Once Re-elected My first priority will be to achieve Universal Secondary Education.
As you know we’re well on track on that. We promised that in 2011. We said in the next five years we will bring Universal Secondary Education to this country and we are very, very clear we were going to do that, About 90% of our children leaving primary school are now in secondary school, and my first priority will be to ensure that we complete that process in the shortest possible time.

The PPP admin has an excellent record on education. They will bring universal secondary education to Guyana and that is priority number one. Guyana will no longer be a brain drain country. They build and rebuild schools that the PNC burn down in Linden and where else.

How de rass are we even related?

Do know that "secondary education" still mean high school? It's not some new term for college.

This means that Guyana is yet to achieve the high honor in the English Caribbean of providing a high school education to all its people.

23 years and your Coolies are still working on giving people a high school education. Jesus Christ!

There are an estimated 7,000 primary and secondary school dropouts every year. The educated PPP regime has been managing the education sector for 22+ years. Wha rain nah full, dew cyaant full. Ramotar will promise a golden future, but he ain't going anywhere after May 11.

Once Re-elected My first priority will be to achieve Universal Secondary Education.
As you know we’re well on track on that. We promised that in 2011. We said in the next five years we will bring Universal Secondary Education to this country and we are very, very clear we were going to do that, About 90% of our children leaving primary school are now in secondary school, and my first priority will be to ensure that we complete that process in the shortest possible time.

1.   How many of those who start high school finish?

2.  Of those who complete, how many are successful in the CXC English and Math.

Its no point boasting about universal secondary school if the quality provided in abysmally poor.

The PPP admin has an excellent record on education..

Guyana continues to trail the rest of the English speaking Caribbean in the performance of its students, as measured by average pass rates for English and Math.

Is the PPP proud of this?  They needn't scream about Burnham  because the current high school graduates (age 16) entered school when Jagdeo was president.

Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:
I'm still tryna figure out de meaning of miss piggy "wrapping tape on pencils"
I'm still inclined to think she was referring to puttin condoms on some ministuh d!ck

In her defense, Jagdeo was President not a mere Minister

Darn I am out of touch with reality, thought this was the norm in GY by now.  These kids have cell phones and computers but they are not in high school??  You guys have to stop sending remittances back home.

Originally Posted by alena06:

Darn I am out of touch with reality, thought this was the norm in GY by now.  These kids have cell phones and computers but they are not in high school??  You guys have to stop sending remittances back home.

Guyana has one of the lowest rates of internet connectivity in CARICOM, only Haiti being worse, so I am not sure about all the computers.

Are cell phones really a luxury these days?

There are an estimated 7,000 primary and secondary school dropouts every year. The educated PPP regime has been managing the education sector for 22+ years. Wha rain nah full, dew cyaant full. Ramotar will promise a golden future, but he ain't going anywhere after May 11.

They not only drop out of school. They join gangs, abuse drugs and commit suicide due to the hopelessness created by Ramotar PPP.