
They said he thanked fans for their support and would be back to win gold at the Tokyo Olympics in 2020.
alena06 posted:
Kari posted:

The two of you better watch it. The lady in question will bring another fake stalking thread. She did it for something not even remotely similar to this, and she put it in the title of the thread for all eternity.

Hehe..you can only rant behind her back.  GNI presser footer!!!

How u doing Ms Alena? Is Bibi atoning for labeling this presser footer (I haven't heard that Guyanese vernacular in a long time) a sexual stalker with pure fakery by her absence?

Bronze medalist Kylie Masse of Canada and gold medalist Katinka Hosszu of Hungary. Bronze medalist Kylie Masse of Canada and gold medalist Katinka Hosszu of Hungary.

Jean Levac/ Postmedia

Kylie Masse of Canada wins a bronze in the women’s 100m backstroke final.

RIO DE JANEIRO — The bright peach-painted fingernails on Canadian Kylie Masse’s hand never felt so perfect.

Racing her heart out — and on her back with no view of the finish of the race of her life — the LaSalle, Ont. swimmer got there just in time to join this incredible Canadian pool party.

And when she finally looked up, Masse became her country’s third Olympic medallist in the pool — in three nights, no less — finishing in a dead heat for bronze in the women’s 100-metre backstroke.

With the results so far, who knows where it will end for a women’s team brimming in confidence and showing a killer kick in the late stages of almost every race they are in?

Given that it had been 20 years between medals for Canadian women, they’ve already wildly exceeded expectations from everyone outside of their own pool deck.

“From the performances (of the relay bronze on Saturday) and Penny (Oleksiak’s silver on Sunday), it’s really inspiring,” said the compact University of Toronto star. “It really gives each athlete hope for their own successes.

“It’s super exciting. I think we are all in shock and super pumped for Canada.”

=Continued=

Kylie Masse swims to surprise bronze medal as Canada’s breakthrough in the Olympic pool continues

Postmedia Network | August 8, 2016 11:21 PM ET, http://news.nationalpost.com/s...ympic-pool-continues

Usain Bolt Says Rio 2016 Will Be His Final Olympic Games

The 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympics will be the final time track and field fans get to see Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt in action during the Games.

During a press conference Monday, Bolt said this year's Olympics will be his last, per Jay Busbee of Yahoo Sports.

"Yes, this is the last Olympics for sure," the sprinter said. "I have done everything and have proven myself."

Bolt also said "a lot of people aren't happy" about his decision, which Busbee speculated was a reference to his fans and sponsors.

While Bolt's supporters would love to see him chase gold medals again in 2020, he will be 33 years old during the Tokyo Olympics.

Bolt said he "really, really" wants to keep his world record in the 200 meters and said "it's going to take sub-19 [seconds]" to do so, per Busbee. Bolt holds the record at 19.19 seconds, and a sub-19-second race would add a memorable exclamation point to his Olympic career.

Anything he does in Rio, however, will only add to what is already one of the most illustrious resumes in the sport.

Bolt won gold medals in the 100 meters, 200 meters and 4x100-meter relay at both the 2008 Beijing Games and 2012 London Games. He also swept those three events at the 2009, 2013 and 2015 World Championships. He could have done the same in 2011 if not for a false start in the 100-meter final.

Bolt holds the world record of 9.58 seconds in the 100 and helped set the 36.84-second record in the 4x100 relay. Perhaps his most memorable performance came at the 2008 Games, where he destroyed the competition in the 100 meters and began celebrating before he crossed the finish line.

Somehow, he had managed to set a world record (then 9.69 seconds) and announce himself as an international superstar without going full speed for the entire race.

PEDRO UGARTE/Getty Images

Less than a month ago, there were questions about whether Bolt would get the opportunity to compete in the 2016 Games. According to NBC Olympics' Seth Rubinroit, the sprinter withdrew from Jamaica's Olympic trials because of a hamstring injury. While United States athletes must compete in the trials to reach the Olympics, injured athletes can apply for a medical exemption in Jamaica.

As a result, Bolt has the chance to compete in Rio and give fans a few more memorable moments on his way out. He is the defining figure of a generation of track and field athletes and will be remembered as one of the best Olympians in history.

What Canada did on Day 5 at Rio 2016: Canada extends medal streak

, August 10, 2016, 5:27 PM, http://www.sportsnet.ca/olympi...ay-canucks-rio-2016/

Canada celebrates their bronze medal win in the women's 4 x 200-metre freestyle relay. (Sean Kilpatrick/CP)

RIO DE JANEIRO — What Canada Did on Wednesday at the Rio Summer Olympic Games:

SWIMMING

Men’s 100 freestyle — Santo Condorelli, Kenora, Ont., finished fourth in the final (47.88) — edged out of the bronze by 0.03 seconds.

Women’s 100 freestyle — Penny Oleksiak, Toronto, was fifth overall in qualifying (53.53), and posted the second-fastestmark in the semifinals (52.72) — 0.01 seconds away from setting an Olympic record; Chantal Van Landeghem, Winnipeg, was ninth in qualifying (53.83), but 10th overall in the semifinal round (54.00) and did not advance.

Women's 200 breaststroke -- Kierra Smith, Kelowna, B.C., had the sixth-fastest time in qualifying (2:23.69), and will race in the final after finishing eighth-overall in the semis (2:22.87); Martha McCabe, Toronto, was 23rd in qualifying (2:28.62), did not advance.

Women's 4x200 relay -- Katerine Savard, Pont-Rouge, Que.; Taylor Ruck, Scottsdale, Ariz.; Emily Overholt, West Vancouver, B.C.; and Kennedy Goss, Toronto, were sixth overall in qualifying (7:51.99); Brittany McLean, Toronto, and Penny Oleksiak replaced Overholt and Goss in the final, and Canada set a Canadian record in winning the bronze medal (7:45.39). It was Oleksiak's third medal of these Games (one silver and two bronze).

ARCHERY

Women's individual -- Georcy-Stephanie Thiffeault Picard, Montreal, lost in the opening round to Ya-Ting Tan of Chinese Taipei, 7-1.

Men's individual -- in his head-to-head opener, Crispin Duenas, Toronto, edged Marco Galiazzo of Italy, 10-9 in a shootout; was eliminated with a 7-3 loss to Zach Garrett, U.S., in the round-of-16.

BASKETBALL

Women -- Kia Nurse, Hamilton, had 14 points to lead Canada (3-0) to a 68-58 win over Senegal.

CYCLING (ROAD)

Women's individual time trial -- Tara Whitten, Calgary, finished seventh in 45 minutes, 1.16 seconds; Karol-Ann Canuel, Gatineau, Que., placed 13th (46:30.93)

Men's individual time trial -- Hugo Houle of Ste-Perpetue, Que., was 21st in one hour, 17 minutes and 2.04 seconds.

EQUESTRIAN

Individual dressage grand prix -- Megan Lane, Collingwood, Ont., and her horse, Caravella, are ranked 11th following the first day of competion with 71.286 points.

FENCING

Women's individual foil -- Eleanor Harvey, Hamilton, def. Anissa Khelfaoui of Algeria, 15-6; won 15-11 over Italian Arianna Errigo; was eliminated after losing in the quarter-finals 15-13 to Ines Boubakri of Turkey.

Men's individual sabre -- Joseph Polossifakis, Montreal, was eliminated following a 15-6 loss in the opening round to Aliaksandr Buikevich of Belarus.

JUDO

Women's 70-kilogram class -- Kelita Zupancic, Whitby, Ont., won her opening match over Esther Stam of Georgia, 0-0s1; lost in the quarter-finals 10-0 to Haruka Tachimodo of Japan; and was eliminated with a 10-1 loss in the repechage to Austrian Bernadette Graf.

SAILING

470 class -- Graeme and Jacob Saunders, both Chester, N.S., were 26th and 20th in Wednesday's races and are tied for 24th overall with a score of 46.

Finn class -- Tom Ramshaw, Toronto, placed 22nd and 13th in the day's races, and is 19th overall with 66.

Nakra 17 -- Nikola Girke, West Vancouver, B.C., and Luke Ramsay, Vancouver, finished fourth and 17th, with the third race of the day postponed. They rank 10th with a total of 21.

Men's laser -- Lee Parkhill, Oakville, Ont., was 19th and 20th to stand 30th overall (161) after six legs of the event.

Women's laser radial -- Brenda Bowskill, Toronto, finished 10th and 19th, and is 19th after six races (103).

WEIGHTLIFTING

Women's 69 kilogram class -- Marie-Eve Beauchemin-Nadeau, Candiac, Que., was ninth overall in the event with a score of 228.

Rio Olympics 2016: Simone Biles dominates to win all-around gold

, http://www.bbc.com/sport/olympics/37021270

American gymnast Simone Biles produced a stunning performance to win the women's all-around Olympic gold medal.

Biles, 19, who has won 10 World Championship medals since 2013, scored 62.198 to win her second Olympic medal by a margin of more than two points.

Compatriot Alexandra Raisman got silver with Russia's Aliya Mustafina third.

Great Britain's Ellie Downie came 13th, narrowly missing out on becoming the best performing female British gymnast in an Olympic all-around final.

Biles lives up to billing

Simon Bileshttp://ichef.bbci.co.uk/onesport/cps/624/cpsprodpb/1024E/production/_90762166_simonebiles.jpgBiles has won gold in the team and individual all-around finals in Rio

Biles, described by many as the greatest ever gymnast, had arrived in Rio as the overwhelming favourite for gold and the 4ft 8in athlete delivered in a big way.

Having already led the United States to victory in the team event, she turned the spotlight on her individual brilliance with a dazzling display of power, agility and gravity-defying moves.

She went ahead after the first of four disciplines with a score of 15.866 on vault, although she dropped back to second with 14.966 on the uneven bars, with Mustafina taking the lead at the halfway point.

Biles then turned on the style with an acrobatic beam routine that included a stunning spin to score 15.433 before a floor routine to samba music packed with energetic tumbles, including the move that bears her name.

She scored 15.933 for that final routine and burst into tears when the victory was confirmed.

The United States have now won this event four times in a row, following victories by Carly Patterson in 2004, Nastia Liukin in 2008 and Gabrielle Douglas in 2012.

Biles has more chances for success in Rio as she is also in the vault final on Sunday, the beam final on Monday and the floor final on Tuesday.

Simone Bileshttp://ichef.bbci.co.uk/onesport/cps/624/cpsprodpb/7DCE/production/_90760223_simone_biles_floor.jpgSimone Biles included a tumbling move that is named after her during her floor routine on her way to a huge score of 15.933 - the highest score on a single piece of apparatus from any of the gymnasts in the final

Downie misses out on British record

Britain's Max Whitlock had won a bronze medal in the men's event on Wednesday, but Downie's medal hopes ended with a poor score on her third apparatus, the uneven bars, before she made another error on beam.

Those mistakes saw her drop down from seventh to 13th, to miss out on emulating her sister Becky Downie, who came 12th in the all-around final at the 2008 Olympics in Beijing.

Seventeen-year-old Ellie Downie, the winner of the BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year award in 2015, gained a total of 56.883 after scores of 14.300 on floor, 15.100 on vault, 13.783 on uneven bars and 13.700 on beam.

'No-one thinks they can beat Simone'

Gold medallist Simone Biles said: "I'm very excited and relieved, I've finally done it. You never know the feeling until it hits you.

"I'm not the next Usain Bolt or Michael Phelps, I'm the first Simone Biles. To me I'm just the same Simone."

"I'm sure most people don't go into it thinking they can beat Usain Bolt, so it's kind of the same thing.

"We are like sisters. I told her before today, I want you to win and I want second."

Ellie Downiehttp://ichef.bbci.co.uk/onesport/cps/624/cpsprodpb/6D66/production/_90760082_ellie_downie2.jpgGreat Britain's Ellie Downie was competing at her first Olympic Games

Great Britain's Ellie Downie said: "I was really happy with how floor and vault went. On bars I lost a bit of concentration, which is something I'll learn from.

"On beam I didn't feel nervous and the actual routine was really good but the landing I needed to focus more.

"It's mixed emotions knowing if I had gone clean I had a chance of a medal, which shows I'm right up there. That's a big positive to take out of these Games.

"It's been a bit of a rollercoaster experience but I'm very proud of what I've achieved."

Guyana at the 2016 Summer Olympics

Flag of Guyana

IOC code GUY
NOCGuyana Olympic Association
http://www.digplanet.com/wiki/...2016_Summer_Olympics

Guyana is scheduled to compete at the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, from 5 to 21 August 2016.

Athletics (track and field)

Guyanese athletes have so far achieved qualifying standards in the following athletics events (up to a maximum of 3 athletes in each event):[1][2]

Key

• Note–Ranks given for track events are within the athlete's heat only
  • Q = Qualified for the next round
  • q = Qualified for the next round as a fastest loser or, in field events, by position without achieving the qualifying target
  • NR = National record
  • N/A = Round not applicable for the event
  • Bye = Athlete not required to compete in round

Track & road events

AthleteEventHeatSemifinalFinal
ResultRankResultRankResultRank
Winston George400 m      

Field events

AthleteEventQualificationFinal
DistancePositionDistancePosition
Troy DorisTriple jump    

Women Track & road events

AthleteEventHeatQuarterfinalSemifinalFinal
ResultRankResultRankResultRankResultRank
Brenessa Thompson100 mBye      
200 m  N/A    
Aliyah Abrams400 m  N/A    

Swimming

Guyana has received a Universality invitation from FINA to send two swimmers (one male and one female) to the Olympics.[3][4][5]

TimeRankTimeRankTimeRank
Hannibal GaskinMen's 100 m butterfly58.5742Did not advance
Jamila SanmooganWomen's 50 m freestyle      

Did the PNC contingent win any medals yet at the olympics? I noticed that they shut out the IndoG's from the team. 

Still trying hard to be a jackass?  At the 2012 Olympics India won 6 medals, NONE gold.  In 2011 India won 3 with one gold.   India won in shooting, badminton and wrestling.  None of these are sports that Guyana is known to excel at.

Jamaica won 11 medals in 2008 (6 gold) and 12 medals in 2012 (4 gold).

Druggie once again trying too hard to be an idiot.  Which Olympic sport do you think Indo Guyanese excel at, but are excluded?

I can't seem to get a dam thing on Indoor cycling. This runs 11th-16th. All I see is about one min that's it. What derass, they show swimmers walking in, they go through their antics, they swim, this goes on for an hour or two. Cycling comes on, soon as I hit the button to get the volume higher, dam thing done..one minute rass.

I have seen it on NBCSN

Did the PNC contingent win any medals yet at the olympics? I noticed that they shut out the IndoG's from the team. 

Guyana is like a horse race I once  saw. The race was over and the winner was declared when the last horse was still about 100 yards away from the finish pole. The last horse was owned by a Guyanese.

Still trying hard to be a jackass?  At the 2012 Olympics India won 6 medals, NONE gold.  In 2011 India won 3 with one gold.   India won in shooting, badminton and wrestling.  None of these are sports that Guyana is known to excel at.

Jamaica won 11 medals in 2008 (6 gold) and 12 medals in 2012 (4 gold).

Druggie once again trying too hard to be an idiot.  Which Olympic sport do you think Indo Guyanese excel at, but are excluded?

Who cares about Indian. We are talking about the Guyanese Afros.  Maybe the PPP kept them down all those 23 years that we have to wait for the next Olympics to see them flourish. But I don't see this happening as he is more content on filling his pockets and excluding Indians rather than financing sports.

? I noticed that they shut out the IndoG's from the team

Who cares about Indian.

You were the one wailing about no Indians in the team.

All of the people on the team were raised during the PPP era.  Guyana won a medal in 1980.

? I noticed that they shut out the IndoG's from the team

Who cares about Indian.

You were the one wailing about no Indians in the team.

All of the people on the team were raised during the PPP era.  Guyana won a medal in 1980.

I meant India Indians. Why bring them into the equation? I don't see you drawing the same analysis based on Africans from Africa performance. There has been systematic exclusion of IndoG's from Guyanese sports by Blacks even under the PPP because of the Blacks in charge of sports.   Look how a lil Indo bai like me buss up that loudmouth Nuff years ago. Imagine what could come out of Guyana's Indians if they were given a fair shake. 

I meant India Indians. Why bring them into the equation?

Because you all are always wailing how Indian you are. When Nagamootoo said that he was a Guyanese it offended the vast majority of you all.

Now what sports have Guyanese Indians been talented at, but been prevented from being included. 

I note the racial composition of the T&T team and they do reach the finals, and even win medals.  T&T won 4 medals at the 2012 Olympics.

So tell me about which Indo Guyanese would beat Usain Bolt.

Bolt shines bright, wins another 100-metre gold in Rio

Eddie Pells, The Associated Press, Published Sunday, August 14, 2016 9:40PM EDT, Last Updated Sunday, August 14, 2016 11:15PM EDT http://www.ctvnews.ca/sports/b...old-in-rio-1.3028694

Usain BoltJamaica's Usain Bolt, second left, celebrates winning the men's 100-metre final during the athletics competitions of the 2016 Summer Olympics at the Olympic stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Sunday, Aug. 14, 2016. (David J. Phillip/AP Photo)

RIO DE JANEIRO -- Usain Bolt sauntered onto the track, stretched out his arms and waved his hands, signalling for more applause.

He knew how this night was going to go.

Bolt's swan song in the Olympic 100 metres Sunday night was a no-doubter -- a pedestrian-by-his-standards 9.81-second sprint down the straightaway, but not so slow that he couldn't take time to point at his own chest with his thumb a step before he crossed the finish line.

"It was brilliant," Bolt said. "I didn't go so fast but I'm so happy I won. I told you guys I was going to do it."

He won his record-setting third straight title in track's featured event and his seventh Olympic gold.

He has already swept aside pretty much every sprinter who had any claim on being the greatest.

So, on a muggy night in Rio, Bolt took aim at Michael Phelps, shoving the swimmer and all his 23 medals to the background and made it official: The Bolt Games have begun.

"I told you guys I wanted to set myself apart from everybody else," Bolt said. "This is the Olympics that I have to do it at."

Bolt beat American Justin Gatlin, who was greeted by the fans with raucous boos, by .08 seconds. Andre de Grasse of Canada won the bronze.

Bolt has a chance for two more golds -- in his favourite race, the 200 final Thursday, then in the 4x100 relay Saturday night.

He wasn't the only one to put on a show Sunday.

A few minutes before his race, world champion Wayde van Niekerk of South Africa eclipsed what many thought was the most-unbreakable record in the book -- Michael Johnson's 17-year-old mark of 43.18 seconds in 400 metres.

Running out of Lane 8, where the lag puts him well in front of the rest of the field, van Niekerk never saw a soul -- crossing in 43.03 and only glancing to his left when he approached the line to peer at the clock, which showed him what he had done.

"Usain Bolt will be retiring soon, but this could be the next star of the sport," Johnson said during his commentary on BBC.

But Bolt isn't done quite yet.

The 6-foot-5 sprinter/celebrity overcame his typically slow unfurling from the blocks -- he was second-to-last after the break.

"I just said, 'Take your time, and chip away," he said.

Churning his legs to gradually build up speed, he eventually caught Gatlin with about 40 metres left and took it to warp speed. The rest was a matter of how hard he wanted to run to the line.

Gatlin pursued him gamely, the way he has for years. He said the short turnaround between the semifinal and final sapped his strength.

"Once we got back to the second call, we really only had 30 minutes to get ready for the finals," Gatlin said.

He finished with silver to go with his 2004 gold and 2102 bronze and, at 34, became the oldest man to win a medal in a non-relay sprint. And while Bolt was celebrating with anyone he could find, Gatlin was parading the American flag around the track virtually alone. The boos from the Brazilian crowd were the latest ugly chapter in Gatlin's saga. He's been caught for doping twice. His last ban ended in 2010. But fans in the stadium bought into the "Good vs. Evil" story line that's been pitched by the media for all these years, and they let the American have it.

"That's the first time I've gone into a stadium and they've started to boo," Bolt said. "It surprised me."

A split-second after he crossed, Bolt raised the index finger, and then, the real party began.

Bolt unlaced his now-famous gold spikes and took selfies with the fans. He turned his yellow hat backward, kneeled down and gave the crowd what it really wanted -- that famous, arching, "To the World" pose that he debuted eight years ago in Beijing.

Chants of "Bolt, Bolt, Bolt" rang out from the near-capacity stadium. Yes, the show lived up to its billing.

But this was not Bolt at his fastest. Four years ago, all three medallists broke 9.8. Nobody did this time, and neither Bolt's world record from 2009 (9.58) nor his Olympic record from London (9.63) were ever in jeopardy.

It was not Bolt at his toughest. Some might argue his gutsy effort at last year's world championships, when he overcame a season's worth of injuries to beat Gatlin by .01, might have been the grittiest race he has won.

But it certainly took hard work. Before the Olympics, Bolt hadn't run a 100 since June 30, when he pulled out of Jamaica's national championships with injuries to his left hamstring.

The rehab started immediately, with trips to Germany to see his doctor, then a warm-up 200 in London to prove to his Olympic committee that he was fit for the Olympics. Shortly after he arrived in Rio, he conceded that, yes, he wished he'd had more chances to run in real races, but that everything would be OK.

It was better than that. From the moments before he crouched into the blocks, putting his finger to his lips and asking for silence, until long after the race, when he worked the crowd, posed for photos, made the troubled world of track feel fun again.

He turns 30 the day of the closing ceremony and has insisted his Olympic days are over.

"Somebody said I can become immortal," Bolt said. "Two more medals to go and I can sign off. Immortal."

Usain BoltJ

Jamaica's Usain Bolt celebrates as he crosses the line to win gold in the men's 100-meter final during the athletics competitions of the 2016 Summer Olympics at the Olympic stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Sunday, Aug. 14, 2016. (Lee Jin-man/Usain Bolt)

I meant India Indians. Why bring them into the equation?

Because you all are always wailing how Indian you are. When Nagamootoo said that he was a Guyanese it offended the vast majority of you all.

Now what sports have Guyanese Indians been talented at, but been prevented from being included. 

I note the racial composition of the T&T team and they do reach the finals, and even win medals.  T&T won 4 medals at the 2012 Olympics.

So tell me about which Indo Guyanese would beat Usain Bolt.

Systematic marginalization of IndoG's by the Black sporting machine in Guyana has led to Indos not participating. There are many throughout the country that can be champions, but the Black people in charge of sports shut them out and send their own mediocre operatives to represent the country. But we see the direct result as we lag behind T&T, Jamaica, Barbados and the rest of the Caribbean in producing champions.  The PNC Blacks are not very talented.

But we see the direct result as we lag behind T&T, Jamaica, Barbados and the rest of the Caribbean in producing champions.  The PNC Blacks are not very talented.

If one looks at the ethnic representation from T&T it looks NO different from Jamaica.

So as the Jamaicans say "wheel and come back again".  Every flaw of Indians is because of blacks, even though you all ran the country for 23 years as if it was India.  Dominating decision making in BOTH the public and private sectors.

Aside from cricket Indians aren't interested in sports.  Just admit that and cease trying to prove that you are an idiot.  We already know that you are one.

Of the 15 medals that T&T has won since 1964 only one has been to a non black. Bovell, white, who won in swimming.

So druggie stop blaming blacks for the ills of Indians such as suicide, spousal abuse, alcoholism and the growing Indo on Indo crime induced by drug abuse.   The Indo elites ran Guyana 100% for 23 years, dominating decision making within BOTH the public and private sectors.

Dipa Karmakar’s Produnova makes India proud at Olympic Games

Dipa Karmakar finishes fourth in the Vaults final marking India’s most stupendous international achievement.

Written by Shivani Naik | Rio De Janeiro | Updated: August 15, 2016 8:13 am, http://indianexpress.com/sport...esult-score-2975774/

Dipa Karmakar, Dipa Karmakar India, dipa karmakar gymnastics, dipa karmakar medal, rio olympics dipa karmakar, dipa karmakar olympics, olympicsDipa Karmakar attempts her vault during the Vaults final at Rio 2016 Olympics. (Source: AP)

Dipa Karmakar stopped hearts around the world as she flew in the finals of the vault at the Olympics. Fourth position might be a curse across the rest of the contingent, but this was India’s most stupendous international achievement.

Sticking her best landing on the Tsukahara routine, keeping compact her feet, she would start with a 14.866. Then, seamlessly, she would pull off the Produnova — the low landing causing some anxiety before she would achieve a 15.266. This would take her to 15.066, and second position, putting her into contention for a historic medal.

It was nerveless execution by the brave Indian and there was little to fault given her three-month preparation for the entire routine.

With Simone Biles left, Dipa was third. The stunning Cheng got the American 15.900, and the next gave her the gold. In turn, it pushed Dipa to the fourth position.

Biles scooped her third gold medal with this win. World champion Maria Paseka of Russia came second with a score of 15.966 from her two vaults, while Switzerland’s Giulia Steingruber, an all-rounder and vault specialist, pipped Dipa by 0.15 of a point to take bronze.

Uzbekistan’s Oksana Chusovitina, bidding to become the oldest ever gymnast to win an Olympic medal at the age of 41, finished seventh out of the eight finalists after over-rotating on her promised Produnova. She ended with 14.933 after an unintended somersault in landing. She was 7.933 on execution, highlighting just how tough the landings tend to be.

North Korean Un Jong Hong had started with a botched second vault, but ended up with 14.900, pointing to average high scores in vault.

Canadian Shallon Olsen would hit 14.816 next, while Dipa warmed up on the sidelines.

Chinese Yuan Wang would nail the Tsukahara, for 14.866 — for the D score of 6.

But if this was uncharted territory for India, pathbreaker Dipa had forged a path. A bright blue leotard, but no longer a speck in the ocean of gymnastics.

Karmakar country: Many Dipas of Tripura taking their own leap of faith

As Dipa Karmakar attempts her Produnova in Rio today, The Indian Express travels to Tripura, India’s gymnastics capital, to trace how it all began with a SAI centre in Patiala.

Written by Aniruddha Ghosal | Updated: August 15, 2016 12:17 am, http://indianexpress.com/sport...ights-video-2973652/

Tripura’s roll of honour

Bharat Kishore Deb Burman: Won gold at the national gymnastics championships in Bombay in 1965, Tripura’s first gold in the sport at the national level

Montu Debnath: Arjuna award winner. Won 36 gold medals at different national championships.  Won gold in ‘vaulting horse’ at Indo-Soviet cultural exchange meet held in Kazakhstan (then part of the USSR) in 1969. Was captain of the national gymnastics team

Kalpana Debnath: Arjuna Award winner and national champion. Won all the gold medals at the national gymnastics championship at Surat in 1978. Was adjudged ‘All-Round Best Woman Gymnast of India’ nine times

Bisheshwar Nandi: Five-time national champion, coach of Dipa Karmakar. Was part of the team that went to 1982 Asian Games

Balaram Shil: Currently CRPF DIG, represented India at 1982 Asian Games

Bijan Saha: National champion and part of Indian team at 1982 Asian Games

Debashish Dam Choudhury: National champion who represented India at 1982 Asian Games. He captained the national team in the 1986 Asian Games

Diptanu Banik: Gold medal and two silver medals at the Tulit Petre International Gymnastics Competition in 2001 in Hungary

dipa karmakar, dipa karmakar india, dipa karmakar gymnastics, dipa karmakar background, who is dipa karmakar, dipa karmakar training, gymnastics olympics, olympics gymnastics, vaults final, gymnastics final, rio olympics, dipa karmakar medal, olympicsWith a string of medals in national competitions, Ashmita Pal, 15, is spoken of as the state’s most promising gymnast after Dipa.

dipa karmakar, dipa karmakar india, dipa karmakar gymnastics, dipa karmakar background, who is dipa karmakar, dipa karmakar training, gymnastics olympics, olympics gymnastics, vaults final, gymnastics final, rio olympics, dipa karmakar medal, olympicsBharat Kishore Deb Burman, Dalip Singh’s protege and Tripura’s first gymnastics ‘star’.

dipa karmakar, dipa karmakar india, dipa karmakar gymnastics, dipa karmakar background, who is dipa karmakar, dipa karmakar training, gymnastics olympics, olympics gymnastics, vaults final, gymnastics final, rio olympics, dipa karmakar medal, olympics Salam Sushila Devi with a photograph of her husband, Dalip Singh, who brought gymnastics to Tripura. Devi says before Singh fell in love with her, he fell for Tripura.

dipa karmakar, dipa karmakar india, dipa karmakar gymnastics, dipa karmakar background, who is dipa karmakar, dipa karmakar training, gymnastics olympics, olympics gymnastics, vaults final, gymnastics final, rio olympics, dipa karmakar medal, olympics Gymnasiums such as the Vivekananda Byamagar teach poor children for free. At some centres, they also get food in the evenings, which is a big draw.

dipa karmakar, dipa karmakar india, dipa karmakar gymnastics, dipa karmakar background, who is dipa karmakar, dipa karmakar training, gymnastics olympics, olympics gymnastics, vaults final, gymnastics final, rio olympics, dipa karmakar medal, olympics At the Khumulwng Tribal Gymnasium in West Tripura district.

dipa karmakar, dipa karmakar india, dipa karmakar gymnastics, dipa karmakar background, who is dipa karmakar, dipa karmakar training, gymnastics olympics, olympics gymnastics, vaults final, gymnastics final, rio olympics, dipa karmakar medal, olympics With balance beams of three difficulty levels, a rope ring and a vaulting board specially brought from Delhi, the Khumulwng gymnasium is the “pride of Tripura”.

dipa karmakar, dipa karmakar india, dipa karmakar gymnastics, dipa karmakar background, who is dipa karmakar, dipa karmakar training, gymnastics olympics, olympics gymnastics, vaults final, gymnastics final, rio olympics, dipa karmakar medal, olympics Montu Debnath, who in 1975 became India’s second gymnast to win the Arjuna award, now coaches children.

Rest of the Article and Source -- http://indianexpress.com/sport...ights-video-2973652/

Charter school teacher finishes Olympic journey

Troy Doris, representing his parents' home country of Guyana, finished seventh in the triple jump competition Tuesday. His best distance was 16.9 meters, less than one meter behind the gold medal-winning distance. [AP Photo/Matt Slocum)Troy Doris, representing his parents' home country of Guyana, finished seventh in the triple jump competition Tuesday. His best distance was 16.9 meters, less than one meter behind the gold medal-winning distance. (AP Photo/Matt Slocum)

The Olympic journey of Troy Doris, a charter school teacher from Chicago, has come to an end.

Doris, representing his parents' home country of Guyana, finished seventh in the triple jump competition Tuesday. His best distance was 16.9 meters, less than one meter behind the gold medal-winning distance.

Maureen Kelleher of Education Post writes that Doris is a physical education teacher at Bulls College Prep, part of the Noble Network of Charter Schools. Kelleher spoke to the principal at Bulls College Prep, who talked about how humble Doris is. "When I met Troy, he didn't walk in saying, 'Oh, I'm an Olympian,'" Principal Wendy Erskine said. "He made a very vague mention of it, saying, 'Oh, in my spare time I'm a triple jumper.' It took us a while to figure out he was going to trials."

Erskine added that Doris isn't just good at triple jump, he's good at teaching too. "Our 11th and 12th graders have high expectations for PE teachers. I've had students ask to be in his classroom. He's incredibly knowledgeable. ... He tries to talk with kids about the bigger picture, not just how to do an air squat."

Doris holds the Guyanese record in triple jump, thanks to a 17.18 meter jump in May.

The event was won by Christian Taylor of the United States, who jumped 17.86 meters. Will Claye of the U.S. won the silver medal and Dong Bin of China won bronze.

Jason Russell is a commentary writer for the Washington Examiner.

India Has a Few More Medal Hopes as Rio Olympic Games Near End

Indian badminton player P.V. Sindhu will take on Japan's Nozomi Okuhara in the semifinals of the women's singles Thursday

http://si.wsj.net/public/resources/images/BN-PL137_badmin_M_20160817064647.jpgP.V. Sindhu of India during her match against Wang Yihan of China in the women's singles quarterfinals in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Aug. 16, 2016. Photo: Marcelo del Pozo/Reuters

The summer Olympic Games in Rio are coming to an end this weekend, but India hasn’t yet fulfilled its dream of winning a medal at the multisport mega event.

That could change Thursday when Indian badminton player P.V. Sindhu, one of the country’s last remaining hopes for a medal, takes on Japan’s Nozomi Okuhara in the semifinals of the women’s singles.

In a stunning performance in the quarterfinals early Wednesday morning India time, Sindhu defeated Chinese player Wang Yihan, ranked eight spots ahead of her at no. 2 in the badminton women’s singles rankings.

Sindhu defeated Wang in two straight sets; 22-20, 21-19, in a close contest.

Most of India’s Olympic medal hopefuls are already out of the Games. A few came tantalizingly close to becoming the first Indian to win a medal this summer. Shooter Abhinav Bindra, a Beijing Olympics gold medalist, finished fourth in 10-meter air rifle event. The mixed doubles tennis team of Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna lost the bronze medal match. Dipa Karmakar, India’s first female gymnast to compete in the Olympics, also finished fourth in the women’s vaults final.

Other than Sindhu, there are still some Indian athletes in the medal contest. In men’s singles badminton, Srikanth Kidambi is competing with China’s Lin Dan in a quarterfinal game Wednesday evening India time. Wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt, a London Olympics bronze medalist, will contest on the last day of the Games.

The last time India failed to win any medals at the Olympics was 24 years ago, when the Games were held in Barcelona, Spain.

5 Things To Know About India’s Biggest-Ever Olympic Team

http://si.wsj.net/public/resources/images/BN-OT576_indo2_M_20160705040939.jpg

India will be sending its largest-ever contingent to the Olympic Games in Brazil next month. On Monday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi met with members to show his support for a team India is counting on to bring home its share of gold — and silver and bronze.

India has been participating in the Olympics since the beginning of the 20th century, but has won just 26 medals. It snagged six of those in the 2012 summer games in London, where Indian competitors took silver or bronze in shooting, boxing, badminton and wrestling events.

The government hopes for a better showing in the next games, which open in Rio de Janeiro on Aug. 5. Last year, the Sports Ministry launched a program it called the Target Olympic Podium Scheme, or TOPS, with a goal of identifying potential medal winners and funding them. Already, India’s Olympic squad this year has racked up a few firsts and distinctions.

Here are five:

1 More Than 100 Members

This is the first time India is sending more than 100 athletes to the Olympics. The number stood at 111, according to an ad  posted on Twitter from the verified account of the Sports Minister. The majority of the Olympians will participate in hockey, track and field, shooting, archery, badminton and wrestling. Officials expect the team to bag more than 10 medals.el athletics events.

2 First Woman Gymnast

Dipa Karmakar, 22 years old, has qualified to become the first female gymnast from India to take part in the Olympic Games. Ms. Karmakar started practicing gymnastics at age 7 in her home state of Tripura in northeast India. She had to overcome flat fleet to reach the world stage. She has completed a front-handspring double somersault, called “produnova,” which has been attempted by only a few gymnasts in the world in a competition.

3 First Men's Duo in Badminton

When Badminton players Manu Attri and B. Sumeeth Reddy qualified for the Olympics in May, they became India’s first men’s doubles pair to do so. Badminton’s popularity has been rising in India in recent years, partly due to the success of 2012 bronze medalist Saina Nehwal, who is currently ranked fifth in the world.

4 First Male Judoka in a Decade

Avtar Singh, from the northern state of Punjab, has become India’s first male athlete to qualify for Olympic Judo since 2004, according to The Hindu newspaper. “I didn’t expect this,” Mr. Singh told The Hindu. Mr. Singh has participated in six international events since 2015.

5 India's Second Female Sprinter

Last month, Dutee Chand, from the eastern state of Orissa became the second woman sprinter from India to qualify for the 100-meter dash in the Olympics. The last time an Indian woman competed in this event was the 1980 games in Moscow. It has been a tough journey for Ms. Chand. In 2014, she was barred by the International Association of Athletics Federations from competing as a female athlete because her body produced a level of testosterone that was normally found in males. Ms. Chand challenged the federation’s ban in the Court of Arbitration for Sport, which said she could compete in women’s national and international-level athletics events.

Corrections & Amplifications: Avtar Singh has become India’s first male athlete to qualify for Olympic Judo since 2004. A previous version of this article did not clarify that female judo athletes have qualified from India in the last decade.

Guyana at the 2016 Summer Olympics

Source -- https://www.newikis.com/en/wik...2016_Summer_Olympics

Guyana at the Olympic Games

Flag of Guyana
IOC code GUY
NOCGuyana Olympic Association
At the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro
Competitors6 in 2 sports
MedalsGold
Silver
Bronze
Total
Olympic history (summary)
Summer Games

*As British Guiana

Guyana is scheduled to compete at the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, from 5 to 21 August 2016.

Athletics (track and field)

Guyanese athletes have so far achieved qualifying standards in the following athletics events (up to a maximum of 3 athletes in each event):[1][2]

<dl><dt>Key</dt></dl>
  • Note–Ranks given for track events are within the athlete's heat only
  • Q = Qualified for the next round
  • q = Qualified for the next round as a fastest loser or, in field events, by position without achieving the qualifying target
  • NR = National record
  • N/A = Round not applicable for the event
  • Bye = Athlete not required to compete in round
<dl><dt>Men</dt><dt>Track & road events</dt></dl>
ResultRankResultRankResultRank
Winston George400 m45.775Did not advance
<dl><dt>Field events</dt></dl>
AthleteEventQualificationFinal
DistancePositionDistancePosition
Troy DorisTriple jump16.814 q16.907
<dl><dt>Women</dt><dt>Track & road events</dt></dl>
AthleteEventHeatQuarterfinalSemifinalFinal
ResultRankResultRankResultRankResultRank
Brenessa Thompson100 mBye11.727Did not advance
200 m23.657N/ADid not advance
Aliyah Abrams400 m52.795N/ADid not advance

Swimming

Guyana has received a Universality invitation from FINA to send two swimmers (one male and one female) to the Olympics.[3][4][5]

TimeRankTimeRankTimeRank
Hannibal GaskinMen's 100 m butterfly58.5742Did not advance
Jamila SanmooganWomen's 50 m freestyle28.8863Did not advance

DrugB ...

To the best of my review - no medals for Guyanese athletes.

I featured a post earlier on this thread on Troy Doris who placed eleventh in the triple jump competition event.

Of note ... Troy Doris is an US citizen representing Guyana at the games.

Ole man, like your senility problems getting worse lately.

Troy Doris made the finals of the triple jump and finished seventh. What is "an" US citizen? Is it different to a US citizen?

DG what is the report on the PNC operatives sent to represent the country of Guyana?  Did these people even make the first heat much less medal?

Do you know any Jamaicans?  Well ask them about Champs.  Then ask yourself whether the PPP devoted the same resources to develop talent as all Jamaican governments have done even BEFORE Independence.

Your whining about whether "PNC" operatives won races or not is pathetic.  How come St Kitts and Grenada have had people who win races in international meets.  And in Grenada's case TWO Olympic medals.  Because even in those islands they engage more resources in sports than the PPP did.

Are there any international level facilities or coaching in track in Guyana?

At what point does the actions of Guyanese today stop being about what the PPP did or didn't do and start being about what the current government is or isn't doing?

As soon as y'all stop crying about what Burnham did 40 years ago. 

So you are saying that you are just like those who cry about what Burnham did 40 years ago.

At what point does the actions of Guyanese today stop being about what the PPP did or didn't do and start being about what the current government is or isn't doing?

When PPP nutcases stop wailing about Burnham.

Burnham died 31 years ago.  Do you know that most Guyanese living today were either NOT born, or were babies?

There is NO proof that Granger is operating like Burnham.

The PPP was in power up to less than 2 years ago.