Originally Posted by Conscience:

A wide cross section of the Guyanese society were well pleased with the "because we care" initiative. 

They are giving away money on the pretense it is for "something" other than vote buying!!!! Which person there, on the verge of starvation because of the PPP misrule, will not reach out for a weeks worth of grocery and smile and say it is "good"? Do you not think many of them know in their hearts the corruopt PPP has taken the local practice of bribe taking/giving to new heights? Worse do you not think the people know that the government has no money that is not theirs?

Stormy, It's one of the best thing the Government did for the school children and parents are happy about it. I always say you can't argue with success. I haven't seen anywhere that the president is selling his good deed as an election gimmick. PPP don't need gimmicks to win elections.

The P.P.P gained most votes for a single party, thus according to the constitution (which is the supreme law of the land) the P.P.P was awarded the Presidency and the mantle to govern.

Since the P.P.P took office over two decades ago, every single budget, the largest allocation goes to the social sectors, especially education.

The state could not have came up with a better initiative "Because We Care".

a.         Education

4.70          Mr. Speaker, the new Education Strategic Plan for 2014 to 2018 is currently being finalised and is anticipated to focus on improving literacy rates, early childhood development, teacher training, enrolment in single sciences, technical vocational educational programmes, and more structured partnerships with private sector providers and parents.

4.71          In 2013, $28.5 billion was expended towards the final year of the last strategic plan. A sum of $2.7 billion was spent on the infrastructure of schools and other educational facilities, including commencing the reconstruction of One Mile Primary School, La Venture Secondary School and Parfaite Harmonie Primary. Additionally, the $50 million Harold B Davis Special School for differently-abled children was commissioned in January this year. In addition 16 secondary computer labs were completed as part of our efforts to ensure all secondary schools have access to IT. Another $35.2 million was expended towards the commencement of the University of Guyana Science and Technology Support initiative, while $50 million was made available to ensure greater access to tertiary level education via online programmes.

4.72          Further, in the area of teacher training we continued the upgrading programme in the communities in Regions 1, 8 and 9 permitting more hinterland persons to be eligible to access the Trained Teacher’s Certificate Programme and under which 159 teachers were certified in 2013. Additionally 177 teachers have entered the system as trained teachers from CPCE. Over $1 billion was expended on the National School Feeding Programme to the benefit of over 65,000 children, while $208 million was spent on the National Uniform Programme, benefitting over 139,000 children in our efforts to ensure improved attendance and attentiveness in the classroom.

4.73          Mr. Speaker, in 2014, the sum of $32.3 billion has been allocated towards the implementation of the first year of our new Education Strategic Plan.

4.74          This year we have allocated $2.9 billion towards the construction, rehabilitation, extension and maintenance of our educational facilities including a new and expanded Zeeburg Secondary School and the Kato Secondary complex. Moreover, we will commence implementation of a US$10 million Universal Secondary Education initiative, which will facilitate the construction of new secondary schools and provision of materials for improved teaching techniques and technology assisted learning in mathematics. Our teacher training college will continue to offer their existing programmes, as well as focus on the appraisal and development of their lecturers including having some teachers pursue postgraduate degrees. We will intensify our efforts to eliminate illiteracy and strengthen public awareness to ensure that parents understand their vital role in the literacy development of their children. In the area of ICT, Government will allocate resources to ensure that an additional 2,500 teachers are trained, and all of our secondary schools are equipped with computer laboratories before the end of 2014.

4.75          Mr. Speaker, we recognise that equipping our young people with technical vocational education training (TVET) skills linked with entrepreneurship training is an assured option for enabling their viability, and this year we will expand opportunities to include occupational programmes to support the mining and hospitality industries.

4.76          Continued emphasis will also be placed on tertiary education with an allocation of $1.4 billion towards the operation of both campuses of the University of Guyana, inclusive of $450 million for our student loan programme.  Later this year our students will have the option of online degree programmes for the first time ever. Also, through the University of Guyana Science and Technology Support initiative 14 science and technology buildings will be rehabilitated and equipped and a feasibility study for the new Centre of Excellence for the Study of Biodiversity will commence. Futher, 17 programmes have been identified for curriculum reform which will be designed and tested over a 3 year period.

excerpts from the 2014 Budget

a.         Education

4.70          Mr. Speaker, the new Education Strategic Plan for 2014 to 2018 is currently being finalised and is anticipated to focus on improving literacy rates, early childhood development, teacher training, enrolment in single sciences, technical vocational educational programmes, and more structured partnerships with private sector providers and parents.

4.71          In 2013, $28.5 billion was expended towards the final year of the last strategic plan. A sum of $2.7 billion was spent on the infrastructure of schools and other educational facilities, including commencing the reconstruction of One Mile Primary School, La Venture Secondary School and Parfaite Harmonie Primary. Additionally, the $50 million Harold B Davis Special School for differently-abled children was commissioned in January this year. In addition 16 secondary computer labs were completed as part of our efforts to ensure all secondary schools have access to IT. Another $35.2 million was expended towards the commencement of the University of Guyana Science and Technology Support initiative, while $50 million was made available to ensure greater access to tertiary level education via online programmes.

4.72          Further, in the area of teacher training we continued the upgrading programme in the communities in Regions 1, 8 and 9 permitting more hinterland persons to be eligible to access the Trained Teacher’s Certificate Programme and under which 159 teachers were certified in 2013. Additionally 177 teachers have entered the system as trained teachers from CPCE. Over $1 billion was expended on the National School Feeding Programme to the benefit of over 65,000 children, while $208 million was spent on the National Uniform Programme, benefitting over 139,000 children in our efforts to ensure improved attendance and attentiveness in the classroom.

4.73          Mr. Speaker, in 2014, the sum of $32.3 billion has been allocated towards the implementation of the first year of our new Education Strategic Plan.

4.74          This year we have allocated $2.9 billion towards the construction, rehabilitation, extension and maintenance of our educational facilities including a new and expanded Zeeburg Secondary School and the Kato Secondary complex. Moreover, we will commence implementation of a US$10 million Universal Secondary Education initiative, which will facilitate the construction of new secondary schools and provision of materials for improved teaching techniques and technology assisted learning in mathematics. Our teacher training college will continue to offer their existing programmes, as well as focus on the appraisal and development of their lecturers including having some teachers pursue postgraduate degrees. We will intensify our efforts to eliminate illiteracy and strengthen public awareness to ensure that parents understand their vital role in the literacy development of their children. In the area of ICT, Government will allocate resources to ensure that an additional 2,500 teachers are trained, and all of our secondary schools are equipped with computer laboratories before the end of 2014.

4.75          Mr. Speaker, we recognise that equipping our young people with technical vocational education training (TVET) skills linked with entrepreneurship training is an assured option for enabling their viability, and this year we will expand opportunities to include occupational programmes to support the mining and hospitality industries.

4.76          Continued emphasis will also be placed on tertiary education with an allocation of $1.4 billion towards the operation of both campuses of the University of Guyana, inclusive of $450 million for our student loan programme.  Later this year our students will have the option of online degree programmes for the first time ever. Also, through the University of Guyana Science and Technology Support initiative 14 science and technology buildings will be rehabilitated and equipped and a feasibility study for the new Centre of Excellence for the Study of Biodiversity will commence. Futher, 17 programmes have been identified for curriculum reform which will be designed and tested over a 3 year period.

excerpts from the 2014 Budget

Big lump donkey dong dong.

The thoughts of the critics against the program fell on deaf ears, the Guyanese populace turn out in their mass to uplift the grant.

Anil say Constitution

allow PPP to make or

change the Rules

as we go along

Stormy, It's one of the best thing the Government did for the school children and parents are happy about it. I always say you can't argue with success. I haven't seen anywhere that the president is selling his good deed as an election gimmick. PPP don't need gimmicks to win elections.

It would be a great thing if it was a sustained program meeting some basic needs criteria and targeted to a needy group. This is a one time give away on no specific criteria for no basic need and used as a forum to berate the opposition and that is odious, scampish and a con job. It is vote buying in its most naked form and reason to get rid of those crooks who will use any ruse, any subterfuge and any means to stay in power.

The P.P.P gained most votes for a single party, thus according to the constitution (which is the supreme law of the land) the P.P.P was awarded the Presidency and the mantle to govern.

Since the P.P.P took office over two decades ago, every single budget, the largest allocation goes to the social sectors, especially education.

The state could not have came up with a better initiative "Because We Care".

The PPP was not awarded the right to be kings. To govern in a democracy is to seek consensus and to be transparent with the states assets. These are all features the PPP are apparently allergic to. They are crooks to the core and everything they do is for the benefit of their friends and family. That is why the can only speak of their volume of spending and not to the multiplied economic effect in the society. Despite their large scale spending in education we are still last in the Caribbean. Besides the rape and destruction of the environment in mining nothing works except fishing and they are ready to give that away also. These crooks are making us serfs in our own land.

The thoughts of the critics against the program fell on deaf ears, the Guyanese populace turn out in their mass to uplift the grant.

We will agree here. The PPP is deaf and dumb when it comes to giving away or taking the states assets for their own benefit. That is why the must be gone.

Oh yes we care .........you should show more care rather than posting propaganda daily.

DEVELOPING STORY: Water from Demerara River rushing into Albouystown after koker door at Sussex Street reportedly breaks away. Details unfolding

Every year the largest portion of the national budget is allocated to the education sector.

Somebody stealing money. LAST SATURDAY on the radio program Granger said 7000 students per year drop out of school. Why so many children drop out?  

Construction, Maintenance contracts and photocopying of textbooks. Highest margin ripoffs.

I does use pirated copy of texts when I can't afford to buy them. Take this advise and make good use of it. 

Construction, Maintenance contracts and photocopying of textbooks. Highest margin ripoffs.

I does use pirated copy of texts when I can't afford to buy them. Take this advise and make good use of it. 

I don't believe in thiefin, and thiefin is using pirated intellectual property. I'm confident you don't understand what that means. Maybe my good friend Gilly can spend some time explaining this to the thief man posse.

Its a slippery slope you see, thiefin text books one day, cavorting with a murderer the next.

Who say anything about thiefing? I don't thief, I does teck and but don't give back. 

Pirating text books is thiefin. See i knew you couldn't comprehend that. Is a low breed ting doan feel no how.

Councie I notice you have not denied that ramsammy is a criminal and a murderer. Sash Sawh is crying out for justice from the grave.

BTW Norman browne is a patriot who also back in the day used to oppose the PNC government. Now he is protesting the current dictatorship. Hats off to the Gentleman.

Capitol News played an edited version of Mr.Norman Browne remarks, the whole tape which he posted on his facebook page, members of the audience chased his out of the meeting for his disrupted  and disrespectful behavior, after he hurried leave, he brag about police being called and he's not afraid to be jail. Hallmarks of APNU goons.

Councie where you generate these hallmarks from? Lumumba, Kwame and Joe Hamilton the Hockey Coach shared these intimate details with you while dem were rubbin yuh back?

Vaseline in hand or no?

Councie where you generate these hallmarks from? Lumumba, Kwame and Joe Hamilton the Hockey Coach shared these intimate details with you while dem were rubbin yuh back?

Vaseline in hand or no?

De only Intimate Detail Councie know about....

is  De Coco Butta

Vaseline Rich Conditioning Petroleum Jelly Cocoa Butter 7.5oz

Capitol News played an edited version of Mr.Norman Browne remarks, the whole tape which he posted on his facebook page, members of the audience chased his out of the meeting for his disrupted  and disrespectful behavior, after he hurried leave, he brag about police being called and he's not afraid to be jail. Hallmarks of APNU goons.

Councie where did you learn your English grammar?

A wide cross section of the population were well pleased with the "because we care" initiative by the state. The largest portion of every budget since the P.P.P took office goes to the education sector.

They are not stupid. They are taking the money and giving you the finger in the next plebiscite. Enough of them that matters are aware where the stand with the PPP. Dharamlal told them and so did the presidential guard who beat up an Amerind for calling out the president with no comment from the PPP

Vaseline in hand or no?

De only Intimate Detail Councie know about....

is  De Coco Butta

Vaseline Rich Conditioning Petroleum Jelly Cocoa Butter 7.5oz

You all should really mek Conscience a Senior Member - he has done his job for the PPP.  More vasaline for Conscience, Bharat waiting for him.