Ramotar accuses APNU, AFC of Manipulating Elections Results
Posted By Stabroek staff On February 14, 2012 In Local |

President Donald Ramotar has accused APNU and AFC of “manipulating” the results of last year’s general elections and cheating the PPP/C of a majority victory—new claims for which opposition leader David Granger said he would be demanding an explanation.
“For sure, I think we had over 50%. I think we lost some votes, no doubt, but I don’t think we lost enough to bring us under 50%, but the results were through manipulation,” Ramotar was quoted as saying in an interview published in the Guyana Chronicle’s Sunday edition, when asked whether the PPP/C was robbed. “My own realistic assessment was that we had probably between 52 [and] 53%,” he said, while also indicating that his party withdrew requests for partial recounts to avert any outbreak of violence.

“This is really so ludicrous and fantastic that it is difficult to respond,” opposition leader and APNU Chairman David Granger told Stabroek News last evening, in response to Ramotar’s reported statements. “The whole idea is ridiculous—that the opposition, which does not control the process, does not determine where the polling stations are, should be capable of manipulating the results!”

Attempts to elicit a comment from the AFC’s Khemraj Ramjattan yesterday were futile.

Based on the official results from the Guyana Elections Commission (Gecom), the Ramotar-led PPP/C gained 48.6% of the valid votes counted and 32 seats in the 65-seat National Assembly; APNU gained 40.8% of the votes and 26 seats; and AFC 10.3% of the votes and seven seats. As a result, while the incumbent managed to secure presidency, the opposition has a one-seat majority in the National Assembly.

However, according to the Guyana Chronicle interview, Ramotar said the PPP/C leadership was aware that the party had amassed a minimum 53% of the votes at the polls, based on the reports from its polling agents.

Ramotar suggested that the opposition parties manipulated the elections results by scaring away polling agents in South Georgetown and other areas and by penetrating Gecom. “…They did a lot of wicked things in South Georgetown and some other areas, where they created an atmosphere not to have any PPP/C polling agents around, and they managed to get them out by terrible hostility and threatening violence and so on. I think, also, that you’re right again and that they penetrated Gecom and controlled (to some extent) the elections machinery, where they were not even taking instructions from the Chairman or the Chief Elections Officer and they were doing a lot of manipulation at that point in time. Even with the counting, I understand that they kept people far away so that they could not see what was happening. That was confirmed to me by independent observers; so you are right, I think that there was some level of manipulation on the part of the opposition,” he was quoted as saying.

Prior to the declaration of the elections results, the PPP/C did request recounts of votes in three regions but subsequently withdrew the request.

According to Ramotar, the decision to withdraw the recount requests was in order to ensure there was no violence. “We wanted to ensure that there was no break out of violence, because we think that would have held back our country if we went down that road. As far as the development of Guyana was concerned it would have had a very negative effect and so we chose at that point in time to call off the recount; but that was not the only reason,” he said.

A Gecom official, who questioned the timing of Ramotar making known the PPP/C’s position, noted that anyone with concerns about the results could have mounted a challenge through an elections petition. Under the National Assembly Validity of Elections Act, a petition would have had to have been filed within 28 days of the January 10, 2012 gazetting of the elections results.

"Serious charges"
Meanwhile, Granger, who emphasised that APNU remains committed to resolving the country’s problems in the continuing tripartite engagement with the PPP/C and AFC, said that the coalition would be seeking an explanation from Ramotar, while adding that his comments were “un-statesmanlike” and “damaging” to the way people would perceive the head-of-state.

According to Granger, Ramotar, by turning the facts on the head, seemed to be trying to give the public an excuse for the “miscarriage that was about to be perpetrated” when the Returning Officer for Region Four almost made a false declaration that would have given the PPP/C a majority. He referred to the attempt to declare results for Region Four without some 10,000 votes from South Georgetown. “We are prepared to examine the polls and we are doing so by examining the statements of polls,” he said, referring to APNU’s efforts to reconcile the original statements of poll in Gecom’s possession with those in possession of the coalition’s polling agents.

Granger, who noted that there were several problems with the elections, said “several examples of misdemeanours” perpetrated by the PPP/C administration, including attempted invasions of polling stations near the close of polls by known members of the ruling party, including Kwame McCoy and Odinga Lumumba, to disrupt the elections process.

He also pointed to polling stations that were relocated to private residences in some areas at the last minute, while contending that the PPP/C won between 80% and 90% of the votes cast at these locations.

He also took offence at Ramotar’s suggestion in the Chronicle interview that the PPP/C lost a seat in Linden due to racial campaigning by the opposition. Of the 15,816 people that voted in Linden, APNU received 11,353 of the valid votes cast to capture the region’s two geographic constituency seats, while the PPP/C received 2,868 votes. Ramotar said, “We had a seat in Linden the last term, so I am disappointed that we lost that seat this time around. I think we lost some support there largely because the opposition carried a very strong racial line in their campaign. We received 17% of the votes, which is still very good, but I cannot deny that the racial line on which they campaigned did have an impact. It is their normal strategy; and this time it was worse because they pushed the racial line in a very hard way.”

In response, Granger said Ramotar should apologise to APNU and to the people of Linden for his statements. “Mr Ramotar needs to move from being PPP General Secretary and start being president of all of Guyana,” Granger said, emphasising that the accusation of racism “can’t be taken lightly.” The people of Linden, he added, voted against the PPP/C because of the “real anger” over the administration’s treatment of the region.

“The vote was not a racist vote, but a reaction to PPP taking Linden for granted,” Granger said, while citing the anger in the region over the state’s continued monopoly of the airwaves there as well as the bad roads and other deteriorating infrastructure.
“When you talk about racism, people came over to APNU when they heard the evidence from Jagdeo-Kissoon libel case and the evidence of Dr [Roger] Luncheon and what was really going on,” he said.

“We are not going to ignore this,” he said, “because those are serious charges.”

Originally posted by redux:
Ramotar suggested that the opposition parties manipulated the elections results by scaring away polling agents in South Georgetown and other areas and by penetrating Gecom. “…They did a lot of wicked things in South Georgetown and some other areas, where they created an atmosphere not to have any PPP/C polling agents around, and they managed to get them out by terrible hostility and threatening violence and so on. I think, also, that you’re right again and that they penetrated Gecom and controlled (to some extent) the elections machinery, where they were not even taking instructions from the Chairman or the Chief Elections Officer and they were doing a lot of manipulation at that point in time. Even with the counting, I understand that they kept people far away so that they could not see what was happening. That was confirmed to me by independent observers; so you are right, I think that there was some level of manipulation on the part of the opposition,” he was quoted as saying.

Ramotar ... STFU

You are such a cry-a-baby.

By the way ... why is Jagdeo dropping his law suit for the princely sum of US$50K. Is he embarassed to take the stand now that his black house negro Luncheon has taken the stand for 3 weeks and he now realizes he will be the laughing stock of the country?

The PPP need to wake up and see that they squandered 18 years of leadership. The people have spoken.

These PPP guys are crying bloddy murder, they should try running a country like Obama where the opposition vocally declares its main purpose is to make him a one term president and stand in the path of a rebouncing economy and lower unemployment.
Didn't the PPP state it was a free and fair elections after Nov 28th?

That's when they thought winning the executive branch would allow to run the country as they did in the old days. They now have parliament to deal with. I think they never really understood what the powers of the legislative branch meant under the constitution.

What a bunch of LOSER canecuttahs.
PPP cries uncle! Smile

cry uncle
Definition: admit defeat or loss; to give in

Explanation: Used when declaring that someone has beat you. This form is often used in the question form when asking someone else to admit defeat.

Examples: Are you going to cry uncle, or do I need to punish you some more? - I cried uncle and we got on with our business.
Originally posted by Nuff:
Originally posted by redux:

Ramotar ... STFU

You are such a cry-a-baby.

By the way ... why is Jagdeo dropping his law suit for the princely sum of US$50K. Is he embarassed to take the stand now that his black house negro Luncheon has taken the stand for 3 weeks and he now realizes he will be the laughing stock of the country?

The PPP need to wake up and see that they squandered 18 years of leadership. The people have spoken.

These PPP guys are crying bloddy murder, they should try running a country like Obama where the opposition vocally declares its main purpose is to make him a one term president and stand in the path of a rebouncing economy and lower unemployment.

Dah was da news donk hay, coolies bin freiken fa go vote pon elekshun day. Dem black man was out threatening coolie peeple. Dem PNC old way come out bak, dem tink wazz lang time. Anyway, e' nah wuk and coolies kech sense again. Black man nah change, dem wait fa bury abie in abie own kuntry. Diss time wah wan good lil test fa da PNC style, and me cyan seh, dem same ole same ole. Nevva again. Abie gon mek shure black man geh dem rightes, abie nah staan fa wrangness pan nobady, but nat da PNC and da GDF rule ovva abie again.
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
Dah was da news donk hay, coolies bin freiken fa go vote pon elekshun day. Dem black man was out threatening coolie peeple. Dem PNC old way come out bak, dem tink wazz lang time. Anyway, e' nah wuk and coolies kech sense again. Black man nah change, dem wait fa bury abie in abie own kuntry. Diss time wah wan good lil test fa da PNC style, and me cyan seh, dem same ole same ole. Nevva again. Abie gon mek shure black man geh dem rightes, abie nah staan fa wrangness pan nobady, but nat da PNC and da GDF rule ovva abie again.
Just for the record.

I gave up reading after the first sentence. I could decipher greek and the morse code easier.
Just for the record.

I gave up reading after the first sentence. I could decipher greek and the morse code easier.

Da nah chage da faks. Too had foa you swallaw, eh.
. . . coolies bin freiken fa go vote pon elekshun day. Dem black man was out threatening coolie peeple.

You remain a BOLD FACED LIAR and FRAUD!!

The "coolies" U claim were "freiken fa vote" voted AFC on election day . . . and alyuh Freedom House antimen still can't get over it!!
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
Indeed it is very plausible that the PNC did indeed rig the elections as evidenced by the CIA documents, they are very capable of insidious methods to attaining power.

What CIA documents can you show which indicate that in 2011 the PNC had the power to rig. Most of Burnham's riggers were with Jagdeo.
coolies bin freiken fa go vote pon elekshun day. Dem black man was out threatening coolie peeple. ain.

And of course you were on the road hoping t get a good thrashing "from wan big strang, ignarant black man" so you know all this.

Did you get your wish?..a good sound beating. Seems not.
The above story is being peddled by Bibi Shadick (former Minister)since December 2011. I don't know about the accuracy of her claims but she is saying fake polling material was used somewhere in West Demerara......
Originally posted by caribj:
Indeed it is very plausible that the PNC did indeed rig the elections as evidenced by the CIA documents, they are very capable of insidious methods to attaining power.

What CIA documents can you show which indicate that in 2011 the PNC had the power to rig. Most of Burnham's riggers were with Jagdeo.

What they did in the past is indicative of future capabilities. Indeed they rigged the elections again but could only do so in areas where the Blacks were majority such as Georgetown and Linden. They again hijacked the process using intimidation, much the same during the Jim Crow era in the US, but this time it was reversed against Indians. HHHHHAHAHAHHA
Black people win, they rigged the elections. Black people lose they rigged the elections.

What a stupadee country.

Read the CIA documents that Sunil posted and you will see the light. Black folks in Guyana just does not have the critical mass to win elections. In fact the Indians are very sensitive to threats of violence, that is why many stayed at home. How can there be free and fair elections when PNC is always threatening violence? Again it goes back to the Jim Crow era in the US when intimidation was used to deny Blacks their right to vote, except this time around it is Indians that are the victims and Blacks the Jim Crows.
What you expect from a man who destroyed the sugar industry,was dumped in Freedom House,and most of all never served as a Minister.PRESSURE PRESSURE-Speaker gaving him Nightmares.
coolies bin freiken fa go vote pon elekshun day. Dem black man was out threatening coolie peeple. ain.

And of course you were on the road hoping t get a good thrashing "from wan big strang, ignarant black man" so you know all this.

Nah bai, mi bin gatt mi black and coolie goons wid mi everyway mi went. But nuff peeple stay home and wah freiken cazz dem hear nuff hostile language. Mi hear even dem AFC coolie bais get run out from parts of GT.
These PPP folk are sore losers.

Now they see what it's like to be at the other end of the stick.

What end of the stick?. What did they lose? They form the government.

The PNC had the stick for 28 years, the indians should have known better and stuck with the PPP.

The PNC cannot get a majority without the help of the stupid indians.. Imagine they claimed to have the majority and is still in the opposition.
What they did in the past is indicative of future capabilities.

Except in 1968, 1973, and 1985 the were in govt so controlled the electoral process. In 2011 they were not.

Druggie I kept on telling you that black people hate the PPP because the milk they got was sour and that the PPP would be stomped in Linden and Buxton.

Nah bai, mi bin gatt mi black and coolie goons wid mi everyway mi went. But nuff peeple stay home and wah freiken cazz dem hear nuff hostile language. Mi hear even dem AFC coolie bais get run out from parts of GT.

Oh I see you carry your black goons to beat you so if other blacks refuse to do so you are guaranteed a thorough beating by a black man so you can scream "black man ah beat ahbie collie".
Originally posted by Prashad:
There may be a snap election soon.

On what grounds can the PPP call a general election less than three months after one was held when it hasnt had a local govt election in almost 20 years?
David Granger is a master of manipulation and the chief rigger in the PNC party. If president Ramotar said the election was rigged then it's true. Who can ever trust the PNC based on their record? Don't answer that! I forget they are neemakarams who will think otherwise.
Originally posted by Cobra:
David Granger is a master of manipulation and the chief rigger in the PNC party. .

So tell me how was Granger able to rig the election and the PPP not able to stop them. This when they had all of Burnham's riggers, like Lumumba, Nascimento and McLean who played a much bigger role in 1973 than Granger did?

Listen. Try a s much as you want but a snap election now will be no more tolerated than a coup by the GDF.Both are non starters as the intent will be for purely sinister reasons.

Druggie I kept on telling you that black people hate the PPP because the milk they got was sour and that the PPP would be stomped in Linden and Buxton.

The milk was sweet but racist tendencies die hard, they want to see their own race in power but do not realize that the PNC will destroy the country. The PPP will have to go after the mixed race, Amerindians and Indian and forget about the hard core Black racist like yourself. The PPP squandered a lot of money providing free jump up for Blacks when they should have been fending off the charge by Moses and the AFC for the Indian vote.
PNC will destroy and return it to the Donkey Cart days like they did in they past. PNC will never win a majority in Guyana.

Granger has blood on his hands and need to come clean on the 1973 Rigged election where Berbicians were killed trying to protect ballot boxes being stolen by the GDF.

We must never forgive and forget what this evil man Granger did.
What they did in the past is indicative of future capabilities.

Except in 1968, 1973, and 1985 the were in govt so controlled the electoral process. In 2011 they were not.

Bai, mi nah kno weh yuh gettin' yuh info. Nuff blacks ah getin into da milk business. Mi glaad fa see how h=nuff black man a drive nice cyar and build nice house and dem nah gafa depend pon party cyard. PPP ah tek care ah blacks moo dann dem a tek care coolies. Mo and mo milk a come.
The milk was sweet but racist tendencies die hard, .

If the milk is sweet many would want more. Sorry the milk was sour and they suffered belly wuk and there is nothing in your rantings that can show otherwise.

If Indians are declining in numbers how much sense does it make to just focus on that group. Amerindians support those who they feel can deliver the goods.

As the PPP weakens so will their suppprt from Amerindians. They really dont care too much for the antics of the coastlanders. Note that most of the UF vote in region 8 and 9 went to APNU and the AFC.
PPP ah tek care ah blacks.

Yet blacks by their vote dont agree with you. But you are to racist to stop and see where they come from.

Dazz natt di measure. If abie feed alyuh every day, alyuh gon still feed abie to da daggs. Mi tell dem PPP bais, nah badda with voting, black nah gon change, but dem muss geh good jabs and life regardless.
. If abie feed alyuh every days.

I see you just cant help your black hating racism. So Afros cant work to support themselves. It must be that Indos feed them.

I see the PPP is destined never to be a majority govt.
Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
Ramotar spoke about a strategy of limited rigging by the PNC which denied the PPP of that magical 51%. There will be another race to see which horse is faster.

The PPP has a huge problem and that is they think they own Guyana.

Most Guyanese voted other parties. The PPP needs to accept this and they need to learn how to cooperate. They need to understand that its not "my way or the high way".

How many Guyanese really want to go through a national election again, especially when local govt elections are 14 years past due?