Government to woo Indian diaspora to invest in flagship programmes during Pravasi Bharatiya Divas

The year’s event will also mark the centenary of the return of Mahatma Gandhi to India from South Africa

• By ARCHISMAN DINDA Correspondent
  • Published: 16:37 January 5, 2015
  • Gulf News

<dl>

</dl>

New Delhi: Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (Diaspora day), celebrated from January 7 - 9 to mark the contribution of the Indian diaspora towards development of the country, is being held in Gandhinagar, capital of Gujarat, this year to mark the centenary of the return of Mahatma Gandhi to India from South Africa. Gandhi returned to India from South Africa on January 9, 1915.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, along with senior cabinet ministers, including finance minister Arun Jaitley and commerce minister Nirmala Sitharaman will be addressing the session along with chief ministers of Uttar Pradesh, Kerala, Nagaland, Gujarat, Goa, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Haryana and Maharashtra.

Guyana President Donald Ramotar will be the chief guest at the 13th edition of the event and will be felicitated on the occasion. He has been the President of the South American country since 2011, where people of Indian origin form 43 per cent of the population.

Pravasi Bharatiya Divas, is the world’s largest annual gathering of people of Indian origin aimed at enhancing networking and reinforcing commercial links. There are 25 million people of Indian origin residing outside India, and this year around 3,000 people are expected to attend the event.

“This edition of the event will be far different from previous ones since the mood about India as an investment destinations has changed globally after BJP was elected in May last year. We expect the non-resident Indians to invest even more in the development of the country,” India’s foreign affairs minister Sushma Swaraj told Gulf News over phone.

“This time, a special session is being organised for the young diaspora and a special sessions to deal with the concerns of diaspora living in the Gulf countries and Francophone countries. Also a session for Indians living in countries where the descendants of Indian indentured labour live and another to address concerns of the associations of Indian diaspora,” said Swaraj.

However, the main objective of the government is to utilise the upcoming event to woo Non-Resident Indians (NRI) and Persons of Indian Origin (PIO) entrepreneurs to invest in six flagship programmes of the BJP led government, including Digital India, Make in India, Clean Ganga campaign, Swachh Bharat and skills development initiative.

“One of the key pillars of the Modi government’s foreign policy initiatives is to further strength the bond between the NRI and PIO’s and here we would like them to take stake in the flagship programs of the government to develop India,” said an official of the Ministry of Overseas affairs.

Sources indicate that Modi and Jaitley are expected to meet various NRI investors in smaller gatherings not only to make them invest but also understand the problems they face while investing. Modi is also expected to announce various visa relaxations and offer specials packages for NRIs during the event.

http://gulfnews.com/news/world...tiya-divas-1.1436485

Gandhi returned to India from South Africa on January 9, 1915.

And he took Pastor CF Andrews with him.  Charlie Andrews was sent to Guyana in 1930 to investigate  the abuse and living conditions of indenture labourers.

Reflections of CF Andrews in British Guiana 1930 by Basdeo Mangru.  

Last edited by Tola
Originally Posted by Tola:

Gandhi returned to India from South Africa on January 9, 1915.

And he took Pastor CF Andrews with him.  Charlie Andrews was sent to Guyana in 1930 to investigate  the abuse and living conditions of indenture labourers.

Reflections of CF Andrews in British Guiana 1930 by Basdeo Mangru.  

About 25 years back I met a man from India at Guyanese fella function. The Guyanese revered Mahatma Gandhi. The Indian questioned him about his understanding of Gandhi's policy as it relates to the Untouchables. It was an amicable quiet exchange-both highly educated men.

Quiet recently, I read Adruthi Roy's comment about removing Gandhi's name from the public. She claims he did nothing to improve the lot of the Untouchables. Ms. Roy is the author of, "The god of small things." It was an interesting read. Even the Kerala Communists was fearful to engage castism, they treated it as a class struggle. Whilst reading, I drew the parallel with our own Guyanese experiences. Our brand of Communist failed to the see

divisions as racism. Instead, the Jagans viewed it as a class struggle as well.

Like the GREAT Mahatma, President Ramotar returns to BHARAT MATA. And like the Mahatma he will be welcome and revered.

You DO NOT INDIANS-they hate abee. DEy c something with we and we doan know wah it is. MAybe dem tink we is Untouchables.

This is ironic that the PPP is attending a Diaspora day in India. The PPP should hold Diaspora days of their own and entertain various speakers to comment on their corrupt behavior etc.

This would make for very interesting viewing.

Like the GREAT Mahatma, President Ramotar returns to BHARAT MATA. And like the Mahatma he will be welcome and revered.

the people want some one to shit on that is their pass time in INDIA 

Wah you nah mek de jorney and open you mouth?

you ppp low life is fully  occupied in this field   

No comeback heh? Dah all you gat? 

u no competition   

You dhall gutney ah get wan good wuk out.

maybe you should go look for a honest work 

I have been an honest employee for 46 years. Probably started working before you were born. Ask yourself if you would live to work 40 years.

stealing from guysuco is what u ppp call honest work