President celebrates Raksha Bandhan with Brahma Kumaris

Georgetown, Guyana – (August 22, 2016) Two representatives from the Brahma Kumaris, today, visited and celebrated Raksha Bandhan with President David Granger and his staff at the Ministry of the Presidency, an event which, the President said, has the potential to bridge gaps and promote social cohesion in Guyana.

“I would like to thank you very much for thinking about us… Thank you for your thoughtfulness and bringing these blessings for us. Although it is a Hindu ceremony mainly, it is one that has universal relevance,” President Granger said.  

The two women, Sister Jean Ramnauth from the Guyana Chapter and Sister Bharti Khetwani, who is on a three-day visit to Guyana, tied ‘Rakhis’ or a sacred thread on the President’s hand, while offering prayers on his behalf, as is the custom of the observance.

“All of us here are, of course, government servants but we believe that we have an obligation, not just to ourselves but a whole country and this ceremony helps us to understand how people of different ethnic and religious groups could come together. I think ceremonies like this would help to promote understanding and also brotherhood and sisterhood among us and of course, reverence to God. This is a good place to start in helping to spread the message of the festival,” the President said.

In tying the sacred thread on President Granger’s right hand, Sister Bharti explained the relevance of the occasion. She noted that while the popular belief is that a sister should tie the thread on an individual she considers a brother; there is deeper meaning, one, which involves every person.

“Raksha Bandhan is when a sister ties the sacred thread on her brother’s hands and prays to God that he will be protected and the brother takes the Oath for the sister, that he will protect her through her life. However, it has a more spiritual meaning. It is not the brother or sister, who requires protection only. It is all the human beings in the world. Whatever may be the relationship now requires a protection. It is the festival of the bond of love,” she explained.

This occasion she said, must therefore serve to promote peace, unity and love and in so doing, a better world will be achieved.

Several Ministers of Government including Minister of Social Protection, Ms. Volda Lawrence, Minister within the Ministry of Natural Resources, Ms. Simona Broomes, Minister within the Ministry of Education, Ms. Nicolette Henry, Minister within the Ministry of Indigenous Peoples’ Affairs, Ms. Valerie Garrido-Lowe and Minister within the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, Ms. Annette Ferguson, also participated in the ceremony.

SOURCE

he is still an indo hater.

Me tell yuh people can change especially when you are in the last lap.

He will take his hate for Indians to his grave. That hate is cast in stone. If he did not change all these years, what makes you think he will love Indians? Maybe on his deathbed!

He went to scope out the menu to decide which items to ban!

Or maybe he likes Indian food. 

He should show up at an Indian wedding eating seven curry in purine leaf with his hand,that will erode what is said of him being an Indo hater.

Or maybe he likes Indian food. 

He should show up at an Indian wedding eating seven curry in purine leaf with his hand,that will erode what is said of him being an Indo hater.

What's else is new?  I have seen blacks eating at coolie weddings and yet they kill coolies.

He will take his hate for Indians to his grave. That hate is cast in stone. If he did not change all these years, what makes you think he will love Indians? Maybe on his deathbed!

Granger loves Indians. Moses Nagamootoo and family, Khemraj Ramjattan and family, Amna Ally, Jaipaul Sharma, Rupert Roopnarine, Ronald Bulkan and many many more. 

Gilly bhai, dis muss be jackass luv. Seriously, he sees these Indians as opportunities and these Indians smiling their white mouths all the way to the bank. He will use these Indians to consolidate the black power and use the black power to keep the Indians in servitude. You remember the proverb "Strike the iron while it's hot"?

I am sure you disagree wit me.

PPP Indians are not racist bhai. They see the African people as people who have contributed significantly to the country of their birth in the past and have a tremendous role to play in the future. It's racial tolerance even though we disagree with many things that happening under his nose.

Trumpism in action here.

Trump sees what is wrong with America..jobs, crimes etc. I think his extreme solutions are not what America sees as practical ones. I like his jobs plan to stop outsourcing etc. However, charity begins at home.

Without those Indians he would not become President. The PNC USED Indians to secure power from the majority of Indians, now he treats them like "shit".

You wouldn't know that by looking at this eh? Just imagine this banna treating Indians like shit and look what this woman go and do. She paid the Prez a visit, imagine that banna?

Without those Indians he would not become President.The PNC USED Indians to secure power from the majority of Indians, now he treats them like "shit".

What you are saying President should be an Indian because 40% [Major Ethnic Group] of the population is Indian.

Kari posted:

Our resident comedienne.....

where did u two comediennes hang out dis weekend   lol just kidding

alena06 posted:
Kari posted:

Our resident comedienne.....

where did u two comediennes hang out dis weekend   lol just kidding

Now, now Alena....no jealousy.....

According to you hating Indians means one dislikes the PPP and doesn't consider blacks to be any worse than Indians are. 

How about when Jagdeo gets a hug from an Afro church women?  

How about that lascivious behavior at the GDF party?

You lie. Please provide photographic evidence. The camera doesn't lie.

Why is Gilly and Django getting their panties wet over Granger partaking in Raksha Bandhan?  All politicians do similar acts all over the world, partake in interfaith activities as a political gesture. Even Burnham and Hoyte were given mala.

You wouldn't know that by looking at this eh? Just imagine this banna treating Indians like shit and look what this woman go and do. She paid the Prez a visit, imagine that banna?

If this woman didn't do that, Granger might close down her Temple. Don't worry, soon them go call Granger God.

Why is Gilly and Django getting their panties wet over Granger partaking in Raksha Bandhan?  

Drugb, with due respect, if you are a panties-wearing man don't assume that Gilly and Django are wearing panties too. I don't know what Django is wearing but Gilly is wearing nothing. Gilly believes in freedom of the moving parts.

Ok folks,

If I may be permitted to comment here:

Granger scored some  PR points here and credit goes to him for accepting a Raksha Bandhan token, nothing wrong with that.

In politics, it is all bout PR and scoring points. 

I have opposing views about Granger but do not have one single iota of hate for him, he is the President of Guyana, like it or not.

As the opposition, it is our job to promote our party's views and policies over his.

If this woman didn't do that, Granger might close down her Temple. Don't worry, soon them go call Granger God.

Since the 1970s, on the occasion of Raksha Bandhan, the Bramha Kumari sisters paid courtesy calls on Burnham, Hoyte, Jagan, Jagdeo and Ramotar. It's Granger's turn now. One of my acquaintances, GDF Lieutenant Colonel Brenda Aaron --- an Afro woman --- was a senior Brahma Kumari sister. She would replace her soldier's uniform with white and blue sari whenever she attended prayer meetings at the Bramha Kumari HQ in High Street, Kingston. I saw her in that sari often.

Why is Gilly and Django getting their panties wet over Granger partaking in Raksha Bandhan?  All politicians do similar acts all over the world, partake in interfaith activities as a political gesture. Even Burnham and Hoyte were given mala.

Banna stay in your cross dressing league and stop exposing yourself.

Why is Gilly and Django getting their panties wet over Granger partaking in Raksha Bandhan?  

Drugb, with due respect, if you are a panties-wearing man don't assume that Gilly and Django are wearing panties too. I don't know what Django is wearing but Gilly is wearing nothing. Gilly believes in freedom of the moving parts.

No offense intended, it is an expression. However you shouldn't get exited over something that leaders do all over the world for political reasons.