I'm all for his release provided he understands that we're an online community which means that we don't have an individual right to unilaterally veto the speech of others. Your freedom of speech does not encompass drowning out my freedom of speech through antimanish behavior like throwing a shyte ton of random vids and photos in the middle of people's conversations for the sole purpose of wrecking said conversation/exchange.

No heckler's veto!

Year in review 2014

September

CANU detains businessman in connection with narco submarine

Drug Lords & Narco

Operation In Guyana.....

No one Charged....

Swept under the Carpet

Drug agents from the Customs Anti Narcotics Unit (CANU) detained a popular Waini River businessman as they intensified their probe into the discovery of a semi-submersible vessel in the Guyana jungle.

CANU agents detained a popular Waini River businessman when this semi-submersible vessel was discovered in the jungle.

The man, who operates a large grocery and general store in the Waini River area, was removed from his home by CANU agents before being transported to the city for questioning.

The local drug agents were hoping that the businessman would be able to provide them with information about the owners of the vessel, which they believe is linked to the illegal drugs trade.

Remigrants ask Court to order GRA return detained SUVs

GRA quietly back down & Setteled

Three days after their two Sport Utility Vehicles (SUVs) were detained by the Guyana Revenue Authority, a remigrant couple has moved to the Court to have them returned. The constitutional action filed by lawyers for Narootandeo and Gharbassi Brijnanan asked for court orders to be granted, and directed to the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA), quashing the decision over the weekend  to detain two Lexus LX 570 motor vehicles, registration numbers, PRR 8398 and PRR 8399.

The two Sport Utility Vehicles [SUVs) that were detained by the Guyana Revenue Authority.

The two Sport Utility Vehicles (SUVs)

that were detained by the Guyana Revenue Authority.

According to the Brijnanans, both vehicles were imported by them after their application for remigration status was approved by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs on 3rd July, 2013, and tax exemptions granted by GRA via a letter dated 8th July, 2013.

The court action said that the grounds of the seizures were “arbitrary”, “unreasonable”, in breach of their legitimate expectations and of the provisions of the Customs Act, and was unlawful.

The Brijnanans are being represented by attorneys-at-law Robin Hunte, Ganesh Hira and Manoj Narayan. In their claims, the couple said they have homes in Number 61 Village, Berbice, and at Continental Park, East Bank Demerara, and that they were United States residents since 1997, acquiring citizenship in 2003.

Marriott Hotel’s private investors ‘yet to put a dollar’ –

Brassington still seeking partners  – Source

Jagdeo Mystry Chinese Partner...

The Georgetown Marriott Hotel is being constructed in Kingston, Georgetown and as of September the only official source of funding was the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited (NICIL).

Marriott Hotel’s private investors are ‘yet to put a dollar’.

This publication was told that despite an announcement by Atlantic Hotel Inc (AHI), its owners, the project was yet to receive the funding from its private investors, US$8M or the Republic Bank syndicated loan of US$27M.

Kaieteur News learnt that Ace Square Investments was yet to put in a single dollar, while AHI’s Winston Brassington was busy running around trying to borrow a huge sum from a Trinidad bank to help pay off the contractor who built the hotel with purely Chinese labour.

This publication confirmed that Brassington was in China seeking new investors

US$18M Specialty Hospital sinks in deeper troubleâ€Ķ

Govt. moves to terminate Surendra’s contract –

cites fraud, non-performance

Jagdeo Indian Partner

Turns out to be a Fake

like De Doctor Degree them give him...

AFC warned them about this Crook

More than two years after controversially awarding a US$18.1M ($3.7B) contract to an Indian firm to build a specialty hospital at Turkeyen, Government announced that it was moving to scrap the deal for fraud and non-performance.

The announcement came days after reports that one senior official of Surendra Engineering Company Limited (SECL) had skipped the country following a court judgment in favour of a prominent contractor which did works on the East Coast Demerara project site, but was not paid.

After building US$12.8M Enmore Packaging Plant, the former administration under President Bharrat Jagdeo then turned around and granted a US$4M contract to the Indian firm to supply 14 pumps to help reduce flooding on the coastland.

Diligent checks found that the company had no history in pumps. That contract was still mired in problems as Government was unable to say where the pumps were and whether Surendra actually supplied all of them. The answers were sketchy at best.

Regarding the specialty hospital contract, which was award in August 2012, the Government of Guyana “Press Statement” said that SECL was written to, and  “deep concerns” about the execution of the project’s design and construction were expressed. Government admitted that all was not well with the performance targets it set for Surendra and monies it had advanced.

Umana Yana destroyed by fire

MYSTRY.....

A significant part of the country’s history went up in flames after a fire, believed to be of electrical origin, completely destroyed the Umana Yana at Main Street, Kingston.

The Umana Yana was the largest structure of its kind in Guyana.

Officer in Charge of Operations at the Guyana Fire Service, Compton Sparman, told media operatives that fire crews and four tenders got to the scene within minutes, but were unable to save the structure.

“There is nothing else in there that could have started a fire, it can only be electrical, there was no cooking, no human activities going around to start a fire and fires don’t just happen, they are caused.”

No one was in the building at the time of the blaze, but a security guard who was on duty was rushed to the hospital with minor injuries. The Umana Yana stood 55 feet (16.78 metres) high and was made from thatched allibanna and manicole palm leaves, and wallaba posts lashed together with mukru, turu and nibbi vines. No nails were used.

Fashioned like the Wai-Wai benabs or shelters which are found deep in Guyana’s interior, it occupied an area of 460 square metres, which made it the largest structure of its kind in Guyana.

It was specially constructed to serve as a V.I.P. lounge and recreation spot during the Non-Aligned Foreign Ministers Conference held in Georgetown in August 1972.

OP now probing Surendra over US$4M pumps  â€“

injunction bars Guyana from releasing outstanding monies

Jagdeo Indian Partner

Turns out to be a Fake

like De Doctor Degree them give him...

AFC warned them about this Crook

Surendra Engineering Company Limited (SECL), the Indian firm accused of submitting a fake bank guarantee to Government for the Turkeyen specialty hospital, headed for even more trouble in September.

Not only did Government move to terminate that US$18M contract, filing a court case and involving the police, but an active assessment was also conducted into another controversial deal involving the supply of 14 drainage pumps to the tune of US$4M.

That contract was awarded in 2011, shortly before former President Bharrat Jagdeo ended his second term.

Minister of Legal Affairs, Attorney General, Anil Nandlall, said that both the Ministry of Agriculture and the Office of the President were reviewing the pump contract, with Government not “oblivious” to the fact that there is another deal.

However, the official declined to go into details, saying it was too early.

‘Illegally’ spent $4.5B by Finance Minister “not a police matter”

PPP wrong & Strong

Almost two months after the Leader of the Alliance for Change, (AFC) Khemraj Ramjattan, filed a complaint against the Minister of Finance, Dr. Ashni Singh, over alleged illegal expenditure in excess of $4.5B, the Guyana Police Force said that it did not find that the Minister committed a crime and legal advice is being sought. The Force, by way of a statement, said it is obligated to investigate criminal breaches only and does not conduct investigations into civil breaches or administrative breaches of the law, save and except those related to the Police (Discipline) Act Chapter 17:01 regarding the conduct of its ranks.

Jagdeo/Sattaur plot to destroy Kaieteur News unearthed

Caught Redhanded.....

Publisher of the Kaieteur News, Glenn Lall, was provided with incontrovertible evidence of a plot by former President, Bharrat Jagdeo, and Commissioner-General of the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA), Khurshid Sattaur, to bring down Kaieteur News. Confidential documentation, leaked to the publication, revealed that the Commissioner-General provided the former President with detailed tax information of a number of independent media houses in Guyana.

Commissioner-General Khurshid Sattaur

The disclosure of the information by GRA’s Commissioner-General to Jagdeo, represented a grave breach of the ‘Oath of Secrecy’ sworn to by Sattaur as an officer of the Guyana Revenue Authority, one lawyer said.

In taking the Oath, Sattaur solemnly declared that he would “truly, faithfully, impartially and honestly execute the powers vested in him.”

He also swore that he would “judge and determine upon all matters and things before him without fear, affection, or malice”.

And he swore, too, not to disclose any tax information concerning any taxpayer, but this has not been the case

Sattaur addresses issue of plot to destroy Kaieteur News â€Ķ

newspaper provides the evidence

What will happen after May 11th....

Kaieteur News reported on what it said was a plot by Commissioner General of the Guyana Revenue Authority, Khurshid Sattaur, and former President Bharrat Jagdeo, to destroy the newspaper.

The news report prompted the following response from Sattaur. “Dear Editor, Reference is made to various articles in Kaieteur newspaper edition of 21/9 of which you are well undoubtedly aware.

There would appear to be a deliberate and orchestrated effort on the part of the paper and no doubt that of the owner/publisher of the newspaper to give maximum coverage to the ongoing legal proceedings involving the vehicles imported by remigrants but “loaned to the Lalls”.

This can be construed as an apparent and continuing effort to influence the learned Chief Justice in his impending decision.

This belief is further confirmed from the most naive reference made by the editor of the publication that “this matter is before the court and I am sure it will go nowhere”.

Perhaps the editor of Kaieteur News can enlighten the public what is meant by this statement and if he is privy to information that is not in the public domain.

The GRA is still of the firm belief that the matter will be heard and determined expeditiously and justice will prevail. While this reference to a current court case and these unjustified and baseless statements may appear to the uninitiated to be innocuous, Mr. Harris should be seriously reprimanded by the Chief Justice for contempt.

The statement that “nothing in the law that says a man cannot loan his vehicle” betrays the ignorance, misapprehension, misinterpretation of the law or represents a deliberate attempt by the publication to disseminate this misinformation to the reading public.”

Man’s head found in plastic bag a few yards from body

PPP still maintain Guyana Safe

Workers attached to the Ministry Public Workers made a shocking discovery while clearing out a cemetery at Cummings Lodge, East Coast Demerara.

Hidden in a clump of bushes was the badly decomposed body of a man. The particular area where the body was found is very desolate. A few yards away a human skull and a pair of blood-stained shoelaces were found in a black plastic bag.

There was also some “heavy duty” tape wrapped around the bag.

Several other bones which appeared to be human where scattered around the scene because dogs had begun to devour the remains.

Police sources said that plastic handcuffs along with a car mat were found in the bushes close to the body.

Sattaur moves to silence Kaieteur Newsâ€Ķsues for $500M

First Brassington  now Sattaur....

PPP trying to

Muzzle Kaiteur News

While criminal charges were promised, Commissioner General of the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) has filed a lawsuit against the Kaieteur News, its Publisher Glenn Lall and Editor-in-Chief Adam Harris, seeking in excess of $500M as well as an injunction preventing the publication from repeating a number of allegations against Sattaur.

Sattaur successfully secured an interim injunction against Kaieteur News, by way of Justice Sandra Kurtzious, from circulating or causing to be published any libelous statements against him.

In the court documents filed by Sattaur, it was claimed that Kaieteur News had libeled him on no less than nine times in recent weeks, dating back as far as August 31.

Sattaur’s writ was filed by his attorneys R. Satram, CV Satram and Mahendra Satram.

Was this why Jalil was banned? He speaks the truth. Who vex, vex!

You are the boss so we have to respect your decision.

Please consider shortening his timeout.

* Riffy has been doing a great job. He even disciplined the Rev a couple of times---not suspend just called out.

* Like I mentioned elsewhere, jalil and Mitwah are serial spammers.

* Admin riffy made the right call to suspend jalil.

May 12

I can understand  how Jalil's pictures of the low turn outs at the PPP meetings are upsetting to the PPP sympathizers and the administration of GNI.

Admin could advise the complainers to use the "block" feature to ignore members whose posts  are not in their favor. I believe Jalil's ban is an order from the PPP/C.

* Riffy has been doing a great job. He even disciplined the Rev a couple of times---not suspend just called out.

Looks like Mitwah might be then next because he shows no respect to Admin Ray.

If Richard Simmons and Michael Jackson had a baby, you would be the flamboyant idiot it grows into. partybananapartybananapartybanana

I have a simple question. How many Al YUh does read the pages of CRAP Jalil Post and there is another Fella who start every morning with 12 useless Posts.  Al YUh can respond to him too.

I know I always look forward to a Kwame post first thing in the morning

And as an added bonus, I enjoy seeing pictures of random people hugging at the village level

After all the years of PNC starvation Africans are still voting race. They are voting for PNC in large numbers. This is plain and simple racist. They need to prove they are not racist by coming out in full support in Buxton and Linden for the PPP/C. If they vote 75 % for the PPP/C on May 11 we would have began to see a reason for hope and healing. The PNC should encourage its  supporters to cross over to the democratic principle. This will be a sign of reconciliation. Indians are looking for this as a sign of African coming to grip with reality.

Originally Posted by simple:

After all the years of PNC starvation Africans are still voting race. They are voting for PNC in large numbers. This is plain and simple racist. They need to prove they are not racist by coming out in full support in Buxton and Linden for the PPP/C. If they vote 75 % for the PPP/C on May 11 we would have began to see a reason for hope and healing. The PNC should encourage its  supporters to cross over to the democratic principle. This will be a sign of reconciliation. Indians are looking for this as a sign of African coming to grip with reality.

According to Caribj that is how it should be. AfroGuyanese MUST always vote PNC but he also says Indians are RACIST to Vote PPP despite the FACT that their lives has been improved ten folds.!!!!!   Sometimes a RACIST FOOL is indeed BLINDED by his acute RACISM!!!

If Moses and the AFC wants Indians to vote for them they should force the African PNC to have in their Manifesto that the people's arm forces will be balanced. That would be meaning full to all. Until all government agencies are 43 % Indians we will vote against the PNC/APNU-AFC racist. These actions will give credence to their change message. If not every thing they say will be all cheap talk.

Basically..you're saying the PPP has been incompetent

So only the PPP have the mandate to govern and they

have the brightest and best policy makers,pure hog wash.

This clearly saying Indo don't want an african as head

of state,now who are more racist????

After all the years of PNC starvation Africans are still voting race. They are voting for PNC in large numbers. This is plain and simple racist. They need to prove they are not racist by coming out in full support in Buxton and Linden for the PPP/C. If they vote 75 % for the PPP/C on May 11 we would have began to see a reason for hope and healing.

In that case, Africans will be voting for 75% more corruption and marginalization, plus 25% more Freedom-House-slaves. Plain and simple.

Mits... I agree that Freedumb House might have influenced the decision to ban Jalil from posting...I know he is a maverick at times but his postings and pictures carry very potent political messages which are very embarrassing to the cabal and their stooges.... I suggest that the ban be lifted to assert the independence of GNI......

If Moses and the AFC wants Indians to vote for them they should force the African PNC to have in their Manifesto that the people's arm forces will be balanced. That would be meaning full to all. Until all government agencies are 43 % Indians we will vote against the PNC/APNU-AFC racist.

Be honest with yourself. How many Indians are eager to become soldiers and policemen?

The PPP had 22+ years to balance the armed forces and failed. Why? Ask the Indians themselves. Ask Bisram to poll 2,000 Indians.

May 12

I hope not. You let the rev post with his 64 color crayola pack well used and his cartoon communication strategy  maximized so Jalil should not have to wait until then. 

Look, if the man can only communicate at kindergarten level, we have to be a little sympathetic 

May 12

I hope not. You let the rev post with his 64 color crayola pack well used and his cartoon communication strategy  maximized so Jalil should not have to wait until then. 

Look, if the man can only communicate at kindergarten level, we have to be a little sympathetic 

Picka laka Picka no Picha, Picha laka Picha yes Picha.  Sympathy is indeed required.   Weh Dem does find IDIOTS like dis????

May 12

Ray, with all due respect (you're the admin), I disagree with this decision of yours to suspend Jalil until May 12th. This is a move that is against free association and not worthy of the administrators of this Board.

I ask Shaitaan now as the person who started the thread that led to his cowardly act to ask you to remove the suspension and let Jalil resume his membership of this community. You have a heavy responsibility as you volunteered to serve this community of posters. You serve the owner of this BB - Amral - so caucus with him on this one.

Jalil knows that his posts and postings of photos and videos have to have impact. Littering them incessantly detracts from his message. We all counsel him. Now we counsel you, sir. Do the rightthing.

I ask Shaitaan now as the person who started the thread that led to his cowardly act to ask you to remove the suspension and let Jalil resume his membership of this community.

Can you point out where I asked for Jalil's banning? Or where I even mentioned Jalil by name? I said "AFC Goons" and for some reason Raymond knew exactly who I meant...Jalil and Horseman. And he also knew of the behavior I was referencing.

This is the second time I've asked Admin over the past few weeks to rein in the AFC Goons from deliberately and maliciously burying the other posters' threads under mountains of shyte.

Lastly, you should look at the first response I made to this very thread where I began with by stating my preference for his un-banning/release provided he can let others engage in dialogue too. This isn't Jalil's GNI or Shaitaan's GNI. We're all members of a community sharing a communal space.

P.S...I'm gonna ignore your unworthy labeling of me as "cowardly."

Shaits, the cowardly act refers to Ray's decision.

There is nothing in my post to infer that you asked for any banning. I posted about THE thread that LED to Ray's act. That thread was startd by you.

Now that we're clear on those two points in my thread that addressed Ray and mentioned Shaits only as the thread-starter, your call to the admin can make him relent and reverse this decision.

Nothing more, nothing less. I would like to see Guyanese communications be stout, smart and intelligent; not this ban, ban, ban, nonsense. It reminds me of dark days of press muzzlement and so on. We're better than that. Jalil will post smarter than incessantly littering the Board with the same Kwame this and Kwame that. Kwame will not make the PPP lose. He knows that. So let's see the right thing done. Post that call to Ray.

Shaits, the cowardly act refers to Ray's decision.

There is nothing in my post to infer that you asked for any banning. I posted about THE thread that LED to Ray's act. That thread was startd by you.

Now that we're clear on those two points in my thread that addressed Ray and mentioned Shaits only as the thread-starter, your call to the admin can make him relent and reverse this decision.

Nothing more, nothing less. I would like to see Guyanese communications be stout, smart and intelligent; not this ban, ban, ban, nonsense. It reminds me of dark days of press muzzlement and so on. We're better than that. Jalil will post smarter than incessantly littering the Board with the same Kwame this and Kwame that. Kwame will not make the PPP lose. He knows that. So let's see the right thing done. Post that call to Ray.

Thank you for clarifying that I'm merely an Antiman while Raymond is a coward

I appreciate the clarification from the Honorable Member

Anyways, I trust Raymond on this. He'll release Jalil at the appropriate time I have no doubt. He's always generous with early paroles. I, myself, have been paroled several times already this year alone

Ray

Please release Jalil Bhai. 

We all know that his Kwame postings are annoying and his alleged spamming gets out of hand at times.

This is election time and all parties need their supporters.

Please Ray, Please release Jalil Bhai.

Yuji22

This is nice of you YUJI.  I agree, all my bwoy Jalil to post.