by most as a sordid act and a disgrace.

Too bad.  Well that is the USA, I'm sure all's well and great, except if you poor and need medical attention....according to you!

Put it this way.  At least OWS and others can protest about this and not be shot down like rabid dogs.

Not so Guyana.

Wow, that was a surprisingly short counter-point!

You mean you havent begun the rum drinking and the tassa drumming to celebrate that we "put dem black man in dey place".  Or you took some time loff from the revelries.

No wonder you hate the AFC which refuses to be used by the PPP to oppress people.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

The Linden uprising is a black habit that we experience for twenty-eight years . . .

After a while, the sheer EFFORT to camouflage racist contempt for Blackman just becomes too much for weak-minded PPP foot soldiers, and . . . STUFF just tumbles out.

Feel free to [further] unburden your soul

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

The Linden uprising is a black habit that we experience for twenty-eight years . . .

After a while, the sheer EFFORT to camouflage racist contempt for Blackman just becomes too much for weak-minded PPP foot soldiers, and . . . STUFF just tumbles out.

Feel free to [further] unburden your soul

Yes we finally see the PPP and their cohorts as the black   haters we know they are.  SWhy did they fire that poor womanj at the Chroinicle when all she wrote is what she hears daily, so saw nothing in putting in writing.

by most as a sordid act and a disgrace.

Too bad.  Well that is the USA, I'm sure all's well and great, except if you poor and need medical attention....according to you!

Put it this way.  At least OWS and others can protest about this and not be shot down like rabid dogs.

Not so Guyana.

Wow, that was a surprisingly short counter-point!

You mean you havent begun the rum drinking and the tassa drumming to celebrate that we "put dem black man in dey place".  Or you took some time loff from the revelries.

No wonder you hate the AFC which refuses to be used by the PPP to oppress people.

Hey, did you see, the PNC is agreeing with the PPP on the way forward.  I don't hate the AFC, I just think their agenda is much narrower that I had expected.  So, more disappointment with their overall approach, cheap political pandering and their one-sided irrational hatred for anything PPP.  I also don't appreciate the manipulative nature of certain personalities within their ranks.

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

The AFC is milking this to suit themselves. They and others set the fire and watched the place burn with hate and destruction. Good riddance to them.

That attitude will set the nation ablaze. People are discontented. The PPP are robbing us blind. The complaint is on GPL not able to maintain the cost of  supplying Linden but GPL was paying a PPPIte 700 thousand US per annum for 12 power plants  when  new buying these plants new would have cost 900 thousand.

Mismanagement, cronyism and corruption has everyone on edge. Now this shooting of protesters. That anyone would rationalize this away as the fault of the protestors is sick. I cannot happen anywhere without the government in office paying a heavy price.

I know the ones losing their brother, son father etc are not saying good riddance. They possibly are plotting violence for sure.  The task of everyone is to be temperate in tone and to seek middle ground.

DG can appeal to a comprehension deficiency due to advance age.

You are experiencing great discomfort by including my moniker with your with deficiencies.

Sorry, it was done with much alacrity in addressing an obvious comprehension misstep.

Your missteps, as usual, continue to increase at an alarming rate.

Originally Posted by God:

The problem is that the security force was not outfitted properly for crowd control but rather for murder.

Riot police are equipped with large shields, helmets, body armor, face guards and should use tear gas, large batons and in extreme cases rubber bullets. If you send these people to battle a crowd unprotected with shotguns, you're in effect sending them to crack open some skulls.

But hasn't the stupid Home Affairs Minister or the C.O.P. or anybody else in Guyana figured this out yet. Anytime there is barely a small crowd, these fools cannot deal with them because they don't have the right equipment.

Have you ever seen these guys in action at a protest in North America battling larger and rowdier crowds? They hardly ever have to use rubber bullets. It's all about having the right gear and tear gas. It won't take a fortune to outfit a riot squad with the necessary equipment.

Besides that, where was the water cannon. That would have been ideal to clear the bridge because the people are confined to a narrow area. You cant miss them with water or tear gas. I guess you can't miss them with shotgun shells either.

Finally, someone who either understands what it takes to control an unruly crowd  or is ardently reading the words of God on GNI. 

Originally Posted by God:

Finally, someone who either understands what it takes to control an unruly crowd  or is ardently reading the words of God on GNI. 

Absolutely, there needs to be an investigation to get to the bottom of it.  If the police were remiss in applying standard procedures of crowd control, then this needs to be looked into.  This in of itself does not signal a cover-up or Govt orchestrated.  Things must be kept in perspective and rational.

This episode was planned all along by agents of the opposition.  This is how mayhem works.

They plan the thing plant the seed and watch it burn. 

Correct !!!

PNC and AFC's first attempt at inciting racial strife to bring down the PPP.

Could it be that this incident which never had to happen is a carefully engineered political manipulation of the public emotions so racists like you can over look their corruption and point to the usual boogie man, black people to mobilize their prodigals to return to the fold. Note, they have more to gain with instability than the AFC and PNC. Linden is not in jeopardy to be lost to the PPP. The PPP can get bigots like you to wave the racist flag and scream at black greed while overlooking their corruption and inability to account for the the nations assets. Note this took NICIL and its inability to account for millions off the table.

Racist ?

Everytime someone speaks out the PNC and AFC cry racism. The fact remains that Linden must now pay up and the current rate in Berbice is $ 53 per kilowatt.

The president must not back down on this matter. What is so special about Linden that they must pay 1/3 the rate as the rest of Guyana ?

If they cannot afford, then they should not use electricity. No one is forcing them to use electricity and then pay for it. Their usage is voluntary. End of story.

This is all about affordability and fairness and Linden thinks that they can resort to violence to bully the rest of the country.

Well, I have news for your and your PNC and AFC thugs, the Guyanese people will stand up to them.

Racist ?

Everytime someone speaks out the PNC and AFC cry racism. The fact remains that Linden must now pay up and the current rate in Berbice is $ 53 per kilowatt.

The president must not back down on this matter. What is so special about Linden that they must pay 1/3 the rate as the rest of Guyana ?

If they cannot afford, then they should not use electricity. No one is forcing them to use electricity and then pay for it. Their usage is voluntary. End of story.

This is all about affordability and fairness and Linden thinks that they can resort to violence to bully the rest of the country.

Well, I have news for your and your PNC and AFC thugs, the Guyanese people will stand up to them.

Do you think your rants about hard working Berbicians vs lindeners is not trolling for stereotypes? Did you not refer to the AFC as corrupt for some supposed elections infraction ( never looking to the quid pro quo between the PPP dealings with known supporters) and is yet to mention NICIL?

They will get their electricity in spite of your silly rants. They will also get it as sensible rates not tied to the rates of the poorly managed GPL.

You do not speak for the Guyanese people. You are a tiny worm in our social apple we will take due care to excise least you corrupt the whole barrel. Using the PNC as a protection amulet against dissent no longer works. There is little the PPP can do to erase the perception of them being corrupt. Its effect is quite transparent.

Racist ?

Do you think your rants about hard working Berbicians vs lindeners is not trolling for stereotypes? Did you not refer to the AFC as corrupt for some supposed elections infraction ( never looking to the quid pro quo between the PPP dealings with known supporters) and is yet to mention NICIL?

They will get their electricity in spite of your silly rants. They will also get it as sensible rates not tied to the rates of the poorly managed GPL.

You do not speak for the Guyanese people. You are a tiny worm in our social apple we will take due care to excise least you corrupt the whole barrel. Using the PNC as a protection amulet against dissent no longer works. There is little the PPP can do to erase the perception of them being corrupt. Its effect is quite transparent.

You have lost your mind. You are on welfare and now a drunkard. Who will listen to you but yourself.

Racist ?

You have lost your mind. You are on welfare and now a drunkard. Who will listen to you but yourself.

I know, you think it and it is real! You are a pitiful soul!

Note the stabroek news editorial could have come from my pen so someone is looking and listening.

Hey, did you see, the PNC is agreeing with the PPP on the way forward. 

Given that the blame of Linden's demise lies as much with the PNC as it does with the PPP I can only wonder why you think this proves anything.  Indeed if the PPP werent so singularly racist, corrupt and tyrannical Lindeners would have turned on the PPP as they did in the 1980s, when Burnham tear gassed them, and maybe murdered one or two.  Linden...together with Buxton...were the heartlands of anti Burnhamactivism from the late 1970s.   Indeed this is where Sam Hinds earned respect....problem though is since he became a PPP soup licker he has abandoned Linden, sop Lindeners abandoned him.

As I said the onus is as much on the PNC a sit is on the aPPP to pro vide a long term soultaion to Linden;s problems.  If they dont they may well be abandoned as almost happened in 2006 when they lost a big chunk of their normal support.

Grainger better get out of his G/town Ivory Tower.

In any case I fail to see how people can blame the AFC.  APNU+PPP renders the AFC meaningless.  Maybe the PNC isnt as in agreement with the PPP as you think there are.

This episode was planned all along by agents of the opposition.  This is how mayhem works.

They plan the thing plant the seed and watch it burn. 

Correct !!!

PNC and AFC's first attempt at inciting racial strife to bring down the PPP.

Could it be that this incident which never had to happen is a carefully engineered political manipulation ....

Planned by the PNC and AFC to coincide with their election meetings this week .. end of July.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

In 2006 the PNC got 7200 votes, winning 11400 in 2011.  In 2006 the PPP got 3200 votes, only obtaining 2800 in 2011.  Clearly your pretty posters convery a very different Linden from what those in Linden know, and they turned out in large numbers to tell you this.

If the PPP sincerely wants to win support, rather than telling Lindeners what theiur verson is, they need to listen to Lindeners.  Killing and injory Lindeners clearly ensures that the PPP will be viewed even more of an enemy than they were last year.

Sequence of the opposition-led protest in Linden
1.       The opposition APNU/AFC misinformed Lindeners about the electricity tariff increases and instigated the protest using their Members of Parliament, and extremist, such as Mark Benschop; Lincoln Lewis; David Hinds; Tacuma Ogunseye; Freddie Kissoon; Gerhard Ramsaroop; Aubrey Norton;

2.       The protest began with disruption to activities in Linden, the blocking of the road and main access bridge for ingress and egress in linden; burning of tyres; and stoning of police ranks;

3.       The police presence sought to maintain law and order, they removed blockages to the roads and bridges; and protected persons from harassment;

4.        The police used tear gas and rubber pellets tostave off unlawful, unruly crowds and unfortunately shot and killed three persons in the process;

5.       Lindeners continued with their blockages to roads and bridges, burning of public and private properties , beating and robbing of innocent people; threats and intimidation to sections of Linden;

6.       Leader of the Opposition, David Granger has been in the community on almost a daily basis and has not publicly condemned the lawless behavior of sections of Linden;

7.       The opposition continued its support for the protest even after President Donald Ramotar met with national and regional stakeholders, including David Granger, AFC Leader Raphael Trotman,  Regional Chairman Solomon and APNU Parliamentarian Vanessa kissoon;

8.       There is no sign of an end to the reckless behavior currently taking place in Linden as there are reports about Lindeners planning to intensify their unjust protest h fighting to promote inequality in the payment of electricity tariff.
Sequence of the opposition-led protest in Linden
1.       The opposition APNU/AFC misinformed Lindeners about the electricity tariff increases and instigated the protest using their Members of Parliament, and extremist, such as Mark Benschop; Lincoln Lewis; David Hinds; Tacuma Ogunseye; Freddie Kissoon; Gerhard Ramsaroop; Aubrey Norton;

2.       The protest began with disruption to activities in Linden, the blocking of the road and main access bridge for ingress and egress in linden; burning of tyres; and stoning of police ranks;

3.       The police presence sought to maintain law and order, they removed blockages to the roads and bridges; and protected persons from harassment;

4.        The police used tear gas and rubber pellets tostave off unlawful, unruly crowds and unfortunately shot and killed three persons in the process;

5.       Lindeners continued with their blockages to roads and bridges, burning of public and private properties , beating and robbing of innocent people; threats and intimidation to sections of Linden;

6.       Leader of the Opposition, David Granger has been in the community on almost a daily basis and has not publicly condemned the lawless behavior of sections of Linden;

7.       The opposition continued its support for the protest even after President Donald Ramotar met with national and regional stakeholders, including David Granger, AFC Leader Raphael Trotman,  Regional Chairman Solomon and APNU Parliamentarian Vanessa kissoon;

8.       There is no sign of an end to the reckless behavior currently taking place in Linden as there are reports about Lindeners planning to intensify their unjust protest h fighting to promote inequality in the payment of electricity tariff.

Let me make an addition.

A cop who is allegedly  in bed with PPP drug dealers, ordered the slaughter of black people because they refused to get of the bridge.  Caught with his pants down he then invents fiction of crowd violence provoking a police reaction, when video footage shows the oppoiste.  Knowing that the PPP is packed with black haters like you who have became enraged since massive black/mixed voter turn out pushed the PPP into no longer controlling parliament he concocted these lies.

The PPP is currently trying to extablish a Commission of Inquiry which will be composed opf "independent" business people. They, fearful of victimization, will push the PPPs version of events, as they did with the previous commission which was supposed to study the existence of the Phantoms.

We are also hearing reports which suggest that BOSAI generates power for sale to Lindeners and that they are able to make a profit doing so.  If true Lindeners are then justiofied in querying why they should pay more when BOSAI covers their costs and generates a profit.

The PPP is trying their best to create a racial war to justify the racist nonsense that they wrote in Chronicle which all black haters like you agree with.

When electricity everywhere else in Guyana is being subsidized 20% by the government LINDEN is being subsidized 90%. TAX payers, payed $204,000 dollars in subsidy (PER HOUSEHOLD) for Lindeners last year. Its time Linden be more responsible and consume less

And yet we hear that BOSAI generates power and sells it at a profit to Linden. maybe the PPP wants to hike taxes on Lindeners as punishment for tossing them out.

When electricity everywhere else in Guyana is being subsidized 20% by the government LINDEN is being subsidized 90%. TAX payers, payed $204,000 dollars in subsidy (PER HOUSEHOLD) for Lindeners last year. Its time Linden be more responsible and consume less

And yet we hear that BOSAI generates power and sells it at a profit to Linden. maybe the PPP wants to hike taxes on Lindeners as punishment for tossing them out.

"Profit" is not the question, the question is the people of Linden should have the same right and rates of the rest of the nation.  There should be no consumer subsidy.

In 2006 the PNC got 7200 votes, winning 11400 in 2011.  In 2006 the PPP got 3200 votes, only obtaining 2800 in 2011.  Clearly your pretty posters convery a very different Linden from what those in Linden know, and they turned out in large numbers to tell you this.

If the PPP sincerely wants to win support, rather than telling Lindeners what theiur verson is, they need to listen to Lindeners.  Killing and injory Lindeners clearly ensures that the PPP will be viewed even more of an enemy than they were last year.

In fact, because the PPP pandered to Lindeners, they lost votes to the AFC in Berbice. Now that they cut the subsidies to Linden they will perform better in the other regions. Linden should be written off as a political ally of the pPP, they need to concentrate on other constituents being cannibalized  by the AFC.

Too late.  The AFC are not in touch with the national pulse.

“Dem tell we anytime we move de truck dey gon follow we and beat we.”

While there continues to be much focus on the plight of Lindeners, the driver of a fuel tanker is counting his lucky stars that he is still around to describe his near death experience at the hands of persons who are definitely capitalising of the unrest in the mining town.
Khemraj Parma of Soesdyke, East Bank Demerara ,was the driver of a fuel tanker that was set alight by an angry mob at the entrance to Wismar from the Mabura trail last Wednesday.
He described an experience that no one will want to go through, one which has been soundly condemned by legitimate protestors.
But despite the condemnation, nothing will ever erase the fear that gripped Parma and his porter as they were on their way to Georgetown from the interior on Wednesday at the commencement of the protest actions taken by Lindeners over the hike in electricity tariffs.
He spoke of attempts to burn his tanker with him inside and having to hide for hours in the dark bushes just off the Wismar/Mackenzie Bridge.
The $11M tanker that Parma drives, which is owned by Vishnu Singh of

After: The burnt out fuel tanker (left)

Before

Herstelling, East Bank Demerara, has been taking fuel to various part of the interior such as Mango Landing, Omai and Konawaruk for awhile now.
Parma himself has been making the trip for the past five years, and during that period, nothing prepared him for what he experienced last Wednesday.
He and his porter left Georgetown on July 16 with their tanker loaded with 25,000 litres of diesel and for their usual destinations. After unloading their cargo they were on their way back out and reached Linden on Wednesday in the height of protest actions there.
Parma was unaware that there was a protest, so he innocently drove into it.
“When we near reach de bridge, when we come down de hill, we see one, one vehicle deh line off all two side ah de road. Then we realize ‘Oh skites, dis is a blockage’,” the truck driver told this newspaper.
He said that he tried to turn around his truck but since the road was narrow he could not navigate the large tanker to successfully complete the task.
“By time I doing duh, couple man run in front ah de truck and tell me, ‘no, no you can’t turn around, park and wait hey till de media dem come and see how much vehicle we get park up hey.’ So, me ain’t really bad up because me ain’t want dem beat me,” Parma told this newspaper during a visit to the Saffon Street office.
According to the truck driver, about 10 youths had surrounded his tanker, but although they did not appear to be armed except for a few pieces of sticks, he and his porter were obviously afraid and they complied with the command.
Nevertheless, he was optimistic that the mob would disappear as soon as darkness set in and he would eventually be able to move his truck. He had come out of the truck, and using his cellular phone, contacted the owner of the tanker who advised him that it would be safe to park at a location in Mabura whenever he was allowed to move.
That opportunity never materialized.
“Dem tell we anytime we move de truck dey gon follow we and beat we.”
Just about then the police began firing tear gas to force the protestors away from the Wismar/Mackenzie Bridge to allow traffic to resume.
The tear smoke forced Parma and his porter to retreat into the cab of the truck, but the protestors had now become very angry as a result of the police actions.
“About twenty minutes after, we hear dem seh dem gon burn de truck. Dem man start climb up pon de truck. Dey tek off de drum wha had de gasoline and drain out de lil bit wha lef inside. Dey light de truck at de side ah we because it been open. Dem tek de gas and throw it inside and light it,” Parma recalled.
He said that some in the mob even took a piece of cloth and stuffed it through the grill of his truck and tried to set it alight even though he and his porter were inside.
“We see de flame come up and we say, ‘oh shucks, dis truck catching afire with we.’ But when we watch again we ain’t see back nothing, just one lil blaze and it done, it ain’t catch,” the truck driver related. Apparently frustrated over their failed attempt, the angry mob started breaking the windows of Parma’s truck.
This was the signal for Parma and his porter to get out.
Using the darkness of the night, they bolted from the cab of the tanker and made it to the nearby bushes where they braved the mosquitoes and hid for a while.
“I was really frightened because dem don tell we dey gon beat we. Dem man look cruel. After dem man start talk ‘bout burn and we see dat, we de seh dat we done hey,” Parma told this newspaper.
According to the truck driver, they left behind in the truck a piece of jewellery, cash and his spectacles among other valuables.
While hiding in the bushes, Parma had the nerve to contemplate going back to the truck, but when he emerged, what he saw quickly deterred him.
“When I going, some ah dem deh a lil distance away and one ah dem say, ‘watch somebody going back to de truck’. So I run back in de bush. Li’l after one ah dem run in de bush behind me but he didn’t know wha part I deh,” the truck driver recalled.
He is convinced that if he was discovered great harm would have be done to him.

Lucky fella. He walked into a PPP killing zone filled with people wanting revenge. Note they vented by destroying things. The PPP shot at citizens taking out 3 and leaving more than a dozen with lead in their bodies. Surely the bereaved persons who lost loved ones or were shot are now sworn enemies of the PPP for life. All the PPP did here in their arrogance was to create determined  foot soldiers against them.

How can something be hijacked by those who organized the protest? Get real.

BTW, posting it relentlessly will not disguise the naked brutality of the police. They do what the do because that is how they were conditioned to do it with no restraint by the administration.

The people died because of the culture of neglect to foster respect for citizens. This is not simply one extreme case.  Note you kicked out one of your senior members for complaining about corruption in the party administration. This is their character.  Here is what I talk about.