AFC could be wiped out if coalition loses – Ramkarran

APNU Leader David Granger

APNU Leader
David Granger

By Janelle Persaud

Former Speaker of the National Assembly and Political Commentator Ralph Ramkarran says the Alliance For Change (AFC) is taking a major gamble with its existence by joining forces with A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) to contest the May 11 Regional and General Elections.

In an interview with Guyana Times two days after the agreement to coalesce was signed, Ramkarran opined that the party, once considered a “third force”, stands the risk of being “wiped out” if the outcome of the elections is unfavourable.

He reasoned that APNU will maintain its support base and has nothing to lose as a consequence of the coalition but noted that the AFC could lose everything.

“One of the big problems would be, if the Indians would say well this is the PNC back in power and while we were prepared in 2011 to give the AFC our vote, with the expectation that the PPP/C [People’s Progressive Party/Civic] will win …we are not prepared to give you our vote if it means the PPP/C would lose the election,” Ramkarran reasoned.

AFC Vice Chairman Moses Nagamootoo

AFC Vice Chairman
Moses Nagamootoo

Ramkarran is not the only person who has expressed fears for the AFC and also the chances of the alliance ousting the PPP/C.

APNU Member Dr David Hinds has been quoted in a commentary saying that while he welcomes the coalition since it has created history, he also remains skeptical of its strategy to oust the governing PPP/C from power noting that while some may seen the coalition as a breakthrough, it is a gamble.

Skeptical

Former Government Minister and Columnist Dr Henry Jeffrey weighing in on the subject also related that he remains skeptical that the approach taken by the two parties was the best one yet.

“I think what they want to do is to get rid of the PPP/C. I am not certain that that is the best option for doing so but I am not convinced that it’s the best option,” said Jeffrey.

According to Jeffrey, now that the AFC has coalesced with the APNU, whose major partner is the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR), voters who would have seen AFC as a middle-ground party away from the two larger political organisations would stay away from the polls.

Political commentator Ralph Ramkarran

“They have removed the possibility of a middle-ground that people run to. If there is no middle-ground, people have an option they can stay home or they go back and vote for whom they were voting and that is a great possibility that exists at the moment because the AFC joining with the PNC does not offer that middle-ground any longer,” he said.

Norton’s doubtful

PNCR member Aubrey Norton said he does not support the move by the AFC to form any deal with APNU in establishing a broad national alliance for the upcoming elections.

According to him, the APNU is already doing its work in its constituency while the AFC would have had to continue working to garner more supports which were traditionally PPP/C and to break the PPP/C’s stronghold.

He however noted that this would now become a difficult task since those who may have been prepared to back the AFC will now return to the PPP/C, due to the alliance with the APNU, which is still referred to by Indo Guyanese as the PNC.

AFC’s leader, Khemraj Ramjattan had been previously quoted as saying that joining forces with APNU would severely impact the AFC’s constituency, especially supporters who are dissatisfied with both the PPP/C and PNCR/APNU.

But the minority party’s Vice Chairman and now Prime Ministerial Candidate for the new alliance, Moses Nagamootoo is on record telling a public meeting at New Amsterdam recently that “APNU is like a large umbrella that has attracted large numbers of people, particularly Afro Guyanese.

But APNU cannot win an election alone, APNU needs to have a strategic alliance with the church and the trade unions and other groups and the AFC could bring in the eleven per cent.” At the last elections, the AFC under an Indian Guyanese leader Khemraj Ramjattan won 10.3 per cent of the votes mainly from the Indian dominated Region Six (East Berbice-Corentyne) votes.

History of rigging

Ramkarran a former PPP/C Executive noted that many Indo-Guyanese are still concerned about the history of “rigging and food shortage” that accompany the PNC, now the largest party in APNU. As such, the AFC would have to convince its supporters many of whom are originally PPP/C supporters.

He speculated that the commitment to shift some of the powers of the President to the Prime Minister and others might be a move to concretise the aforementioned.

“It is to give the AFC some real substantial power so the AFC can go to its supporters that in an arrangement with the PNC or APNU, we have substantial political authority, so we would be in a position to protect your interest,” Ramkarran added.

Under the Cummingsburg Accord, APNU gets the Presidential Candidate and AFC, the Prime Ministerial Candidate; the latter party has been assured 12 seats in the 65 seat Parliament.

This would be approximately 36 per cent of the combined seats by the two parties in the 10th Parliament.

In the construct of a new Government, APNU will be allocated one Vice President while AFC will be allocated two Vice Presidents, both of whom will be members of the Cabinet.

Under this arrangement, the President will delegate several responsibilities to the Prime Minister including the chairmanship of the Cabinet and matters supporting the Domestic National Affairs.

Deeply political

The former Speaker noted that while this decision would be an indication of the parties’ commitment to reducing the powers of the President, it is deeply political. Asked whether this would require constitutional change, Senior Counsel Ramkarran pointed that this could very well work under an informal arrangement.

“For these to be formally put in place they will have to amend the constitution, but they do not have to amend to operate them informally,” he explained. An amendment of this nature would require a two-thirds majority vote in the National Assembly.

“The PPP/C is not going to support any innovative procedures in relation to the constitution because they are comfortable with the constitution as it is and are fearful that any interference would affect their powers when they get back into office,” he said.

“The PPP/C is not going to support any innovative procedures in relation to the constitution because they are comfortable with the constitution as it is and are fearful that any interference would affect their powers when they get back into office,” he [Ramkarran] said.

tra la la la la . . .

this is the true monster we are up against

Yuh graspin at straws here, de boat sail and leff you and sanko pan de stellin.

Yuh right bai. When ayuh rass drown in dat Titanic, the rest of us will be at the stellin whisperin "meh been tell dem dunce s k u n t deh boat guh sink"

Dah is wah Sanko whisper to yuh before de big man answer he prayers?

I don't believe that at all. In 1953 PPP won 18 out of 24 seats but received just over 51% of the popular votes. In 1964 the third party UF won just under 15%. In 1992 third party did not do that well. There is a marketplace for a visionary third party in Guyana. It will not win with the race-based strategic voting but they can pull 15% of the votes consistently. The AFC can be around for decades once it understands its role. I support the coalition but they can do their own thing if they lose.

Harsie, like you ah see Sanko jumbie all de time? Betta get wan pandit fuh mek wan tabeej fuh you. Maybe Yuji or Mitwah cyan steer you to wan good one.

Dis chap seems to have a harse c o c k stuck in his head

Bai dis man guh tek jackass or harse juss fuh get wan minista wuk. Couple ah dem on dis bb want minista wuk.

TK

Shouldn't the headline be:

"Guyana Could Be Wiped Out if Coalition Loses"

"Guyana Could Be Sold Out if Coalition Loses"

"Chinese Trawlers Catch Out All Berbice Fish if Coalition Loses"

"AG Finds More Girls to Knock if Coalition Loses"

Add to the list.

Ram Karran is a good man but we need more than armchair analysts.  Why don't he join a cause?

Shaitaan is on fire these days.

Skelly, the Horse Man is beyond help and Shaitaan gave an accurate description of Horse of Man's problem.

Dem boys had the Ace card with Moses as Presidential Candidate for the coalition and bowed under pressure. Pressure does mek pipe buss.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Add to the list.

Ram Karran is a good man but we need more than armchair analysts.  Why don't he join a cause?

"Coolies will be slaughtered if PNC wins".

AFC WILL BE WIPE OUT IF the coalition lose,now who the hell cares the whole of guyana will be no good if the coalition  lose

All "analysts" are armchair analysts. As for Ramkarran, he has spent his whole life in professional politics. I think his opinions merit consideration for that alone.

Notice, how not a single commentator or analyst (ALL OF WHOM ARE ANTI-PPP) has gone out on a limb to predict a Coalition victory?

Isn't that odd?

AFC WILL BE WIPE OUT IF the coalition lose,now who the hell cares the whole of guyana will be no good if the coalition  lose

Write some sense nah bai!

Add to the list.

i hope you will be one of them,you only taking up space in this world and spreading hatred 

when they start sell some i will buy

Add to the list.

i hope you will be one of them,you only taking up space in this world and spreading hatred 

No need to worry about me. Worry about you milking bulls in GY. Dem coolie guh tief out all ah dem.

GNI gat nuff aspiring Vice Presidents

when they start sell some i will buy

Looks like you never went to the market.

What will the vice presidents do? Knack drum and jhaanj and sing in the streets of GT? Plenty people will do that for free..no need to get a title for this type of work. Why pay them?

FYI....Vice Presidents of Guyana do not get paid

Thanks. So what's their function? Occupy a seat in govt?

Mr. Warrior:

I think more Indians have been slaughtered through banditry under the PPP's reign. No protection from PPP govt.

More Indians committed suicide during the PPP years and we got into the record books for that. PPP does not have programs and outreaches in the Indian communities. They don't dig the drains, collect garbage, fix the roads, upgrade and equip the community centers, etc.  The Community Centre at Whim does not have electricity and was inoperable for several years under the PPP, because they did not want Dr. Ramayya to get credit for fixing it. The AFC boys dominate the cricket club there, and the PPP set out to frustrate any progress initiated by the AFC.

Vice Presidents of Guyana are Ministers Without Portfolio unless they have an actual Ministry and they get a seat at Cabinet.

The Prime Minister is styled "First Vice President." The rest would be styled "Second Vice President" and so forth an so on.

So technically one could be appointed Second or Third Vice President with no specific ministry and your only "job" is to show up at Cabinet once a week.

As de man say.....

Yuh don't Peel Potato

& Win De War in the Army...

Those who thinking

this alliance...

is just to Peel Aloo...

Better Think Again....

The PPP mentality

is about Peeling Aloo...

and making aloo-Ball...

Let them continue to think

Over 50% of the Guyanese

are only concern about Aloo

... for peeling potatoes. Cleaned potatoes are the ideal raw material

or Playing Aabna- baa-bna

& Those who want play

One Potato - Two Potato

cannot win the Election...

Shaitan....Na worry

all ah dem who

talking $kunt now....

will be Quiet after May11th...

All Dem Aloo Balls

aloo stuffing balls

gon be Fried...

Mr. Warrior:

I think more Indians have been slaughtered through banditry under the PPP's reign. No protection from PPP govt.

More Indians committed suicide during the PPP years and we got into the record books for that. PPP does not have programs and outreaches in the Indian communities. They don't dig the drains, collect garbage, fix the roads, upgrade and equip the community centers, etc.  The Community Centre at Whim does not have electricity and was inoperable for several years under the PPP, because they did not want Dr. Ramayya to get credit for fixing it. The AFC boys dominate the cricket club there, and the PPP set out to frustrate any progress initiated by the AFC.

THE PPP CANNOT PROTECT THEIR OWN HOW WILL THEY PROTECT THE PEOPLE SAWH DIE AND THEY CANNOT HOLD A INQUIRY,PRADOVILLE IS A LIKE A DIFFERENT COUNTRY 

Vice Presidents of Guyana are Ministers Without Portfolio unless they have an actual Ministry and they get a seat at Cabinet.

The Prime Minister is styled "First Vice President." The rest would be styled "Second Vice President" and so forth an so on.

So technically one could be appointed Second or Third Vice President with no specific ministry and your only "job" is to show up at Cabinet once a week.

Thanks. No wonder there are many here who want these jobs. So being a second or third VP is like "a bull having tits"? Have to ask warria bout this.

LMAO

Ladies and Gentlemen The Hon. Second Vice President and Minister of the Cabinet Mr. John Smith.

Whah is he de Minista of?

Nothing really.

Does he have an office?

Not really. Probably a cubicle at OP.

Does he have any powers?

He can raise his hand at Cabinet and speak if called upon.

Look how Dem ***-King up

Dem Top PPP Executives

Why Skeldon Picking on

Ramotar Advisor Tits?

LMAO

Ladies and Gentlemen The Hon. Second Vice President and Minister of the Cabinet Mr. John Smith.

Nothing really.

Does he have an office?

Does he have any powers?

MR john smith that guy is my neighbour 

Look how Dem ***-King up

Dem Top PPP Executives

Why Skeldon Picking on

Ramotar Advisor Tits?

kwame left him for yugi

LMAO

Nothing really.

Does he have an office?

Does he have any powers?

MR john smith that guy is my neighbour 

LMAO

Oh s k u n t. Another Coalition Vice President

LMAO

Nothing really.

Does he have an office?

Does he have any powers?

Shaitaan stop poking fun at Vice Presidential Candidate Ramjattan, the AFC boys will bring out the Third Vice President Cathy to scold you.

LMAO

Nothing really.

Does he have an office?

Does he have any powers?

Shaitaan stop poking fun at Vice Presidential Candidate Ramjattan, the AFC boys will bring out the Third Vice President Cathy to scold you.

I wanna think there is a Black Shaitaan in the PNC negotiating team who just wanted to see how much of a jackass he can turn the AFC into.

The Black Shaitaan obviously succeeded spectacularly. He gave away Vice Presidencies to these idiots

Was all the Regional Council positions taken?

Look how Dem ***-King up

Dem Top PPP Executives

Why Skeldon Picking on

Ramotar Advisor Tits?

The last couple of times I responded to your posts, Riff closed the threads. So I'll just ignore your Butts, Crack and Tits.