Home > TOP STORY > DeSantos: Ram obsessed with Jagdeo
Former President Dr Bharrat Jagdeo

DeSantos: Ram obsessed with Jagdeo

CHARGES against Dr Bharrat Jagdeo, filed by vocal critic of the current Administration, Mr Christopher Ram, are “frivolous, vexatious, an abuse of the process of the court” and represent an “unnatural obsession” with the former president.These were the sentiments of Attorney-at-Law, Bernard De Santos, who was retained by Dr Jagdeo to defend him against the charges.

Bernard De Santos

“I can only imagine the devastating consequences which can flow if the criminal justice system will be used in such a manner and across the political divide. This is nothing more than political sensationalisation and mischief,” he said.
Ram contends that there was a violation of Guyana’s electoral laws, as outlined in the ‘139D of The Representation of the Peoples Act, Cap 1:02’,under which the private action was filed.
The Representation of the People Act addresses processes, actions and sanctions for breaches of various protocols.

MMU REPORT
Ram’s move also follows the pronouncements of the Guyana Elections’ Commission (GECOM) Media Monitoring Unit (MMU).
The first report since its resuscitation was released earlier this week states that at an event at Babu John, last month, Dr Jagdeo said: “They shout about racism of the PPP, but they practise racism. They whisper campaigns. In the last elections they went to some of the Afro- Guyanese villages and beat some drums at 6 O’clock in the morning and say let us throw out these coolie people. Get up, go out and vote, throw out the coolie people. That’s the kind of language they use. Anybody from our party who uses that sort of language, we will kick them out. This is our approach.”
The MMU concluded that his comments were “racially divisive” – although the Unit did say that this was “probably” not intentional.
The Unit said: “Taking into consideration the historically and politically influenced divisions that persist up to now between Africans and East Indians in this country, and which are usually more pronounced during elections periods, the Unit came to the conclusion that the anecdotal illustration used by Dr. Jagdeo to make his point about racism, boomeranged disastrously, since it came over as a calculated exploitation, for political purposes, of the known fears and insecurities of one section of the population – East Indians.
“It is within the foregoing context that the Unit verily concluded that the remarks made by Dr. Jagdeo were racially divisive,[though] probably, not intentionally.”
GROSS MISREPRESENTATION
All considered, Jagdeo’s lawyer noted that Ram’s contention is a “gross misinterpretation and colossal misuse and abuse” of the law.

alt

Counsel Christopher Ram

De Santos said, “I have examined the statements allegedly made by Mr. Jagdeo and which form the basis of the charge; I have examined the section of the law under which the charge has been laid and in my view the charge is frivolous, vexatious and an abuse of the process of the court in which it has been filed.
“Indeed, it is a gross misinterpretation and colossal misuse and abuse of section 139D of the Representation of the People Act, Cap1:02.”
He declined to speculate on Ram’s motive for moving ahead with the charge.
The lawyer said, “I will say however, that it constitutes an abridgement of the constitutional right and freedom of my client to speak and express himself freely.
“Indeed, this unprecedented use of a criminal charge to muzzle speakers at public political events, is an assault on the democratic right of political leaders to speak freely on matters of national interest as well as a violation of the democratic right of the citizenry to receive such information.”
De Santos expressed the hope that the matter will be reviewed “speedily” by the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP).
The matter is expected to be heard before Magistrate Charlyn Artiga at the Whim Magistrates’ Court, Region 6 (East Berbice/ Corentyne) on April 20.

Jagdeo is the disease in the society. Ram is well within his rights to recognize the infection and seek proper ways of detailing its symptoms so others can avoid its disease vectors. Were it not for Jagdeo, the disease of endemic corruption, the hardening of racism, and the formalization of ethnic nepotism would not be so pervasive and ubiquitous in our society. Were it not for him so many non Indians would not remain unvaccinated against its injury and become inevitable victims. It also victimize those who develop a tolerance for it because it makes them less functional as full citizens would in a multicultural nation.

"The first report since its resuscitation was released earlier this week states that at an event at Babu John, last month, Dr Jagdeo said: “They shout about racism of the PPP, but they practise racism. They whisper campaigns. In the last elections they went to some of the Afro- Guyanese villages and beat some drums at 6 O’clock in the morning and say let us throw out these coolie people. Get up, go out and vote, throw out the coolie people. That’s the kind of language they use. Anybody from our party who uses that sort of language, we will kick them out. This is our approach.”

Ram is silent as a racist PNC takes 75 Percent representation and gives Indos 25 Percent representation. 

Ram should examine the PNC list. It is there for the public to see !

Stop PNC racism now. Jagdeo speaks the truth !

Originally Posted by kp:
Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Is Chris Ram a Homosexual ?

Are you hoping for a free ride? You are coming across as a desperate sexual predator. 

Chris Ram is GAY?

Valid question about Chris Ram. Can someone validate ?

Originally Posted by kp:

Are you hoping for a free ride? You are coming across as a desperate sexual predator. 

Chris Ram is GAY?

Valid question about Chris Ram. Can someone validate ?

Next time you guys meet up do as you have often done with your friends dem,try an rub he batty nuh

"The first report since its resuscitation was released earlier this week states that at an event at Babu John, last month, Dr Jagdeo said: “They shout about racism of the PPP, but they practise racism. They whisper campaigns. In the last elections they went to some of the Afro- Guyanese villages and beat some drums at 6 O’clock in the morning and say let us throw out these coolie people. Get up, go out and vote, throw out the coolie people. That’s the kind of language they use. Anybody from our party who uses that sort of language, we will kick them out. This is our approach.”

Ram is silent as a racist PNC takes 75 Percent representation and gives Indos 25 Percent representation. 

Ram should examine the PNC list. It is there for the public to see !

Stop PNC racism now. Jagdeo speaks the truth !

You truly need to sell the lie of PNC racism against Indians on a list one can clearly see contains some 40 percent of Indians and others. On the PPP side you would find the family clan proliferation in full bloom bur your silly behind fails to acknowledge that.

As for stopping racism anywhere; you are not an apt messenger being an awfully disgusting racist yourself.

Originally Posted by kp:

Chris Ram is GAY?

Why do you ask? We know that you a congenital racist.

Jagdeo meet he meetah

April 10, 2015 | By | Filed Under Dem Boys Seh, Features / Columnists, News 

Old people seh you mustn’t let people wash dem mouth pun you.  That mean that people shouldn’t talk bad things about others, but Jagdeo, that young devil, don’t listen to wha old people seh, suh he got every Tom, Dick and Harrilall washing dem mouth pun he. Chris Ram decide to carry him to court and he, Jagdeo, get a old lawyer who decide fuh cuss like dem old wash out done away whore. De lawyer write a statement and seh that he notice that Ram got an unnatural attraction fuh Jagdeo. Dem two words ‘unnatural attraction’  mean that Ram want Jagdeo in an unnatural compromising way—in simple layman language, it means Jagdeo got to lie down pun he belly. Dem boys seh that this thing nah come over as no big surprise. Is years now people use to hear this thing ‘bout Jagdeo and he unnatural attraction and style. Dem boys never see fuh demself, but it look like he lawyer know more, and hear more than anybody else fuh write such a statement. Now Jagdeo find heself in trouble. He did carry people to court and sit down and laugh. Now people carrying him to court, suh he deh in more trouble than he ever see. Dem boys always remember wan old man seh “Help someone when they are in trouble and they will remember you when they are in trouble again.” De lawyer will definitely see Jagdeo again, because he got nuff more trouble fuh end up in. Dem boys also remember another old man seh, “Many people are alive today, only because it is illegal to shoot dem.” Talk half and no violence, please.

Please try again, cut and past is your only contribution to this BB ?

Please give your brain some exercise and post something so that people can engage. Please exclude your vulgarity and indecency, it does not help your lost cause.

It was vulgarity that brought you  into this world. You are a moron.

Old people seh you mustn’t let people wash dem mouth pun you.

Last edited by Mitwah

Is this how you give your brain some exercise ?

Please try again. Try harder this time around.

You are a chronic ideological racist.

Was that your best try ? Please keep trying, your response lacks common sense.

You are still a moron and a coward.

There might be other reasons why he turns his back when he sees other males. Maybe he is showing off his cheeks.

Originally Posted by kp:

Chris Ram is GAY?

Oh, heard you were dead.

Originally Posted by kp:

Chris Ram is GAY?

Oh, heard you were dead.

I am not Sawh.

Last edited by Mitwah

OK.  Keep the politeness going.  This is about Guyana's future not our personal egos.

We need people like Ram to challenge the govt using the court system.

With all the corruption over 23 years, how come no PPPite ever went to jail?

How do we let Ramotar have the NCN report and not do anything about it?

Thanks to Ram for his actions.

The one obsessed about Jagdeo is not Ram. It's Jagdeo obsessed about Jagdeo. Said he was done with public office etc. Now he is back but going nowhere because the Coalition is winning.